(2008/07) July 2008

youpi
indeed your CL is very "eng" leh. she is suppose to boil herbal bath water for you leh. this is the most basic one mah. strange lah she.

you shouldn't bathe with tap water, elder said will catch "wind' in the tap water wor.

Jaslyn,
Good to know it's nothing serious!

Dustee,
jia you!!! It's indeed tiring to look after baby yourself. It's good to get some help, maybe you can talk to your husband to help you. Just a little bit, for example at night, he might not do the feeding but he can help you to change diaper. I do not have confinement lady, but my mom and maid, as well as my husband helped a lot. especially my mom, she cooks for me everyday. I still do a lot of stuff also, in fact, the second week after birth I'm already driving here and there and went shopping a little, to supermarkets, since I'm so bored. I'm still driving to send and pick up my #1 to and from school.

OMG mummies! Today bb finally able to latch after almost a month of trying. YIPEEEEE!!!! Well, she only suck a bit and the rest sleeping. But I'm so happy hehehe.. My BM level dropped drastically these few days... I hope with more breastfeeding it'll keep the BM coming again. Hopefully the second time latching later on will be successful again.

sonic - aiyoh, doc say my baby overweight..so tt's why she on slimming program..took her to see poppy so she's inspired to eat less ..;)..but somehow plan may hv backfired cos she seems to be gulping in more and more..eeks!

re milk leaking : will pumping out help?

re bleeding : i also still hv slight stains too..hmm, wonder how long more it will last!

bbp, my hb joke n ask me y i never pack it n cook :p can faint....

sonic, jas, yup maybe sonic u r rgt... so gynae actually inject me n told me these must come out.... but he also told me if i had too much excessive bleeding during the nxt few days then i got to see him. now i only got blownish stain liao. when tat "liver" drop out of me, i totally freak out, i went back to see him rgt away cos i was at the clinic toilet.

sonic, if i pump like 5 or 6 hrs, i can get supply like 180 ml but i thot i shld pump more often then i get more milk lo... or else all wasted on the pad instead...

thanks SDchick!!

sonic & cin bunny
heard that stains will go off after abt 3 mths if u continue to bf
dun noe isit true..
cos mine is alot of flow even bf..

cinbunny
milk leaking - my milk leaks almost anytime, anywhere...think i have to hang the pump on my boobs 24/7 leh... don't think i can catch up with pumping lor.. haha

poor thing, young baby needs to be on slimming programme? thot young baby the more chubby they are will be better? anyway, after they learn how to crawl and walk, definately will slim down one - very fast somemore..

garfield,
think the injection is to prevent infection, just in case. but to play safe your gynae should order a ultrasound for you to check whether are they still some more stay inside *hopefully not!* otherwise got to go for a washing, which i heard very painful one.

if your supply is enough for your bb's demand, think 180ml every 5-6 hrly also not bad leh. you almost hit 1000ml a day leh!
but someone told me that once we delay longer, supply will slowly come down.. so better not delaying.. not even THINK of it... hehe...

sonic, i wan more supply actally so tat in case i not around n nite time, she have lor. excess also can give my elder. he likes too. for my no 1, i didn't manage to pump alot... in fact it always 20 or 40 ml... maybe i direct latch v often n long so no more milk. also i using manual... now my ameda pump is really useful worth the $

gynae also did ultrascan for me tat day. nurse told me it alwys better to check w gynae early b4 too late.

carrying #1

my CL told me to wait 3 mths wor. apparently the outer wound may looked healed but the insides apparently is not! may just split and bleed wor if we carry heavy things. i hear liao so scared!

star

i am supposed to have that silicon thingy on until at night then i take it out. later then i go take a pic of it hor for you.

PB,
i accused hb of being selfish :p told him cl also ask me go back to my parents' place after she leaves coz my mum can take better care of me. some more i had c-sec. must really 补 (bu) during 2nd month. now cannot. i also dunno why lah... anyway, he relented coz i said i'll come home over the weekends ... see! 2 bbs to take care. hahaha..

Jaslyn,
glad to know you're ok. must take care!

lbt,
mil had long want to put bb cot in her room!!! luckily hb assured me this will never happen. and thanks for your assuring words, very comforting

i stopped wearing the binder liao loh.. super duper hot!

re: milk leaking
i'm also walking ard with leaking pipes. gosh.. then go pump, so little! how to stop the leaking? anyone can advise?

re: lower abdomen cramp
feeling cramps at the lower abdomen. had c-sec on 19 jul. is this normal?

Garfield,
alamak the things men joke abt... when my placenta was birthed, the obgyn still ask me to see even though i state in birth plan to pls dispose of it out of my sight immediately liao.

Steph,
think that is a smart thing to do - asking HB to go back.
of cz the big bb will pout la.

EDD and massage
Sianz, the massage lady I booked is only free 2nd wk Aug. Got osim binder fm fren, but super duper hot!

Youpi,
Pbm is w his tongue being up, instead of down like it shd be, all the time.... last 2 feedings better, so I m happier

SY,
You must b so so so very bz....

Sonic,
40 days confinement?!? *faint. weather is so warm these days.

Funny thing HB said
In the middle of labour, when wiping my perspiration away, he suddenly stopped (which already made me pek chek), then told me 'eh, your skin looks so much better, macam like go to the gym like that, so rosy'....
.... funny on hindsight. At that time, I wanted to smack him silly (just for stopping)!

Yah lor my FIL really irritating lor #1 ask now #2 also ask damn sian to ans him. Worse is I know what he will add on to ask next lor.
"When U going to stop the night feed??" "When going to feed bottle?" "When going to let bb sleep sarong"
Think his life lack something lah so he find it fun to keep asking me.....hahaha

Star
Oh is it....hehehe
But normally I also dun wash my hair with cold water.
I think old folks normally believe confinement is 40days. N jus now my mum even tell me actually after 40days still must watch wat I eat 1 leh.

Starxin
Apply calendula cream if u have. Or use ur BM lah if dunno wat to apply....hahah

Dustee
Ummm cannot dun pump aah?? Cos pump liao still gotta wash pump n bottles. Very mafan leh. If possible jus latch on only lor. Cos I am also doing everything myself plus care for my tod n bb alone so I jus latch direct only save alot of trouble n time.

Jaslyn
Hope ur better already. If really so much maybe go down for a check is better?? Cos really feel like ALOT lor from ur description lochia also like not so much leh.

Youpi
Ur #1 still trying to get used huh. I also try to spend all my time with #1 when #2 is sleeping but this naughty girl seems to not want so much sleep already n always peeking when she hears korkor's voice.....sigh

Cellow
Yah lor my stupid hubby even ask me why never bring back the placenta. Yucks!!

Lochia
----------------------
I also passed out 1 big piece before then went back for the 1 week check gynea said I still have alot inside so gave me pills to take to contract the womb n clear it off. Then out came 2 smaller pieces but my bleeding still very very little. But went for check again n she said its okie already left Very very little only. N really very irritating lor cos only on some days got abit of stain other days NOTHING. So umcomfy wearing the pad.

dor dor
my bb latches on for 1 hr each time! then at night and in the morning, sometimes more than 1 hr!!! so i'm starting to think maybe not enough milk. so now want to pump to increase ss and also see how much she's drinking.

now at night she refuses the pacifier but must suckle before she'd settle down. -_-

garfield,
hee.. me too giving some excess EBM to my #1. feel so guilty to him as I didn't manage to bf him during his time. now sort of able to repay him with excess EBM at least one feed at night, feel so happy. and, to my surprise, he didn't reject my EBM, though it tastes so much different from FM.

abit "an1 wei4" lah..

EBM:
erm... i hope nobody's gonna slap me after reading this.. recentli i m expressing like dbl of wat moi bb drinks per feed so 4 half of de day, the EBM goes into the fridge for de day's consumption n the rest of the EBM goes into storage bags for storing..i wonder if de day comes when i wanna stop breastfeeding..how do we reduce our supply without causing engorgement??

Latching ons:
when i was in Mt A, i told the LC tat i latch on for 1hr.. den she says usu 15mins on 1 side is enuf le.. so according 2 her, the rest is comfort suckling..

Confinement:
I still got another 2 more weeks to go oso.. doing baby full-mth on 17 aug.. hee hee.. tat will be de last day i see moi CL... n i told hubbi de 1st thing i wanna eat 'out of prison' is mango ice shaving from hkg cafe.. hahaha..

Cloth/Disp. Diapers?:
i m oso tinking abt if i shld use cloth diapers.. like it was mentioned.. cloth is more airy n will remind us 2 change every time it is wet cos bb will cry.. but the washing takes alot of effort n time.. disp is good cos bb will be undisturbed during sleep cos is kept dry but will be more costly..erm.. how lei?? tink tink tink..

Baby's full-mth:
hv finalli decided on 17 aug.. all family memebers n frenzs on same day.. imagine.. papa's side got 43 mbers.. mama's side ard 50 plus.. hubbi's parents' side n frenzs... haiz.. aniway.. dis is de best arrangement.. planning 2 send CL off 1 day earli so we dun hv 2 send her 2 de causeway on sun nite..

dor dor,
ttlly undrstd abt FIL. mine feels a bit left out of things so hb asked him 2 fix a dimmer in our room, go buy 4D, stuff like that.
my owsn dad is the one w a lot of qns ah, lucky i can just shut him up with just one "Pa!"

star_xin,
frozen ebm can keep 4 up 2 2mths. in thy, reduce 1 feed at a time.

Hi! Just to let you all know, Maternity Exchange at Marina Square is having a special promo for its nursing bras - 15% off when you buy two or more. (1-24 August). There's is a good range so it's worth it to check it out! All for World Breastfeeding Month

There's also 15-20% off designer beansprout pillows and baby carriers. You can visit www.maternityexchange.sg for more
details.

dor dor..
I m fine thanks!
just abit uncomfortable there lor..
yep.. will go down to get it check if its still alot..
gynea say if still alot, go down get a jab.. but the jab reduce milk flow.. haiz..
today looks like got reduce abit but still very red..

Hi Star-Xin, I can only express enuff to feed my baby.. no extra...
How much you are expressing each time? And how long is the interval between each pump/feed? How much you baby drinking now? Mine drinking 100ml now...

Really looking for ways to increase my supply.. so i can store and freeze them....

Pinkbunny : Do you still have stiff fingers? I still have them..

lbt, i told them my bb 1 mth liao, so the lady suggests that i take 1 newborn only :)

Woa, some of u having leaking breasts.. I had this with #1 & #2. Dun know why this time round dun hv leh..

youpi, i went to Mt A today for the Breastfeeding event. Nothing much, i went coz sister Kang asked me to go when i went to see her for breastfeeding issues. She called me again on Thurs, so i go loh. Nothing much actually

dustee
Ummmm......actually to me if she latch for 1hr but after that she doesn't fuss for milk again I feel its okie lor means ur milk is enough. I feel sometimes they abit lazy cos they suck suck then our BM will continue dripping in their mouth 1 leh or they will fall asleep that's why take longer lor. Cos better then like wat u say need to pump then bb cry n u still gotta spend time washing the stuff. Can rest when U latching ma.
Cos hor for my #1 I was also sort of doing confinement on my own. Mil jus come up to cook my lunch n go back home. I still do hsework cos cannot stand my inlaws making my hse dirty. N my son also same latch for bout 1 hr everytime n very jialat when growth spurts cos its like keep latching the whole time. But I still have enough BM for him. I actually sort of total latch my #1 fully for the 13mths of breastfeeding.

doggiebb
Added u!!

Starxin
Wah u got so much BM aah so good.

Jaslyn
Hopefully will it will go away soon can imagine how umcomfortable it is.
Btw my sis told me the 1st few mense after her delivery was VERY bad. She say once she feel it coming she rush to toilet her bottom is totally soak 1 must change 1.
Hope we dun kanna that imagine we are outside n it happens aiyoh dunno wat to do man.

cellow n steph, u may want to put prickly heat powder (snake powder) at the tummy b4 wearing the binder. it gives a cooling effect.

I so so so so long never log in and already prev. posting has been archived.

Hope I didn't miss much.

PB,
That's so funny. U noe, if we are able to know what they r thinkin, think life will be easier for us mummies.

Jaslyn,
Do take care.

Leaking breast,
Yar, why like that? Even shower, always leaking, so how to keep clean?

MS,
So far quite constant ler even though pump at interval, doesn't seem to increase anymore, and at times produces even lesser. My interval is abt 3-4hrs. Is it too short as most are 5-6hrs. N after pump, do most of you store in freezer or the fridge? Cos thawing of the freeze EBM takes so long.....

Will update again, hopefully soon.

thanks 4 the suggestn, bonnygal!
Malay massage lady came 4 1st time ystday (she managed to squeeze me in btwn appmts). yay now i look 3 months instead of 6 months pregnant

Rain,
Disposable / washable breast pads are a godsend for leaking breasts! Even now as i type, the disposable one i stuck on the underside of my top keeps un-sticking itself...
re: knowing what bb is thinking
heh at this point, my bb is thinking food, sleep, clean me up (!!!) and not much politics or jokes going on inside his head - i think. so i m v impressed by sophie bunny and poppy bunny

batgirl,
haiya so many sad faces in your posting. big hugs ok. vol of ebm is just wat u are able 2 provide bb....

doggiebb,
wahlau u confinemt leh, not holiday! go lie down instead of chatting la (do i sound like a naggy mummy yet? heh)

cellow

hehe! confinement wat! do nothing but lie in bed all day, feed bb, go and eat, go toilet and chat! wahaha!

congrats on bb cedric latching on well now!

bonnygal,
prickly heat powder helps ar?! ok will try later. thanks!

Rain,
wow.. why are you awake at 3am ?! i was up at 4 to pump for 1/2 hr then went back to Zzzz.... hehee....

Re: BM vs FM
Mummies, can check with you, do babies get hungry faster on BM compared to FM? 70ml of EBM can only last my son 1.5 hr the most, while 70ml of FM can last him almost 3 hrs!

Re: Growth Spurt
and about growth spurt, when to do babies experience this? cl says bb now coming to 3rd week so maybe will want more milk.

garfield,
i realised, taking more fluid and resting more somehow will increase supply.

steph

3rd week is the first growth spurt. i experiencing that now! *shivers* he wakes up to suckle every one hr! neh neh so painnnnnnnn!

Batgirl,
I had stiff finger too while preggy #1. It will recover itself.

Breastpump
What kind of brands do you ladies use? I am currently using Ameda but I feel that my nipples are so pain everytime I pump.

Steph
3rd week is growth spurt. Bb will demand more milk. My bb wake up every hour at nite that time. EBM is easily to digest hence hungry faster. Everytime I finish breastfeeding my bb, he will poo and 1.5 - 2 hr he will cry for milk again.

Anyone of you using PIS? Heard some comments that PIS is too heavy? What is the weight? I need to bring the pump to office everyday.

Anyone know any guideline of how much EBM to drink daily up to 1 year old? I need to stock up EBM.

hi !

re:leaking breasts

wear a breast pad !

re:EBM for #1

u know when I freeze my EBM when i BF my #1, i only give her those that is MAXIMUM 6 weeks ago.

i heard that our body will produce BM that is appropriate for the newborn at different stage, means the
nutritional level is always different. Hence I dont give frozen EBM that is stored beyond 6 weeks.

And becos of this reason, I dont give EBM to my #1 too.

garfield

no worries, maybe try to pump more in the day ?

Cellow : I will persevere, worst come to worst, have to supplement when i go back to work..

Star : I am using the PIS Advanced, it comes in a handy backpack. Hmm... weight, not very heavy lar, abt 3 kg, i think my sony laptop is heavier than that.

Cellow,
I will use when I'm outside. But shower, feeding baby cannot use as wearing no clothes. So see milk dripping on baby while he latched on the other side.

Steph,
Doing pumping lor. After baby had feed (latch & EBM). But really tired. Somemore that nite he seems to have nightmare, turn n toss n making those ah ah sound. Also tt day is his full month celebration, so a lot of pple came. Maybe had excited him so much during then.

Growth spur,
So after 3W, when is the next one?

re leaking breasts

called BMSG, a mummy advised to use Lilypad. that supposes to stop the leaking. another wonderful thing abt this lilypad is no need to wear bra when using it.
i've just ordered a pair to try it out. hopefully it works for me. will let you gals know...

Hannahl
I was at Mt A on Sat morning too. But not for the bfg event. Had to bring baby to get a heel prick test for jaundice

I had lilypad for #1 ...
During heavy leak, cannot make it one.

There will be milk accumulated in the lilypad, it will either make your nipple sore or the liliypad to slip.
Pads are still the best.

my hubby's colleagues told him that if we bring bb to polyclinic for those jabs, it is free. is this true? TIA

hannah,
she charges 330 for 7 sessions or 45 per session. basically disc $5 for 7 sessions la.

youpi, you have mail... just realised that your contact no not in the list that I got fm PB.
How is your #2? heel prick test ok or not? hey smiles gal, can still rent the bilibed 4 hm use 2 treat jaundice from Equip Medical... tel: 65623008. the PD shd hv e contact also.

rain, sonic, bluey,
re: leaking breasts. I use a breast pad (like lbt says)... and when feeding, I just use a handkerchief to cover the other breast n absorb e milk - trick learnt fm MIL. i know i know very sayang to waste the milk.... but tis the cleanest way that i can figure out lor

batgirl,
way 2 go... that's the spirit.

hihi..

batgirl: tink moi boy was small 2 begin with.. so he is drinking 80-90ml per feed of 3 hr interval whereas i am pumping like 160 - max 260ml depending on the intervals.. for me.. i pump at 4 hr interval in de day n 5 hr interval in de nite.. but nw due to storage issues, i ctrl moi pumping and onli pump 160ml unless it is de 1st pump in de morning or last pump b4 i sleep..hopefulli the supply dun end up dropping due to moi restriction in de pumping..

leaking breasts: i oso experienced leaking during and after shower so de 1st thing i do is put on moi bra 1st.. w de breast pads.. haha.. but of course there r oways embarrassing moments.. but at least tat's still at home mah..

cellow: is your massage lady so powerful?? i olredi had moi 5th session liao.. but still like 3 mths pregnant le...can pm me de contact pls??

CL: here i m complaining abt her again.. today she lost 1 of moi socks.. n she dun seem apologetic abt it.. still claims she collected them back.. but onli 1 sock left.. haiz...

youpi, PM me the contact of ur massage lady leh, thks
Very oily or not? The binding v tight?

Any other mummies got gd massage ladies also? Can PM me?

bluey,
really the lilypad doesn't help at all? oh my, i have ordered liao...

cellow,
i tried to use your method too initially, only to realise that my hands are so busy when latching on.. one hand holding bb, another hand pressing the breast.. sigh.

star,
ya lor, very embarrasing leh. even at home, i try to change pads and bras frequently just in case.. as i don't want my maid stare at me as if i drool till my shirt wet..

my colleague was telling me her experience. she went back to office after 3 months maternity, as she was attending a meeting, suddenly she felt that her ss soaked thru her pads and bras, she instantly 'kiap' her shirt, jumped up from her chair and ran to toilet... luckily that is not a meeting with external customer.. i couldn't imagine if i'm in her situation..

sonic, yr collegue so powerful... must have many supply

star, ya i also realise must drink more n rest more to get more supply. but got some times she kept drinkin n drinkin. it like she can drink for 10 to 15 min then stop. after a while she cry again n i feed again... n it can last 1 hr. not sure if she gettin enough... sometimes i dun even know if she fussing to burp or wat. she will be red in the face n wan to straighten body n reject my nipple...

sonic,
yea i realise i dun have enuf hands too. so now borrow HB's or CL's fingers to shape the nipple 1st before latching... after CL is gone, then HB lor. I once saw my colleague doing that too, press v hard suddenly agst her breasts, but that day she smart, wearing black, so leakage not obvious....

garfield,
dun fret, as long as there are 6-8 pee diapers and 2-3 poo diapers a day, your little one is getting enuf. cheer up okie. use the breast compression technique to lengthen the feed... here's what i do w Cedric.
when he is already latched on and stops sucking for a bit, then i use my other hand to position in U or C hold around the areola, knead the breast with the 2 fingers. Must KNEAD, not press press, knead = steadily increasing / drecreasing pressure = steady volume of milk. press press = squirts of milk, i dun think i will like it v much oso if someone squirts milk into my mouth.

Updates on latching
Ystday i thot we finally finally made it to just 10-15 mins latch. then came the evening feed, wahlau, Cedric throw tantrum again.. latch suck cry, repeat whole cycle for one hour. I m discovering infinite patience w little boy.

cellow, thanks. so far she is peeing n pooing. but yesterday whole afternoon n evening she didn't poo so maybe she feelin v miserable. last nite her poo is alot.

i realise sometimes she choke on my milk flow... so not sure if the flow is too fast for her. for no1, he has no problem latching. she tends to sleep n dream alot n then unlatch by herself. then after a while she struggle to find the nipple again.