(2008/07) July 2008

Qing

if there's a lot of discharge from the eyes, u can try this method.

Try to massage the area between the eyes in outward direction.

See below pic for illustration. This is taught by my PD and it works for my #1.

1595871.jpg

dustee

latch on for 1 hr is too long. Very likely bb is comfort sucking after 15mins. Dont u feel pain ?

I already feel sore when my gal sucks abt 10mins per latch on.

Hi ibt..

Thks for the info.. If burp very long then bb no burp is it okie? Cos my bb very dif to burp lei, then i do till my hand tired man..

Qing..

Heard tt very eat heaty stuffsand BF bb will also be heaty one. Tt is wat my Cl told me then from then i did not take ginger.

SDchick..

Can ask, how long does the rashes on ur bb start to goes off?

Evon

ya if burp for quite some time and if bb dont burp, I will stop lor.

sometimes I let my Rianne sleep on my bed as it is cooler with the fan. She also has some heat rashes these 2 days when weather is hotter.

ibt
will give the massage a try.

aircon
i have been sleeping with the air con on every night lehz. and the fan on in the day.
the weather is killing me la. and hor our window cannot open one. open liao people walking outside the corridor can see us.

bbp
i also shower with the herbs. but they only allow me to shower once every four days.

evon
huh, i have been taking ginger every meal lehz.
they say it won't affect the baby lehz.

Qing,
My bb used to had red and rashes on her bottom. I used desitin creamy, but then hor, even if its creamy, i still find it hard to come off. I used california baby diaper rash cream - it has worked wonders!!! now baby bottom is not red anymore and the cream is not thick at all.

Evon,
The rashes on her forehead clears in about 1 week. that's long rite!!! my pd said because the weather is hot, that's why she got the rashes. She's sweaty and her pores are so small they got blocked. Hence the rashes. so these 2 days, she's always in aircon room, I find it really helpful. Her face is literally covered with red bumps. now the forehead is getting better. I'm still waiting for the cheek to heal. I clean the face with water many times and dry them. Didn't put any cream, but I did put a very thin layer of diaper rash talc (also from calif baby). Seems to be working well. I also stopped taking ginger, cuz I suspect when we're heaty, the baby will be too cuz she drinks our BM.

Sometimes bb didn't burp at all, so I'll just wait and hold her a bit high and after about 15 min or so, will try to burp her again. I find burping her over the shoulder better.

Wah how to survive without aircon... I sleep every day with the aircon - anyway if you think about it when we're at the hospital it's also with aircon mah... I also shower and wash my hair as usual, like before pregnant.

Qing,
I bought from the BP organized by one of the mum here. http://www.thepinkcream.biz/index.htm
She organizes the BP twice a month. Here's her thread in this forum: http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1595156.html?1217402436
You can ask her also, sometimes she has excess stocks. But if you can't wait, the product is sold in chinatown - there's one organic store on the third floor at people's park complex, across from OG. It's more pricey lar. If not, an organic store at Suntec city 3rd level (near toys 'r' us) also sells them.

lbt
1 hr really too long? nipples not pain leh, maybe coz i very thick-skin. hmm. or maybe coz i can't tell when she's really sucking or when she's comfort sucking.

haiz.

wah, all of you soo kuai, never shower/wash hair and no air cond..i broke all confinement rules..sure regret later!

lbt, rianne is soo cute and you so funny draw at her eyes ..lol.

oh, i hv been bathing baby in some flower water..i think it's called jin ying hua..and it seems to help with the rashes..

lbt! slimming program very tough cos CL not following! I soo frus cos i making extra effort now to pump out b4 she latch so she does not get leaking pipe down her throat and choke, cough and wheeze..and then CL undo all my gd intentions by topping up 30ml from 100ml so baby eats 130ml..CL says baby still hungry. I told her from now onwards, if baby still hungry after 100ml feed, then bring to me, and i will let her latch. sigh.

chubby babies are cute but babies with triple chin look extremely uncomfortable

erm, i try find out english word for the flower..yes, i got it from hock hua

labbit!
funny leh, got diagram some more! hehe.

re latching
poppy can also stay up to 45 mins or 1 hour leh. but i realise after 15 mins it's just for shiok only. so after about 15-20 minutes i will try to remove. but hor, she will cry leh
so i tell her 'i got another one for you!' hehe. now i still don't mind letting her suck longer. for supply mah. as long as it doesn't hurt la

re flower bath
eh my CL also say she will buy flowers for me and poppy to bathe (separately hello, i cannot fit into her tub) on full month day.

CL also say after full month must go back niang jia. so i guess poppy will go gai gai on sunday!

wow SD
thanks for the website! the lying on stomach one sounds interesting. labbit, go and update the video with the rocking back and forth method leh

cin bunny

wah 130ML is a bit too much for a 1mth old baby does she regurgitate milk after feed ?

hey show us sophie's pic !!

I do have a double chin baby too and I cant see her neck now. I was still admiring her long neck during the hospital stay eheh

PB

really need video ah ? then I must take many times until Rianne successfully burp ? eheh else very "lao kui" mah !

confinement rules: it's weird, isn't it? according 2 moi CL, cun shower but can blow wind n aircon??

today's my massage lady was saying malays all shower s per normal.. so i guess it's juz diff sch of beliefs juz like religion bah..

double/triple chin:
moi little one is developing a dbl chin 2.. haha.. so funi..den de neck mia..

burping:
CL says if breastfeeding..den gd 2 burp when abt 2 change 2 breast #2.. but after breast #2 ok 2 try burping but if no burp is ok..

CL comments:
dis morn she asks y 1 bottle got so little milk den i say cos i store in fridge..den juz a while ago she asks hw cm ur milk so little? den i quite pissed off?? y kip asking??? ý so little??? irritating..

i m quite concerned.. imagine nw i onli responsible 4 expressing milk den when CL goes..hw 2 do so mani things by moiself?? scary thots!!!

so like just now, i pumped out 80ml, then baby cried (i was still hoping to squeeze out a bit more from the breasts) so i fed her the 80ml. then after that she still wouldn't stop crying so i had to latch her again (and by then breasts are flatter than ironing board) then she just repeated the cry-suckle-doze-cry-suckle-doze for the next hour.

haiz.

Qing
Congrats on the arrival of your little princess!

Bathing
You girls are really guai! I've started bathing actually at the hospital and have been bathing with the herbal water everyday since. I also wash my hair every alternate day... really cannot stand it, the weather plus the food is making me perspire so much! Feels so yucky and stinko...

Jeanyard, lbt, dor dor & PB
Your girls are so cute! PB, poppy's head is very round hor.

latching
Yes, my boy tends to "nibble, nibble" at my breast after 10 -15min... so sometimes, I switch him to another breast to stimulate ss.

Congrats to those who are finishing your confinement! I'm only half way there... can't wait man!

lbt,
Rianne has lots of hair hor, you so funny, draw the arrows on her nose...

Cin Bunny,
must be hard for you to reduce sophie milk intake esp when you see her crying for more.
maybe just latch her on for her comfort.

Pink bunny,
Jia you, you are doing well.. keep remember this slogan. demand = supply

3Ds Family (delphine),
Did you TBF. My supply very little only. Regret purchase the ameda pump if I know I have so little milk. My #1 time, at least I can pump 80ml, now 20ml only.

My hub said, aiya cannot bathe because in the olden days the women had to go to the river to bathe and some more don't have hair dryer. no wonder can catch cold. Nowadays, your bathroom is inside your room and got hair dryer, so should shower everyday to maintain cleanliness.

Like SNL, I also shower the next day after operation in the hospital. cannot tahan liao. I don't even bathe with herbal water. Just with Dove body shampoo can do kekeke... I wash hair every 2 days too. Of course dry my hair afterwards.

Hmmm i suspect the medela pump is not working properly. I pump until my fingers get tired, no milk, but i squeeze my breast, still have milk wor.. Maybe I should try avent.

HJ,
nope for this time round cos ss not as great #1.
drink lots of water(aka your logan red dates tea). and keep pumping or latching to increase the ss.

Hi HJ
Congrats. When was ur son born??
Hw is ur #1 now?

Pinkbunny
Knew u would like it. Nice bright PINK hor....haha
Its from Old Navy. Bought it few mths ago. Got a few designs but I only got 1 cos hubby ngiao ma....hehe
I bought the legging from crazy8.com during their sale few dollars only. She has another pink 1 from mothercare.
I got Ember a nice hat from Gap during their 50% sale the other time.....hehe
hahaha I love the santa clus shot. N poppy is like tou xiao behind the handkerchief.

lbt
My ON loot lor.....haha
Think my girl looks chubby nia cos still got skinny arms n legs...hehe

Delphine
Yah lor my ON loot.....hehehe
Regret not getting more leh so nice...keke

dustee
I feel 1 hr not long. My #1 used to take 1hr to feed everytime. Once they r older n know how to feed better will be faster already.

Qing
Envy leh ur girl so guai sleep all the way. Mine sleep at salah timing leh but okie lah cos that time I need to make my #1 sleep.
Put diaper cream given by hospital after every diaper change.

Bathing
Me also as per normal n still find myself stinko at the end of the day. U all really can tahan leh.

lbt

my CL also does the rocking, sometimes she will even rotate the baby's body in a circular motion and it work wonders, the baby sure will burp one!

Wah, I think my boy is going to become heavyweight soon. He's only 2 weeks and MIL says he can drink 120ml leh. I think maybe BM easier to digest so he get hungry more easily? And the thing is, he doesn't regurgitate alot leh. Maybe only once every 2-3 days?

Sigh... I also dun want a triple-chin baby.

lbt, i totally agree 130ml is too much..tt's why now it's only 100ml lor..and yes, she did spill out a lot of milk previously and heart pain to see her soo uncomfortable..i keep telling CL it's not good to hv her regurgitate milk cos it also gives her phlegm!

as per yr request.."chubby" baby pix ;)

delphine - yeah, i now let her comfort latch..poor baby, less than 1 month already on slimming program

1596538.jpg

bathing
i start bathing and washing hair every day since 2nd day of delivery. but my MIL wants me to bath using rice wine... anyone try this? dunno what is the rationale, so sometimes i action action put a bit on arms and legs and pour away the rest

think i'm a lazy mummy... in the middle of night when baby cries of hunger, sometimes how i wish someone else can help me feed her EBM as i'm super tired. think my MIL expects that feeding is my job, when my hubby helps to feed as he knows i'm super tired, she would ask him how come me not doing the job. sometimes i think that i shd get a CL to help if i have #2

aww cin bunny, your bb is cuteeeee

waiwai.. it's good that your hubby still wants to feed the baby. Mine will help prepare, but never tried to bottle feed. He said he's scared of feeding the baby, what if baby choke.

Qing,
Re: eye discharge, it's due to blocked tear duct. It's not harmful and the massage that lbt suggested helped to open the duct.

Re: california baby
I'm using desitin creamy and also find it hard to remove even with soap. Besides the diaper rash cream, anything good from california baby range?

Hi SC chick...

Ohh only 1 week then rashes gone liao. Good mah. Mine now 2 week liao then become more. Dun kw is it due to the mix of FM, tat why become more. Aiyo not handsome face liao.

Hi Doggiebb..

Wow ur CL burp bb method sound cute lei. Can also show us how to do?

Evon,
Not totally gone lar.. still have but showing signs of recovery. but those on the cheek are still there.. bright and red.

I saw the nurse doing the burping at TMC - position the baby as usual, sitting up, with your thumb and forefinger supporting bb's chin. your middle or ring finger at the armpit of bb. instead of patting the back, your other hand support the bb's back and with both hands, make a circle motion, clockwise or counter clockwise direction. not to fast, just slowly.

cinbunny, what brand diaper is ur bb wearing?

Mummies that only feed bb ebm with no latch ons, how ah when u bring bb out? Always pump then feed bb? And bring ebm out and warm it outside?

Then if bb can't finish the ebm, eg at home, do u keep in the fridge then feed bb later or pour them away?

SDchick,
What's the calendula cream for?

SDchick, Evon,
My bb also has rashes all over his face, neck, arms *sob* I think because of the hot weather but I'm a bit worry the rashes won't go away. Now I wipe him with water in the morning and bathe him in the afternoon. Haiz ...

thanks sdchick

hi hannah1 - diaper in pix is Goon brand which u can get online and i think they deliver..i also use nepia which i find not bad as well

lbt - flower is gold silver flower...does that help? ;)

SDchick
bathing in the river! i like that! never heard that logic before hehe.

dor dor
cheh. you know i would like then you never buy for me? *blink blink* OMG crazy8.com's clothes are super cute!!!!!!!!! next time we buy together then can share postage ok ok? :p

not tou xiao. she was a bit pissed actually haha. we the parents really very mean to her i.e. laughing at her expense.

delphine
i'm really encouraged by your attitude - they way you say 'not TBF cos ss not as good as #1'. you make me feel further rooted in my belief that low ss does not mean end of the world and does not mean we are bad ah bu's

doggiebb
i don't understand what you mean by rocking baby in circular motion.... i imagine him lying on the bed and turning like the hands of a clock? hehe

re baby weight
oi pai say. poppy is 4.34kg, not 3.4 hehe.

cin bunny
i recognise the diapers hehe. sophie bunny just got fed is it? thus the satisfied face? hehe

waiwai
i have no idea why the rice wine but sometimes CL pours that into my HERBAL bath water. wah. double potency. and she doesn't let me bathe immediately after a meal too. something like pores are open then water go in, no good. but now she very relak jack with me liao. in the first week she was very strict

re soap/shampoo
anyone knows what shampoo mt a used? cos poppy's head smelt soooooooo good at hospital la. now im just johnsons but different smell. not as intoxicating hehe. i'm tempted to call mt a to ask!

hannah
once milk is given to baby in bottle, got to throw away after each feed. don't keep cos it'll go bad. so it's best to pump out and keep in milk bags if your ss is alot then pour the desired amount into the bottle to feed. of course, my boxes of milk bags have yet to be used la de da

re milk bands
oh just to share, i made my own version of 'milk band'. i use those big nappy safety pin (which we don't use cos i bought the nappy covers) to pin on my bra to remind myself which nnp to offer at next feed. clever bo? :p

one question on vacinations ...
Is it much much cheaper to do the vacination in polyclinic?

I told my SIL that I will be bringing my bb to PD for vacination, she tols me that I should go to polyclinic instead. Can save $$. Anyone can advise?

bluey
heard that is cheaper to do in polyclinic...
but I still bring my gers back to their PD cos the q is super long in polyclincs...and then I scare the doctor is rough and service not very gd also..

PB

baby is sitting upright with our hands supporting his chin and back of the head, then his upper body is rocked forward and backward ala lbt's style. then my CL will even gently rock his upper body in a circular motion. hee! clearer liao bo?

morning all.. =)

jia you everyone on e BF! =)

vaccinations - i brought my #1 to healthway clinic for his jabs.. they have a reasonable package price for e 3 6-in-1 jabs.. n there's a free mmr jab.. i will be bringing my gal there too.. there're a lot of branches ard s'pore so maybe u gals can check it out?

dor dor... MIL is those traditional type who believes it's woman's job to feed bb. but i also want to train my hubby to feed bb leh, what if i need to go toilet or bathing halfway then she cries out of hunger. anyway confinement is ending soon and MIL leaving our house... can start training hubby liao keke

hannahl... i bring EBM in ice pack bag, also bring along hot & cold water and a container to warm EBM. the leftover must throw away

crystal... how much does healthway charge for each 6-in-1 jab?

<font color="0077aa">doggiebb</font>

yes yes I used that method before !! but I tot the rocking method is more comfy for babies. I dunno if baby will feel giddy after the "merry-go-round" ? hahaha

<font color="0077aa">cin_bunny</font>

aiyo sophie first top "naked" photo ! ehehhe chubby leh.
you dont dress Sophie at home ah ? weather too hot ?

oi, your translation is too direct leh .. no official terms?

but maybe if I tell the ppl at the chinese medical hall, they shld know ya ?

weather is very hot these days and my Rianne's hot rashes are back ! hmmph!!!!

<font color="0077aa">PB</font>

blur mummy, i also wonder why only 3.4 kg???

eh I jot down in my notebook which breast I fed Rianne each session. Sometimes if I am lazy to refer to my book, i will feel my breast and I'll know which one to offer.

<font color="0077aa">bluey</font>

my reason for sending my gals to PD for vacinnation is the same as Jaslyn.
I still trust a specialist to handle newborns and kids.

I ever bring my elder gal to a GP when she has fever. GP will always brush it off and says they are teething and just give paracetomol.

But her fever did not went down so I went to my usual PD and realise it's throat infection.

oh my, all the babies' photos soooo adorable!!

Jean,
oic.. thanks for the tip. will continue to pump. i was thinking, expressing may not be a bad idea coz at least i know how much bb drinking

bbp,
we've been feeding him FM at nights and when he wants more than 90ml, we gave him the pacifier. and he refused to latch yday!! wat i did was to squeeze a bit of BM and let bb taste before latching him. luckily it worked. maybe you wanna try this method?

i totally totally understand what you're going thru! for some weird "unreasonable" reason, i feel very threatened when my MIL tend to my bb. plus her track record with our dog.. somehow i jsut dun trust her with my bb. told hb, he said "she first time grandma also mah" but at the same time he reminded her that i'm possessive! also hor, they care more abt bb than my health! very angry until i cried this morning and think it scared my hb! well done! hahaha... anyway, for some reasons, i'd rather do everything myself than trust my mil to do.

cl saw my red puffy eyes and console me dun think too much. you also ok, take it easy. on confinement cannot cry woah...

Qing, xiaoyang,
CONGRATS!

cin_bunny,
130ml!? that's more than wat PD advise. 60 to 90ml per feed, 2 to 3 hrs or on demand. no need to wake bb for feed. i keep records of all feeding time and qty. ask CL every interval. also told her what PD advise. but i can't monitor her round the clock so have to trust her liao.

bluey,
friends advise better to bring bb to PD for everything. coz if you only bring bb to PD when needs arise (touch wood), PD may discount on giving "extra care". but my gynae advise to save money, polyclinic or any GP can do the vaccinations. hope this helps.

Steph

u mean ur boy refuse to latch or refuse the pacifier ?

dont cry ok ? is ur MIL staying with you ? Who is helping you after CL leaves ?

if MIL is staying, I guess u have to get accustomed to her ways of handling your boy. At least there is someone to take care of ur bb in case u need to get out of the hse. Think positive ya ?

wah doggiebb, quite gao nan du. i try later

steph
ya my conversations every morning with CL are 'hello, good morning. did she wake up for milk?' hehe. sayang sayang, don't be sad ok? just come in here and bitch

re CL
she asked me just now 'if i miss her, can i drop by to say hi?' i said sure. i almost wanted to say 'you can also watch her a while and i nap?' hehe.

re feeding
poppy's full feed is 90-100ml. that lasts her 3 hours+. but now with latch on BF, it's a bit haywire cos i don't know how much she drinks. so we take the cue from her. she usually sleeps for an hour after BF then when she wakes up we usually give her 30-40ml. i think i cannot TBF straightaway cos supply not enough yet and it's also (guilty, guilty) very tiring!!!

have a good baby day, all!

this morning i woke up in panic. CHAM! CL leaving on sunday so next week i'll be all alone! poppy, please be nice to mama!!!

whenever i carry her i take her little hand and dak dak on my chest and say 'poppy sayang mama!' then i do the same to her with my hand on her chest and say 'mama sayang poppy!'. hehe psychoing her from young

I had successful latching TWICE yesterday! Very happy... but realise what a torture it is for the nipples. My boy is the very complain and kan cheong type, so I suspect my maiden nipples are feeling the aftereffects. Imagine, even when bottle feeding, the teat is at his mouth already, he will still cry/complain until he happy, then start suckling.

Steph,
Yah, irrational hor? I mean I should be happy that there are tons of people to help me take care of the baby. But yet at the same time, I feel frustrated. Sometimes, I think, if everytime he cries and grandma takes over, how am I going to practice and take over when grandma leaves? Then my hubby... more than happy to just offload the baby to his mom. *grrrr* Only take care after work and still dare to offload.