(2008/07) July 2008

Re: Catering
I tried ISS catering before..for their high tea..very yummy..tried them for my #1 full month celebration..just one comment on their drink..taste like tap water...

i'm getting olive bistro. but have to wait till my parents can confirm how many people on their end before ordering. 2 aug is full month party
ok talk again now going to be cow liao

Dor dor, asianmirage, sally, IF, mayflower, garfield, congrats!
oh, waiting for Sparrows' update next...

Xiaoyang,
I know I promised you a summary on VBAC... but this weekend was just jam packed plus this morning workload piling up. Will send to you this evening....

Mt A bottle shortage
Hannah,
I know whose hse to go to when I need bottles for the EBM! :p

Bluey, still scratch head leh. Why after 15 Jul then will be richer? Got bonus ah?

do1nk. i think can let bb sleep on the side with those sleep positioners. They can't topple over. For me, i dun swaddle bb, i put husk bolster on her chest. Very good. Also not so hot for her.

Garfield, congrats! Hope to hear from u soon!

PB, u giving bb ebm now? No fomula yet? How much is she drinking each time?

cellow, let me know
U didn't manage to get any? But i wonder can freeze using the glass bottles or better to use the proper milk containers. Any advise?

star,
tahnks for the tips. my boobies hard like rock, wonder my stiff finger can really do the works.

i search thru another thread, to my shocking some mummies used needles to poke those blocked ducts... scary, i will never want to do that.

anyway, called my lactation consultant, she suggested to use cold cabbages. i tried and it works! think this is the easiest and painless way bah.

xiao yang,
to rescue my sore/cracked nipples, i sent my hubby to buy nipples shields for me yesterday. but when i latch my gal on, she is still biting me -- so painful.

re exclusive pumping
fiona, hey you did exclusive pumping har, wow your output is so amazing! is there a general guide as to how long we can pump each time? how do we know we have successfully empty the breasts?

i'm pumping half an hour each time, think my boobies too stress, hence the engorgement.

someone juz mentioned we can only freeze EBM using glass bottles ah? cannot use those plastic storage bottles meh? have not prepared for this yet coz dun even know what my supply will be like then...so buy later?

i'm back lor... seems like alot of the jul bb have popped... mine was earlier by 2 weeks plus lor... water bag burst in the morning and delivered only at 11plus at nite lor... long and painful labour... cannot tahan the pain and contractions so had epi at abt noon lor... somemore that day supposed to be on mc coz of fever the nite b4... luckily on mc if not sure happening in office lor... heehee

re BM
me had latched on bb ernest for the 1st 2 days but coz CL looking after bb so after tat decided to pump instead lor so that can monitor bb consumption for the 1st month at least... then will continue to latch bb on after CL goes back... so far my milk supply quite okie... about 100-120ml both sides combined every 3hrs... PB, can try to drink more fish bone soup to increase supply.... my CL also cook papaya with fish bone soup and it really helps lor... hopefully supply will increase gradually...

morning ladies

Serene,
I wanted to order NEO garden cos I used them for my #1's full mth and 1 yrold bday. But hb's sister they all just ordered
buffet from them few wks back and she told me the standard dropped so i decided to try SELECT catering cos that time ordered
PIL 80th bday not bad. But I still think NEO garden standard shld be quite gd mabbe its just a one-time case. But anyway we
wanna try another buffet catering this time round thats y decided to get from SELECT

Hehe as for Mcdonald's can lah...eat their Filet burger lor...then another time i ordered their Egg McMuffin brekkie with cappucino! :p

SNL,
Hehe...cos i popped early....never expect my #2 to arrive so early this time round *lol*

caitlyn,
STAMFORD version? Hehe...i use SELECT catering this time round
Woah...so food portion is big? Hehe...hopefully SELECT one also gd
Cross my fingers :D

PB,
Haha...my boy dont look 9 days old? He looks matured ah? eheheheh :p Got the "chao lao" look? *lol*

Fiona,
Woah...looks like u also cold-storage! *lol* Me now using cabbage on my breast again to reduce the milk supply otherwise i wanna
peng san cos pump too much i feel dizzy. My production is bout 1000ml a day in total. Then I give my #1 EBM in the morning
also hopefully her immunity will be better as she is attending childcare

My #2 drinking a lot now also...bout 80ml every 2.5-3 hrs.
Me also more or less like u, I latch my #2 only like 1-2x a day and the rest of the time express the milk out.

sonic,
if u want to BF, dun use too much of cold cabbage leh.

the nurse at KKH told me not to pump more than 30min for both sides.

the nurse also said if we are already engorged, if use hot towel, more milk flow and more engorged leh...

when expressing, try to express out every drop of bm. before that massage both breasts. if got lumps, then must press hard on the lumps and push to the nipples. then follow by 'twisting' the aerola so that the nipples would be clear and milk can come out

ur breasts will be soften when u hv empty them.

xiaoyang,
induction depends on luck one....that time my #1 was induced....i forgot got insert pill anot but they broke my waterbag and put me on the drip to quicken contractions. Total i took bout 6 hrs from breaking of waterbag to my #1 popping out

dordor,
congrats on ur bb ger...she looks sweet!!!

Actually estimated weight and actual weight may differ a lot one....my #2 my gynae estimate arnd 3kg come out only 2.67kg niah...*lol*

Star,
tat time my #2 bite with his gums too. During the first few days then after tat it gets better. Can understand how pain it felt thats y me now doing a bit of latching n expressing out the ebm instead. Cos he takes very long to latch..like suckle 10mins fall asleep no matter how i disturb he dont wanna wake up. Then in bout 1 hr he wake up again crying for milk..like that super tiring. So decided to latch 1-2x a day and express the rest of the time. Like that at least can ensure bb still willing to latch in future cos when they are older like 2-3mths old they latch much better n faster too

hi yo...

me officialli starting moi ML today... erm.. trying 2 clean up de hse as much as i can b4 baby comes along..

disposable panties:
PB, thanks 4 ur offer but i olredi got mine..

steriliser:
i've been curious.. we sterilise de bottles den kip in steriliser/ take out make milk, our hands oso in contact w germs mah.. den seems like defeat de purpose of the steriliser lei.. den got pple tell me muz season de bottles.. n i tried doing.. den i tink.. dumb me.. now de bottles wet w water vapours, by the time dry enuf 2 kip oso kena germs liao loh..

red dates drink:
can sm1 share de concoction 4 red dates drink after delivery?? cos heard cun take plain water, rite?

photo albums:
ani one noes where can get nice photo albums.. those stick-ons scrap book type 4 babies?

Hello hello! Finally got chance to come here ... the past week I only sleep, eat, and feed round the clock, kekeke ...

Congrats to all mommies who have popped!

Hannahl, Cellow,
Our doula really helped a lot during labor. She suggested different positions, encouraged me to carry on, even persuaded me out of using drug. Otherwise I would've given up halfway. Definitely worth the money paid. She also coached me on how to breastfeed and with her help, my baby can latch better now.

Re: jaundice
Jamie is slightly jaundice so we are renting a bilibed now
Our paed only told us to put him under the morning sun but it's been cloudy the past few days.

Re: sore nipple
What I did was to put some breast milk on the nipple and let it air dry. I find that it helps to heal the nipple. Initially I also dreaded feeding time coz it's super painful, plus my baby couldn't latch correctly so each time the nipple will rub his hard palate. Now they still feel tender but not as sore as before.

Re: engorgement
What I read is if you pump/express to relieve the breast, dun pump too much. Just enough to make the breast slightly softer. otherwise your body will produce even more milk.

Hannah,
*patz* abt throwing up all the precious EBM.. heartache 4 your efforts...

Thanks mummies for sharing the breastfeeding stories so that I know a litte more abt what to expect when my time comes.

BB Weight update
... or rather head diameter update. BB’s head is now 9.7cm wide. Dunno what that translates to in terms of birth wgt. Watever la, as long as he can fit thro my pelvic bone can already.

BB position
BB is engaged liao! ie head in my pelvic bone. And he is in the anterior (face facing my backbone) position. Best position for birthing. I spent at least half an hour in total on all fours position ystday while watching TV just to encourage him to rotate, bcz could sense his backbone was in the transverse position. Good boy, dear. Stay that way until you are out...

Gynae
This morning he came back fm vacation so quite relaxed. Gave him my birth plan, he said he will look at it and discuss next week. Also shared that his own daughter took one dose of Pitadin (trade name for oxytocin) and then delivered bb 2 hrs later. Hmmz ok. Mr Gyane, you are still not medicating me unless absolutely necessary! Cynical me wonders if he is leaving the birth plan discussion till late late so that we cannot sack him and look for another gynae.

Qing,
Maybe the skin that you are seeing on your nipple is not skin at all, but crusted milk leh. Mine looks like skin too, but everyday also got, so I think is milk, not skin. I dun think I have so much skin to peel off!

Do1nk,
U funny la…. Your EDD 25 Jul still some time away! From the tone n frequency of your qns, macam like this week leh

Star_xin,
Haha, mayb it is a sign that you are cleaning hse

Dustee, let us know what the GP says... fingers and toes crossed for u that it is merely a blocked milk duct.
...Ok going off to lunch now...

Celeste Blur,
My bb woke up every hour and suckle for 10 mins yesterday nite. It was really tiring. I planned to ask hubby to give EBM at nite.

Cabbage Leaves,
Don't use too much cabbage leaves, it will reduce your supply.

Nipple Shield
I tried to use Nipple Shield with DS#1 before when I had cracked nipple. I didn't find it useful and read somewhere and it may cause engorgement.

jaslyn

my #1 is very fond of her mei mei ! always want to carry her or sayang her. when both of them wants my attention, I will explain to her nicely that mei mei needs me and I will attend to her later. So far she is ok. Anyway my mum is at home too, so she will look for her if need to.

dustee

once u sterilise ur teats, u can assemble them into ur bottles and cover the teats.

sonic

u can either use a nipple shield and still latch ur baby. Cos bb latching is the most effective way to clear blocked ducts. alternatively, use a hot towel and apply on the area. some milk will leak but u will feel much much better.

i do have engorgement during the first few days so I used a hot towel. Then after a few more days, it doesnt comes back. According to my SIL, she says the milk supply has somehow adjusted to bb's demand.

do1nk

newborns are not moving a lot when they sleep. what I do it I put a small booster behind rianne's back when she sleep on the side. then she wont topple and lie on her back. i swaddle her for the first few days when we are home. but she keep struggling so i remove it and she seems fine.

for ur qns on BF:

1) yes if they oversleep in the day time. if they sleep a lot at nite, just ignore as long as you fed them before they sleep.

2) once u finish pumping and no milk is coming out of your breast, your breast will feel very light and soft. you can try to compress your breast to ensure it is very empty. however only bb can fully empty ur breast, not your pump.

3) no answer from me ehhehe

PB

i agree with u on the steriliser. I still open within that 6 hrs lah. Unless you have lotsa bottles and teats, else it is very unlikely that you wont open it.

Hannah

i did freeze EBM in the glass bottles before. Just dont fill the bottle totally with EBM in case it cracks when frozen.

oh what happen to ur gal ? maybe u can stop the feeding and burp her ?

Good afternoon!
Just back from gynae. Baby is still happy to stay inside, so we'll wait. Anyway, it's not EDD time yet...

There are so many posts to catch up on...

Congrats to the new mummies who've popped

Dor Dor
Yup, agree that your girl looks like she has big big eyes! And you did great to deliver without epidural! Peifu!

Lbt
Your two girls are very sweet!

Bluey
I also can't figure out... why 'richer' after 15 July?

Sparrows
Jia you! Jia you!

Mayflower
Purple Sage is quite nice, if you want to have something different from the traditional Chinese buffet.

IF
Oh, it's good that everything went well and that you and baby are fine
I think my #1 will be very possessive and upset at first when #2 appears. My neighbour told hb that her daughter (then 2 and a half years old) did not stop screaming and crying when she went to the hospital and saw her mummy breastfeeding her new baby sister. I guess the older ones just need to know that their place in the world has not been usurped by the newcomer, and that we still love them very much. I tell #1 that at every opportunity. And yes, I've bought A FEW gifts for kor kor already! Must hide them, 'cos he's already found and opened one of them!

Re: Induction
Some people respond very fast, from 2 hours. Mine with #1 was very slow. It took an entire day...

Re: coping after the first month
With #1 I catered confinement food. After that just cooked for myself. I had a PT helper come in once a week to clean the place. It was tiring, but we managed.

This time, I have a CL for the first month. After that, will probably cater confinement food for another two weeks. Then resume cooking for myself and #1. I still have a PT helper to clean the house. Hb helps with laundry and will hang it up before he goes to work.

RHS

i rented the bilibed too. had returned it last thurs since my Rianne jaundice has reduced to 7.4.

I did sun bathed her the past 2 days but not today since no morning sun.

hannah
i'm giving formula + ebm + nnp hehe. sayang sayang about your girl throwing up. as long as she is ok, ok?

JSP
ya i'm drinking the longan tea everyday, and fish bone+papaya soup alternating with straw mushroom soup. all supposed to help with increasing BM!

celeste
OMG you are pumping 1 litre a day! champion leh!

RHS
jamie's face so cute when doc measuring head!!!

youpi
which catering company did you use? i only know of natal essentials

re hard nnp
mine are always soft! but i just pump and try to keep to 3 hourly schedule hehe.

updates about diapers
poppy is adjusting well to diapers. she will cry a bit when she pang jio to let us know 'hey i've wet myself!' then go back to sleep. so cute

lbt
thats gd!
my cousin also just gave birth to #2 in June..
then her #1 dun wana talk to her.. cos he is jealous of my cousin looking after #2..
my cousin spent so much time talking to her #1 to take care of #2 and to tell #1 that she will play with him later..

Star_xin
Sounds like you are in the nesting stage... getting very ready for delivery
Those photobooks, I've seen some in Robinsons, Isetan, and the maternity shops, I think. You can also go to any scrapbooking shop and create your own too.

Cellow
Find it strange that your gynae did not just go through the birth plan with you and hb immediately when you presented it to him. That's what mine did last time. We told him we had a birth plan, gave it to him, he looked through it and said it should all be fine, and kept it in my file for the labour ward. Maybe your gynae needs time to formulate counter arguments!

RHS
Baby Jamie has such adorably pinch-able cheeks!

Dustee
Do let us know what the doctor says. It should be blocked ducts, yah? Take care!

Hannahl
*Pat pat* So sayang about the ebm... don't worry, am sure you will be able to maintain and keep up the ss for your little one. Perhaps you could keep her upright for a while after feeding, and burp her again, instead of letting her lie down immediately?

Re: glass bottles
You can freeze in them, but don't fill to the top, else the bottles will break 'cos liquids expand upon freezing.

Do1nk
Use your own bm to clean and heal your nipples. That's the best. After baby has nursed, squeeze out some bm to rub over your nipples, then let them air dry. It's free, and it's good!

Congrats to all who have popped! Pictures of your little ones makes me so eager to see my baby boy!

I have just started my ML too.... EDD this sat. Busy cleaning the house now... damn shack... I think I am better off working.... :p

I better speed up my work, looks like I have a different set of problems to face once baby is out such as BF, cracked nipples, engorgement, sterilising of equip etc etc....

Dear Madams,

PLEASE HELP US BY COMPLETING THIS SURVEY:
http://FreeOnlineSurveys.com/rendersurvey.asp?sid=5d0212xd8io3aw7461100

We are five students from Raffles Junior College who will be embarking on our Project Work.

As our Project is based on the modernization of cures for blood diseases, we hope to raise awareness and funds for public cord blood banking.

We understand the significance of cord blood stem cells in curing blood diseases. However, not many others do. Through this project, we hope to raise awareness among the public and pregnant women about the uses of cord blood: encourage mothers to donate their babies’ cord blood to public banks (SCBB) and increase the extent of positive impact that cord blood has brought to the curing of blood diseases. We also hope to give support to public cord blood banks by raising funds from the public.

PB
I used natal essentials then. I enjoyed the food. But have read a lot of complaints about them lately, so I'll probably go to another one. The list (from other sites, not too sure if all the links work):

* Neo Garden
http://www.neogarden.com.sg/menu_confinement.cfm
* New Baby
http://www.newbaby.com.sg/
* Natal Essentials
http://www.natalessentials.com/
* ihost foodworks
http://www.ihostfood.com/
* Red Dates Catering Tel: 6778 3238
Email: [email protected]
* First Delight Catering Tel: 6348 2528
* Homy Catering Services Pte Ltd Tel: 63482528 (Motherhood Magazine Ad)

batgirl
enjoy your ML and rest as much as you can!!! no la, not everyone will have the same challenges one la. just relax and take things as they come lor

re a certain survey conducted by certain people, how many of you are just turned off by being called "MADAM"? haha.

hey thanks youpi!!!

alamak i read too fast and though 'eh why got catering service want to call themselves HORNY ah?' hahahahha

neo gardens and ihost sound good!

congrats to newly graduated mummies!

Re: breastfeeding
Yup i do feel like a full time cow now, esp when the 2 funnels r attached to my boobs n can hear the milk dripping sound..

I juz pump exclusively n will usu massage my boobs before pump, drink a hot drink while pumping, and towards the end will massage n squeeze boobs while still pumping away till my milk stops coming out. Whole process will last ard 20-30min. Main thing is try to be as relax as possible. Juz give whatever we can to our baby is the right thot, so dun stress yourself.

I always check my nipples for any dried milk curd which could block my ducts and will squeeze it out like removing whitehead from pores like dat. This will also prevent any ducts from blocking up, bcos sometimes it's not inside but right at the tip. Or use hot towel to massage boobs. Cabbage will ease engorgement but will also reduce supply, do take note.

Happy pumping :)

Star, ya lor, so tiring when bb can stay forever on the breasts. And i still have 2 more boys which further drain away all my energy.. Dun know how those with 3 children are coping.

Oh mummies, my friend was telling me that recently LKY said something about govt's effort in encouraging more births is not enuf. What is is about har? Cos my friend said once he said something, sure got something good that comes out one.

RHS, woa, really took many photos at the delivery suite

lbt, ya, just now i didn't burp her, even though she was struggling to get rid of the teat. My fault.. I thot only 70 ml, not much mah.. Sigh..

I didn't know can rent the machine leh. Why PD didn't suggest but ask to keep in hospital leh? Cos need close monitoring?

JMon: wah must press lumps hard, twist areola..sounds like we gotto torture ourselves haha.. but if dun use hot towel during engorgement hor, how to ease it off?

cellow: haha you were on all fours watching tv last nite? what made you feel he wasn't in the right position? backaches? mine seems to be back for the past 2 days..now nursing a headache that won't go away too

nipple shield: hmm...should I get one to standby? can buy from anywhere?? any brands?

caterer: ok..who's the one with the irresistable curry chicken again? hehehe

trying to list down all the BM boosting foods: 1) fish bone + green papaya soup
2) straw mushroom (the golden stringy ones right?) soup
3) oatmeal?
4) milo & hot drinks while pumping
5) fenugreek pills?

and food dat would cause BM to decrease:
1) hawthorn
2) pig liver
3) tang kwai
4) ginseng
5) cabbage leaves on nnp

any others to add? or did I list anything wrongly?

fish oil: are you mummies continuing to take this while BF-ing?

*making notes while waiting to pop* haha

hannahl:
dun be upset.. btw, wat does dd means? but i tink it may be a sign tat means it's time 2 discard the old ebm cos ur ms is going 2 come in fast n furious soon? take it positively..

PB and Lbt:
i m particular abt the chinese names of babies and i m add, both your girls have veri sweet and nice names...

Dor Dor:
Baby Ember looks so deep in her sleep..and about the weight thingy.. dun tink too much abt it, heard usu weight is based on estimation so usu off by +-400-500gm.. impt thingy is she is healthy!!

Dustee:
dun be too worried.. be waiting for your good news tat it is but just a case of blocked milk ducts!

Batgirl:
u r nesting like me.. hee.. but moi edd onli on 28 jul.. seems like a long way.. but.. i still got 4 hamsters 2 take care of inde meanwhile..

Sparrows & Bluey:
Are both of you in the labour ward le?? hee.. do update us soon!!

Youpi,
Hmmmmmmmmmmm. Maybe you are right that he needs the extra week to back up his counter arguments. For #2, I am definitely changing gynae.... I realise our styles v different - to the extent that they clash. Mine is 'this is my body, our bb, my health, and women throughout the ages have birthed bbs, so my body KNOWS what to do'; his is 'trust me, I am the doctor'. Works for other pple, just... not for me. Haha, HB doing the 'bulldog' thing already. This morning, he did all the talking abt birth plan and stuff, so I can just conc on smiling and not growling at my gynae.

RHS,
Re: doula, thanks for the advice!
BB Jamie has a lot of hair for a newborn....

do1nk,
Little boy is close enuf to the surface that I can feel his backbone on my left hand side. Ystday, backbone was lying flat on left side ie his face was facing my right hand side at 90 degrees (transverse position). So I quickly got onto all 4s to do my pelvic tilts while watching CSI on cable tv...

Re: headache, massage your temples, the acupoints beside your ears where jawbone is attached to skull and base of neck... hope that works for you!

wah cellow...you can even tell how he's lying?? all these movements and jabs I get, I dun even know if it's his hands or legs or butt!

squeezing the temples: oh this I definitely do..every few minutes..but it helps eases the pain only by a bit for that short moment right? used to get headaches quite frequently, and would take naproxen for it..but had to give up my magic blue pill ever since I was preggie..and luckily I didn't get many since then.. today it's back..

induction:
after gynae inserted the pill at 11pm, nothing happen for 8 hours except some cramp... so end up 7am gynae burst my water bag... wait till 2pm can bb comes out

HannahI, youpi,
heehee ... really nothing special ... it's my yearly bonus day.
U think I can predict toto or 4D, isn't

I hv make an appt to see Dr Paul first thing on wed morning.
Maybe must "make use" of hubby to induce.

do1nk,
can use hot towel lah, but tat time i was terribly engorged and the nurse warned me not to use lor..

tell u, tat time the nurse really twistedn the nipples and pressed real hard on the lumps leh.. i almost punched her :p

Cellow,

Thanks for the summary that u sent to me. Well, will see what my gynae said this coming thurday.

Plan to back to work tomolo though i'm overdue now cos need to settle some paperworks. Hopefully i won't got any show in jurong island. (My office in jurong island)..X-finger, okie?

Re: Block milk duct
Those that facing this problem..do anyone of you need to see LC? The last time i went to see Doris FOk, she is the experienced lactation consultation from NUH. The last time she helped me to massage and clear the blocked milk duct. Not so painful..and i find that she is quite good. PM me if you need her contact...

Re: Nipple shield
Can get from many brands like Avent or Medela

Re: Sterilizer
Actually, the salesperson from Avent told me that once you sterilize your bottles, can recap all with the teats and cover and told in the fridge for up to 6 hrs (i think). In anytime u need to use the bottle, can just use it. But once u open the cover of the sterilizer, the sterilized bottle and teats will collect the germ oledy. So the best way is, immediately store the bottle in the fridge. One more thing to take note is rem to wash your hands with soap before handle the bottle and always use the tong to handle the teat.

star_xin, dd means dear daughter

I delivered on 29 Jun, wait so long never has fast & furious, not even slow & steady..

Jmon,
Heh, am not surprised... would prob feel like punching her too :S

Bluey,
Hahahahaha, just dun tell HB wat u r doing, sekali his male ego hurt. If only u can predict the winning nos for lottery hor. Peifu peifu leh, u can stand working in same coy w HB... kaypoh qn - is that how u met each other?

do1nk,
re: bb position
usually i dunno one. but ystday there was a crescent shape on the left hand side, so can only be his spine wat... also the jabs were coming from the bottom and right hand side. can try tracing ur bb position the next time u go to gynae? if she does the ultrasound for u, that is... ur gynae is the super-relaxed abt scanning type hor
if you are still working today, do try to shut ur eyes and go home earlier la. headaches are not fun...

do1nk
ah nia, please relax. i also feel very stressed when i see you stress hor! relax relax... when the situation calls for it then ask... don't give yourself unnecessary stress! stress can cause supply to decrease also hor!

star xin
poppy's name was 'calculated' by shi fu one so i didn't do anything. just choose from the combinations he gave us

cellow,
yup.. sort of. But not really this coy we r working now.
btw, my hubby knew abt the "induce"
. He just say "like tat also can??"
It's me cannot, lah. Ask me to do it just for a "purpose"(induce), feel very funny one.