(2008/07) July 2008

PB & Celeste
me all the while got long hair... from rebonded to curly and decided tat curly hair suits me better... as for when to do it... will most prob do it b4 gg back to work lor...

re engagement
heard tat some bb can get engaged as early as 30 weeks whereas some dun get engaged until b4 delivery... so tink it all depends on bb... btw, besides scanning, how do we knw if bb's head alrdy engaged liao huh??

re stiff fingers
tried all style of slpin but still get pretty bad stiff fingers in the morn lor... tis morning the worst lor... can't even hold my bolster lor...

re pains & aches
had a pretty bad pain in the lower abdomen last nite... lasted a min or so then no more... any1 encountered??

PB,
Actually I think my gynae is also the kind that dont bother bout "birth plan". He never mentioned to me abt it or anything. But frankly speaking I myself also very bo chap. That time for #1 juz like that go labour ward got induced, then when pushing bb told gynae i want vacumn cos bb's head quite big then like that story ends finished delivery *lol*.

lbt,
mabbe u can check with ur hairdresser for advice also

JSP,
Curly hair is nice but need a lot of maintenance need to apply those sculpting lotion after washing the hair and twist the hair a bit so that when dry up got nice curls. Thats y this time round tink i go back to rebonding *lol*

youpi
easy going and relaxed and borderlining on bochup
we've both realised that he's frequently close to rolling his eyes at some of our questions. and he's always discounting my concerns. i know they may be stupid but first time mummy, of course got alot of questions what, right? i think that's rather justified.

oh and yesterday i said my fingers were very very painful and that my finger tips were turning purple. he said 'chop them off!'. ummm. was that supposed to be a joke? hmmm. didn't think it was funny.

re doing anything with hair
questionable - some books say nothing has been proven when it comes to putting chemicals in your hair etc. but old wives tale is that we shouldn't la. just to be sure. i know for sure i will do something to my hair before going back to work but maybe toward the end of the 3 month period la

JSP
hey try to put your hands higher, i.e. not on bed level.

re engagement
labbit said before, it's like having a ball between your legs hehe.

re contractions
oh oh oh. i think CONFIRMED i'm having BH now. on and off it was 'am i? am i not?'. but JUST now, i'm having a tummy squeeze and everything is hard and it's a tad bit uncomfortable. a bit like a cramp. IS IT HAR???

dor dor
yeah everyday in pain no choice but to bear with it till bb 36 weeks ard 24june according to my gynae....
last nite my hubby was talking to bb ask her be guai guai stay till end of the mth so that he n mummy can spend more time with each other... i scold my hubby another week un noe i can tahan or not liao still till end of the mth.....

PB
actually gynae will inform u when they do the scanning if bb is head is engagement or not. on tue when ny gynae do the scanning he announce to me n hubby bb head engage liao.

chocolate cake
today feel like eating awfully chocolate cake maybe buy one for my fil tomolo as well as it father day an excuse ....hehe

PB
thanks... will try tonite again n hope it helps...

re contractions
me also getting it on a on-off basis... not so comfy but still okie... not painful thou...

serene
ya yesterday we asked and he said nope, not engaged.

youpi
oh i love the temptations chocolate cake!

speaking of chocolate. i'm wondering if it's all the choc milk and choc bars that i've been eating that has caused this little sumo wrestler to grow so much. hmm. i feel guilty leh. i hope she doesn't grow up to be a 6 foot nordic woman

my hubby was very funny last night. he said to her: "poppy, if you grow too big, you cannot wear alot of the little pink outfits your mummy bought for you, you know" haha. appealing to her vain side. brilliant thinking!!

PS yesterday, grand total: 18 pee breaks. phew!

Bluey
My mom's block is one of those 4-storey high ones, facing the church. Perhaps we've seen each other before 'cos Bishan is not that big actually!

As for the shipping, still deciding on which company to go with 'cos with CGW, using HSBC card actually got insurance lor... but also read abt lots of bad comments on them.

CB products, I'm using their calendular cream... I find it good for my eczema. Sometimes use on my boy too and he likes its smell... will even ask me for the cream whenever he sees me using it

BF after colouring
I have to colour my hair 'cos got lots of white hair!!! Now preggie, dun dare to and they are all showing

For my #1, I threw away the milk that was expressed immediately after my colouring session. Am worried that the chemical gets into the blood stream. Since he was so young then and the system immature, better play safe lor... but very heartpain to throw the milk!!!

PB
Dun bother abt your gynae. He'll only be with you at the delivery suite after the nurses have confirmed you are fully dilated and ready to give birth. Before that, he'll just come in and check on you once in a while. For my case, I informed the nurses when I felt I could not take it and needed the epi...

Engagement
JSP, for my case, my boy didn't engage till labour... think you'll feel the baby/tummy to be much lower when engaged.

oh oh just to share about hair colouring! my old colour was fading off so i really couldn't tahan half my head being a diff colour so i geh kiang, go and buy the henna natural dye cos no chemicals mah. then when i went for a cut my hairstylist said it's too dark and next time if i want to dye/highlight, it will be harder. sigh....

PB,
Is your hb big-sized? The local mummies-ang moh daddies whom I know/see usually have bigger-sized babies. Think they follow daddy's size.

Just to add to the reasurrances that the others have mentioned: when you go in for labour, just let the nurses (and the new ones when they change shift) know your preferences. They are very nice, and will cluck and fuss over you like mother hens. Like SNL said, your gynae will only appear at the last moment anyway.

wah..dun mean to rub salt into the wound, but think I would have snapped long ago if I had your gynae PB..

BH? take note of the time and frequency...juz in case..

HAIR: can't wait to perm n colour mine too! wish my hair was naturally wavy...think I'll play safe and discard any BM 24 hours after it.. hopefully will have enough supply to sustain the 24 hour "dry spell"

PB..yours must be really funky and short now if u gotto wax it everyday?

DILATED: had a friend who was 2 cm dilated for 2 weeks plus before she went into labour.. guess it's possible huh

ENGAGED: my BB's downward position but not engaged either..book says for 1st timer may engage earlier, repeat mummies can engage super last minute onli when in labour.. but when baby's engaged, could be anything from now til a few weeks later before baby is out too..so I guess it varies for every mummy..

DOGGIES: dordor, your doggie's not neutered? keke good thing mine doesn't hump.. but I gotto discourage him from jumping into the baby cot or he may accidentally step on my baby next time!

fiona..so sad to hear about you losing your dog..think I'd go mad and quit my job juz to comb the whole of SG everyday if it ever happens to me...

AVENT FROM AMAZON: heard they are having a fantastic deal for it now, think my SIL got one recently too but can't recall who she shipped with..either CGW or Globeshopper

TALKING TO BB: do you all do this often and in public too? I've always been talking to my dog a lot, and now my baby in the tummy..but get kinda embarrased when my IL's hear me doing it...hope they dun think I'm nuts...

MAIDs & IL's: think it requires a lot of "bite your tongue and be patient while training them" and lots of "give n take" but yet we need to know where to draw the line huh...not an easy task..

PREGGIE ACHES: been waking up recently due to an aching rib & back from sleeping on the side for too long.. will wake up and roll onto my back for a few minutes..but have to turn back onto the left again after a while..

I don't seem to have water retention, but not sure why the base of my feet is really hurting.. gotto walk gingerly after sitting down for too long or when I first wake up in the mornings...

celeste,
yup it's those with big curls one, i liked it very much but it's also very ex lor, plus need alot of care during washing, tangles very easily.

PB,
no prob, the folks at MAH are really nice

and talking abt hairstyle, i love making drastic changes too. my hubby always get a surprise when he come home seeing my hairstyle has changed again. before my recent short rebonded crop, i had very long hair with curls...hehehe

re: hair chemicals
better to play safe when breastfeeding bah, but the last time i very naughty also went to perm and colour my hair right after confinement.

SNL
my tummy seems to be getting veri low since like last week lor... n like wat PB mentioned... seems like got a ball between my legs... weird feeling...

i dun feel a ball between my legs yet...but my inner thighs seem to have put on more fats coz it irritates me to feel my thighs rubbing against each other when I walk now...

but I do feel pressure on my back bum area (anus area)? is that normal? haha

youpi
my hubby is ok ah. 180cm i think. but heavy bones lor. i read in 'what to expect when you're expecting' that babies tend to follow mummies. sigh. i hope so. my friend who's got a swedish husband (she's local), babies came out 3.5 and 4.2kg respectively. gulp

btw, how's the book!
oh i'm starting to like the MAH nurses more and more already!!!!!

do1nk
i think it's normal. cos baby is down liao so pressing on everything below it
my tailbone was very painful the last few days, but now ok liao

also, if baby is big, there is a chance of getting (que scary horror show music now) piles. cos baby weight add pressure

re BH
i just told my hubby i'm having BH and he also asked me to time, in case. specifically ask me to write down on paper some more. but since i don't know if it's BH or not, i just put "???" haha.

he so funny. said 'don't go into labour so far away from me! i want to be with you! cos i want you to feel like you need me :D' hehe.

Morning mommies.

I had my 35 week check up yesterday. My bb is 2.7 kg.

Wireless internet at Thomson Medical Centre.
Recalled someone asked about this. I asked the info counter yesterday and yes, they do have wireless internet. When checking into hospital, just tell them you want it so it can be activated.

PB,
Wah your Gynae!!!!!! Mannnn if I were you I would probably flare up immediately. I mean, I know he's professional and done this many times already but if it's his client first time, he had to listen to what your birth plan is and offer you his advice later on.

My gynae is very talkative and he's very accommodative to my girl. he lets her put the ultrasound gel all over my tummy and entertained her questions on the ultrasound screen. So nice hor.

SDchick
so sweet your gynae. note to self: consider SDchick's gynae if planning for #2

girls, now every time i sneeze, i scared i am scaring poppy and telling her 'ok now's the time, come now' haha

SDchick... i asked about wireless internet at TMC... any idea need to pay extra or not? thanks!

just wonder ask experienced mummies.. while we are in labour ward waiting for delivery, are we allowed to drink water? coz whenever i'm panic, i need to drink water...

JSP... do baby's hiccups feel like a series of rhythmic pulses? my hubby asked is it heartbeat or not, but i think heartbeat not that strong ba..

i can't sleep well recently coz bb keeps moving when i sleep.. hmm.. (panda eyes now)

Super eagle infusion
One of my work colleagues who is a mummy too said to me 'your body will know what to do at the moment of birth, bcz your body is designed for it. plan for the birth, but no need to think so much abt it till it happens. go w the flow' I like eagles!

youpi,
you east side one izzit? all this talk of alforno pizze and temptations (katong) choc cake making me hungry (again :p)

serene,
love awfully choc's yummilicious choc cake too. *smack lips

do1nk,
i talk to bb most of the time. tell him mummy is working now, mummy is going to lunch now - do u like the food, sing and hum to him at bedtime - my bedtime la, not his - he still moves around a lot. dun care if pple think i crazy.

re: hair
went to hairdresser after monday gynae appmt and she cut short short to shoulder length bob while listening to me vent abt ILs, HB quirks and pregnancy in general. white hairs are popping out but dowan to colour. save that for b4 i go back to work.
haha, Fiona, i dun want to do drastic changes to hair, even though HB said shd cut my hair shorter. had short hair for longest time when growing up, took a lot of discipline to grow past the neck/shoulder. note - hair was always wavy, no need to perm! save a lot of moolah *grin

jialat. i got appraisal at 2pm and i'm panicking now because i don't remember some of the things i said i would set out to do. gulp. ok relax.... if i really need to, i can just say during the session 'OK I'M GOING INTO LABOUR NOW! BYE!' haha.

re hiccups
yup like rhythmic pulses. sometimes quite strong one.

wai wai
so cute you need to drink water when you're in panic? i would like to bring my lavender oil burner leh. it soothes me but i think they won't allow. or maybe just find something lavendar smelling can already.... hmm.

re stiff hands
oh i'm not sure if i have posted this before but can also use fingers of opposite hand to massage along the bone structure slowly. also helps a bit

i received the KKH bill for my girl liao. total bill $39,027.77. Govt grant $30,137.29. deduct from medisave $8890.48

conclusion: no need to fork out cash.

heng ah, i choose kkh....

ok, i m going to chiong shopping liao. CIAO

waiwai
yup... bb hiccups feels just like wat u describe lor... heartbeat usually cannot really feel but can hear... n then bb heartbeat usually quite fast...

re hair
cellow u so lucky got wavy hair then no need to perm... mine need to perm like every year lor... somemore not cheap lor... super vain so usually go back to the hairdresser that did it well for me previously lor...

re chocolate
all these choc talk making me hungry lor... luckily almost lunch time liao...

cellow
me too. i talk to poppy alot.

when at lunch: 'what to have for lunch? how about this? ok? can?'.

when going home: 'yay we're going to see papa soon! papa and mummy love you alot you know?'

when going to bed: 'ok mummy needs to sleep now. you also sleep ok? you want papa to kiss you goodnight?'

and lately: 'don't be sumo wrestler ok? come in 2 weeks ok? let mummy and papa have one more weekend ok?'

:D

JMON
wow no need to fork out cash? COOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! enjoy your shopping :D go robinsons!

*burp* juz back from lunch..

JMon...it's great that you got the grant, and balance can be deducted from medisave.. is it because of the type of ward you chose? or KKH gives out grants?

PERMING HAIR: haiz... I need to perm every 3 months to keep it wavy...n that was how I got all the dried split ends before having to chop it all off... now hoping my hair will grow faster so I can go back to nice wavy long hair!

Cellow,
No, I am in the north, same area as Dor Dor and Bluey. I go to Al Forno at Novena. But I made hb go to Katong to get the cake 'cos that's the only Temptations outlet in Singapore ;P

Jmon,
Wow... "no need to fork out cash" always sounds good to me! ;)

JMon
hapi for u tat no need to fork out $$... lucky u chose to give birth in KKH n not pte hospital lor... enjoy ur shopping...

do1nk
KKH dun give out grants... gov give subsidy for subsidised patients which explains the grant... which is dependent on the kinda ward chosen... coz if pte patient then got no subsidy and bb inpatient charges would also be pte...

re perming hair
do1nk, u mean u perm ur hair so often? heard its not so good to perm so often leh... somemore muz sit there for so long?? where u go to perm my hair?? isit the perming stuff they use not so gd tats y become straight so fast??

perming hair,
last time when i perm my hair, it last only for less than a month lor. but hor, in the beginning look very nice, then as the weeks go, the hair starts limping lor.

oh.. I hope all goes well for me then...could only pick the 1 (what's this? A1?) or 4 bedder (B1) if I wanted my gynae to deliver for me..

perming hair: not sure if it's my lousy hair or the lousy chemicals.. haha did it at a couple of different places..jean yip, hair inn... some other shop near work... I guess that's how my hair started getting all brittled and split...

do1nk & Rain
i tried other salons too... found jean yip the best... if u interested can intro my hairstylist to u... usually will tell him to perm more curly so that can last... coz after afew washes tend to be less curly... he usually will recommend to use different curl size which makes the curls more natural n lasting... also, after perming muz really take the effort to apply lotion onto hair to maintain the curl lor...

jsp,
I know. specially bot the "lotion" to maintain my curls. Guess i'm lazy lor. my hair is natural wave, no need to comb after waking up type.
But really heartpain lor. 1 time perm is like $100+ and less only 1 mth or so.

Rain
heehee... me also not the kut lat kind lor... usually just apply the 'lotion', crunch hair then out of the house liao... me pay abt 200+ per perm so muz make sure tat it last lor... if not sure veri xim tia one lor...

labbit
i just confirmed yesterday. i actually booked for 2 bedder. but i changed to 4 bedder
so you or me bringing mahjong set?

just had baked salmon with broccoli. yum! and cake after
but it's shared cake la so not so bad. sigh. gynae asked me to cut down on sugars.

oh updates on cordblood banking
yesterday met the cordblood lady. so we signed up to donate liao. (and when we told the gynae he made a face again. sigh.). she showed us how it was done la. but i think it means that the doc will cut the cord, not my hubby

and the good thing is that the lady said that ultimately, it's still mum and baby that comes first. if (choy) any complications or what, the cordblood thing will take least priority.

anything else you girls want to know?

PB... i told my gynae about storing bb's cord blood and asked whether my hubby can cut the cord or not, then he said depend on situation like whether need emergency c-sect or not (*touch wood), and told us to remind him again on delivery day... my hubby is very keen to cut the cord haha. think u may ask your gynae again...

JMON, wow the bill is huge!

luckily u got grant... is it becos it public hospital?

b4 tat, u choose KKH already rgt? btw, yr gal not delivered by own gynae rgt? so u still need to pay gynae for hospitalisation?

cellow,
me got curly hair too but to achieve those jap like curls still got to perm leh...

re: hair perming
my hairstylist does very good jobs on my hair, even when it's permed not so curly can still last very long, and usually low maintenance as well. but the salon too far for you gals liao lah, it's a neighbourhood salon in jurong where i stay...only cost me 100+ for perm, colour and treatment. alot of ppl ask me where i did my perm somemore...hehehe

Jmon,
wow...so lucky dun need to pay the hefty bill.

re: cord blood
the gynae got to collect the specimen immediately after cutting off the cord(anyway my hubby won't be doing it), besides the cell count which is very important, the gynae got to do it very carefully and skillfully too as to not waste it. Maybe that's why PB your gynae made a face(he's quite rude hor).

haha very funny. my gynae seems to be everyone's public enemy #1 now hehe. i dunno la. i kua kwee kua kwee for everything. hubby would like to cut but it's not a big deal i think. cos we saw pics and he said 'eh look quite gross hor?' and we both agreed. the cord will actually be PULSATING leh. yuck!

one morn din log in and so many posts! this morn went to watch kungfu panda with my boy. he was so quiet that we scared he fall asleep.... but overall qutie ok. the movie's pretty funny though

cordblood
hmm okay i will ask my gynae tmr when i see her if hb can cut cord if we're storing cordblood. i still haven't decided to store to the bank or a private one.
but maybe hb might faint when he see so much blood. who knows.

maternity leave
cannot start next week like PB liao. colleagues i'm supposed to handover work to, keep disappearing mysteriously so i still have to come back to office next week to follow up. sigh.

mt alvernia
oh i booked 1-bedder coz ..... i'm very teh and i think i want my hb to stay overnight with me (and it's my own medisave i'm using, so oh well)

baby cot sheets
who was looking for baby cot sheets? i just bought from aussino last night, 19.90 for 2 pieces, jersey material. quite soft, but it's plain coloured types, got blue, pink, peach, ivory.

pink swaddle cloth
pinkbunny, i just realized (going through baby things last night) that my swaddle cloth is also pink with butterflies! (i got it free when i bought my ameda pump)

perm hair
my hair was curly before i got pregnant.
my long long permed hair was with me for so long loh,
now cut until shoulder length le.
but hor, mine can last one year lehz.
do1nk - i think your hair is straight type one right.

PB
your gynae sound so not professional one lehz.

cord
waiwai, my hubby also very anxious. wanted to cut the cord too. as for storing of cord blood, still deciding if it is really necessary.

lunch
stupid pizzahut spoil my day. make me hungry for so long. and their service sux...

i had breast-length hair (long enough to cover breasts lah) , then i cut to shoulder length when i got pregnant and was throwing up a few times a day (coz sometimes very hard to keep hair up when bending over the toilet bowl) then now i'm at ear-length.

my neck feels cold.