(2008/07) July 2008

tell her to put on thicker clothes and extra blanket if feels cold, but hot very torturing one leh...these old women scared of cold and so selfish, how can make babies accommodate them? it should be the other way round.

jmon,
no, I haven't popped yet.... hee..... gynae said still too early. Probably another two more weeks. The brown discharge false alarm. But did feel more BHC these few days.

lbt,
my #1 had night feeds till he was 8+ months!!!!

Jaslyn,
good to know your girls are doing well =) My mum always says bb if can sleep well, will gain weight faster. Don't know how true it is. But every time, my #1 naps..... it's time I can do my own things, or just simply take a rest.

qing,
your info on the false contractions are good. Now I know what I'm experiencing are fakes.... hee hee..... I also more relieved...... want bb to stay inside longer.

don1k,

Confirmed ... I have charge my breast pump already.

Lbt,

Really no plain water? I do give glucose water too.
But I really is ... no milk for her after midnite when she is older than 1 mth.

Opps ... I very cruel, hor? Not so patient to sweet talk. I cannot make it one.

Pedi:

I do full pedi & mani one. Express one nothing much ... actually for nails maintenance, not so much of looking pretty.

re CL
seems like u Fiona got a way with nasty CL... hope my CL would not turn out to be like jaslyn's kind lor... met her once b4 n she seems quite modern one... if not her life would be cham coz i also super fussy one lor...

re taking care of BB
my MIL would be takin care of my boi boi after i go back to work... for me i tink its mostly about the pamper part coz me n my MIL get on pretty well and she quite clean also when it comes to handling children... i tink i'll buy her a cane and ask her to cane him if he naughty...

jaslyn
good to hear tat ur gers r gaining weight fast n steadily... as for ur CL prob... juz bear wif it for another 2 weeks n she would be gone... maybe juz tell her not to wrap the gers lor... get a thin nappy to cover their hands instead lor... if not nice to her wait scared she also not nice to the gers when no1 is ard lor... so REN is the word...

JSP
hmm not that being a wet blanket but in taking care of children even me and my mum have different views. so really depends on how open minded your MIL is and how well u guys communicate. my mIL does things that i dun like and it took a lot of hinting and sometimes outright saying before she gets it.

Pedi
i also tot of doing it tomolo but have to ask my hubby for permission n than book for appt...

tummy pain
nw tummy still a bit pain tonite not cooking dinner going over to mil place for dinner

Fiona
wana tell her to follow instrucions leh..
but then like what julysweetiepie say lor..
my gers with her at nite leh..
all mothers hor will be protective towards
their kids right.. hehe..
told her liao..
say we can provide her with all these..
but she still say dun want..
so I gave up...and told her dun wrap them up..
I tell my gers to ren.. sometimes when I on the aircon.. I bring them to my room for awhile..

piyoz
ya lor.. so I always tell them to sleep more..

julysweetiepie
ya lor.. so now I REN..

Very sian ... feel like changing my maid.

Sometimes I think she have no common sense one.

Need to have a long talk with her tonight. I hate this!

Why is maid also my responsiblity ... sometimes I wonder what is hubby for ... sian.

bluey
sometimes i also cannot understand why they so no common sense. that day i ask her to wash part of the bb clothes and to put back. of cos u put separate from the dirty ones right. she put right back where i took it from with the dirty clothes.

bluey
dun be sian
my hubby also like this..
he say gers and gers easier to talk to..
*faint*
will have to force him go talk to my new maid

SY
ya i agree wif u... especially when it comes to our child lor... i tink we would wan the best for our child... me then to be more optimistic lor... but tink will put my boi in childcare when he old enuff so its oni for the time being oni...

serene
go relax n take ur mind off the pain... me not gg for any pedis for the moment coz can no longer tahan sitting down for too long...

SY
agree with u..
my new maid ask her to warm my gers milk..
she go warm until so hot that she cant even hold the bottle..
ask my ger to drink..
I say so hot how to drink.. peng lor..

SY & Jasyln
seems like alot of u havin big prob with maids hor... makes me abit scared too lor... heard n seen too much horror stories abt them... me & HB had intention of employing 1 to help out wif my MIL so tat she can take gd care of my boi... but after talkin to MIL, she say she can handle n will let us knw if she need extra help... wif all these horror stories, hopefully she can cope if not our head also big lor...

JSP,
haha...if my CL like dat, i'll purposely do the opposite of what she does, and make my baby sleeps with me but everytime if baby poos or needs milk, i will make sure bring to her to do it while i look on or i'll keep calling the agency to stress the boss. i am the horror CL pray they'll not meet :p

Jas,
your gals' interest definitely come 1st...so ren bah...just 2 more weeks to go.

SY,
same for me lah...but recently my mil like very scared of me liao bcos i too straightforward and been losing temper, volcano eruption kind some more(must be pregnancy hormone)

bluey,
when we had a maid, the whole family also treated like she's my sole responsibility. so i got so fed up, one day just sent her back and refused to get another one since mil complain so much abt her. wants to suffer might as well everyone suffers together lor...i rather do things myself.

JSP

if u have someone at home to jaga maid shld be ok. my new maid is coached by my mum at home and my mum can be quite fierce but can chit chat with her too. So my maid quite well trained now eheh .. i din do much actually eheh

bluey

yeah cos the report says bb kidney not v developed yet and cant handle the toxic in the water.

rainbaby

i ordered from preciousbabes before. Anything u want to know ?

jaslyn
they very no common sense one. this thing abt making the milk too hot makes my blood boil. my maid also did the same thing. put in water that's too hot and the milk was so hot. i asked her whether can drink or not and when she tested she said cannot. i told her off and said i cannot check for her everyday. after that she got the temp right liao.

JSP
hmm, not that we have probl with maids but these are problems that needs to be ironed out at the early stage. once they get the hang of it, they are ok. my maid is generally quite ok but really no common sense at times and i dun have the energy to go and teach her common sense lor.

how old is your MIL? if she's quite old, then good to have one more person ard. nowadays bb are different

But sometimes I think they not really that stupid one ...
just that they think that if they dun do properly, next time can no need to do already.
I think my maid thought that I dunno what going on in the house when we are working. It is better to have someone to supervise them eg. MIL.

But I scare change already, still get someone no IQ one ... vomit blood.

fiona
hee, recently i ignore my MIL a lot cos i was quite pissed with her over her endless pregnancy related questions. think now she got the hint and dun dare to ask liao. but once in a while she cannot help it and will still show her anxiousness over her daughter (even when her daughter not ard)....

SY
my MIL abt 60 tis year... still quite strong... but she say dun wan so we juz let her be for the time being lor... but the option of hiring a maid is still open for discussion if the need arises lor... we r keepin options open for her...

lbt
ya... wif som1 ard, dun tink the maid can do anytin funi lor... anyway, if really employ a maid, she would be helpin out wif housework more lor... bb would be taken care by MIL coz she also dun trust maids...

bluey
fully agree wif u... dey super geng one lor... if can dun do dey more than hapi lor...

bluey

i also agree. that day we went shopping .. then I was with my gal at the toy department.. then later i go find my maid, she was sitting on a chair. then I say I want to make milk. She still sit there not moving ! i say i want to make milk, can u let me sit ??? aiyo !!

then the old auntie beside her this maid so "straight" one !! then my ger finished her milk, I asked my mum to take my seat. then I go wonder around with my ger and when I am back, the maid is sitting and my mum is standing !! faint !

JSP
haiz.. at least ur MIL say she can cope..
me with 2 gers.. my mum sure cant cope..
so bo bian..

Fiona
ya lor..
so I have to REN..
u getting CL anot?

SY
ya lor..
I also told her off..
I say so hot.. u cant even hold the bottle u think bb can drink..
but I say so much dun know she understand anot..
ask my mum's maid to repeat what I say..
I buy warmer and teach her to use leh..
but she say not hot after the 1st time so she warm it 3 times.. I say warm also must know how hot mah.. really hor.. headache..

hi mummies..
i have been lurking around reading the posts since got nothing to type..
anyway for my #1,i was induced..i tell u..so painful..a female gynae came in to c how dilated i was n she did a VE..i screamed so loud coz very painful leh..aft tat i got bleeding..3 hrs later a male gynae came n do VE n i expected to have the same type of pain..
skali amazingly no pain..not at all..then i say to the male gynae how cum the female 1 did my VE earlier was so painful n wen u did it no pain..
he replied..coz im a male..i wudnt get to feel ur pain so im much more gentler and caring..hahahaha

btw any of u donating ur blood cord to the spore blood cord centre?i did for my #1 n will donate for my #2 also..

hi ju, thks for sharing.

note to self 2 include in birth plan
- I wish to be consulted before we proceed with vaginal examination as I want to keep it to a minimum

Quick update about today’s gynae check…. In the right corner, at week 36, introducing newcomer under the heavy weight category, weighing in at 3kg…. Poppy…. Bunny!

How? I win or not? Seriously, isn’t that like the average weight of a NEWBORN baby? Eh… I don’t want sumo baby leh.

Gulp. I quite scared leh. I just told her, come at week 38 la ok? Please? Cos if tahan till week 40, I cannot imagine squeezing a 4kg plus baby out of me leh. Hubby said ‘hmmm maybe it WILL do you good to drink coffee and induce labour?’

But everything is a-ok with the little girl. Gynae even showed us her…. Er…. Let’s just say it’s confirmed she’s a she

Re stiff fingers
He said it’s water retention. Cos the area around the wrist (the veins I think?) cannot expand. So everything that goes to the hands and fingers stay there. That’s why stiff. So ask me to lift my hands often. Alamak. Like airing armpits?? Maybe I should install a pull up bar in my house (so 80s hor?) and hang loose there during my ML?

Delphine
treasure hunt is actually my family tradition. Then I did it for hubby and he does it for me now. Of course we’ll do for poppy next time also. He got me a camera! I’m not a technie so I trust his taste

Do1nk
I dunno who is Austin the designer… I just watched one or two episodes hehe.

Everybody, the crab beehoon tonight was FANTASTIC!!! I was almost licking the claypot. But lucky my husband held me back hahaha

Updates
Speaking of birth plan. At gynae clinic today I said ‘can we share with you our birth plan?’ and he (gynae) made a face. He said ‘I hate birth plans. If you want to do a birth plan and you want to plan everything, then I might as well not be there and you deliver the baby yourself’. We were like HUH?? That sounded a bit unprofessional leh.

I regained my composure quite fast and said ‘we just want it to be as natural as possible. And tahan as long as I can, until cannot then I ask for epi’. I mean of course I know they are the professionals but I also don’t want to be offered a cocktail of drugs from the minute I step into the hospital la.

And he took a rather long non work related phone call during our appt. like HUH??? We’re beginning to feel more and more uncomfortable with his bochupness.

Hope bb can 'dong' till gynea comes back lah. For me not much pain or wat actually also very surprised I am dilating already cos I was still looking out for my mucus plug.....haha
But think I should not be that surprised cos already 'predicted' bb will probably be around 36wk like my #1 lor.
btw I asked my gynea re mucus plug n she say its either red or brown. But some ppl dun have 1. Think like me lor...haha

do1nk
Hehehe. My dog after humping his own bed 'cannot' move ma....keke
He must wait till "it" goes back then he can move ma. But my son see my dog stand there not moving so he will start to kajiao him. Pat his head lah poke his nose lah pull his tail.....hahaha
Few times he even tried to carry my dog but I scream at him lor or my dog will make the 'growl' sound only then my son will stop for awhile or come n tell me my dog growl at him....hehe
Train ur dog to keep his own toys??...haha Mine keeps his all under my bed n my naughty boy sometimes crawl in to snatch 1 out...sigh

SNL
My dog very mild tempered 1 so we not worried about him with my son.
ANyway cos he's small size I more worried about my dog cos my son will probably squash him....haha

lbt
Ummm actually I dunno leh u mean we can stay 1cm dilated for weeks aah??
Cos for my son waterbag burst 1st ma without any contractions. So I admit hospital n gynea check me also 1cm dilated.
I dun carry my son at home but when we go downstairs bopian gotta carry him cross the road n back.

Serene
Ur contractions so painful aah....kelian
How to tahan so long more.

bluey
Same same.....hehe
I been here since my Pri sch days.....haha
By any chance u staying at the condo?? I trying to find someone staying there then I can bring my son over to swim......hehe
Nearer then the public pool!!
N u do sprees hor next time I can join u collection pt so near hehe

youpi
I very confused now lor cos I taking medi so means?? Won't dilate more?? I dunno can dilate n still tahan for weeks...hehe
But dun think I can tahan THAT long. Jus 1 more week I happy already.....hehe

Sally
I didn't have VE also for #1. But this time kanna 2 times already but still quite okie maybe my gynea quite gentle I jus try to relax as much as possible n not think. She do pap smear also dun really feel anything 1.

Re. Driving
I dun dare to drive liao tummy rubbing steering wheel liao.....hehe
Was still driving last week but only near places like J8 n to my friend place in AMK. Cos its still much better then me having to take public transport with my son.

pinkbunny
Urrrrr not that I wanna say bad things but why ur gynea sound so unprofessional aah. He can jus read/hear ur birth plan wat. Shouldn't u be the 1 who has to be comfortable with him??
We r the 1 paying ma right.

Pinkbunny, the bottle caps are plastic ones, not metal ;) There is a cover in the middle, can remove to put in the teats.

Bluey, can u PM me on how to order the pump? I've asked my sis to buy for me but she said her schedule is very tight. So just in case she can't get it for me, i'll have to order myself. Is it easy to order, and how long does it take to reach us?

Dor Dor,

Condo? ... so near yet so far.
I do hope I live there so I wun consider moving house already. When the condo was launch, i wanted to get a unit but it was sold out.

My gal everyday keep "boi" people play tennis and swim there.
My friend live there but he have rented the house out. So I can't go over too.

U organise spree also must tell me, hor?

I also have dogs, leh. Also got bullied by my gal.

Hannahl,

Buying online quite easy ... It should take 2-3 weeks. So if you wanna get it in time, better order now.

okie ... cut n paste from my email to all the enquires abt my pump.

"I got my medela New Freestyle breastpump from Add A Little Love www.AddALittleLove.com @ US$290 (including domestic shipping $5).
As for vPOST shipping is about $83 for my set.

Please note that you might be charge GST (7%) for the items by vPOST since the cost is above SGD$400."

wow wow wow...

big babies... been missing out alot cos was out de whole day.. n nw busy w mahjong.. hee... whose hands itchy in de east??

bluey
U stay near the condo too huh means VERY near me.....hehe
So far only found my younger bro's friend staying there but he still schooling leh like abit mahuan if gotta ask his friend to open the door for me. Somemore he not close to the friend....sigh

I jus found an alternative site to getting California baby items u also using them?? Cos got trouble with LV the last round haven settle yet so I tried ordering from this site on my own 1st seems quite okie box also quite small. I ordered on 6th now vpost already inform me received liao. But prob is the calendula backordered till est early July. So I prob will spree again early july or ask if I can add more items in the same box.....hehe

Dor Dor / Bluey
hee, hee I'm at Bishan almost every Sun 'cos my mom stays there. We have stayed there for sooooo long... would say we were one of the first to move there... her place should be pretty close to yours...

Dor Dor
The interaction between your dog and boy is so cute! Was laughing out loud when I read your description.

PB
Wah, Poppy is growing well hor! Never mind lah, bigger bb is not so fragile lor... I would prefer if my boy hits 3kg or more by the time he is due!

Bluey
Like to check with you if it would be better to go by CGW or VPost for bulky items? i heard that CGW is cheaper for bulky items. I'm looking at getting the Avent electric pump from Amazon but they don't ship outside US for electronic stuff.

re: birth plan
My gynae din make a face when I brought up the birth plan but he did say 'you have to trust me to do the best for you and bb'. Words sound ok but there was smthing in his tone... that just.. i dunno... sounded like he wasnt really ok. Checked in my reaction w HB, and he said he sense the same, so it wasnt my hormones over-reacting.

Dordor,
California bb items v good? I just bought one bottle of Johnson's bb tip to toe wash. Later not enuf, send HB to buy some more.

re: bb's weight.
32/33 weeks - baby is 2.1kg. still some way to go till 31 Jul EDD so grow away, bb Cedric

morning mommies...

star xin & bluey
u gals still awake at the wee hrs in the morning?? me slp at 9+ last nite lor... super tired lor...

PB
mine was abt 2kg at 32 weeks... maybe will be comparable to urs lor... but heard bigger bb easier to take care... will knw bb how heavy at 35 weeks when i go for my check-up next mon...

good morning everyone from a very sleepy bunny...

but very happy because today is the last day in a long time that i will have to wake up to an alarm clock! woohoo!!!!

dor dor
no worries, we also felt he was a bit unprofessional. throughout the whole journey, he's been rather bochup la. and i've talked about it over time as well. but yesterday really made me feel like 'huh?'. but we give him benefit of the doubt la. maybe his intentions are good but his choice of words could have been different. anyway IF we have #2, would like another gynae la.

hannahl
oh ok! we start the sumo club! hehe. i really hope this little woman comes out about week 38. you? hoping for full term?

re stiff fingers
ok yesterday i tried sleeping on my side, and hugging my bolster. but instead of letting my hands fall to the side, i put them both up on my pillow, next to my face. and they were not so stiff this morning. still stiff, but not so bad. guess they were slightly elevated la.

star xin
you don't be so bad leh. my hands very itchy.... i stay tiong bahru. how far east are you? my parents stay tanah merah :p

cellow
yup like you, it's not like i am doubting that he does a good job. of course we know they want the best for us and baby, but i just think he shouldn't shove our birth plan aside esp after i really spent alot of time thinking about it leh.

i just don't want to be one of those women who end up saying 'i didn't want a c-section, i knew i still could do it, but my gynae was in a hurry that's why i landed up in the op theatre' you know?

but despite his attitude, yesterday i found myself saying many times 'we just don't want everyone asking me every few minutes if i want the epi. i want to tahan as long as i can'.

you know what he said to that?

"you are singaporean right? sure cannot tahan very long one".

what the....

i was really quite pissed lor. i think my tone was quite sarcastic when i said 'well i hope all that yoga i've done helps'. THAT was the only moment when we both felt his tone softened and he was genuinely sincere when he said 'ya actually that would probably help'. the only time he wasn't sounding very yaya.

morning ladies

Re : Haircut
I just went to cut my hair yesterday into bob style...haha...like that supposed to be more cooling during confinement. Then planning to color/highlight + rebond my hair after confinement...cant wait to do all thesE! Hehe

JSP
yup like what some of the mummies here have said, bigger babies easier to care for cos not so fragile. i'm just afraid of pushing out a big baby! hehe. i'm slightly small sized.

cellow/JSP
poppy was 2.1kg at 33 weeks

celeste
hehe me too. went to cut short a while ago. but i have to wax it everyday. now thinking i will have to wear hairband everyday at home during confinement or else will look like siao char bor with hair standing up hehe.

ya, after confinement i will go straight to colour my hair! hehe. but but.... if we are BF, then should we or not ah?

re weight gain
quite proud of myself leh. i've put on 13kg so far. if i could reach my back, i would give myself a pat hehe.

celeste
u brave leh... me dun hav the courage to cut my long hair leh... HB been urging me to cut it shorter but me die die also wanna keep lor... tink will juz tie my hair up into a bun and do dry washin during confinement lor... me look super ugly in short hair lor...

PB
ur gynae like super stuck up hor?? if i were his patient, i would have given him my million dollar face when he make those comments liao lor... but workin in a healthcare industry makes me realise tat some doc have the brains but lacks EQ lor... i tot pte docs would hav more EQ lor... but seems like day are birds of the same feathers lor...

jas,
yup i'm getting a CL, hope she's ok.

PB,
erm..in fact alot of gynaes doesn't like the idea of birth plan, so they may sound quite offended abt the idea. but just ignore him lor anyway he'll only come in when you are fully dilated and ready to push.

the most important ppl to inform abt your plan are the labour ward staff. i didn't draw up a birth plan but i gave the staff clear instructions(nicely of course) that i want to breastfeed immediately after my bb's delivered and at MAH they didn't rush me into getting a epidural at all, i was the one who told them to page for my anaesthetist to come..hahaha

re: gynae appt
i won't get to see till next thurs when i'm 37 wks, can't wait to pop soon. i wonder how much my boy weighs now

dor dor,
i used to have a dog too, really miss him very much...he went missing after maid and mil didn't lock the gate after me and hubby left for work. was extremely upset over the matter for quite a long time. my dog's temperament is fantastic, and you won't believe it, he doesn't even hump bcos i didn't like that...

celeste,
i've been planning on new hairstyle for after confinement too, been thinking abt doing hair extensions hehehe

PB

i cant tahan ur gynae leh. I think my gynae would be happy to hear abt the birth plan but yet give professional advice. last time when he induced me for contractions, he did ask me to take epi immediately. I say i want to see how long I can tahan. and he just smiled at me and agree.

and making a long phone call during a patient appt is very unpro lah ...

i think we need someone more sensitive during our pregnancy and not to be suan by them and feel sore after that !

anyway... good to hear that poppy is doing soooo well ! and Hannah too ! ur babies are big !!

snl,
I only ship my items back by vPOST. Been using it for years ... so not very sure on cgw.
I know that others charge lower but I also heard/read many of them faces a lot of problems/issues.
I prefer to pay a bit more for a peace of mind.

Bishan:
I am one of the "pioneer" there too. It used to be my parents' but later I brought over when I got married. My parent brought another near the ITE side.
Mayb we all on the same block, seeing each other everyday.

Mine is the "big, flat" block that face the tennis court ...

Awake in wee hours:
Used to it already.
I sleep very late every night around 2am. My gal sleep @ 11am.

CB products:
I have not tried them before. I just "heard" that they are quite good.

PB
shall keep u gals updated on baby weight after next appt lor... maybe we can start a sumo baby club lor... seems like quite a few of big bb for july lor...

re haircut
me would like to get a perm after confinement lor... more into long hair and super vain lor... so no choice but to keep my hair as it is...

oh rgd rebonding and perm during BF:

some say the chemicals may goes into the blood stream via our scalp so not safe to do chemical treatment during breastfeeding.

some ppl do rebonding and throw away the milk they express within that 24 hours.

mummies, any comments ?

PB,
Hehe....this morning when i woke up my hair real messy...so rebonding is a must after confinement *lol*. Btw, I noe rebonding can do but coloring i not very sure must check with hairdresser or what. I think as long as we dont color frequently then shld be fine? And try to tell the hairstylist try not to apply the color too near to the roots?

JSP,
For my #1 i still had long hair...but even if tie up very hot and heavy also...thats y this time round decided to cut away my long hair! *lol*.

Fiona,
Hair extensions with those ceramic perm or what? I like those big waves one. Like very feminine n pretty! Did a perm abt 9mths ago....haha but it straightened very fast cos i told hairdresser dont make it too curly *lol* as i like soft waves

labbit
haha 'dio suan' is the best way to put it! sometimes when we leave the clinic i feel quite cheated. like huh? i just paid money to be treated like this? i'm just a regular blur mummy mah, why have to make me feel like a stupid child leh?

but anyway, sudah la girls. thanks for the support. i've decided to just ignore anything negative now. as long i am a happy mummy and just give everyone benefit of the doubt, then ok liao

fiona
thanks for the reassurance about MAH. they all look like nice folks so i have a good feeling we'll be in good hands

JSP
i went from very long hair (about bra strap length) to bob to quite boyish/pixie-ish now. i loved going for the drastic change. must gai bian xing xiang once in a while
esp in my job i think. cannot always stick with the same hairstyle. sian la! plus there was a stage when ALL the girls in my dept (5, incl me) had long rebonded hair. yawn.

re engagement
hey when does baby's head get engaged? as of yesterday, not yet. so engaged means any time can come liao ah? or still must twiddle thumbs for another few more weeks kind?

lbt,
I read that rebonding is fine. That time my hairstylist just advised me not to have the cream applied too close to the roots
Like that its safer. I did rebonding after confinement for #1 and still gave her BF seems okies no LS or anything *lol*.

I had a good dinner last night at Al Forno. And I forced hb to get my fave choc cake from Temptations at Katong so dessert was fabulous too! I think bb and I put on a lot of weight yesterday, hehe!

Bluey,
There is a new condo being built at my side of the kampong, you can check this one out ;p

PB,
I thought your gynae is usually very relaxed and easy-going? That's what I heard. Maybe he has had bad experiences with other mtbs who have birthplans. At least he knows what you want, that's the most important.

Just to share, my gynae is usually considered to be very interventionist and medical, ie. plan everything to the last minute. But when I presented him with a birth plan for #1, he was fine with it. In fact, at one stage during the very long labour, when I got fed up and asked "why don't we just do a c-section?" he actually scolded me and said, "I thought you wanted everything to be as natural as possible, why even think of having a c-section?"