(2008/07) July 2008

serene
find sometin to keep ur mind off the pain n boredness lor... or else u can try to sort out ur bb clothes like folding the clothes properly etc... but dun carry anythin heavy lor... if me at hm now sure can find alot of tins to go one... coz me haven done alot of the stuffs n packing for bb arrival lor...

bluey
ur gal super sweet lor... no wonder gals r usually daddy's fav... alwys so sweet n close to the heart one lor... dunno if my boi boi would be so sweet next time...

re father's day
tinking of gg to this marche style jap resturant at raffles city tis weekend with my parents but seems like the review not so good leh... any1 been there b4??

re: driving
Yes I'm still driving at 35 weeks now. Must drop HB to work every morning and pick him up oso. going back home he will drive cuz I die die refuse to. I hate the seat belt pressing on the tummy.

Bluey,
Your gal is cute. Last time I put lipstick on my girl and she kissed daddy and take pic. cuteee.

Serene,
Have a very good rest, hope you'll feel better.

lbt: ya I enjoyed the movie lots..didn't realise samantha's already 50 in the show and carrie's 40! but she's grown so skinny wiv her sunken cheeks! thought she looked better wiv a bit more flesh in her cheeks.. I only managed to grab the first 2 series I think...should get the rest so I can resume watching when on ML! hehehe

YOUPI: haha did you tell your no.1 ... he must share mummy's boobies juz like he needs to share his toys wiv no2? hehe

bluey...can check with you what adaptor did you get for the pump huh? thought the voltage looked compatible juz need to get the right plughead to fit into our sockets? I better play safe or I may kill mine (short circuit) before even using it...

serene, what kinda pain is it you are feeling? take deep breaths and try to relax? HUGZ hang in there for your little one!

JSP: have not eaten there but heard so-so reviews too..like nothing special and food not dat yummy but paying for the ambience and novelty only...

thanks piyoz, delphine, youpi, PB,
hee.. I didn't take the antenatal package, so not a single receipt amounts to => $450. I need the originals back as I need to claim from my company too. Maybe I check with the nurse at KK again next week.

fiona, PB,
Ya lor, the old generation maternity wears are like PJs to me.. and looks so aunty to me especially when I'm so skinny.. can't imagine what am I look like if I wear those. Currently I'm just wearing normal dresses, not even maternity dress.

dor dor, serene,
be good gals, stay home relax and eat more in this two weeks so that bb can gain more weight before coming out. So excited for you... just 2 more weeks to go..

gals

rem to bring the antenatal receipt and the blood test when your admit to hospital. The blood test that tested for HIV, HEP A and B ( i think).

usually I will stapled these two on my appt card and I just passed to the nurse when I admit to MAH.

serene ah,
i think the happening is a scary movie, don't go scare yourself can?

dor dor,
don't stress also, hang in there yeah? tell baby not time yet!

cellow,
baby pomfret coz sambal pomfret is my hb's favourite dish. then he thinks it's very cute if everytime he order his dish "i want sambal pomfret" then his daughter says 'yes daddy?' -_- it's one of those things which makes you wonder if you were of sound mind when you chose to marry this man.

bottle caps
mummies, i will be going mt alvernia for some antenatal talk on this friday (tomorrow!) at 6.30pm. i will go earlier and see the pharmacy. want me to buy the bottle caps for you?

bluey
ask you ah, after your pedicure and manicure, so if you feel contractions, and you're gonna go hospital, are you going to clean off the nail polish first? since they say the nurses need to check your nails. i got a pedicure two weeks back, and i like looking at my pretty toe nails when i prop my feet up, but wondering when i should clean them off. coz can't imagine if having contractions and screaming my head off and having to think about showing my nails to the nurses.

pinkbunny
the backache comes and goes. i think when baby wriggles her butt more, it hurts more, she wriggle less, backache subsides. but since starting ML mid of next week, i figured i would mostly be lying down at home stoning. but now wondering if the brest friend pillows would help next time.

pinkbunny and youpi, happy birthdayyyyyyyyyyyyy! maybe you have a most wonderful day today!!!

dustee
your hubby is funny!!!! i also like sambal pomfret :D and tom yum pomfret. and steamed pomfret. i like pomfret la!!! hehe.

thanks for offering to buy the bottle caps. no prob, i will buy when are admitted

re mani/pedi
i want to do pedi leh. then don't do mani lor. still can see if my fingers are turning blue? yes? cut myself some slack? haha

back to eagles and chickens
oh so funny one of my gay colleagues came and said to me 'i've not seen you in such a long time! you look FABULOUS! simply GLAMOROUS!'. think project runway

does that classify him as a super eagle? in my books he sure is!

oh dustee.... LOLzzzz...
eh, u bought the breast fren pillows? how? good or not?

PB, he is a super duper eagle man!

Lbt, thanks for reminder. Another thing to stuff into my hosptial bag... mysteriously the box of 150 nappy liners appeared again in the bag. prime suspect - HB! kekeke

Bluey,
re: mani/pedi
pedi still ok gua. nurses check fingernails only wat.... i believe my blood circulation will still reach the toes!

cellow
your hubby is so funny ler!!! think you have to wait till just before leaving the house then you casually fling the nappy liners out of the hospital bag when he's not looking! maybe when he's driving? then you throw out the window? haha.

i also bought brest friend pillow. but of course haven't use yet la. breastfeeding then use mah. but i just hooked it on for fun. quite comfy leh

SDchick, wow u are still driving ah, good for you... i made HB drive since one month ago lor... just dun like driving into CBD area. makes me v kan cheong.

JSP
in fact everything me n hubby have packed bt 2 weeks ago for bb things nw waiting for her arrivial only.

dustee
my hubby wan to watch the movie leh of coz me wan to watch also before bb pop out.

viginal contraction
i think i having contraction beow for the past half an hour but no show yet leh ... me so scared alone at home

re movies
if funny movie, i scared i laugh until i unconsciously push poppy out. if scary movie, i scared wait i takut until i get contractions... how la!

serene
eh i dunno leh. maybe some experienced mummies can help? or call your gynae to tell him?

i think poppy is hiccuping now. a bit 'hard' for hiccups but it's exactly where her head is so i guess it is lor

re toilet breaks
7 so far since the time i got up...

long time no talk liao.
been busy wuth office work.

pedi
the manicurist advise me to go for one last appointment before give birth. but wont apply nail colour.
the nurse will remove them when you are in labour.

serene,
was reading this just now.
hope it helps.

How can I tell whether I'm in false labor or true labor?

Sometimes it's very hard to tell false labor from the early stages of true labor. If you're 37 weeks or more, here are some things that might help you sort it out:

• False labor contractions are unpredictable. They come at irregular intervals and vary in length and intensity. Although true labor contractions may be irregular at first, over time they start coming at regular and shorter intervals, become increasingly more intense, and last longer.

• With false labor, the pain from the contractions is more likely to be centered in your lower abdomen. With true labor, you may feel the pain start in your lower back and wrap around to your abdomen.

• False labor contractions may subside on their own or when you start or stop an activity or change position. True labor contractions will persist and progress no matter what you do.

thxs qing for the difference...

haha my first was induce so now i also need to know when it comes too

me been bz... son sick lately

Happy birthday PB and Youpi! May both of you have a wonderful day ahead.

PB, you going gynae later? Remember to update about your fingers.

Youpi,enjoy your day with ur little boy.

Those of you who intend to get the Avent Electric pump, there's a good deal at Robinsons that comes with food warmer and plastic cups etc.

Robinsons has 20% on some kid's brand and for the rest, no GST till June 15.

Sally, they use their fingers. I was advised from a midwife that we should do a 'push down', which is the same action like passing motion, to ease the muscles so that it doesn't feel so uncomfy.

a few days never come in liao..
busy with my gers..
dun really dare let my maid to touch them..
and CL I also dun really trust her..
after so many incidents..
so now I must open my eyes big.. haiz..

pinkbunny and youpi
HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!! enjoy ya!!!

youpi,
happy birthday~! forgot to wish you last nite

do1nk,
ya, my ger still wants her milk every 3hrly.. tiring leh... and i m going to stop bf soon cos the new office which i m going over next Wed really hv no place to pump leh, sad~!

PB and Youpi,
Happy Birthday!!! Enjoy this special day with your little one in you!!

PB,
Your hubby very sweet hor… make you treasure hunt for your present. So what have you got??

Sonic,
No prob, your co so good ar, can claim for maternity expense. Envy envy.

Serene/Dor Dor,
Keep talking to bb, ask them to wait for another 2 weeks. It’s for their own good.
Try to relax, dun walk too much, stay in the bed if possible.

Bluey,
Wah, you still can go for medi/pedi ar?? You gg for express kind is it? Cos dun think I can sit there for so long.. my back will buay tahan..

delphine,
i also still go for mani and pedi.
don like to have long long nails.
usually i will have a cushion behind to support if not very sng.

Serene..how r u feeling? did you call your gynae? try to relax..maybe go get magazines and books to read?

cellow: haha your hubby got some nappy liner obsession?

PB: the mention of your colleague and project runway makes me think of Austin the designer..does he look anything like him?

sparrows: do the pushdown when nurse is checking dilation? but wouldn't we be clenching up our muscles making it more uncomfortable? I heard it's quite painful (chicken me again) actually..gulp...

jaslyn, hi! how are you and your 2 angels doing? had some not-so-good encounters with your CL & maid ah? your girls are back home already right?

JMon...is it possible for you to pump elsewhere in the office like some executive toilet or some room? maybe nearby building has some nursing room you could use? my meeting rooms are all glass with no blinds, so I'm only left with the toilet..better than nothing I guess..would be a shame to give up coz of this.. I do know some people who even pump in the common toilets...

Serene
heehee... me still lazing ard... seems like gotta buck up and start packing lor... will start this weekend by washing all the new bb clothes and stuffs passed down by frds n SIL lor...

qing & delphine
me also went for pedi... stop gg tis mth coz heard frm my SIL tat nurse will need to remove all nail polish when admitted so no point...

Jmon & do1nk
my office also got no milking room... but the gals here use one of the discussion room for milking and paste some newspaper on the small window on the door to tell others that dey are using the room... currently oni got 1 mummy here still pumping... by the time i come back to work, she would have stopped... but this year end got another 2 mummies popping so think next year gotta rotate to use the room lor...

jaslyn
how's ur gers?? should have gained quite a lot of weight by now rite?? seems like alot of twin gers tis year... HB side got one cousin also got twin gers early tis year...

re virginal examination
seems scary n painful leh... me also nvr had such examination b4 lor sally... hopefully will be done in secs...

do1nk, the midwife was saying that we should relax it like when we are passing motion, not clenching. Hehe, if it makes sense :p

Evon
thanks for sharing... getting my bro to go earlier to queue for a seat... wanna bring my dad to try... coz cannot tink of anytin else liao...

bluey
yes still driving. this sat will prob be driving again cos hb got to go work.

ha my hb will say waste money if buy too much stuff. but if really necessary stuff, i realise he can be more big budget than me.

youpi
i trying to train my boy to help me with #2 next time..haha...think it's uphill task. he will say things like he will help me take this or that. but dunno whether true or not.

but nowadays i make him keep all his toys. and he does it quite well. but always need me to push. but got once i was angry with him over something else and he auto went to keep toys thinking that it will make me less angry. really a funny sight to see him cleaning up the place on his own accord. first time i dun need to ask him

JSP
u referring to shokudu? i like it. but must really depend on what u eat..i like the mushroom omelette.

jaslyn
sounds like a tough time. your mum helping u?

re VE
hmm, definitely uncomfy but not that bad lah. dun worry too much.

VE

eh it was v pain when I was checked by the midwife. and surprisingly when my gynae checks, it is painless ! i think his fingers are v long.

I was screaming when the midwife chk for me ! aiyo and some may have some spotting after VE check .. that's normal.

My friend said she feels like she was raped ! ahah

driving:
I love driving ... that's why when hubby say next week ban me from driving ... so sad. But hubby scared the way I drive might trigger early delivery.
I can't stand "sitting" in office whole day.

Don1k,
U got the pump? The pump very "nice", hor?
U just have to get the right head (travel plug) to fit into our socket can already. Very cheap n easy. Actually better than PIS as it need to change the whole power adaptor.

Pedi n Mani:
If baby can tahan 2 more weeks, will b going for pedi 1 last time. Mani ... normally I dun do one. But just that yesterday saw a lot of dry skin on fingernails so just get them to do it as well.

Jmon,
I dunno if u heard this before.
I learn this from an "expert" (mom of 4 children).
To stop baby requesting for milk in the middle of the night, feed her well before sleep (mayb 12am).
When baby request for milk after that, just give her water. Only from morning (mayb 6am), then start to give her milk again.
Sounds a bit cruel, hor. But if dun train, it will be more cruel to yourself. I know mommy still feeding baby of 1 yr old in middle of the night!
I "train" my gal when she was 1 month old and by 2 month, it is only occasionally. By 3 month, when I go back to work, I can basically sleep thru' th night w/o waking up.

bluey: u mean u gave ur gal water at nite when she was 1 mth old? did she scream the whole hse down cos she's hungry when u started it?

bluey
when bb so young, can feed water at night? i tot we shd only cut down the night feeds when they are 6 months old. for my boy he was waking 3 times a night till like 11 months. imagine how tiring it was for me to go to work. then even at 1 year + he cannot sleep thru the night and will wake up for milk. but now he's ok already.

do1nk
I m fine..
but the weather now super hot..
got rashes here and there liao...
my gers r fine..
gaining weight..
yep.. jie jie came home last thurs and mei mei last sat..

ya lor.. maid quarrel with my mum's maid..
cos she dun know how to speak english so I ask my mum's maid to teach her..
but she not happy and like to argue.. haiz..
regarding my CL.. maybe I abit "cat" lah..
cos I want my gers to sleep in aircon room cos no rashes.. but she say she cant.. now my gers got rashes.. PD say dun wrap them up cos they r hot..
told her.. but she still insist..
and then fan on 1st speed.. close the window and door.. so hot inside..
my mei mei suppose to drink 40ml of milk..
she use the bigger bottle and gave her 60ml..
she say she thought is 40ml.. heng I never force her to finish her milk.. cos when I came to see her.. she left abit.. if not overfeed..
haiz.. have to re another 2 weeks..

julysweetiepie
they r fine..
ya gain weight liao..
jie jie is 2.26kg and mei mei is 2kg as at tues..
ya lor..
the twins forum also got alot of gers.. hehe..

SY
my mum will be helping me after CL goes back..
now she have to go office cos I m not working mah..

bluey
u really train ah?
I also hope my gers dun need to wake up in the middle of the night cos I will be looking after them at nite when CL goes back..

actually it was not recommended to give water to bb < 6 mths old. The report was published in straits times last week I think.

for most babies, once they double their weight, they will sleep through the nite. my gal slept thru the nite on her own when I return to work for 2 weeks.

oh btw I did sweet talk to my #1 to sleep thru the nite before I return to work. My aunt taught me one. And it works !!

jaslyn

congrats on the development of your baby gers ! eh pls lah dont swaddle them .. it's so hot ! their temp may go up leh ... i think can use cloth nappy to just cover them.

JSP and bluey,
Good for both of you that you like driving. HB likes; I dun like, so he drives most of the time even before pregnancy. Easy division of labour.

Re: bb sleeping habits,
I hope and pray that bb will sleep thro the night from 2 months onwards, just like bluey's gal! Fingers and toes crossed...

Serene / Dordor, feeling better?

haha sparrow... I thought usually to PS (pang S**) = gek s** hence clenching up muscles haha

SY your boy is so cute! keeping toys at his own accord when you were mad at him...I've been trying to train my dog to keep his own toys back in his own basket too! haha

Bluey..ya juz got my pump, and it's really impressive huh..thanks so much for the recommendation...mindy from addalittlelove is very nice too.. so confirm we just need the right head to fit into the socket, and dunnit any "voltage converter" hor...dun wanna short circuit it to death before I can even use it hehe

Jaslyn...poor you..I always hear these scary stories about CL who's very kiang kind...but then again..we may even face such problems with our own mom/MIL who help us take care of baby right..everyone has their own idea and style of taking care of baby..must pray I dun have any major conflicts over my baby in future...coz think I'm gonna be very kancheong and particular over him..

do1nk
my gynae ask me to take the medicine he given me monintor for few more days .... the medicine i take make me feel sleeply being in bed for quite a few hours since this afternoon i'm going crazy liao ......

jaslyn
dun think too much abt the maid and CL, just enjoy the time with your gals. sometimes during confinement month, we may get irriated with the way they do things.

as for waking up, u will get used to it. i woke up so often at night until when my boy started sleeping thru more, i still woke up when he din..haha

dor dor, serene,
do rest well...hope your baby can wait a while longer.

jaslyn,
what happened to your CL? how are your gals doing?

me still driving too, and i'm all prepared even if my water bag's gonna burst in the car (i've put my hospital bag in the seat next to me this morning), the most just U-turn back home hahaha...

re: pedi
i love it! but i'm gonna ask my hubby help me remove the nail polish tonight, will be putting off pedi sessions for the time being liao...

re: VE
it felt uncomfortable to me but i think have to depend on who's doing it, many ppl complain that midwife is more rough and hurt more.

serene...hang in there...take a nice long afternoon nap lor... it's good to rest as much as you can for now before the bb comes out right?

wish I could stay home and sleep away...getting more tired these days...

do1nk

i just chit chat with her. say mummy is going back to work very soon, ask her to be a good gal and sleep thru the nite. Do this everyday lah ... kids are v smart one.

She started with taking longer naps from 7+ evening to 12am... then slowly she adjust her own sleeping timing to wake up at 6am only ...

lbt
ya lor..so hot..
when I see them I take off..
let them wear shorts can liao..

do1nk
ya lor..
heng my mum know my pattern..
and she also say PD say must listen..
as for my MIL..
I dun know..
but wont let her take care also..
so I must REN lor..
2 weeks more..

SY
ya lor..
when I see liao I dun like..
I turn over to look at my gers..

Fiona
dun really agree on how she look after my gers lor.. haiz..
my gers r doing fine...
drink milk and sleep.. hehe..

jas,
i just read your posting. maybe you want to be more assertive with your CL to follow your instructions? you not "cat" lah, seriously speaking if this CL runs into me then she'll know what is call "cham" &amp; fussy hahaha...