(2008/07) July 2008

PB
ya lor... MIL says veri common... due to water retention... but tink better check with gynae...

re rings
last time rings feel abit loose on the fingers... now all cannot wear except for 1... the rings only 2 weeks ago then cannot wear lor...

re post pregnancy clothes
hopefully after giving birth still can wear back my old clothes lor... have been wearing my pre-maternity clothings until abt 5th or 6th mth... but tink can take opportunity to go shopping again lor...

bluey
tis morning also got a difficult time getting out of bed lor... HB keep nudging me to get up if not will be late liao... super sian... lucky left 6 weeks oni... but got a feeling bb will be out early lor...

PB, SY,
exciting, but so not ready for bb's arrival..... her weight 2.46kg at 36 weeks. Hopefully can stay inside and gain bit more weight before she arrives.

lbt,
ya, so shocked when I saw the discharge. My #1, no signs at all. One day before 38 weeks, gynae said to induce cos I have some signs of high bp plus very swollen legs.

This time round, my bp very good so far, legs also didn't swell so badly.

hopefully just false alarm....... no contractions so far.

PB

i bought one top for post preg too ! eheh cant resist the temptation but try to control lah. Cos I still have some bigger sizes one which I bgt after #1.

piyo

any more stains now ? ya weight is one issue but now that bb is > 36 wks, so if ur bb choose to come out, she is still consider a full term bb. btw my #1 was 2.44kg when she was out so ur bb is doing very well already !!

it has finally dawned onto me TODAY that i'm giving birth SOON. because ML start next week liao. but i am very strangely calm.

re getting out of bed
sometimes my hubby has to pull me out of bed. i really miss being agile. and not walk like a troll

re stiffness
yesterday when i couldn't grip my can opener to open the tin, i wanted to cry
i really hope this goes away!!!

labbit
haha i think i bought 3 or 4
actually chinatown, above people's park complex got some nice clothes shop too. i got a few loose and unflattering ones la. at worse, i will wear those lor. sigh.

what are you wearing to go home from hospital? i the hiao poh already thinking about that hehe

Youpi, it's promo till end june. saw it at the motherhood fair on sat. after that will be $16 a pack i think.

PB: i just rem, Marks and spencer might have what you are looking for. they are having sale now.

jmon, thanks...... has bbA learnt how to smile at you already? They are so cute when they can smile back =)

lbt,
no more stains already since yesterday morning. ya la, end of the day, I'll be very happy as long as she's healthy =)

Going off to see the gynae now...... update you all later............

PB
haha... u super vain like me lor... me also keep thinking of wat to wear also lor... maybe some maternity clothes still lor... dun tink can fit into my normal clothes so fast rite?? heehee... ur ML starting next week?? me gg on ML on the 14 Jul coz edd on 21 jul lor... dun wanna go so early coz wanna save it to spend more time with bb... but really hard to get up and go work lor...

PB

me too me too... tot I am the hiao poh ! shld I bring a nice dress and wear home ? ehehhe

piyo
take care !! so excited for u lah !

JSP
tao yan. where got super vain. just a bit only la! hehe. cannot wear normal clothes yet la. i think we will still look about 4-5 months preggie.

my EDD is 9 july but motherly instinct tells me she will be earlier. and i really do want at least a week alone to relak jack and go for facial etc :D

re mucus plug kalao
so now go toilet we have to keep looking in the bowl? btw, will we feel it when it kalao ah? or no feeling one? and not everyone gets it right? sorry so blur....

eh hello. i only think of what to wear, never think about make up hor. yet, at least :D

of course i want to look bright and radiant when carrying my new bundle of joy mah. and not like sarah jessica parker in SATC movie at the mexican resort

lbt
it's at west plaza. st 72. where do u stay?

JSP
your cl knows u wan to use nappies? nowadays must make things clear better. of cos it is part of the job scope but sometimes better make things clear first.

re new clothes
yeah i had to buy many new bottoms cos cannot fit into the bottoms when going back to work. but after that lost weight till i got to dig out prepreggie clothes instead

PB
i also walk like a troll..haha. the pain was so bad last night that i was crying to hb....he said why not go for c-section earlier than...but i dun wan to start ML so soon...

re clothes for discharge
it will be definitely one of your preggie clothes. the tummy will still be quite big...

piyoz
update update...

PB: wah I never knew you were a concert pianist *admire* kekeke hang in there and do your twinkle twinkle little stars for now?

POST MATERNITY CLOTHES: haha so I wasn't the only one who also bought...but am I the only foolish one who thinks I confirm can still fit into the very same pre-maternity size coz dats what I got! haha

GOING HOME OUTFIT: thought about it too.. think it will be one of my 'one-piece-maternity' dress for now since we will still be looking like 5-6mths preggie (my friend looked like she was 8mth preggie still and she's a skinny girl!) and in case we have stitches, two-piece outfits are more tricky right?

CRAVINGS: didn't have much of these til now..been bingeing on icecream and rich chocolatey stuffs lately...

do1nk

maybe you will !! well I bought 1 or 2 sizes bigger cos our boobies will still be big due to BF leh .. and the rubber tyre at the waist is perpetually there leh ..

SY
I stay at SK ...

oh ya will def bring maternity clothes to wear home

going home outfit
i was also thinking wat to wear leh ... my hospital bag alreaady pack expect for the going home outfit for myself

PB
i went mothercare ytd saw quite nos of plain pink romper it like 3 pcs in a pkt abt $30 plus...but they having 20% discount. or u can try kiddy palace each pc of romper abt $14 to $16 per pcs.
i got it free last weekend when i bought huggies diapers at the fair for each pkt u can redeem one pcs of romper free imagine i bought 8 pkt of new born , 4 pkt of S size n 2 pkt of M size in total have abt 10 over pcs of romper free ...heheh

Baby weight
hope my baby can gain enough weight probably give birth this mid of june as i couldnt stand her weight inside my tummy already she so heavy i have to carry my tummy while walking so tired n always dun feel like going out for shopping but my hubby would drag me out of the house coz he say walk more enable me to give birth easily ..sigh i'm so tired (sorry for the long post)

Serene

envy u that ur hubby drag u to shopping ! mine rather stay at home ... yawnnn ....

JMON

ehhe so sweet hor ! must have melted your heart !

PB
make up i tot is a must must?? hehe... maybe will juz make sure that i got draw my brows at least lor... actually all women r vain one lor...

SY
will let her knw lor... anyway, got alot of drypers newborn given by frd... all in all abt 300+pcs lor... maybe let the bb wear those during daytime n change frequently lor... unless not suitable then let him wear cloth diapers lor... heard drypers leaks and cause nappy rash so will still buy mamy poko for nite time and standby juz in case not suitable...

JMON
ur girl girl so cute lor... was hoping for a gal coz more close to the heart hor...

piyoz
update us when u back frm ur check-up hor...

do1nk
haha... u not the oni foolish one lor... me another one lah... hope can get back into pre-maternity size b4 gg back to work... is it kinda wishful tinking huh, mommies??

do1nk
i'm a concert pianist like you lor

re chocolately stuff
eh like what some of the mummies are saying, don't take too much heaty stuff now, esp since we are in last trimester

serene
thanks! will check out mothercare. didn't see last weekend

JMON
aww so sweet!
i can't wait to see poppy!!!!

re ML
tell you girls ah. my hubby's company cock up, forgot to send in dunno what supporting doc to renew his EP, so he is not allowed to work next week. so he will be on ML with me! haha

Sorry to interrupt. Anyone intending to sign up for Cordlife but have not done so?

I have a $150 Cordlife gift voucher to give away. You can use it to offset the enrolment fees.

There is a further discount of $50 off the enrolment fees if you quote me as your referer. Please PM me if you are keen to have the voucher and further details. Thanks.

serene
think your bb quite good size right?

lbt
then my place not too far from yours. maybe when u pop by, let me know, hee can meet up!

PB
i have been eating ice cream almost everyday! cannot stop the craving.

i think ice cream not as bad as choc ba... my mother took alot of heaty things when she was expecting my bro. bro came out with yellow crusty things on his eyelids. maybe that's the kind of thing that coconut is supposed to help prevent?

pregnancy is really testing our discipline level leh. hubby just bought TWO BIG BARS of family size cadbury's dairy milk choc. he said 'but you like what'. i know he's trying to be nice la, but i'm trying to cut down leh... sigh. so i gave into temptation over the weekend la. half a bar worth of temptation

PB

eheh that's a nice and timely mistake they made !!!

oh ya MIL ordered me not to take heaty stuff .. I have been taking home made barley drinks too ! yummy....

i am planning to donate my cord blood to the public bank. but I can still use if I want right?

haha ya lor labbit. so he stay at home and be gigalo cos no salary for one week. barley is cooling? okie i drink

i also intend to donate cord blood to public bank leh. how to do it ah? i heard that if it is not used, and we *touch wood* need to, we will be given first priority?

SY

hee sure sure .. if I go there lah .. think my hubby would rather pop by a nearby shop to buy ... in view of the rising petrol price !!

PB

hey ur poppy would be very pretty with mixed features ! but I heard that such babies takes after the mother more .. so ur poppy may looks very chinese ? eheh

PB

we need to inform SCBB in advance so they can come collect the blood during the D-day.
I just read the website .. once donated , the blood belongs to them. So I dont know if we are given 1st pri. and touch wood, hope we dont get to use it and our cord blood serves it's purpose to save some needy kid.

i may ask my gynae next week .. u ask ur doc this thurs ok ?

barley is cooling and not as cooling as coconut so MIL prefer that

labbit
i hope poppy will be a nice mix
don't want her to look TOO angmoh... wait i carry her and people think i'm the maid. kua kua kua.

okie doke i check with gynae about cord blood banking on thurs. barley... how to cook ah? just boil with pandan hio?

evon
not sure leh. i only bought the herbs to shower with from hock hwa. the rest i've asked CL to buy then i pay her.

SY
The newborn pampers is definitely cheap at $13+. I bought 3 packs at the fair and 2 cartons of S size. Buying per carton is cheaper, per pack of 58 S size pampers around $19, NTUC selling at $26.00.

Cravings: lately I've been craving coca cola. Dunno why just feel like drinking it ice cold all the time.

Lbt:
err how to use if you want? I mean, unless you sign up with cord blood.

Evon

my mum bgt the herbs from those chinese medical halls opp GUAN YIN temple at bugis. She spent abt $100.

some common ones, black dates, red dates, danggui errr ... oops I cant rem !! but if u go there, they shld be able to guide u ..

it would be good if ur mum or in law can go with u.

i upload some material for ur ref .. u can see what are the herbs you need based on the receipe.

mime_pdf.gif

Recipe_for_Confinement_1_-478771.pdf (12.6 k)</td></tr></table></center>

PB

dont know leh .. either my mum or MIL boil for me i only know how to eat and drink ! ehhe

aiayh u dont look like a maid lah, dont worry !

SDchick
i dont know too leh .. that's why I want to know.

ahahah PB

what do u expect ???? can pass to the chinese medical hall and they will know what u want mah ...

unless u go to the shop and ask uncle: "I want 500g red dates, 500G black dates .,....?" hahaha will be v funny

piyoz
wow… feel so kan chiong for you… but with the show, it doesn't mean you would go into labour soon. I got a friend got into real labour only abt 10 days after she saw her show… during that few days, she was given mc to rest at home and standby… think you just need to be in standby mode will do.

Lbt, PB
thought barley could triggers contraction? Better don't take too much, unless you want your bb to come out early. :p

Wow .. u gals really think of post maternity clothes and what to wear when discharge from hospital??

I just pack 1 pyjamas and should be wearing that back home.

I remember for #1 ... pain and bleeding, where got mood to wear nice nice home.

Just put on a simple pyjamas, "grab" my baby, and pop in hubby's car and off we head for home.

I dunno why but my hospital bag seems empty empty one although I am quite sure that every necesary things are packed.

Mayb I m not the dress up type ... failure as a woman

lbt
dunno leh. can't remember where I read it from. and the dessert stall aunty also once reminded me when I ordered ginko nut barley dessert from her. So I KS, been avoided barley since preggie even though barley is my favourite drink.

bluey

hehe u r not lah .. u r just being practical ..

we are still living in our own world ahahah dreamy sia !!

sonic

i have never avoided barley in both pregnancies so I think it is ok lah

u know I ate ba zhang for the 1st time in this preg yest !

i was told by a ba zhang seller that preggie shld not take ba zhang cos the source of meat is unknown ! the seller refuse to sell it to me !! so nice right ?

barley can trigger contractions? serious ah? why?

wah...super sleepy again..am I eating too much for lunch? had fried rice, a stick of dove amicelli choc hehe and mango sago (which is mostly liquid only)

CONFINEMENT: thos of you who have CL, dun have to worry..all these will be settle for you right? I'm not really bothered actually.. wonder if it's really a must to follow (bathe in herbs) and to eat all those stuff too...so used to showers..dunno how to bathe from a pail soaked wiv herbs then...

PERINEAL MASSAGE: any of you started? or tried? I attempted to last nite..but juz couldn't do it leh.. haiz...yet the thought of the episiotomy or tears is also very scary...

aiyoh girls, i'm laughing so much with my colleagues now that i scared i go into labour! hahahaha.

bluey
aiyah don't worry. some of us are more hiao mah hehe. me first baby so i still want to swee swee stand and pose everywhere and take photo. i can imagine my hubby rolling his eyes already keke

lbt,

yes ... barley, green bean are "cooling" food so we should avoid when preggie.

but ... I just cook green bean soup for desert yesterday
... and my hubby is "screaming" at me.

We should take heaty food like red bean, durian ...

bluey...I join you lah...I'm embarrased to say that I'm not a qualified char bor too..dun own a single cosmetic item and dun even know how to apply lipstick... *blush* and I always use my bad sensitive complexion as an excuse... but still very ai-swee hahaha

gingko foochok barley: yumz! i oso eat! dun care...maybe some feel it's too cooling so should avoid?

been waiting for the bak chang day to be over too..(so dun have to buy overpriced ones) coz have not eaten bak chang for long.. now thinking of it..

me ... no makeup one ... except now using mineral makeup as sunblock ... provided I remember to apply, lar.

I also like to use the "sensitive complexion" as an excuse.

just to share with you girls - at my first job MANY years ago, it was a small time local firm. my boss arranged for me and another colleague to go for a makeover with MAC. the makeover was free but it tempted us to buy alot of make up from them. thinking back, i think he was sending us a message - that our make up was really bad. maybe too wayang or what.

labbit and sonic
ya, like my veg stall at market told me preggie don't take pumpkin and refuse to sell to me even though i already made him cut it up! so nice :p very good PR skills hor? hehe

bluey
dun worry lah. I also another one, don't put make up. My colleagues also don't, so that makes me a very good excuse not to put. we are mothers liao, tends to be putting more time on kids rather than dressing ourselves up. very lousy excuse lah, but it's true. As long as we don't look like 'yellow-faced woman' can liao...

lbt, PB
yes, indeed many food stall sellers are very nice. There was once this che-char stall uncle was telling me not to eat sotong, and he will give me more vege instead when I ordered 'wat dan hor-fun' from him... He said sotong not good for preggie... haha.. so cute.

ba zhang I think is fine lah, as long as the meat inside is cooked. I've taken some too.. hehe..

pb

oh ya dont understand why cannot take pumpkin ?
i still take them .. hey it's brain food leh ! hahaha

ok lah we just take everything in moderation, and we will be fine.

donch know, labbit. i just be kiasu and never take
i very pantang one what, you don't know meh?

oh my stomach not feeling comfortable. tight tight on and off. but not very hard... hmm.

bak chang i like....

sonic
now i feel like having hor fun!!! but i want see chup hor fun