(2008/07) July 2008

SY
Thanks for highlighting the different kinds of toothpaste to me... hee, hee, I haven't taught my boy how to spit out yet... better buck up and not be lazy!

PB
So sad... will miss your funny postings! hope you can find a way to sneak past your IT!

julysweetiepie
Welcome! I machine wash my bb stuff last time. But I don't mix with the adult stuff.

jaslyn,
The medela milk bags very expensive leh. Somemore can't reuse right? Why not use bottles to trasport ebm? At least can wash and reuse.... if not $$$$ fly fly fly......

celeste,
you so fast order the funnel already.....

lbt,
I also bought medela dual electric.... got warranty for 12 months, right? My colleague's set lasted for 10 whole years. PIS very exp leh...... somemore always not on promotion. Keeping my fingers crossed that my set will be ok.

julysweetiepie,
welcome!!!

with baby around no time to handwash.... I machine wash all the nappies and bb clothes. but use pigeon detergent, cos got family history of sensitive skin. Don't know if adult detergent ok or not......

piyo

10 yrs ???? wow !!

yeah I got a new set after various arguments with Medela Servicing. They claimed they have repaired but I cant suck out any milk !! was v pissed with their servicing. Eventually when my pump stop moving, then they gave me a new set !!

So far my friend's PIS is working very well and I keep my fingers crossed that it will still work when I BF #2.

piyo
ya lor..
ex ah..and cant reuse..
but no choice leh.. the bag so small only can put 4 bottles..
and my BM not so much..
3hrs one time only like 50ml..
not enough for my 2 gers ah..
I use the milk bags can put at least 8 bags..
the nurse say cant pour the milk together...

Celeste
I went Robinson sale on Sunday. Cos went to get the little tikes piggy bank for my son. Aiyoh buy till gotta stop myself....haha

lbt
hehe me always had long nails. Think I will be more clumsy n scratch my bbs if I cut my nails short instead.....haha
For my #1 my aunties who visit me keep nagging on my long nails too but so far I've not scratched my son during his bb time but think cos I'm too used to having long nails.

sonic
U doing the exercise ur gynea ask u to do right?? Ur bb still haven turn aah??
Now I worry my bb got turn back anot......hahaha
Cos keep feeling alot of movement on my pelvic leh.

Pinkbunny
I have problems getting good position at night too recently. N my groin pain on the left side hor is very painful when I lie down.....sigh
Sometimes qi gek till I will sleep almost sitting up cos 3 pillows behind me
So hard to wake n go toilet esp when bladder very full n I hate it when my mum calls in the morn cos I gotta rush n ans the phone before it wakes my son up. Worse when she always ask the same qns. U all haven wakeup aah??.....arghhhhh

SY
U kanna 'fan' by ur MIL I kanna 'fan' by my grand MIL yest......haha
Cos her grand daughter bday celebration yest n she keep saying n saying about the girl's BF being 1 yr younger then her then when we keep telling her its okie lah nevermind. She still keep saying n saying time n again 'fan' hubby then he walk off chasing my son she 'fan' me.
Then change topic say the guy TOO TALL cannot.....sigh like that also can.
Buay tahan man.

Youpi
U reminded me!! Haven buy diaper YET!! hahaha

Hospital Bag
-------------------------------
hehe haven pack mine too although I've been telling myself to do it early this time. But have taken some of the stuff out n left it at 1 place cos haven decide which bag to use.....haha
I packed my hospital bag after my waterbag burst for #1 so ummmm think I better prepare 1st for this dun delay anymore....keke

Cravings
-----------------
Even I cannot stand myself watch TV ppl eat tuna sandwich I also wanna eat ppl drink Coke n I wanna drink......hahaha
I seem to be eating so much more now no wonder stretch marks start appearing.

Jaslyn

u mean the nurse says cannot mix milk and store ?

But I do mix milk from different timings (same day) when I feed my ger leh. but I stored them separately lah ...

oh .. why i need 40 bottles...

This is a very small bottles, which I think I would need 2 3-oz for one feed.

So why small bottles? .. heat up faster and also based on my experience, initially, you will only have milk of small amount. I do not want to pour different timing of milk together for storage.
Store them in bags will be wasteful.

So buy more small bottles, lor.

Anyway, after usage, when BF is over for #2, I will sell them out again.

No #3 for me already.

bluey

why dont get glass bottles from hospital ?

I use these glass bottles during BF. FOC !

Abt my "banana" gal ... I speak cantonese and chinese at home too.

But whenever I speak to her in chinese or read her chinese book, she would tell me to switch over to english.

So the only thing she is intersted is chinese education program which she tried in Suntec (A-star).

yeah free, just ask the nurses to reserve it for u.

depending on the brand of the milk, some glass bottles comes in 90ML, 100ML or 120ML ..

I got mine from MT A, and the rest from my friends. They got it from MT A, TMC also.

Did u speak to ur gal in mandarin when she was younger ? I also afraid to nurture a "banana" so I bought lotsa chinese and english story books to my ger. And I speak to her in english most of the time but will also explain to her in mandarin at times. so far she can understand both languages but dunno her interest in language yet.

bluey

can ! medela opening and the glass bottles are of standard size. U can fit NUK, Pigeon teats to the glass bottles too.

But dont keep the bottles cap, they are not reusable. I bgt the caps from MT A pharmacy at one for $0.70.

bluey
think as long as she can understand what u r saying in chinese, it is a good start. my boy usually replies me in english but i know he understands me perfectly fine. once in a while he will reply me in chinese. sometimes when me and hb talk in mandarin he will even repeat what we talk in english. language has 2 parts, comprehension and speech. comprehension wd come first. so as long as she can understand, speech will come.

i think a star pretty ex. i saw it before but dun tihnk will buy. hb will jump if i buy something like that...hee

lbt
i also dun use softener.

SNL
no prob. if u wan first teeth let me know.

dor dor
yeah man. tmr she coming my place. if she dare to ask me one more question think i will sure rebutt her.

blurmummy
yup she mentioned that there will be special price at motherhood fair but it will take on the increased rate, but with more pics so it comes back to same thing. you get more, but you pay more. i'm trying to work something out with her based on current (ie lower) rates

re hospital bag
<font color="ff0000">OK WHO HAVEN'T PACK YET, PACK NOW!</font> end of reminder keke. i threw alot of things inside liao then i realised that hubby has been snacking on the snacks that i prepared for us! he said 'but if i don't try, then i don't know if i like it mah'. lame excuse.... lucky i find out now and not at the hospital

re IT blockage
aiyah i'm used to it la. web based email also we all only have 10 minute access. SMH kena block is only sooner or later thing

julysweetiepie
got a shorter name we can call you by? hehe. i washed all baby clothes together. like that then can use baby laundry powder mah. i'm using pigeon. and for nappies, like some of the mummies here recommended, i'm using napisan.

piyoz
i starting ML on 16 june :D because i want to relak jack and do my own stuff. i want to have some stress free alone time before being siao bad mood mama because of jumping from stress from work to stress from baby hehe

re language
haha my girl will be very confused - baby sitter will speak to her in chinese, i will speak to her in english and hubby will speak to her in french. but studies show that babies who grow up with 2-3 languages as compared to 1 tend to speak later, but when they do, it's in both/all languages. i'm hoping so! i would like her to be able to speak hokkien too but maybe it's hoping too much? hmm.

cloth book
OK this is the cloth book i have been working on. i'm really into it! so kut lat right? i have bugged hubby to help and now he is hooked too! he did most of '3 chickens'. give that man a beer! hehe. just have to finish all 10 then sew them together.

1462038.jpg
1462039.jpg

lbt
ya lor..
she say more than 3hrs difference milk cannot be mix together and store..
when wana feed then mix and must consume within 48 hrs...
so what u do is ok..

PB
dun worry abt speaking too many languages to bb! it's actually good. the more languages u expose them to before they turn one year old, the more languages they can pick up.

wow impressive book....

PB,

your clothbook reali nice lei... i oso want.. but dun tink the old man at hm will help.. haiz..
today i was oso tinking if i shld start moi ML earlier like u den can hv more time 4 moiself b4 bb comes along... erm..

keke thanks girls. the workmanship not so good but done with lurrrrrrrve.

star
the thing is with men, don't hope for anything. then you won't be disappointed! keke. for me, i just jokingly bugged my hubby. and was surprised when one day i shoved something in his face (one of the hearts i think) then he took it and sewed. then he said aiyah got his assignment to do and that was that. but today he himself volunteered and took the chickens to sew. he also nesting la!

re bottles
labbit, was it you who was mentioning that Mt A does sell the caps? cos i got alot of glass bottles but no caps! hehe

Pinkbunny
But mine is when I am lying down or jus got up leh. Otherwise I dun really feel much of it.
Urs is whole day sng sng aah??

THe pages r so nice n colorful!!! Ur girl is so lucky!!! U use felt cloth is it??
I only finally got my butt off to sew my #2's pillows. But at least its finally done 1 more thing off my list...hehe

chloegal
can I check with u?
before ur bb was discharge, did u learn how to feed and bathe her before they let u bring her home?

hi mummies..

is there some illness spreading among our IT dept lately coz mine recently started clamping down on us too.
my wallpaper has been replaced..seem to have problems with messenger now and can no longer visit blogs..arrgh! how to de-stress at work like dat hehehe

SNG GROIN: I've been getting quite painful encounters when I walk too fast..not really sng but more like muscle cramps? then gotto walk slow like old woman..

PB &amp; DORDOR: wah you girls are amazing..lucky poppy has a "made by momma" cloth book and dordor's no2 has a "made by momma" baby pillow..so sweet..urr...wanna be my baby's god-momma? kekekeke

GRUNTING IN BED: tell me about it man..I feel like a hippo in bed..wrestling with myself!

MILKBAG VS MILKBOTTLE: which is a better choice huh? and do all hospitals give out glass bottles for storage too? Just have to ask them?

SHIPPING: Bluey....I heard that Vpost is quite pricey and there are cheaper options like globeshopper or comgateway...maybe you can check them out too?

how much milk does a baby drink in a day? how come you need to get 40 bottles? sounds like a lot!

pb, i m impressed by yr cloth book...

how everyone? btw, my bb is still v small... nxt gynae visit is 2 wks later so i got to eat eat n eat.... hiaz...

do1nk
i also have this bad bad pain at the groin area. very long liao. yesteday when i got off the bus, even felt the pain. cannot walk probably...sigh...and dun think my hb got the hint that nowadays i got difficulty taking bus.

as for shipping, i heard CGW not as reliable as Vpost. at the end of the day, depends on the weight of the item u ship and how big the box is as well

morning mummies

i try my luck today. seems like i can come in for a while then after that will be blocked out liao hehe.

blurmummy
maybe you send me a PM can? then i can keep in my mailbox and remember to update you when i hear from maryann

dor dor
ya i use felt cloth. my sng sng is on and off. but i think the walking slowly and smaller steps help cos at night also not so pain liao. no harm trying ;)

do1nk
haha must make with lurve one! but i think the book will end up in poppy's mouth more than anything la! keke.

hippo in bed! super funny!

SY
can try to take mrt instead? i feel bus more dangerous leh. and somehow mrt riders are more willing to give up seats as compared to bus passangers

re sensitive nose
for those of you who have it, is it only food that you smell? cos i can smell a colleague's bad breath and it's really yucky... i don't know how to tell her. like if i sit in front passenger seat, and she is behind, i can smell it you know!!!

haha it's not juz the smell of food...for me, I couldn't take the fragrant smell of our washing detergent and it made me really sick.. gotten over that now, but durian smells still make me sick...

PB
i take both MRT and bus cos need to take bus to my place. i agree with u. i get more pple giving up seats on train compared to bus.

hee, when u ahve sensitive nose, u can smell anything! not just limited to food......

morning ladies

piyoz,
ya...ordered the funnels but wondering when the lady the close the BP and start ordering. Cos she say need to give 1 mth for shipping to arrive. So if she not ordering yet i prob ask her if can refund anot lor....then i just buy from outside instead. Cos one of my funnel got a small crackline liowz.....then crackline actually traps germs or bacteria which is no gd. So must get the funnel to replace.
Woah...ur colleague's set lasted for 10 yrs! she BF for so long ah? Yesterday i took out my pump and glad to say that its still working after "retiring" for bout 9 mths *lol*

dordor,
Hehe...my hb still "boy at heart". He bought the remote control helicopter at $31.90! :D

PB,
the cloth books looks nice...u really very hardworking

celeste
i ordered from this website breastfeed essentials. they ship direct to sg and pretty fast. if u can get a few orders, think shd be still quite worth it.

HI,

I have got a baby bathing tub with changing mat bought at kiddy palace in Jan 08. Bought at $130plus. Anyone interested? selling at $100. Free delivery if within AMK, bishan and Serangoon North area.

celesteblur
i combined with a few frens.

not say min amt but u can share the shipping with a few frens and more worth it. i ordered quite long ago...think i posted here at that time but no one wants to order..hee maybe too early to order.

SY,
Oic...hehe...me now then take out pump and see thats y never thought of ordering earlier
My fren even told me better pack hospital bag liowz...ahahah...havent even take out pyjamas to wash...hehe :p

morning mommies...
can call me JSP instead... shorter and easier to remember hor...

3Ds Family... my edd is 21 july 08... 1st child... 29yrs old... delivery at kkh... let mu know what other details u need?

Re: Machine wash or Hand Wash Baby clothes
thanks for all the feedback... was also deciding to machine bb clothes separately frm adults coz will be using baby detergent... MIL also commented to wash separately... but haven bought the detergent yet... any recommendations?

Re: Diapers
anyone using cloth diapers? anyone used Pureen or Nepia disposable diapers?

Re: Hospital Bag
think have to pack some stuffs in by this weekend... any good maternity pads to recommend?

JSP
i use kodomo laundry detergent

for diapers, i use Pampers NB first then will switch to nepia probably.

i dun use maternity pads. prefer to get those pad for night use. dun like thos maternity ones.

celesteblur
cos my parts all yellowish so i know right from the start i want to change them out...

Hi JSP,

for a moment i thot yr first child is 29 yrs old? ;p

paiseh

my son got use cloth diaper n nepia. last time at motherhood fair, got nepia offer so not sure now will have. got free diaper pants.

so far, i only try kotex maternity. rather thick n long. but think u dun need to buy so many. cos normally v heavy discharge is for the first week. sub weeks u can actually use overnite wings.

JSP
we are the same age
also 1st child. my birthday is in mid june so i may be a 29 or 30 year old mummy hehe. we'll see.

re diapers
me! i'm using normal squares (bought anaku and pureen) and bumwear (but bumwear the shop lady said can only use from 5kg onwards. so about 3 months old). if you are interested, they will have a stall at motherhood fair this weekend.

re pads: i just bought night pads that are thick and long from those chinatown shops that sell shampoo.

which reminds me:
do1nk
when will you attempt to go to chinatown again? hehe

Thanks SY &amp; garfield...

have been using tampons instead of pads all along so dunno which brand is good and comfy... any good recommendations for night use pads?

anyone of u going to motherhood fair this weekend? think would be pretty crowded rite??

JSP
me also 29 years old..also at KKH. which gynae u seeing? i may have missed it out in earlier posts. i m seeing Dr HC Han.

JSP
personally i like modess and sofy.

i may pop by on sun at the fair. not sure yet. depends on whether i go to church...