(2008/07) July 2008

PB

i think if bb head is down, it is unlikely for her to return to sitting position due to gravity and also head is heavier now. Hope ur gal stays in that position !!

i am still nagging to my gal leh ..

oh yeah u got the PJs ! no prob lah .. chinatown has lotsa cheap and nice stuff eheh

my mother will insist that we give at least cake and ang ku kueh and eggs. these are mandatory items. so if u look at choz selection, they have quite a number of different choices to play with.

Went checkup today n my little girl is 1.8kg at 31 wk 5 days.
GYnea say after 2 n half weeks is safe liao n she still tap my tummy n told bb "But not so fast okie" for good measure.....hahaha
So I won't have a big bb as well this time. N thankfully this girl has turned head down. So I get relieve from the pain on my left pelvic liao. Downside is I keep feeling the urge to pee when she moves....sigh

SY
For other ppl my son will look to me 1st or when I say cannot he won't touch it. But my dad brings him out to NTUC when I bring him over. So that's where I cannot control cos he started feeding him sweets outside then come back n brag about my son eating minty MENTOS....sigh
So now at my dad place when my son has a sweet he will run off to my dad liao so bopian. But I always try to limit my time there so hoping he doesn't get spoiled so much. But bopian 1 lor cos I know my parents pattern cos my son is the 4th grandchild in the family.
Worse is they jus pop it into his mouth in the room so I will only know when I ask wat's in his mouth....sigh

Sonic
Hmmmm quite similar as in the butt is up. But think urs simpler. N my bb is head down already...phew....hehe
N the exercise I do hor I can't really do cos my son will make noise when he sees me in that position. Dunno why leh maybe I look like I'm being tortured??...haha

Youpi
ME TOO!!!....hahaha
So tot to give a small buffet jus so I can order from them....hehehe

Pinkbunny
Dun think so lah cos all the exercise we suppose to do r all with our butts UP!!

hi hi.. update on my little one: he's 1.7kg at wk30.5 :D gynae said slightly bigger than normal, but doesn't sound so, compared to your babies hehe

he's also turned downwards and is backward facing, but then again there's still time for him to swim around and gynae said final position we can only tell around wk 34-37.. so swim all you want little baby, juz turn the right way then it's time!

wah all this talk about neo garden's curry chicken is making me crave for some now..

hey PB...must show us your photos when you get it ok??

so are all of you opting to go natural or c-sec?

Wah, so may posts!

BB movements
Yep, now less kicking and more wiggling and twisting. The past 2 days I feel like my tummy is going to burst open from my baby's pressure. It's like he's expanding in here. Growth spurt probably?

Hot
I've been sweating buckets lately!! I think it's the combination of the weather and our hormones leh. I set my aircon to 20C and still sweating at night while my poor hubby is shivering under the blanket.

Breathless
Both my gynae and my thyroid specialist said we have more blood and we need more oxygen during pregnancy so breathless doesn't mean we are lacking oxygen. On the contrary, we are inhaling more.

Washing
I'm also very lazy. Haven't washed anything anything at all!

Hannahl, Star
I also paid $1200 last week ($1500, minus medisave, minus FBI card discount). I think $975 is the minimum deposit? Coz I saw it on the charges list in front of the cashier.

SY
thanks for intro to seyu. i'm looking at the website now. looks good. got bells sound in the website then i thought eh where is that coming from haha. eh.... seyu's initials are "S.Y."... your shop is it? hehe.

labbit
OMG my mother said must give the cake to EVERYONE! wah biang. i wonder if that is too kua zhang lor. i mean, i know that we are happy for poppy's birth but "everyone" is alot of people leh. gulp.

i only walked around with aim of finding PJs so didn't really get anything else (must FOCUS!!!) but yes chinatown got alot of things

do1nk
at 30+ weeks i also thought gynae said poppy was big but i think he meant not weight, but bone structure la. then today he said wah her head is big... then measure to be 8cm or so then he said ah, normal, no problem. walau so scary.

me going for natural, hopefully!

on! show you girls the photos when i get them. when choosing, some of them when seating, hubby said i look like an ah pek with beer belly. so loving hor, my lao gong?

serene
i got the shirt and pants kind. got skirt kind meh? heheheh. the middle level. basement is market, middle level (ground level) sell clothes, top level is makan. it's a shop in the middle, i only saw that one shop that sell ladies silk PJs. the others sell the wong fei hong time kind with the big dragon on the back

RHS
haha me too. i have fan + aircon and poor hubby say like winter time but i'm still fanning myself.

re washing and bag packing
ok ok i will do that this weekend!!

JMON
congrats on Adeline's progress. Think i will be the next one to pop after you. I am now 32+6 wks and will be seeing my gynae at 34wks. He will then check my cervix and see i can still tahan for how long. But no matter what, think will delivered in June.

Catherine..you have the mothercare card too? Do you know how many % disc do you get with it? I might be getting a baby cot from there..would be great if I could borrow your card if you don't mind? :D

PB: cupcakes = cakes too? kekekeke

wah so fast you girls r planning for the fullmoon party liao? not sure if I'm being weird again, but do you girls feel uncomfortable when the whole world wants to carry and hold your little baby (who may still be very vulnerable to germs and grubby hands or rough handling?) *blush*

sleeping is getting more difficult lately...I keep waking up with pins and needles on my arm or leg or body! As though I've squashed out all blood circulation there with my weight!

dor dor
hee, my mum and IL knows i m strict so they dun try to feed things without me knowing. and if they do that in front of me, i will stop it and they won't try. a bit particular lah but i must set the standard straight with them first. my boy is 1st grandchild..worse...cos everyone just spoils him lots..

PB
hee i wish seyu is my shop! then i no need to think so hard abt being SAHM. their stuff is nice. if u need to know what is nice, let me know.

hmm, my parents and IL not so insistent abt the cake issue cos they can't do anything abt my stubborn hb. my hb refused to go and give cakes cos he find it so troublesome. he said whoever wants to give go and give themselves...haha. in a way good for us also cos really quite troublesome. but sometimes also no choice when u have to please the old folks...

do1nk
i know what u mean. but generally at the first month, not many pple will wan to carry. they may play a bit with bb but most pple won't carry still. at least for mine, not many pple try to carry lah.

yeah i m so tired now cos can't sleep. yesterday night pee 3 times in half and hour!

do1nk
yup some people give cupcakes right? cos i see the package some even provide fruit tarts? hey it is full month party la. fullMOON party is something else hehe.

hmmm good point about germs and stuff... but i guess i live by 'lasap jiak lasap dua' so it should work for being carried by all kinds also. at least it's friends and family. strangers i will raise eyebrow, esp if baby is so small. i'd like poppy to be carried by alot of people, so that next time will be easy for us. then she won't be so sticky to only papa and mummy!

re sleeping - sigh. moving from position to position is very challenging!!! but pins and needles i don't have. hmmm maybe check with your gynae?

do1nk

during my gal full mth party, I was so glad there were so many babysitters !! ahha .. i was like socialising with my guests that I forgot to pump and dont even know where is my baby ! ahah ... just relax lah .. most of the ppl who wants to carry a 1 mth old baby are experienced mothers. I even had my aunties and sister helping me to feed my bb that day ... shiok lah ! ahahha

re:sleeping

i have trouble moving from left to right and vice versa cos i feel pain on my butt !

mummies, at our first gynae check, gynae said our eyes will be different during pregnancy. anyone feels this? my contact lenses have been very uncomfortable the past few months :S

labbit
thanks for the tip! note to self: remember to pump out alot of milk!

re presents for first month
if people ask, what are typical items to ask for? or is it ok to ask for AP?

morning ladies

youpi,
that one not true...i remember for my #1 i was like 39wks and bb still dont wanna come out, me and hb tried to do that "thing" but aiyoh....feel so clumsy...but after that also never induce labour lehz...ended up i still went for induce at exactly 40wks *lol*

dordor,
ya ya...me keep feeling the urge to pee nowadays also....haha...i was telling my hb i tink i visit the toilet at least 10x a day to pee but everytime only a bit of pee

Re : Baby's Position
that time went gynae was 31+wk, bb is already head down but gynae told me bb can still turn so usually its like around 34wks and above and usually bb will stay in the position liowz.

Re : Baby Movements
Do u all sometimes feel like baby is using the fingernails to scratch against our tummy? *lol*
My bb still quite active nowadays once start moving can move for like 15-20mins but then will rest a while before moving again later

PB

gynae is right. in fact my eye power went down u know !! no wonder i cant wear my old lenses and the optician is nice enough to change my unopened lenses to a different power one. during my #1 preg, I cant even wear contact lenses when I was 5 mths preggie. It was so uncomfy !!

and today I am wearing specs ... too dry recently.

oh i did ask for ANG BAO if possible then can put into our baby's savings account.

i have planned to celebrate my #2 one mth old and #1 2nd birthday on the same day ! ehhe kill 2 birds in one stone ..

celeste
no leh i don't feel fingers scratching. i feel her backside alot. one big bump in the same position moving right to left most of the time hehe. but little hand/feet movements at random places occasionally.

re groin pain
anyone also feel very achy?

quite funny my mum was telling me about the experience of giving birth to me. she said she had pain since morning but tahan throughout the work day then went home after work, take bus and feeder bus then lie in bed and wondering if should go hospital. then when she asked her sister-in-law 'how? must go or not?' then she stood up and her water bag burst so her SIL said 'ya la, now go la!'.

oh... and last night i dreamt my mucus plug deplugged itself. and i was looking for it on the floor haha

re AP at first month
oh ya makes sense to say want AP to put into baby's account. actually i remember thinking about this before, but don't know why i forgot all about it! pregnancy! haha.

re eyes
eee yer, i hate wearing bak gia. i will get headache ler if i wear bak gia out of the house. even when giving birth i'm thinking of wearing lenses until bueh tahan then switch to glasses!

PB

u funny ..
ur mucus plug is small lah .. NOT ONE BIG LUMP hor ahhah

i dont like to wear specs too but no choice lah.

oh someone was telling me not to overshine the #2 during the celebration else #1 will be jealous. Think within a month, #1 sure still not get use to the attention given to #2. So someone suggested that I always introduce my #1 first follow by #2 since #2 still dont know what is going on.

Then i thought maybe I celebrate my #1 bday then she feel happy too ? ehhee

re: mucus plug
hmm i keep imagining it's a big lump! but last night in my dream it was very small and i couldn't find it cos there was alot of sai on the floor haha. excellent. sifting through sai. why do i get such dreams! but people say dream of sai is HUAT right? hehe. go buy toto today

i guess 2-in-1 party very liang quan qi mei
esp if your guests are very busy, and it will be hard to grab them for 2 separate occasions. some more your #1 now still quite young, then won't feel jealous la hor?

PB
most of the food from seyu is nice. i like the curry chicken. the only thing i remember not so nice is cereal fish. the rest all got good reviews.

i really like the complimentary duck with buns that they give..hee

if u wnat to order from them, u say i recommend u and ask whether can waive transport charges.

lbt
i also cannot turn from left to right cos of the pain. me at hips and near the V area

re eyes
yes PB i heard of this before. that's why preggie pple cannot do lasik. cos the hormones affects our vision and eyes.

re 1st month presents
if pple really ask, i think no harm saying u wan ang pow. really more practical and u can use it to get stuff that u need. in fact, i let my frens know that i prefer vouchers/ang pow.

hey anyone knows when motherhood fair is and what do they usually sell ah? cos wondering if i should buy steriliser+food warmer now (for babysitter's house... should have bought during taka fair argh) or at taka sale (20% off pigeon and i don't remember what else. a few brands la)

labbit
i guess now still ok la. but next time got to do 2 liao loh!

PB
i intend to call motherhood organiser and ask who are the retailers. dun wan to make wasted trip...

maybe u check with your bbsitter whetehr she needs? cos some of the older generation may not like to use these things. they may use the more traditional method.

haha full moon is when the werewolves all come out for a party! :D

I'm someone who doesn't like to wear specs for too long hours too coz it makes me feel uncomfortable to have something on my face and no 360 deg vision.. I was also planning to keep my lens on during labour leh...cannot ah?

asking for angpows: a bit paisay to do so leh...unless they ask first...

do1nk
i checked with gynae and he said ya can leave lenses on, no prob :D for me it's not about discomfort but i will really get a terrible neckache. imagine like if you shrug your shoulders consecutively for 10 hours, that kind of pain. but it only happens when i wear glasses OUT of the house! so strange

re asking for APs... i guess it's better than getting a ton of presents that you don't need.

in delivery suite, u can wear wat u want (except the hospital gown), or even put on makeup ! ahha .. but in operating theatre for c-sect, u cant wear lenses. So (touch wood!) what if u wear lenses then u gotta do emergency c-sect ???

why cannot wear lenses if we c-sec huh? hmm..now that I think back..ya think I had to take off my lenses and glasses when I went for surgery...wonder why...

Toking about "pacifying" #1, my gal recently got hook on my brother WII when we visited my parent.

So I intend to get her a set once it is nearer to my delivery date so she would not feel so jealous on the diverted attention to #2.

Anyone knows where I could get the best deal for WII?

do1nk

not sure why cant wear lenses during op but the reason for no makeup etc is to monitor your face color, in case u turn pale during op ! as for lenses .... hmmm ..

lbt,
same like you, i've been thinking of celebrating #1's 2nd birthday and #2 full mth together.

PB,
haha...finding mucus plug on the floor...meaning you never wear panties in your dream....kekeke

re: eye sight
during pregnancy, our eyes will also get edematous(water retention)just like the rest of our body that explain the difference in our power. i did lasik and have been enjoying perfect eyesight, but i do notice a little difference esp. in low light setting but overall didn't affect me much.

as for contact lenses which i was still wearing during my 1st preg, it does become harder for the lens to adhere to our eye bcos of the swelling.

do1nk,
I PM you already. Today newspapers got an ad that Mothercare at Habourfront 15% storewide. You may wana check it out. The mothercare card is usually 10% of regular items

we can't have lenses on during any operation in case of situation whereby the need for general anaesthesia arise(put to sleep totally), and also no nail polish during delivery or in OT, bcos it's to monitor your blood circulation.

delphine

ya lor, very ex. many private hospitals cost cheaper than kkh now.

serene
ha.. yeah, i have start talking to bb every night after i did the exercise to tell her be good gal and turn...
but i heard that we are not supposed to massage our tummy though.

rain
$290 is just the room rate. $3500 is the package price for vaginal normal delivery (without epidural) for 2 nights stay in single bedded room, which includes charges for gynae professional fee, midwife/nurse fee, use of delivery suite, standard procedures, etc..
becos i'm seeing my gynae at the private suite, so they treat us as so called premier private patients, hence the high price. 4 bedded is $2700...

SY
i'm seeing Dr Benjamin Tham. he's quite a relax guy... everything he said no worries lah. even baby hasn't turn, he said still got time...

youpi
going on all fours?? think that's similar with what dor dor is doing right? on fours and butt is up!

lbt
yes, i asked the same question when gynae told me about the exercise.. butt is higher wor, how baby is going to turn? then he explained that, becos baby is sitting comfortably on my pelvis now. the purpose of doing that is to get baby come out from the pelvis and 'swim freely' in the water bag again, then baby will have space to turn. i do feel that baby is moving 'downward' to my chest when i'm doing the exercise, so i guess that works bah..

dor dor
congrats! hopefully my gal will turn too.. but got to wait till 4 weeks later then i will know whether she has turned or not leh..
your boy so cute... he's sim tia seeing mummy in that odd position. but my boy just simply bo chap me when i did tat. haha...

my back has been aching more n more now... esp at nite. sleepin is gettin diff

soemmore sometimes no 1 got nite mare n i still have to go over n pacifiy him... so tired...

Got your PM, catherine, thanks! I juz have to quote your particulars issit? dunnit the physical card itself?

anyone here been to shanghai before?? any good stuffs to recommend? not dat I get to go...*pout* I've been grounded since preggie.. but maybe can tumpang some friends who are going! kekeke

Re: AP instead of gifts
We told our parents to spread the word that we would prefer APs instead of presents for 1st mth, b'day etc. So far, most have complied. But some relativeswho are more cheapo give gifts that they get cheaply (can tell by the quality). I have thrown out one car park set that was so badly made, none of the parts could stay together after they were fitted. Another one gave a T-shirt and boasted that she got in from the UK and that it is made of organic material yadda yadda yadda... it had a hole in the shoulder area!

sonic,
Ok. I didn't know how much i will be spending. As I asked the nurse, she only says on that day then will know, if need this or that or what.

If private, I don't mind going to Raffles. Of course must have $$$

Garfield,
Me too. Sleep not regular. But now I wake up because my legs were cold from the aircon on during the night. Previously, it was too hot that I woke up sweating.

My baby is always moving but at night, he sleeps when I sleep. So that's good.

fiona
so tao yan you, say until like that *blush*. but at home i really don't wear panties. just steal hubby's boxer shorts cos my panties now very precious, got to keep for work haha.

in my dream i was sitting on the throne mah. then dunno why look for mucus plug on the floor hehe

just now i took a taxi and the taxi plate number is my home unit number, but jumbled up. see, it's a sign! must buy 4D this weekend ah!!

re silk PJs
eh i bought 2 piece one la. silk one got skirt one meh? is it like one big and long shirt? err i guess that level got a few, just walk around ba?

re tickling
oh i think i know what some of you mean about feeling like the baby is tickling you! like very small movements and slowly scratching the inside of your stomach is it? hehe i get it too. a big ngiao ngiao

do1nk
shanghai got alot of fake lesportsac bags hehe.

re squatting
yoga teacher is saying those whose baby heads are down should squat more, it encourages baby's head to be more engaged in that position.

garfield
you go scroll up and see (maybe in archive liao), i posted some exercises on how to relief back ache. hope it will help you!

Celeste,
Really not true ah? Good thing I did not try for ds1 then! He was induced at 41 weeks. Dunno whether baby #2 will take as long... I don't think I want to go through induction this time though.

Re: eyesight changing during pregnancy
My degrees did not change much, but the astigmatism did. I had to get a new pair of specs and a new set of contacts.

PB,
Oh yes, want to see your pictures!
Where did you get them taken?

oh do1nk - you mentioned you had pins and needles feeling in your arms? it could be this:

http://www.babycenter.com/0_carpal-tunnel-syndrome-during-pregnancy_234.bc

are you a concert pianist? hehe

You may be feeling some achiness and even numbness in your fingers, wrists, and hands. Like many other tissues in your body, those in your wrist can retain fluid, which can increase pressure in the carpal tunnel, a bony canal in your wrist. Nerves that run through this "tunnel" may end up pinched, creating numbness; tingling, shooting or burning pain; or a dull ache. Try wearing a splint to stabilize your wrist or propping your arm up with a pillow when you sleep. If your work requires repetitive hand movements (at a keyboard or on an assembly line, for instance), remember to stretch your hands when you take breaks — which should be frequently.

do1nk,
Ya dont need the card itself. Cos my cousin recently went to mothercare to buy a booster seat for my niece. In fact she only quoted my name and hp number and got the 10%.

PB,
wahahahaha...no shy lah..
i used to not wearing panties at home too(only isolated in the room bcos stays with mil), but now i find it very "ley chey" to put on and off, easier when you stay on your own. but bra i still put on only when necessary lah hee...

youpi,
yup astigmatism is the word, i do feel like i'm having it (having blurrer vision in low light places and at night). hope eyesight will go back to norm few mths after delivery or else sayang my $$ spent on lasik.

re: silk PJ
end up i bought 2 skirts(it looks like the shirt but much longer, button front all the way), only thing is it got design on it, only the pant suit ones are plain, but i find it easier to slip on than to lift legs to put on pants esp after episotomy.

re: episotomy
do you gals plan to sit on swimming float after natural delivery with episotomy done?

hehe thought only BKK has lots of fake lesportsac bags...they say it makes good diaperbags coz very lightweight..but the lack of pockets may leave you scrambling to search for things inside? That's the thing I dun like about big bags...it's a jungle in there!

PB: hmm how did you know I'm some famous concert pianist ah? hehehe read this before..is it the same thing as the pins n needles I'm getting? Think mine is coz I'm sleeping on my left so my weight is squashing my left arm til no more blood can flow thru...

thanks a million catherine! must check out mothercare soon!

eh fiona how much you spent on lasik ah? really not pain ah, just discomfort? i would like to do it after giving birth

re episotomy - is there a chance won't have to do it? gulp.

do1nk
hehe ya i have one that i was intending to use as diaper bag but only ONE pocket inside. knowing me, i will just throw everything inside then stress cos cannot find things haha. got flowers and all (like garden theme), think hubby won't carry also hahaha