(2008/07) July 2008

RHS,
Maybe mine is eager to come out sooner so he decided to turn head down first. So dun worry.

Really feeling sleepy nowadays ...

I hv decide to postpone my exam again. Haizz ...
Can't even keep my eyes open, how to keep my brain awake.

As for maternity leave ... will tahan till delivery then will take ML like lbt.

Hi Pink Bunny,
Received the items with thanks.

Hi RHS,
Welcome!! will update your details when i am back in office(updated table not at home).

Hi Evon,
very tempted to buy the NUK package selling at Robinson yesterday but in the end brought back avent(my #1 using Avent since birth till now)

PB
oops got it wrong. i put everything together with the rice and boil together, then transfer it after 5-10 min of boiling and put inside the tiger jar to stew. i find that the flavours are much richer than using slow cooker. so i really like it. plus my maids spoilt 2 slow cookers liao so i decided to just use the jar to cook porridge everyday.

u need to trial and error a while first to rouhgly know how much water to put.

lbt
so far i find cooking with the jar very nice leh. in fact the porridge flavours comes out stronger as it stew in the jar slowly.

bluey
my appt also every 2 weeks now...

PB,
that's true hor..imagine water bag burst in the crowded mall :p

dustee,
no worry...i just did my glucose test this morning too, but the fasting and glucose drink did make me kinda sick. after the test took 2 bread so i won't feel too sick, but the feeling of lethargy followed me whole day.

do1nk,
i use the syringe to administer medication and water to my gal, just have to put it against the side of the mouth(not directly at the throat or will choke)and syringe half in, when see her swallowed then syringe the remaining in.

Welcome RHS & Phyllis!

PB, Fiona

yeah .. my gf labour was 51 hrs if I din rem wrongly. I dunno how she tahan. And she gave birth in SGH.. weird rules there .. if in pte hospital, they would have asked u to go for emer c sect liao.

Her gynae commented she is destined to have big babies. But she does gain a lot of wt during preg too .. all > 20kg one.

dustee

my gal is now 2.1kg at 31+ weeks too but gynae never mentioned abt the GD test. Guess I have no family history hor ???

oh PB .. hehe yeah I was quite skeptical abt IONA products until my mum tried the slow cooker. It's really good lah.

lbt,
she must have eaten lots of good stuff

if your urine wasn't tested positive for glucose most likely gynae won't suggest the GD test too

Pinkbunny
My neh neh doesn't grow much leh
Maybe coz I'm small chested in the first place. Besides raffles place, you know where I can find Perfect Mum? So far all nursing bras I see are HUGE!

Coffee
I don't drink coffee but need my daily tea. Same thing, I also limit to 1 glass per day. One drink should be ok lah.

Exercise
I was thinking of doing yoga and swimming early on but end up too lazy to move. Just do my kegel once in a while. Bad example, I know, especially since I'm aiming at natural birth

Rayna
I'm seeing him at 9am. I used to came around 11am but for the past 2 appointments I found his clinic very very crowded and I ended up waiting for an hour, which is rare before.

Star
Same thing! It's more a hi-bye session. I guess if there is no health problem, nothing much to discuss as well rite? Just a quick scan to measure baby's weight.

star, you also seeing Dr Paul Tseng?

hmmm, my visits with him is also not long. but sometimes he'll spend more time. but most of the time he's very assuring. if nothing major, he will chop chop see, chop chop let u go. and he won't say more than necessary. which i like lor. so i just ask him when in doubt. then he'll explain to us.

RHS, i usually sees him at 8.30am or 8.40am. but this week, they couldn't squeeze me in. so they ask me to go 10.40am lor. but i'll usually reach earlier. =)
u waited long was it because he have to go to the labour ward? 2 weeks ago he had to go Mt A for a delivery. but he came back quite fast. like within half an hr onli. the nurses did comments that he's getting popular these days.

pinkbunny
nursing bra
you mention you got yours from perfect mum, did they give you discount? which branch did you go to? i went to the tanjong pagar one. did try on but didn't buy. since you say they all good, i am so tempted to buy. as my current bras are so not comfy. feel like removing them but at work better have them on. my office got "ti go pek".

big babies
looks like there is a lot of big babies around.

pedicure
boz wasn't able to cut toe nails ourselves. i went for pedicure and got myself signed up for their package. haiz. been spending alot.

do1nk
perfect mum sells strapless nursing bra.
i was so surprised when the salesgirl bring out the strapless one.

gynae visit
mine gynae visit also change to 2 weeks once le.
the last visit, requested dr han to print the ultrasound for me. but baby too big for the full screen so only select the head and half body printout.
next week, going to tps instead. doc say can start booking the rooms liao.

RHS
you can find perfect mum at
tanjong pajar
international plaza
the arcade
heartland mall
suntec city mall

erm, i am not promoting loh.
just happen to have their namecard.

dusty
so funny you call her baby pomfret!!!! hehe. oh my gosh cannot eat for so long? then better have supper at 11.50pm! haha

do1nk
don't worry la, i think some of us have been sipping our coffees also. me, once a week i guess? on and off.

delphine
thanks for letting me know! hope your girl will like the items

SY
okie i will try try with the porridge next time hehe.

fiona
ya lor can you imagine if water bag burst while walking in the store, then some more it's so big, then i must rush to either get wheelchair or back to my office? pengsan!!! where i work, if people go for leisurely stroll, it takes 1.5 hours to walk through the entire shop!!! haha.

labbit
OMG 51 hours..... gulp. eh, don't forget when we go into labour must sms each other ah, cos we are due about the same time at Mt A right? keke

RHS
my neh seem to stop growing liao haha. but when you go perfect mum they will measure for you la. since now we already 8 months plus i guess it's safe to buy nursing bra liao. i believe suntec has a branch also

re gynae appts
i always have to wait super long to see mine. sometimes up to 45 mins. i don't understand why because appts are all prebooked, and each couple only takes about 5 mins at most to see him! cannot be because people are late because even when i am like the 2nd or 3rd in line also wait very long. maybe HE is the one who come late and enter through backdoor or secret trap door or something??

fiona
hubby and the 3 elderly don support the idea of breastfeeding at night.
they say can breastfeed but at night drink formula.
HOW!???

qing
when u going to tps? i was going on wed but changed to fri cos i got meting...

he also changed me to 2 weeks. actualyl towards the end the ultrasound pics cannot see much. best is before 20 weeks, can see the whole bb nicely...

PB
u try it out. so far i find it tastier. it's the same concept as thermal cooker. supposed to seal in the flavors better. and cos u dun keep boiling, u dun lose so much nutrients. vege like brocoli lose like half the nutrients when u boil it.

Hello and welcome to all the new mtbs! Wah, July is a popular month for births, huh?

Qing
Why not let baby sleep in the same bed as you and hb? It'll be much more convenient and easier for night-time breastfeeding as well.

Like what the other mummies say, ultimately she is YOUR baby and YOU are the mother. When the in-laws etc start having a lot of things to say I just smile and nod lor. Smile, nod, smile, nod, as it all goes in through one ear and straight out the next... ;p

Do1nk
I feed ds1 medication using a syringe. It's always worked fine. Sometimes I bribe him with Gerber puffs but he can only have the puffs - and only 5 of them - after taking all his meds.

Re: feet
Mine expanded after ds1. Used to be size 37, now size 39. My sis bought me a pair of Shanghai Cobblers shoes and I can't wear them!

PB

sure sure .. but hor i want to target latest to deliver by week 39 cos my gynae will be away on my EDD. I want him to pull my gal out leh ehehhe oops I think I idolise him ! ahha

eh my waterbag also burst for #1. Super heng. i took half day on a fri , went shopping with mum. reach home, bathed and water bag burst. but few days before that my mucus plug oredi came out so my friends ask me to put pads to get ready !

the first leak was not a lot but if u dont wear pad... u maybe dripping ehhehe so i guess u can wear a day pad when the D-day is near ya ?

Do1nk

yes use a syringe. but be careful. Dont shoot it straight to the throat, bb will choked. pt the syringe to the side of the gums (somewhere after the middle part) and then release the med.

haha PB, u got the same thoughts as me. sometimes even being the 1st patient, i also never see the gynae walks in. and best thing is, my gynae's clinic is located at 3rd floor of TMC. so i sometimes also wonder where he come from. esp 2 wks ago when he left for a delivery in Mt A. didn't even see him leave and the nurses said, he's gone. weird.

SY
i am also going on fri
erm, 7pm appt.

for update, i die die also want him to print for me. even if it is half.

the last visit, (in wk 30), he ask why i havent give birth loh. scared me loh. he say can give birth liao. oh my. i found out that he only jokes when there isn't a lot of patient. and very lame loh.

but i don like it when he rush us.

pinkbunny
gynae appt:
the other day i was there early for my appt loh, nurse ask me to wait boz only got few patient. who know, this lady came after me somemore got to see the doc first. and her queue no differs from everyone loh. she spend almost about 20mins inside loh. mine also see ulttrasound, talk abit then go liao.
but hor, she came out crying la. so i suppose longer you stay in the room the new will not be very good.

qing
hey i think you got to do what you believe in la. cos people talk so much but ultimately you are the ah bu and it's your child leh. but i know it will be tough to fight la. unless at night you just whip out your neh to feet, they also can't say anything? haha. or maybe you express during the day then at night can feed your baby EBM?

this morning some kaypoh (ok, well meaning) colleagues came to me (one is not even a mother) and said cannot just breastfeed, must give formula as well. cos breastfeeding is not enough bla bla. but i strongly believe that with formula milk there is the tendency to give more but with BF the baby will know when to stop. and like one of the ladies at the ante natal class comically put it, braest milk is for human babies. cows milk is for calves.

qing
dun care abt them. if u wan to do it, just go ahead and do it.

my regret is that last time i gave in to pressure too easily so i think my supply affected.

they may have such intention also cos formula milk will make bb fuller as it takes longer to digest so u get more rest. it's also good intention on their part i believe. but if u have enough ss and dun mind waking up, then just go ahead and do it.

pinkie
when i say i want to breastfeed, they already voice out saying about the formula thing liao.
then say if breastfeed all the time, later very difficult to switch to formula. and that after i go work will be very tired if need to breastfeed at night. all sort of reason la.

got a cousin, she is sahm ma so she breastfeed all the way, then when want to change to formula, baby reject and had constipation.

i hate being controlled by them, but hor
i am very turtle also. don dare to voice out too.
everytime also quietly accept.
sometimes really angry with myself loh.

qing
i also going on fri. mine is 6.15pm. hee, i will be bringing my boy along. so look out for me if u r early..

yeah sometimes if i see pple coming after me and going in first, i will go and ask how come take so long to be my turn...

actually Dr Han really likes to joke. and it's true. the shorter u stay, the better it is cos means nothing wrong....

labbit
what does mucus plug look like? is it very gross? or look like the plug sink that thing? the black rubber thing with a chain? haha

re gynae appt - there was once we had alot of questions and i stored them in my phone and was reading them, then he just took my phone and read everything out. i don't know if he was being rude or not but hubby and i both didn't like. we felt he was giving us a signal like 'i'm very busy lor so don't think i got the time to listen to all your stupid questions'. he's ok la but i feel quite bochup la.

but i get a scan and a print each time and he's rather easy going so guess cannot complain la. as the hokkien song goes - "wu si ki wu si loh" la!

i believe that formula fed babies have tendency to put on more weight. cos mums have the tendency to feed until bottle is empty.

sometimes i also feel i give in to pressure but this one is different. it's my child so i want to take responsiblity of all MY actions.

in a way, i'm seeing it positively now that my mother is so bochup

Qing,
If it wasn't for you, they would have no grandchild. It's up to you to take a stand and do what you know is best for your baby lor. I got a lot of flak for things that I did also, but I do not regret any of them. In fact, I would have regretted not doing them.

You will come to realise that a lot of people - married or not, mothers or not - will have a lot of things to say. Just let them say if it makes them happy.

Switching from bm to fm:
I heard that some babies get constipated 'cos fm is much more heaty than bm. Your bm is created to be the perfect food for your baby - it's different for each mother and child. So switching to fm may lead to problems until the bb's digestive system adapts to the fm.

Qing
Forgot to add: at the end of it all, you must also be happy about the decisions that you make hor. Then you'll be able to better take care of baby, and baby will be happier as well. Babies, especially, are very sensitive to their mummies' moods and emotions. So be a happy mummy!

qing,PB,
wa liao...i feel like strangling those ppl on your behalf! It's nonsense to purposely feed baby with formula for such a LAME reason! sorry that i react so strongly to this, bcos it's just not fair to the baby, just bcos they want to make things easier for themselves.

i fully breastfed my baby and then slowly change to formula but she didn't get any constipation leh, i'm giving NAN HA formula. but i dun solely latch on, most of the time i pump out and bottle feed so there wasn't any problem during the transition.

re: gynae
the reason why the doctor never see their patient on time is bcos they are always late. i work with many doctors and they are all the same, but some is due to operation they have to do in the morning while some visit their inpatients in the hospital 1st or else no chance to visit once clinic session starts.

qing,
i absolutely agree with what youpi said, ultimately it's your child and you do have a choice in deciding, dun let others decide for you. sometimes it's godd to hear advice but not necessary all are good. the older generation though they've raised their son but it's all old practice, things have changed now.

besides, BM is definitely a better choice, the reason why baby gets hungry easier on BM is not bcos it's more dilute but bcos it's easier to digest. FM on the other hand takes longer to digest for their little and not so mature stomach that's why they think it's fuller.

babies on BM are lesser prone to colic, ear infection and many other diseases, share these with your hubby.

Qing
If possible, better to breastfeed exclusively unless there is health issue which prevents it. Pinkbunny's advice to give EBM at night is good, at least your baby still get BM instead of formula. I would think BF is more convenient as we don't have to sterilize bottles, no? Can just 'plop' the baby while we are still half asleep.

Pinkbunny, SY, Qing
Thanks thanks! I shall give Perfect Mum a visit.

Rayna
Dunno leh, once I did saw him left quickly and came back so could be that he had to go to delivery ward.

qing
dun think too much now. no point. think when the time comes, just do it the way u feel most comfortable.

just to share with u. i was really quite stressed up abt breastfeeding instead. so even though i m huge advocate of breastfeeding, in the end, i had to resort to supplementing cos my boy's latch was terrible and my ss not enough. intially was quite upset cos really wanted to be successful at breastfeeding (and maybe the hormones during confinement as well) but my hb told me not to be so stressed abt it. so sometimes it may not be a bad thing that your hb (and the old folks) not as supportive of breastfeeding. not that i m speaking up for them but my point is that no need to think too much at this stage. most impt is to be happy.

PB

mucus plug is white in color. like ur sticky discharge when ur ovulation is over. So u cant miss it cos we shld not have such discharge during pregnancy.

oh some men not very sensitive to post natal blues one...so even if u pretend it may not work. my hb doesn't really believe such hormonal stuff. always think i m being unreasonable....

ibt,
i have discharge that is white...

delphine,
i think i am having the same issue as you.
sometime quite alot loh.

anyway,
thanks mummies,
i just hope that things will turn out well.
maybe there are not as bad as i thought.
"keep finger cross"

ok ok gals

mucus plug is something like the sticky discharge and comes out in a lump. Not v big lump for me lah.

from baby centre:

You pass your mucus plug or notice "bloody show."
You may pass your mucus plug — the small amount of thickened mucus that has sealed your cervical canal during the last nine months — if your cervix begins to dilate as you get close to labor.

The plug may come out in a lump or as increased vaginal discharge over the course of several days. The mucus may be tinged with brown, pink, or red blood, which is why it's referred to as "bloody show." Having sex or a vaginal exam can also disturb your mucus plug and cause you to see some blood-tinged discharge, even when labor isn't going to start in the next few days.

nursing bras
mummies probably u can get it from marks n spencer it 2 pcs for $99 but nw having sales probably cheaper i just got mine last weekend.

Perfect mum
who needs perfect mum discount card i can lend it out ....hehehe

youpi,
you can donate the books to national library or salvation army.

do1nk,
I'm also very worried about the feet size. All my shoes later cannot wear. But I heard it doesnt happen to everyone .. I'm praying it wont happen to me :p

re: baby movements
I see most of the mummies here have very active babies. I think my baby very lazy... whole day she can dont move.. only sometimes in the night when I lie down then she will kick abit .. then go back to sleep again. Sometimes I very worry and keep tapping my tummy lightly to get some response from her. Sometimes she will response back.. sometimes nothng. I'm quite worried but don't know if I am being over sensitive :p anyone with this experience ?

Catherine
Have you ever counted your baby's movements? If she makes less than 10 movements in 2 hours during her usual active period, you may want to check with your gynae. May not be anything serious, but just let your gynae know to be on the safe side.

Re: donating books
Thank you for the suggestions! I called the salvation army and the library. They never got back to me. I cannot bring the books by myself as I have four big boxes and each box has about 60-80 (or more, depending on the size of the book) books. And to take bit by bit to the library I'd probably need months! So I offered them to the sgfreecylers, who have enthusiastically snapped them up!

Catherine,
My bb does not seem very active either. Well he is not as active as ds1 was. I don't feel his movements so clearly because my placenta is anterior, ie. on the front, so I think that blocks some of the action. Also, I have like two inches of FAT all round that is cushioning every move that bb makes. But like what RHS says, do monitor her movements and just let your gynae know your concerns.

Post-natal blues
Yes, as SY says, the men don't always get it. But it is normal to have some post-natal blues for the first few days, so don't worry too much, k? It's all due to the hormonal changes taking place in your body after birth. In the early days alone at home with ds1, I would tear up when hb was leaving to go to work, when watching TV commercials, when eating... anytime! Without warning, the tears would just suddenly fall! It all passed after a while, I think when the hormones got a better balance in my body, and I got the hang of handling baby on my own

haha ... not even in the post-natal stage yet, and I feel that I'm more emotional when preggie..

baby movements: is it 10movements in 12 hours instead of 2 hours? I keep forgetting to track the number of times my little has moved during the day...

hospital bag: attempted to pack the first few things I have gotten for my bag and wow...think we need a BIG BAG man..hehe

discharge: I do have some too..but like what LBT said, think the mucus plug would be some really sticky and thick and gooey (wiv some traces of blood?) one that we surely won't miss...

re:baby movements

some babies are real quiet. My nephew was like that. So quiet that my sis bgt a bb heart monitor to listen to the heartbeat.

but if u baby is usually active and somehow the movements has lessen over the days.. then it is a cause of concern and shld inform ur gynae immediately. Then gynae may order you to ensure bb has 10 movements over 12 hr period.

do1nk

when my mucus plug first came out, it was clear. As i dont have much discharge during pregnancy, I know it was the plug.

re discharge
i also get quite a fair bit of discharge usually. but i think like what lbt said, the mucus plug wd be more obvious. i din have it in my first pregnancy though...

re bb movements
i really feel this is one chlii padi. whe my son lightly hit my tummy accidentally, she will react big time....we suspect she will beat the brother next time.

re hospital bag
haven start packing yet but i dun remember my bag was very big....hee, can always us hb to come back and get stuff when he comes back to rest.

catherine
for my first pregnancy, my feet did swell but it went away after giving birth. this time round, my water retention really low...so feet never swell

Qing
Can jus tell ur inlaws u wanna BF bb so more convinent for bb to sleep with u. No space hor I tell u lah. U sleep with bb on bed then ask hubby to sleep on mattress on the floor lor.....hahaha
My son sleeps with us on the bed since he was born but must be careful not to squash him lah cos last time he so small.
N if u worry about getting depression jus tell ur hubby straight lah. I used to use that to threaten hubby....hehe
I told him if I cannot tahan his parents(cos they like to visit when he not home yet n talk alot of "fei hua") I will scream at them n he can go n tell them I having depression.....hehehe

If u find it hard to tell ur inlaws wat U want for bb hor try to psycho ur hubby n make him tell his parents instead. They dun want u to BF at night then U ask ur hubby lor then at night ur boobs leak how?? Boobs pain cos of milk then how?? N now so many ppl promoting the benefit of BM liao tell them to read up more or purposly leave leftlets of it all over the hse.

Okie lah I'm luckier then u cos I dun stay with my inlaws. But everytime we went down to their place my FIL will ask me the same exact qns. If my son is still drinking at night, how many times n when I intend to stop. I simply reply him the same ans everytime lor. I will stop feeding at night when my son no longer wants milk at night. Stupid qns require stupid ans ma. Jus act stupid when reply them lor.....hahaha

do1nk
When my son is sick its like fighting a war at home. Gotta force feed lor no choice. The last time he was feverish after his last jab was Hell at home cos he force himself to vomit. Lucky I only had to feed him medi twice. N once he see the syringe he start shaking head liao......sigh

Rayna
Maybe ur gynea jump out through the window??....hehehe

Re. Groin/Pelvic area pain
Hmmmm dun wanna jinx myself but my pain seems to have lifted off quite abit. Today was jus commenting to hubby not so pain already. Dunno if bb changed position already so not pressing on that area anymore.

Re. Swollen feet
I think whether the feet will return back to normal size depends on individual. Cos mine went back to normal after delivery.
N for very swollen hor have u gals heard before?? That if ur feet get really VERY swollen after that u will be in labour liao. Anyway that was wat happened to me.

Re. Mucus plug
Ummmm definately won't miss it?? I think not true leh cos I missed mine......hehehe
Actually mine for #1 was quite transparent but it was quite a big blob. N since I never expected bb to be early so didn't really take note. Only after delievery came back to forum to chat then I remembered I actually did see my mucus plug few days before my water broke.....hehehe
Hopefully this time I am not so blur lah...keke

Just got back from the gynae. Was quite worried about the non movement so I called the gynae this morning while having bfast and asked her say I didn't feel movement for 2 days, should I come for checkup. She said come come.. so I went there. They put a tracer to trace the heartbeat for abt 15mins. But took them 10 mins to locate the heartbeat, finally they "cheated" and use the ultrascan to locate then put the tracer on. Was so relieved that all ok. Baby position is across the tummy. And the nurse had to press the tracer device hard onto the tummy to get the heartbeat, and then I think poked the baby so she kicked back a few times. hahaa. All is ok. But detected sugar in the urine. So next week have to go back for glucose test
My mom complain say I eat too much cake.. hahaha. And also happy that baby weight went up to 980g. I'm so relieved but gynae still say it's on the smaller side. But I didn't put on weight at all. So this 2 weeks either I lost weight or 2 weeks ago, cos I wore jeans so it was the clothes weight. But overall, very relieved that baby is ok. Gynae said don't wait 2 days, next time if 1 day no movement must call already. Some mummies half day already call. :p

Oh but the ultra sound detected a fibriod growth in the womb. She said it's nothing to be alarmed cos it's quite common esp during pregnancy the fibroid would get enlarged. She will monitor and see after giving birth did the fibroid shrink then decide if need to remove it or not.