(2008/07) July 2008

re: hospital bag
was gonna start packing it near the end of this month then leave it in my car for in case scenario. and i'll be leaving an extra pair of shorts and panties and some pads and maybe a towel in my office too, in case my water bag breaks and i make a mess...hee

re: panting & heartburn
i've been feeling breathless irregardless whether i'm in sitting or walking position, tummy has been huge and sudden growth spurt over the past week, last nite i was shocked that one of my top which was quite loose became very tight and short...still got 8 more weeks...*persevere*. been eating lesser too due to the heartburn

re: diaper
i've only used disposables so far. and i swear by desitin creamy, works great and keep the rashes away

re: tummy binder
i took the advice from my friend to bind the newborn tummy as it makes them feel more secure. my 1st bb cries every nite till i bind her tummy then did she sleep better. and after 3 mths or so she can sleep thru' the nite liao...

back pain -- PB, thanks for the advice! :D but hor, think swollen elephant legs cannot be lifted to step on toilet bowl. bend too much will pain. maybe i start lunging on a dictionary first.

heartburn -- i threw up a few times due to heartburn
sob. it wakes me up at night too. so now i'm a "wee hour milk drinker" wake up at 3am to drink milk , hoping to ease the heartburn/gastric juice.

water bag burst in office -- oh yeah fiona, i keep wondering also if i need to keep a spare set of bottoms in the office if water bag bursts? coz they say, sometimes a lot of liquid, sometimes hardly noticeable? stress leh. so should sit on a towel at all times?

fiona
tummy binder - wow sleep thru the night after 3 months? that's great! i cannot imagine how the tummy binder looks like for babies leh. i keep imagining the malay lady jamu kind hehe. i bought a bean pillow from cheeky bon bon. supposed to give the same effect

hospital bag - so far i took out the bag liao haha. that counts as step 1! and i also washed the nursing gown i wanna bring! it's an ugly thing like a big t-shirt with bears all over, button down. cos i think the nice sleeveless cute ones my hubby bought from me from mothercare will not give too much coverage. in terms of warmth la, not decency

dustee
oh no your legs are so swollen? got raise them when you sleep or not? and at office? but don't do acrobatic stunts like do1nk ah! hehe. can use yellow pages. oh ya, another exercise that's good!

stand on one foot on ground, one foot on phone book (or two). it will relief pressure off the back. then repeat for the other foot

waterbag burst in office - got a funny story. i don't really know what my friend's job is but her water bag burst when she was on her way to meet a client. she called her husband and said "I CLOSE ONE MORE DEAL FIRST!!!! I MEET YOU AT THE HOSPITAL!!!" then still met up with the client, closed the deal, then went to pop hehe.

i already gave my colleagues my husband's phone number to call just in case.

heartburn - heard vanilla ice cream helps. no harm trying!

hey mummies

i'm VERY hot now! like after drinking hot drink or if you are wearing a material that traps heat kind of hot!!! oh no it's the hormones acting again!!!!!

dustee,
newborns that poo average 8-10x a day is usually on full BM or EBM one. Those on formula will poo slightly lesser

Fiona,
For my #1 i only use desitin when her butts getting a little red. Cos I heard that desitin is stronger so usually i use the Mustela Vitamin Barrier cream, i really like tat one

lbt,
2.1kg at 31wks!! Woah! My #2's head turn liowz...but gynae say still early lah...cos usually bb will only be in "fixed" postion around 34wks

Catherine,
ya...hospital usually give 1 pack of pampers newborn one. But when ur bb pops they also open this pack of pampers to use. Usually got leftover to bring home one, so no need to bring extras

dor dor,
people also comment that my tummy very small.
at first i was worried,
but hor, since gynae say baby is about 1.7kg inside in week 30. i don't really care about how big my tummy is le.
baby is just making full use of all the space inside.
big tummy doesn't mean baby is big but rather it means your skin got to stretch more. tends to get stretchmarks easily ba.

pinkbunny
i loved the way you react back. i guess i will just ignore her and get angry about it. which is so stupid. haiz.

waterbag burst in office.
all my male colleagues are so afraid that my waterbag burst in the office. they ask me to go on leave one month ahead. although they are married but none have kids. heehee. if i were to really have my waterbag burst in the office, i think i will scare the hell out of them.
there is nothing i can do beside staying at home and rot.

PB,

we are having a heat generator inside tummy.... doesn't help that weather now is hotter than usual..... Sometimes, I get so warm, I perspire even in air-con room!!! Can imagine how confinement will be like......

RE: DESITIN CREAMY....
I like desitin creamy too!!! my #1 using desitin creamy since birth..... no nappy rash at all.

qing,

wah, your baby very "compact" leh..... 30 weeks 1.7kg is very good weight. Ya, don't worry about tummy size. Tummy size no relation to baby's weight.

My little one 30 weeks only 1.5kg. But my tummy so big, my colleagues all commented I looked like I'm going to deliver any time..... Someone even asked if I have twins!!!! so pai sey!!!!

Think #2 now, so tummy big so fast.... my #1 tummy never so big leh. Plus, some people say girl tummy will be bigger.

dustee,
i also drink milk at wee hrs to ease the burn...hehe *slurp*

it may be a good idea to sit on towel since my office chair is those typical cushion material...

PB,
your friend steady leh...hahaha

you can find the abdominal binder at any baby's store like kiddy palace, kids' mall. it's just a cloth with velcro at the end. but last time i just use the cloth diaper(bought but nvr use as diaper) fold it a few times and just wrap it around baby's tummy, only thing is it keeps lossening up when she moves.

Qing,
tell your male colleagues dun be silly lah, waterbag burst only mah not as if baby popped out :p just standby extra stuff to clean up oursleves after that will do, but of course we leave the floor alone, ask them to get the cleaner to do it..hehe

hehe ya lor my friend very steady.

aiyah today poppy did like window cleaning movements inside me so i asked my colleague if she wanted to feel. then by the time she put her hand on my tummy, show time over liao. so paisay, my girl sabo me haha

i cannot imagine my water bag bursting in the office then me trying to walk fast to the toilet, leaking all the way....

diapers bag
has any mummies bought nice diapers bag ? can recom
i have seen one at mothercare but waiting for GSS got further discount or not....

PB
yeah i know it sounds unfair that i stil contribute to the same amt but i also understand that if i suddenly cut my contribution my hb feels more stressed as the sole breadwinner. anyway i will prob try it out for a while then tell him to adjust as we go along. some things dun wan to haggle too much first. must always wait for the right time to do it.

re diapers
personally i go for pampers premium for newborn. better quality and more absorbent. then after one month i intend to switch to nepia S. my boy only wore newborn size for a month. really depends on how fast your bb grow.

PB
dun buy too many pampers! u never know how fast they grow and sometimes what suits one bb may not suit others. like my neighbour likes huggies but my boy very sensitive to huggies. yet he can use the cheaper brand pet pet very well.

re sahm
why wd being sahm with a maid defeats the purpose of being sahm? being sahm means getting to spend more time with the kids right? if given the choice of cos i still wan to keep my maid. cos then i really have more time with the kids. but if no choice, i wd give up maid so that i can stay at home

dor dor
yeah i dun wan to miss #2 special moments. actualyl for #1 i din really miss much. somehow he is still very close to me despite my maid taking care of him full time. when i m at home, the maid cannot touch him one. very tiring but makes me feel special..haha the possesive mother..

as for contributing, i contribute quite a fair bit now so i can't cut back at one shot also. so now when i buy something i also thikn twice cos i shd save more now instead. i m making hb give me a nominal allowance now as well..hee get him used to the idea of giving me some allowance first.

lbt
wow your bb is pretty big!! good size....did gynae estimate how big is bb at birth?

serene
actualyl i dun find diaper bag that useful. i got an allerhand one but it's pretty heavy. i think a normal bag works as well as long as u know how to pack it. my personal view lah. no need to really spend on one...

do1nk,
Ya i bought the tummy binder from isetan. My mom say it's good to protect the cord before it drops.

Re: diapers
So for new born mostly you mummies buy pampers newborn ? The mamy poko Garfield mention sounds quite good lei.. Now I confused on which one to buy.. haha

do1nk
My gynea says bb will turn by herself in the next few weeks but if I want to make sure she does turn I can do that exercise lor. I was nearly 29wk last checkup.

Sonic.
Hehe think I say too 'high' up liao keke
But I am on my knees whe I do it think with our tummy hard to lift too high lah.....haha

Serene
If u wanna invest in a diaper bag hor i would recommand u to get those that are very light. Cos u would need to bring quite alot of stuff out with bb so lighter bags are better cos gotta carry bb as well.

baby monitor
I've got my son as that liao.....hahaha
Now he's already my PA...hehe. I can sit on the bed ask him to bring me water or pass me the papers, remote etc. So pass training liao next time can ask him to go peep at bb when she's sleeping...haha

Re.SAHM
I think with or without helper depends on individual bah. For me to save cost I will be handling my kids alone. No part time helper as well cos we dun really need it.
Some ppl will prefer to have helper so they can totally focus on bb alone.

catherine
i find mamy poko quite thick. pampers softer and not so thick.

dor dor,
hee yeah man, now i also make my son do things for me. like pick things up, put things back etc..haha...

good morning all hot mamas!

hey according to the sales and promo thread, tangs also got sale!!! but i never receive any mailers from them leh.

dor dor
what brand baby monitor you buy? hehe i keep thinking about the video of him being walked by your doggie. so cute la!

morning ladies

Qing,
Aiyo...if my tummy looks small and bb is of gd weight i will be happy....*lol*
mine is only 1.65kg at 31wk+.
But gynae said its of average weight so no worries...heez...me hoping come out as long as got 3kg to 3.3kg i am happie enuff.

Re : Diaper bag
For diapers bag I bought the Crumpler messenger bag as my diaper bag for now...very heavy duty and can put many things...*lol*

Re : Baby Monitor
I am thinking of getting one also cos will be moving my #1 out to her own room, might put #2 together with #1 in the same room too so might need one. But thinking Philip warehse sales usually in Aug rite? Wondering the bb monitor got sale anot...hehe

morning all..

updates on my little minnie.. =) she's still petite compared to e bb here.. weighing in at 1.34kg at wk30.. this mummy put on 3kg though! faint.. din expect it as i've not been eating much PLUS i've been having LS quite often..

Diaper Bag
I have tot of getting allerhand havesack as a diaper bag but it seem like quite small anyway my cousin getting me a diaper bag as a present still thinking which bag is better ???

PB
Tangs sales is fm 13 may to 15 may

Isetan Sales
Any mummies going for the sales ?

caitlyn
no worries, you're so small so got plenty of space to put on weight ok? don't worry

serene
oh thanks for tangs sale update! think i'll go and see tonight
but their baby section not so big leh. isetan, i think will go tomorrow before yoga! hehe.

hospital bag
hey mummies last night i was really studying the list and i wrote down alot of specifics. like instead of just 'toileteries', i wrote exactly what i needed, what brand, what colour the tube etc. just in case my hubby needs to pack for me hehe. cos some things cannot pack until need to go mah, like toileteries

re stomach sensations
sometimes this girl is like trying to stretch my stomach sideways. very funny. but last night i had a sort of cramp, like when you get stitches from running? anyone kena before? quite scary leh. i woke falling asleep hubby and said 'eh if labour now how?' and he told poppy 'not yet ok? papa very sleepy now'. alamak!

celeste
how come u aiming for such a big bb? i hope my gal won't be pass 3kg...

re bb monitor
i have one but it's such a white elephant! cos in the end i shifted my boy to my room.

caitlyn
our gals are probably one of the smaller ones in this forum..

serene
i feel like going for the sale but no time.... u going?

there's this endo thermal magic cooker. does anyone know whether it can cook soup without using gas? works like the tiger jar to cook porridge?

Hi Sy,
is it the one that after you boil the soup for awhile then you put in the external pot to let it cook by itself w/o electricity that one ? I have one but it's thermos brand I think. Can book soup/porridge also ..

serene,
isetan private sale for members if from 8.30-10.30am. After that it's open to public, just that members will get more disc.

serene
i have the card but then no time to go!!

catherine
yeah i was thinking of geting those. so u boil the soup for a while then put into the pot? like double boil? thermos brand..how much is it?

Hi SY,
Ya can boil soup. Usually you put all the ingredients in the inner pot then boil for an hour afterwhich you transfer to the outter pot and leave it until evening come back from work, then you just boil for another 30mins or to heat up depending on how "thick" taste you like the soup. I can't remember how much it cost already cos we bought it many years ago. We chose Thermos cos it's made in Japan. Taka got disc, I think the biggest pot usual price $409 now selling $309. I am sure during GSS or the isetan sale will have disc. Quite common disc item.

SY,
3-3.3kg bb is not big at all
My ger was born 3.36kg I think its a gd size. Somemore easy to handle too. Too small ermmzz, i feel that looks a bit fragile? A bit scary...ahahaha. So I prefer bb around 3-3.3kg if possible

Re : Hospital bag
I havent packed anything and I tink i shld be 32wk+ now liowz *lol*. Somemore havent even bought my maternity pads. The other day saw at NTUC aiyoh the Kotex 10pc pack adhesive one costs bout $6! So exp? I remember the Pureen Madame maternity one is bout half the price for 10pc pack.

celeste
1.65kg at 31 week ok what.

diaper bag
is crumpler heavy?
i bought a diaper bag from lesportsac, cost us a bomd loh. but it is really light weight and comes with a lot of compartment plus a diaper changing mat.

sales
went to tangs sales yesterday at vivo.
but like nothing much to buy lehz.

hospital bag
PB - good idea on getting really detail on the checklist.

aircon
yesterday, my air con is DOWN.
oh my.
i have the worse night of my life.
even with 2 fan, one front one back, also cannot sleep. super duper hot loh.

hey can use normal night pads instead of maternity ones or not ah? what's the difference? besides the price!

hey qing, don't forget to give me your add hor.

re hospital bag- ya i know he sure will blur one if i don't specify! hehe.

i'm also a Jul08 MTB, haven been posting for a long time as very swamped by work. Just to check, when are we required to do the Strep-B test?

PB
sorry for the delay in payment, will post you the transaction details and add this afternoon.

pads
yesterday went for antenatal class. nurse say don really have to use maternity pads. normal pad also can but will have to be changed more frequently loh. as the flow is heavier, you will have to change often to avoid overflow.

i am planning on getting one packs of maternity pads. (just to try try). and the super long sofy one.

sept03 bride,
u reminded me about the strep b test. think we suppose to do it nearer to 30wks.. think my gynae and myself both forgotten last round i went. got to remind him next visit..
actually my gynae told me that even if I dun do the test, he will still give me antibiotic since i have history on that... better be safe than sorry... dun forget to check with your gynae

hi ladies..
havent been posting for the past few days..
and its alot to read..
will read it when I m free..

cos have been going for scan to ensure my gers r ok..
cos scan show reduce of amniotic fluid and may need to deliver them early..
went for a scan on mon but also the same..
today for another scan..
hope after the few days of rest should be better..
and lucky gynea say so far my gers no danger..
hope can tahan till 36 weeks..

think I must start packing my hospital bag liao..
so far only put the my clothes in only..

jaslyn,
yeah, better be prepared now, think it's anytime now for you to poop liao... dun worry, relax and wait for the magic moment to come..

re pads,

yup I will also buy the super long as more comfortable ... not scare of leakage. I will alt bet the mat pad n this. then when flow not so heavy, i use the normal long ones.

or else wasted... cos for my case, got few times my pad dun have b* at all... then i thot i no more. then nxt day come back again. gynae say it common. so dun wanna waste on ex pads... hahaha

but it good for the first few days.

Celeste, garfield,
My son was 3.3kg too. Doc said he was too big for my pelvis, that's why it took such a long time, but you are right, this size is easier to handle, not so fragile-seeming.
And I also used newborn diapers for about a month only. We switched to S size quite early. I'm hoping though that #2 won't be much bigger!

Catherine,
What exactly is the pot called? It sounds like a god idea, to be able to leave soup to cook on its own
Can only cook soup in it? Or other things? Like stew?

SY
yes, the endo thermal magic cooker can cook soup without gas.. i got one but a difference model. to make it 'cook soup', you have to have your soup boiled before transfering to the thermal cooker.. the thermal cooker will continue to upkeep the heat and sort of 'cook' the soup further...

tiger jar also can cook porridge? are you referring to the 0.7L Tiger thermal S/S food jar appearing on the Isetan private sales coupon? it's selling at $50 (with a 0.5L thermal bottle)

Pads
Hmm I never used maternity pads, just used the longer night pads from Sofy. They were enough for me.

Sept03 bride
I think I am doing the strep B swab at my next gynae visit, at 33 weeks.

Sonic,
Yah, mine was also the glucose test. Had to take blood and urine three times right? Guess different docs and different hospitals have procedures lor

Aiyoh hard to type properly when ds1 is using my legs as a slope to climb up and down! :p

Typos in prev posts - sorry!:

Catherine,
What exactly is the pot called? It sounds like a GOOD idea, to be able to leave soup to cook on its own Can only cook soup in it? Or other things? Like stew?

Sonic,
Yah, mine was also the glucose test. Had to take blood and urine three times right? Guess different docs and different hospitals have DIFFERENT procedures lor

youpi
mine only take blood but no urine sample collected leh.. you are right, different hopistal different style..
anyway, the most important thing is we pass the test... hehe..

Qing
lesportsac diaper bag is quite ex right my hubby against me buying it i find it quite nice but soon bb grown up need such a big bag anymore....

PB
u welcome in fact my hubby is a member of tang n robinson so always rec mailer on the sales dates.

Celeste
ur crupmler bag which size did u get n how much is it ?

Maternity Pads
in fact i only get 1 pkt of maternity pads than the rest i get normal one but(night use abt 32cm whisper brand) think should be long enough ....

Hospital bag
do we need to put our marraige cert into the bag or not ?

Going to isetan sale tomorrow ...

Allerhand diaper bag is good. Looks small but it can put a lot of things. That's why I like it ... compact.

Better start packing my hospital bag now , although is #2 ... I doubt hubby will know what I need.

PB
i use normal pads. dun like those maternity ones...

catherine
ok i will go check out the pots. u din consider tiger?

celeste
my boy born 2.8kg and i already had a hard time pushing..so cannot have too big for me...

sonic
think i also need to ask gynae abt the strep B test. haven done any blood test etc this round

so u got the endo one? good or not?

the tiger jar that i have is different from the one featured in isetan sales. my fren went to check it out. the one i have can cook porridge. just boil a bit first then pour inside.

re hosp bag
hee, i also haven pack yet. really lazy this time!