(2008/07) July 2008

Catherine

I also heard of the maids wanting to go HK. But they will not be able to settle into HK as easily mainly also because of language prob. But some maids pick up foreign lang quite fast so maybe not a prob.

fiona, star,
oh really? wearing support stockings can prevent varicose veins arh. But will it helps to reduce/get rid of them since I've already got them.

dor dor
how come you got those veins when you are still young at primary? you naughty in school, that's why teacher made you stand izzit? hehe...

hmn.. I think I really stand too long hour, that's why I got it. maybe I really got to be thick skin abit to ask for seat in the train, rather than stand all the way home lor... but how should I ask leh, 'sorry sir/mdm, I desperately need the seat cos I can't stand...will you...? ' think others will think I'm siao!

on maids
hmnn.. think I also want to change my maid soon. she seems like 'bo sim' to work for me leh, everytime she doing something, she looks blank as if her mind is not there... But when we family members chit-chating, she will be looking at us trying to know what are we talking about, even though she's in the midst of doing something. Quite scary lor, imagine if she is handling my boyo, how can she split attention right?

another thing that making me to send her back to agent is that she has body odour and bad breathe. I asked her to bathe 3-4 times a day and brush teeth after eating. Still, condition doesn't improve. Was told this is very common in maids, but somehow I don't feel comfortable lor, especially when I see her carrying my boy... How if she has to carry my newborn baby, then my baby might gets used to her smells??

Oh yes, she has a sister working in HK, she told me that her sis earns double of her current pay in Sing. Guess I think she would be very much wanted to go HK too. But I was told that maid must have at least 2 yrs of experience in sing before going to HK right?

My hubby warns me, what if we get a replacement that is worse than the current one... true lah, I'm taking the risk now.. anyway, wish me luck to get a better maid.

dor dor
got such thing call anti-contraction pills?

SY
thanks for the info on mobile livecam, I didn't know that they have this service! It sounds very convenient.

Btw, I've just browsed thru quickly on this service provided by singtel online and have some questions.. It seems that we could only dial in to check via phone but not via pc (I'm thinking to view from pc in office too), right?

And they come with a 512MB memory card for video recording, how long is the recording for that memory available?

actually yday had a bad incident in my gal childcare. while the teacher was attending to another child, my gal roamed outside the school bcos the main gate's lock was faulty. fortunately she was found standing on the pavement and not on the road. thank goodness she's alright and not affected bythe incident but mummy was tearing the whole nite while i looked at her...but i'm fine now.

celeste,
me same like you lor...think very cham for the maids to leave home to work in foreign land, but now i think they really dun deserve to be pitied, bcos they always think of funny ideas to eat us de... but i do have a good maid taking of my mum for 6 yrs liao, but no one's perfect lor...she worked for us so long, sometimes got faulty pipe leaking at home under the basin also keep quiet and won't inform...haiz. but she's alrdy very good liao lah.

catherine,
many of the maids main motive is to go HK, cnanda to work, treats SG as a transit point. but i read somewhere that HK got stricter rules and the employers'welfare are more protected bcos maids go to be more responsible for their action. maybe that's why my neighbour's maid worked in HK before still prefers to come back SG to work.

PB,
hope you get well soon.

re: placenta
some ppl do bring their placenta home but someone got to do the washing for you, sun it dry and then grind into powder form for consumption. i myself find it too gross...but i heard it's very nutritious

Fiona

I glad ur gal is ok !! you shld complain to the school !!!!

dor dor

are u taking Sabutomol ? I had that during my 1st preg cos I had very freq Braxton Hicks contractions starting from week 30.

sonic,
you can also purchase creams in pharmacy to apply to the area affected by varicose veins, but must ask whether it's suitable for preggy ladies. in the meantime, try to raise your legs higher whenever possible.

lbt,
the school staff was very apologetic abt the incident, and i do in turn appreciate them for coming clean with me abt the whole incident. and i believe through this incident they'll be even more careful when handling my gal in future. the extra assistant has arrived in the school today and they are repairing the lock while a padlock is in place now. and the teacher calls me to update me on my gal's progress, so far she's alright and taking her nap now...

hi mummies!! how have u all been?? I've been so tired from all the housemoving, so glad it's all done (almost..got a couple more stuffs to buy but will leave dat to the hubby.. I gotto resume buying baby stuffs now!)

took a long time reading thru the many pages I missed out on..hope you all are doing fine...

BABY POSITION: my little one has been lying sideways since the past two visits..hope he will turn in time when he's due.. coz wanna opt for natural birth if possible..

PRENATAL CLASS: went for my very first class with Mrs Wong Boh Boi (Cin_bunny...didn't know you were taking the same class too!
) lots of info, can't remember the bulk of the exercises and stuffs she mentioned..I make a terrible student man!

HOLIDAYS: fat hopes for me..sigh.. hubby going to London for work soon..what should I get him to buy for me huh? hehe...

DIAPER BAG: have you gotten yours? I've not found one I like yet..

PREPARATIONS: I feel so unprepared..have not bought lots and I just studied the breast pump my sis passed to me..so cheem hope I'll know how to use it.. in a dilemma on when to wash bb clothes, prepare things for bb's arrival, pack hospital bag.. coz now onli 6.5mths but we never know when BB wanna come out right?

ACTIVITIES INDUCING LABOUR: think I better slow down on my walking pace too..keep getting scolding for forgetting dat I'm preggie and I definitely dun want my little baby to come out now! The other thing they mentioned is how our rubbing of our tummies may also cause baby to think it's time to come out soon..and I do dat a lot! yikes!

i thought i will share my maid's experience also. I've got a myanmese maid and i am very happy with her. she is a christian and a minority (kayins) and they are a prosecuted bunch there cos the majority is buddhist and burmese. so to be able to be selected and get out to work is already a privilege. so i think she really treasure that.

she has a very cheery disposition and sings and talks to my ger whole day. think if i am at home whole day, i won't be able to do that. in fact, she is so happy that she sings when cooking and doing laundry that when i am in a bad mood, i really feel like going to ask her to stop but of cos i can't lah. hahaha!

then she picks up cooking really fast and does very nice homecooked chinese food now.

once i dropped my diamond ring without knowing and she picked it up and quickly returned to my mil. When we ask her to go downstairs to buy groceries, she will use her own money to buy soya bean drink or curry puff for us to eat. when she gets her off day and goes to get myanmese foodstuff, she will cook those for us to eat as well.

only thing about her is that she tends to be careless and forgetful but given her initiative and being hardworking, i can easily overlook that.

now my only fears are that she may wanna go back when her contract ends in feb next year. she has send back all her money to her family so that they can buy a rubber plantation.

all my mummy kakis really liked her too! and will not hesitate to pass their bbs over to her to take care when we have our mummy gatherings so i guessed i have been really lucky. but then again, we prayed like siao when selecting and she told us she prayed like siao also when in myanmar to get a good family! hehe!

lbt
aiyoo.. me too have very frequent braxton hicks leh, but my gynae didn't say anything leh, not to mention the anti-contraction pill.

fiona
thanks, will find out from guardian when I pass by one. cannot purposely make a trip to go shopping now, can't afford to have more veins. Sigh.
Ya, I've been 'kiao kar' in office, with a big box under my desk. Just don't understand why the veins still attack me.

SY
how much did u pay for the webcam fm singtel? Coz i intend to install 1 at home please advise

PB
Take care yeah ....drink more water

Catherine
Welcome ....me stay simei SY stay pasir ris so next time 3 of us can meet up ard tampinese for our kids to play hehehe...

Baby movement
Is it true that bb tend to move n keep a lot during the 28wk to 32wk ? recently my bb tend to move a lot only ytd i dun feel any movement at all till this morning only a few kick

sonic

if it's very very freq, i tot it is a concern.

Serene

bb shld move at least 10 times a day. A cluster of movements is consider 1 movement. The 2nd movement shld be at least say minutes later.

if u think bb movements have slowed down tremendously, pls see ur gynae asap.

Re : Maids
*sigh*...i tink it all boils down to luck when taking maids...if heng 1st maid that u take is already a gd one...of cos we cannot have very high expectations also but cannot be too lenient...otherwise later when u need them to do a bit more stuffs they will grumble

This new maid of mine came from HK, UE and then to my house.
In HK, she got rejected after 3 months. In UE, beocz employee divorce so she have to go after 9 months.
So she a bit jinx, hor?
I m not fussy ... but for this maid, I told her up front no handphone exchange between friends. Family overseas is fine. I m also ok with my maid to tok to other maid but MAN, no..no.
So far, I monitor my new maid on the cam she "looks" ok. But I know she is homesick.

My former maid has a change of attitude after she start to sms/talk on her mobile with her friends. Everyday, just want to sms and tok to her friends.

Ibt
In fact just visited my gyane last fri leh she told me my bb is gd n healthy my next visit to gyane is on 23 may.
Is it to say that if i can feel her kicking is fine? i will tend to shake my tummy n ask her to kick than she will slowly give me a few kick i'm so worried. My gyane clinic is closed today leh

hi guys...

man, being sick and being pregnant sure is no joke
got the whole package - buy one get 10 free. what started off as an innocent sore throat has fully exploded into cough+fever+runny nose... it's only the sore throat that is better haha.

hubby went to pick up my 2nd MC for tomorrow. cannot go to work la. i will sneeze spray the whole office.

hubby was so nice, told poppy today - be nice to your mama ok? she's not feeling well. i told poppy please don't come out now cos i got no strength to push!

fiona
glad to know that your girl is ok. and good that the school was honest with you and have stepped up their efforts

serene
i think it's ok to feel them kick la! they need to kick us X times a day at this point in time.

pinkbunny,

ya you take home the placenta, was and cut out all the veins on it until it becomes smooth. Then you use coke to clean it. Like how you would clean the pigs stomache. Then some people would put in oven or sun to dry it then pound it to powder. Then they either add the powder into coffee/tea/soup or capsule it and eat it. I heard some more traditional ones even just cut the cleaned placenta and cook with veg, etc. Someone in my breastfeeding workshop say she came across a pasta placenta recipe.

Serene,SY : sure we can meet up since all along the east line.

For those who might be interested to know ...

I got myself new medela freestyle for USD$290 and vPOST shipping cost $83(Chargeable Weight: 7.6kg) .

So the total is about SGD$490. Very excited to recieve it in 1 weeks time.

Will review here if anyone wants to know.

http://www.medelafreestyle.com/

hi blurmummy,
I'm new on the thread too
My original EDD is 15 aug but my c-sec date is 28 july. 1st baby too. And it's confirmed a girl

my gal gained weight! now abt 1.5kg at 31 weeks. still on the smaller side but i think not too bad...

sonic
i never tried the recording before but i tot using phone to view is more convenient cos i can do it anywhere and anytime. only thing is my phone charges a bit high.

i think u shd go ahead and change the maid esp if she has bad breathe and body odour. last time i always keep refusing to change maid cos i scared i get a worse one but hb always tell me to just try. and i realise if i keep thinking like that i m forever bounded by my previous maid.

lbt
depends on how fast the maid picks up but if your mum can help, then no need taht many days. but u may need to monitor more on weekends cos some things can't tell straight away

serene
think got 2 different package. u can buy the livecam at one shot or pay per month. per month i think i pay abt 21 bucks. 8 for the line and 13 for the cam.

u need to let gynae know if bb din move a lot suddenly. but i noticed that when i m sick, bb tends to move less.

PB
me too...cough, flu and today woke up losing my sense of taste. so sad cos hb bought durian puffs from goodwood last night....

hope u get well soon!!

re bb's position
my gal very acrobatic. her head is on the left, body in the centre, butt on the right and legs on the left! i hope her head will turn in the next 3 weeks.....dun wan her to turn too early also.

gynae said i prob will give birth abt 10 days earlier.....so shd be ard 1 or 2 Jul..so fast!

morning ladies

Catherine,
eat the placenta....i dont tink i ever dare to eat it! *pengz* I see it only i tink its scary...*lol*

blurmommy,
hihi...welcome

SY,
tomolos is my turn to see gynae...hehe..donno how much my bb gained
But I realise a bit farnie...for #2 like not so excited when seeing gynae..last time #1 always very excited wanna see *lol*.

Good morning mummies and mtbs and welcome, new mtbs

PB,
Hope you're feeling better today. Take care, get lots of rest and water hor

Fiona,
Very scary to read about what happened to your little girl. But thank goodness the school was responsible enough to let you know. And thank goodness your little girl is okay. I know what you mean about tearing while looking at her sleeping. One night I thought about going back to work and not seeing ds1 for the whole day, and teared up already!

Celeste,
I'm seeing my gynae tomorrow too. I think bb has gained a lot over the last month, 'cos suddenly I am starting to feel a bit of weight!

Bb's position
He's starting to do more gymnastics now. He's also turned, and turned back again. I have felt kicks that go up to my ribs, and kicks that go down to my pelvis. And sometimes I think he's stepping on my bladder!

SY
thanks, i've got my hubby to check out the details for me. must made him do the works. yeah, agree that phone bill will be higher since you need to call in on and off... but luckily no extra cost for 3G video calls, just the local airtime charge applied.

serene
if you want to know more, can click below link
mobile liveCAM
http://home.singtel.com/consumer/products/mobile/value_added_services/mobile_livecam_overview.asp

liveCAM
http://home.singtel.com/consumer/products/telephony_n_paging/value_added_services/livecam_overview.asp

the different betwn the two is liveCAM can be viewed by phone or pc.

SY
on the maid, yes think i shd go ahead to change the maid, since she also no heart to work for me already. if i don't change now, i will never know whether the next one will be better or worse one. maybe a better one leh.

oh yeah, congrats on bb gaining so much weight. that's good news. what have you eaten to have such good result? durian? hehe...
1.5kg at 31wk think is average weight right? mine only 1kg at 28wk, so i hope she will grow more when i'm going down for gynae visit at 32wks.

PB
yes it's no joke to get sick when you are preggie. i've just recovered from flu that attacked me since last week, but i didn't get to rest as busy at work. my boy also got affected, that's so terrible, imagine a sick pregnant mummy has to take care of a sick toddler. but thank God my boy and I have recovered now. phew! so tiring.

so many mummies sick arh.. must be the bad weather... take care ya.

i've just got 2 days mc due to my swollen varicose veins... must really have a good rest.

sonic
what i did was to upgrade my mobile phone plan so now the bills are more in control. prevously i have bills that run up to 70-80 a month. now within 45 a month still more manageable.

i really like the mobile live cam cos i can view on my way home from work as well. i usually view to see whether he is taking nap and eating ok etc.

i din eat anything special. just ate more recently.

according to Dr Han, 1kg at 28 weeks is average weight. 1.5kg at 31 weeks still on the smaller side. i think ave shd be abt 1.6 or 1.7kg? but i m happy already liao cos i also dun wan her to be too big. if she can be abt 2.5kg at birth, i think good enough cos i hope for a faster labor!

sonic
hee, my whole family sick. imagine a sick toddler plus a sick hb....and myself too! sigh....think my flu and cough getting worse. dunno why.

i have this terrible pain at the bottom and it is not getting any better. when i ask gynae, he told me not to stay in anyone position for too long. but so painful. it is esp painful when i sleep or try to sit on the floor or even opening my legs to walk a bit wider....think it's due to bb's position but dunno how to make it better. feels like a constant muscle pull.

morning mummies

thanks ... fever is gone but still feeling quite lousy. but much better liao. lucky hubby managed to get MC extention for me. been sleeping almost throughout from 10am yesterday, waking up only to pee and cough and eat. no appetite also
hubby very sweet, bought me the coconut jelly thing but don't know if i should eat... maybe too cooling, make me cough more???

everytime i sit on the throne and cough, feel my pelvic area tighten. very scary. don't want baby to plop into the bowl ler!

SY
funny that your baby is considered small at 1.5kg at 31 weeks but my gynae said mine is big. same weight. but maybe cos he measured her bones too and he based it on that. her foot is 5cm. so cute

pain in bottom = backside area? i get on my left butt cheek. i think it's due to the pelvic area opening up. when i turn in bed sometimes it sends a sharp pain too

last night whenever i slept on my right side, she kicked so furiously on the extreme right! think i was squashing her hehe

breast pump
do we need to bring it to hospital when we give birth?

to all sickie mummies
do take care! let's aim to get 100% well by the time we pop! my MIL says when closer to delivery date, coughing may induce labour. kempete!!!

PB

not advisable to take coconut so freq at this stage. consider TOO cooling u know. shld take at later stage.

PB
my pain is not at the butt. a bit hard to describe. u know when u open your legs, just at the side of the V area.

hmm, i dunno leh, he said smaller than average...hee, anyway, i quite happy liao

mine kicks on the left

hee, no lah, coughing doesn't induce labor. i was sick for my first one.....

Ibt
today bb move while i was sleeping this morning keep kicking me than when i wake up she stop her kick.

SY
durian puff fm goodwood park i love the puff over there but quite x leh if u love durian probably u can try jane cake station cake at jalan kayu that one is also nice.

Snoring
is it true that we pregnant woman tend to snore while sleeping? coz hubby complain i being snoring since i pregnant ...can someone help me with the snoring problem coz i have disturb my hubby fm his sleep

youpi,
Hehe...my bb also getting very active nowadays...easily can clock 20-30 movements a day *lol*
Hopefull he is putting on weight well too...will know tomolos.

Re : Web Cams on Maid
Actually its better to install those cam that is connected to computer and internet. Because this way the video is written to your harddisk and also you can have up to 4 cameras. I feel that 1 camera is actually not enuff at all cos at most you can only capture the living room area? They can do anything behind ur back at dining or kitchen area watsoever. Somemore you can view via internet also
Somemore dont need to pay extra mobile phone bills or so. But of cos upfront costs is more than singtel's single webcam

serene
you got your own inbuilt alarm clock! hehe. ya i think some preggies snore more due to nasal passage blocked. try to sleep on your side then your mucus won't kena stuck and cause the snoring

SY
hmmm pelvic area i guess. cos it's opening up to prepare for baby? coughing - i think she said hers was serious bronchitis so her gynae was worried also. in the end my hubby stayed inside and was overdue for 2 weeks haha.

labbit
never, never take alot of coconut! sometimes only. like once a week-10 days. but now, with the coughing, i scared the coconut make it worse but feel so bad that he te di buy for me then i don't eat.

hehe if my hubby complain i will ask him to go sleep in the other room. the other day cos i was so hot i had to turn on aircon and fan then he was very cold. he said 'the other bed too small la'. but since i'm preggie i need the bigger bed so if you want, you move lor! hehe.

aiyah not your fault that you are snoring la
buy him earplugs? anyway now you snoring compared to next time baby crying, this is nothing!!

serene
my hb bought yesterday cos got discount at his office. but my taste buds today not very sensitive so a bit wasted

celeste
hee, i use the mobile live cam cos of convenience. i can't be at my PC all the time. anyway i dun need to monitor all the time. u feel worse monitoring all the time actually.

i have 2 cameras. one in living room and one in bb's room

PB
gynae said it's the weight pushing down. so causing the pain.

dun get too many cloth books. bb dun really use them for long...i have abt 4 of them nd he outgrew them really fast. board books last longer.

SY,
no lah...i dont monitor all the time lah
Usually in the beginning that time I monitor like twice in the morning and twice in the afternoon. I very kiasi one, go home liowz still spend bout 30mins - 1hr viewing thru the whole day's video fwd at times during the first few mths...cos I really cannot totally trust maids especially when the child is infant at that time...10mths they donno how to complain if they are not treated properly
Which is why I spent bout $500 on the 4 cams thingy (I used 3 cams, 1 at living, 1 at dining, 1 at kitchen) and the videos are written to the computer harddisk

You remember recently the youtube saga? I think the lady prob bought those videocam that can write to harddisk too, otherwise how to get to store the video image and then realise her infant is treated like this!

Btw u have 2 cams? so u pay double the price? Cos i remember those offered by telco is for 1 cam for the pricing?

PB,
My #1 not very interested in cloth books also...I tink i bought 2 only. So dont buy too many cloth books. I think those hardcover books are better. Like board books?

celeste
yup the pricing is per Cam. i used to have only 1 camera only but decided to get another one cos my previous maid was getting lazy. wanted to put one more facing kitchen but hb thinks no need. anyway, my boy not supposed to step into kitchen.

SY,
That time heng i got install cam in the kitchen thats y i saw my maid carrying my ger and cooking my ger's porridge over the stove *sigh*
sometimes i feel that we "dont see" mabbe its better hor? Contradicting....

morning ladies..

re video cam
my mum also spend $$ on these cameras cos she also dun trust maids and to mointor my youngest bro..
now with my gers coming along.. I see that the cameras r really gd..
the cameras are recording 24hrs.. and my mum can see from her office pc live..
so I dun know if I should put the camera in my room cos there most of the time bbs are sleeping.. but its like no privacy...
or should I get my maid to put bb in the living room during the day...