(2008/07) July 2008

Serene

I only pack when I reach 36 weeks.

i bring my own clothes to wear in hospital .. cos ppl will be visiting us mah ahaha very hiao hor ?

labbit
======

not sure cos the leave system says 56 days. but it's weekdays, not counting weekends. so guess + weekends will be more. thanks for the PD contact!

bag packing
======

i'm at 31 weeks now... guess better pack soon. don't trust hubby to pack for me. wait he pack all nonsense keke.

gynae said baby a bit big so we're quite scared that she will come early. he said that even if she come NOW, she will be ok. aiyoh. so scary.

my hubby was 2 weeks late, i was 2 weeks early so hope this little girl can get it right and come on time. i keep telling her 'i know you're excited to see us, we are also very excited to see you but you wait for another 6-8 weeks at least ok? it's for your own good ok?'

wearing own clothes - mine is nightgown leh. can right?

Re : Hospital Bag
I havent even bought the maternity pads yet *lol*. Think I will prob start packing when I am 35-36 weeks or so bah

celeste

i just bought 3 packs of MADAME maternity pads last week too ! 60 of them .. hmm cant rem enough or not ?

PB
if u dun want bb to come out early, minimise your physical activities like walking. so no shopping! eheh

garfield

ahhaahahah ! me too will bring .. v hiao lah but I dun want ppl to see a pale face since we will lose lotsa blood during delivery

oh btw i went to pharmacist liao. she gave me blackmores echinacea citrus throat lozenges to relief the throat. for cough she said take woods peppermint cure can liao.

lbt,
u bought so many!! No need lah...hospital usually give 1 pack of 10pcs or 20pcs i think. Then for #1 that time I bought 1 pack of 10pcs. Then after a few days can use those normal pads liowz
So planning to buy 1 pack of 10pcs only. But I tink only those hypermart sells them. Cos went KiddyPalace but they sell those 20pcs pack one.

PB,
ur nitegown is those sexy ones! Hehe...then u make sure u book 1-bedder ward hor..otherwise wait ur neighbour see u so farnie..*hiak hiak* :p

funny la you girls, bring make up all! garfield, fashion show ah? keke. speaking of make up, i'm a bit paranoid - i want to kiss my baby alot but is lipstick bad for their sensitive cheeks bo? i told my ah lao, you better shave your chin every day ah, don't wait scratch her little face

labbit
======

haha no la. all the sexy ones cannot fit liao. look like a dua bwee soh in them. anyway hor... very dangerous leh cos all the men there have been deprived for a long time hor? haha

now is sensible maternity/nursing nighties. ah lao bought for me for our anniversary present from mothercare. quite cute. like sleeveless kind that ends above knees with polka dots

NO SHOPPING? wakau! really? don't bluff me ah? serious? walking will induce labour????

speaking of labour. i remember some of you mentioned when you went into labour, you thought it was lao sai? biang, yesterday i LS then i thought shiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiit (excuse the pun), is it labour? so fast? keke. but lucky the little one still happily kicking inside me now

PB,
my company's and the extra month of government paid maternity leave is counted in calendar days leh, that means it include all weekends and public holiday...you better check again. So it's only a total of 84 days, which is less than 3 mths.

celeste,
me also no luck with maid, the current one is my 4th and i also feel i'll do better without one but my mil wants to keep her leh...now my gal in childcare somemore actually dun need one. Having a maid only gives me headache, always do funny things and my mil always fails to report what is necessary. like recently then tell me she actually saw the maid using my nail clipper to cut her nails in my room...wa liao now then tell me also no use, then the maid will take advantage thinking how come i never say anything...sian

garfield,
u brought makeup! *lol*
I still remember the morning after delivery the area around my mouth suddenly got such dark pigementation that my fren's hb asked her how come my mouth area so dark! Aiyo...when i tink of it...so sad...mabbe i shld bring foundation or concealer hor? *lol* :p

re: pads
this round i never buy any maternity pad bcos they always leak and make a mess. yday i went chinatown to stock up on laurier night use pads, 3 pks of 30cm, 3 pks of 34cm, and a pk of 27cm, which i used when i was back home last time, absorbed much better. this one no expiry date so buy more never mind la...hehe

Fiona,
agree with you laurier night pads are super absorbent.. i also didnt use maternity pads for #1. find that maternity pads very bulky.

lbt, yes i brought even though no frens come visit me cos it was cny! hahahaha

pb, when discharged, i went to mirror n do my makeup before picking up bb, my hb cannot tahan... hahahaha

hey we must look good too ok... or else come out of hospital like zombie...

Fiona,
actually ur ger in childcare u can consider having p/t maid instead rite? Unless ur MIL wants to keep the maid so that when #2 comes at least she got someone to help?

celeste
your maid sounds quite muddleheaded! terrible..like that i also won't leave my kid with her alone...

PB
yeah when u r discharged, the iwll give u the health booklet

serene
the hospital will provide us clothes. for KK one, quite easy to bf but i not so sure abt other hospitals. good to bring one set anyway

fiona
your mil so funny. she sees such things tell u for what..she shd tell the maid not to do it....

actualyl if your gal is in cc, then no need for one right...

re pads
i also dun like the maternity ones. i bought those sofy night use ones. must get the cotton ones so that they are more comfy for your wound.

garfield
======

you are super funny!!!! buey tahan you! i think i will have no mood to put on make up la! will be with messy hair and bak gia. keke.

pads
======

so either maternity ones or night ones should do la hor? any idea how long we will be dripping?

beef
======

been trying to eat beef on and off for poppy's development so i just had a small beef steak for lunch. and told her 'just take what you need ok? or else wait you join TAF club i dunno ah!' keke.

SY,
Actually my 1st maid is not really say muddle-headed, just that she does not have safety-awareness and quite stubborn. But later on she start to give me her attitude liowz thats y 6mths down the road i sent her back to agency *sigh*.

celeste

i dont know abt you but I had very very heavy flow for my #1 !! and I tot the mat pads are a life saviour !

i did switch to the normal pads until my flow is not that heavy.

PB
no need put lipstick .. at least some powder to hide the pale face ahaha .. eh with lipstick on, better dont kiss the bb ok !!

oh yes my gynae always ask me go shopping if I want earlier labour !! so this time round I am gonna be kuai kuai so bb can stay in me for as long as she wants !

oh PB

my mensus lasted for 5 weeks after delivery. IT depends on individual. once ur mensus stop, go to your gynae to do your paps smear.

pb,

mine laso last abt 4.5 wks...

in the middle stop, then come back again... i thot my stitches have burst! cos it bloody red the nxt day... so scary...

but when see gynae, he say already heal the wound.

i use mat pads till not so heavy i swtich to kotex. but sometimes the normal ones feel more comfy... the mat ones v hot... i find lar.

re: pads & menses
yup doesn't matter as long as you are comfortable, but i have to agree the laurier one super absorbent and duno issit bcos i move alot so my maternity pad always goes out of shape, me a heavy bleeder leh and it lasted ard 5-6 weeks for me too, but the later part is staining so just use smaller pads or pantyliner.

re: maid
i also feel that dun need the maid lor, intending to get a p/t one, was checking out amahs on wheels which hubby told me, the charges looks ok. but he also told me to keep the maid till my confinement is over so she can help with the washing. by then, just nice her loan amt which we paid upfront would be fully utilise bcos i think the agency won't refund us one.

garfield,
i "pei fu" you, can still doll yourself up. when i looked at my previous post delivery photos i wanted to faint, i looked like an enlarged slug lying on the bed bcos all the intravenous fluid given over 20 hrs caused fluid retention...so ugly

celeste,
you still can tahan until 6 mths, mine all stay 2-3 mths only and the current one worked for 3 mths+ which is the longest so far. my 3rd one was the worse, stole and climbed out of my house to meet a man who's also a foreign worker *faint*

SY,
mil did tell her off but i thot she should also notify me so i'll scold the maid, or else the maid thot she can get away with it bcos the employer never say anything mah...i also suspect she's been secretly using my stuff, so now i tell her to take all my laundry to wash and hang downstairs in the presence of my mil, dun want her to keep going into my room.

lbt,
very heavy flow! I think mine was heavy for like first 2-3 days. After that its more like those 2nd or 3rd day menses kind then can use normal pad overnite pads liowz.

Fiona,
I tot agency will refund watever is not used? That time mine refunded us for both cases. But hor insurance wise nothing was refunded even though my 2nd maid lasted like 10 days or so only. Hmmzz....I read somewhere in smo they say if the maid with u less than 1 mth insurance will refund u 70%? Think I must call up n ask

PB,
mine lasted for bout 3 weeks i think.

Fiona,
Recently u got read newspapers on the maid hooha thingy? They were toking about giving maids off days. Actually I dont mind them having off-days but from what I heard most of them turn "bad" after having off-days! Especially when they go out and then those bangala come and "friend" them...although there are still disciplined ones but they are quite rare!

celeste,
i thot thay won't refund, will only carry forward the remaining amt to offset the loan of the next maid if still going to employ. or they purposely told me that so that they won't earn lesser hor? now i really dun like nat**n maid agency, my neighbour got from same place and she changed 8 maids. or we are just unlucky lah...

celeste,
exactly! it's so silly that the employer has to bear the 5K bond if anything goes wrong with the maid, and yet govt is encouraging us to give a day off. not to mention having an off-day, no off my maid can also befriend this myanmar who keeps throwing in love letter to her. i read the letters wanted to vomit, both can't communicate well so whole letter is "i love u", " i miss u", "why you no come out"....blah blah

Fiona,
8 maids!!! *pengz* I got mine from Lo*al Employement at Katong Shopping Centre there for my 1st Indo maid. They quite gd...refunded us the outstanding amount 1 mth after we returned the maid. Then my 2nd one was from Myanmar one got it from the agency at the 2nd flr of Katong Shopping Centre, forgot the name liowz they also quite gd refunded us the amount right on the spot somemore!
Actually I think get maid hor, if possible try to get NEW maids and not those ex-Sin or wat...cos ex-Sin one sometimes they feel that they KNOW what to do liowz and refuse to follow by the way we do stuffs.

Fiona,
Ya....but the 5K bond is protected if we paid for the insurance rite? Which is I tink bout $100 or so and not transferable!! Imagine if the maid came and gives u problem, u change another maid need to pay the $ again *pengz*. I also read that if maid got pregnant also must pay 5K is it?

celeste,
sometimes i feel the not so branded agencies are better, the agency fee not so ex too.

yup the insurance will cover but for pregnancy it doesn't...so some ppl if found their maid preggy dun dare to report, quickly buy her a flight tic to send her back, employer lugi again...

most maids v scary... must really keep eye on them...

my sis changin maid soon too cos the maid got a bf now n xin bu zha yen... somemore now no off day cos still payin her agent fee... imagine go outside!

fiona, i brought makeup but never really intend to use cos not sure if i got mood to do after delivery. (tat is y i also insist my fren dun come see me!) but luckily mine was natural w/o epi so kind of heal v fast. so got the mood ;p

hope my second one is like tat too...

Fiona,
Thats y that time I still quite heng cos my agency refunded me the rest of the $. Cos I read of some agencies refusing to refund *pengz* or take donkey yrs and keep having to chase after the refund. The other day just read in newspaper that if change donno how many maids within 6 mths or wat need to go for education at MOM is it?

garfield,
amah on wheels not cheap also rite? I checked their webbie before I think is $280/mth for 5-rm flats and come once a week.

wah, u all talking abt maids ah....

share this with u:
last Sunday when i was at the carpark & prepare to go kkh to my ger, i saw a maid carried a chinese baby.. i pay attention to her cos the bb was so cute and chubby. then later i noticed there's a malay/indonesian guy standing beside her.. so obviously that's her bf.. biang~~! if i m the employer, i definitely will sack her. bring my bb to go downstairs to meet a guy?!

yeah buy the insurance very impt but now insurance also increase price.

i think govt really protect the maids. if they make giving day off complusory sure got a lot of problems.

my maid is ex Sin but still quite ok. i wd prefer ex Sin really. the one before this one wasn't ex Sin and so problematic. spoilt my curtains so fast...she dun even know how to pull curtains. can u believe that....

talking abt day off, last weekends newspaper said that a few of the non-profit org going to fight for 1 day off (per month basis?) for maids... jia lat~! i would not want to let my maid to hv day off.. once go out, gone case liao

jmon
that's why very impt to have neighbours to help u look out! hee, i have quite a few SAHM neighbours so if they ever see my maid downstairs, they will tell me. but so far, that has not happened.

jmon
me too. super agst off days. that's what happened to my previous maid. start to have funny ideas.

right from the start i told my agent to tell the maid no off day for a year and i get the right to review whether to let her have off day or not.

SY,
lucky me is stay with ILs. with them around, my maid cannot go out. phew...

but i was wondering, tat's a weekends and how come the parents not at home (unless they went out)....

the maid noticed i kept looking at them and few minutes later, both of them were gone... i pity the bb..

maids very scary indeed, can never understand what's in their head. my ex-sin maids both attitude problem big time, 2 new no exp maids all act very innocent but behind do funny stuffs...
my new chest of drawer for no reason can get scraps marks, wipe with cloth only the wood edges got worn off...so "xin tong"

amahs on wheels maybe more ex than those private ones, but i think they'll be more careful when handling your chores. i used a p/t lady before and she broke some of my things and chipped one of my bathroom tiles, and she kept quiet about it :p (intro by mil so i can't complain)

SY,
my neighbour also keeps a lookout, actually she thot it's her maid who's sneaking out but caught mine instead....hahaha.