(2008/07) July 2008

Mummies with toddlers,
Do you give your kiddos supplements? Like Vit C or DHA or a multivit? What do you give and why? Has it been effective in helping to prevent illness? A lot of mummies in this forum use Sambucol. Is that good? I am looking for something for ds1 so please share your expertise. Thank you!

Celeste

I can understand your pain. That's why I am delaying my gal in childcare until she is at least 3 yrs old.

youpi

yes I give my gal supplement which I put in her milk everyday. It is recommended by my PD.

I am using this now.

http://www.appeton.com/site-eng/products/kid/lysine_syrup.html

I am not sure if my gal's good healthy attribute to this supplement, but ever since she turned 1 , she seldom fell sick.

In fact we started her with this Appeton brand of supplement before she turns 1.

Maybe u can try it out and let me know.

youpi
i give DHA and multivit. i started fish oil since my boy is one. i feel it helps in reducing his incidence of cough and flu. since going to school he has not really caught anything from sch.

i give the nordic naturals chewables. let me know if u interested to try cos i stock up quite a lot when frens go to USA. cheaper to buy there.

youpi,
I bought a multi-vits syrup for my ger but havent given her yet. Maybe will start giving her.

lbt,
then who is taking care of ur #1 now?

lbt,
Oic....thats gd
Me after #2 comes out prob going to source arnd for nanny/bbsitter if i am still working *sigh*...cos i feel that if #1 at childcare, #2 at infantcare sure on and off i need to go on leave as very easy to catch viruses if the kids are there 11 hrs a day

celeste,
i am in the same situation as you, worked f/t and studied p/t and i stopped when preggy with 1st one, till now still hasn't find the chance to return to studying and preggy with 2nd one liao...think it's really very diffcult.

youpi,
i've started giving my gal a multivit syrup call enervon couple of months ago, bought from guardian pharmacy. i'm giving just as a supplement bcos i was planning for her to enter childcare which she just started attending last week.

Fiona,
Ya lor....what p/t u studying previously? I previously studying p/t acca....we only given 10 yrs must complete all otherwise the modules that we passed I think all taken as gone with the wind? *sigh* I only have like 5 yrs or so left! Siaoz....
I also donno how to juggle my time. Imagine every day reach home oledi like 6.30pm earliest, settle my #1 everything, then for childcare we need to wash their uniform, bottles, etc. When I can sit down n play with her its like 8.30pm earliest. Then when I am doing our own adult laundry days I can only prob sit down at 9pm or so
Really cannot find any other energy to study p/t.

hey mummies..

does any one of you have stretch marks???
i tell you i am so upset loh...
everynight and day without fail i apply moisturiser all over my body.
hand, leg, breast, tummy and neck.
the only place i miss out is my butt...

then few days ago, when i was staring at myself in the mirror. I WAS STRETCHMARKS on my butt.
on mind...
they are scary. they are all over my butt...

HOW???
heard that stretchmark will stay with you for life.

qing
i have stretchmarks from my first pregnancy. it's ok, u will get use to it after a while....mine quite bad but now i also close one eye liao

Qing

i dont have it for 1st preg and so far none for #2 (touch wood !).

I heard it will fade off but after a very long time.

celeste

wah u took ACCA ah .. very difficult I heard.

or u want to find a nanny who can take care of both ? if not u have to pick ur kids at 2 places hor ? very siong on u too ...

celeste,
i did Bach. in health sciences, but the no. of yrs i have to complete is 4 yrs only, so all my passed modules gone to waste alrdy, got to re-start all over again.

qing,
i've had stretchmarks on my butt since long time ago bcos i gain and lose weight very fast time. but pregnancy didn't give me new ones accept for some on my tummy the last round but somehow it faded away leh...previously i used clarins oil, this round i too lazy to use.

Qing,
I got some stretchmarks from my #1 also. But after sometime it will fade and its not really obvious unless u really scrutinise ur eyes to see it
so dont worry too much on it.

lbt,
I took until Lvl 2.3 only still got 9 more papers to go! I wonder how to finish it *lol*. *sigh* Ya...its not quite easy especially when I am from the IT background and not a/c background at all...*pengz*

My #1 I might be putting her at the childcare right beside my blk, so its quite convenient, but #2 I will have to make sure I find a gd nanny and somemore preferably 5mins walking distance from my hse...and yes..quite xiong and imagine the hsework also *sigh*

Fiona,
*sigh* sometimes felt like very wasted hor...but boh pianz

celeste

ic .. ok so within walking distance still not too bad. Is ur hubby helping out in chores ? why not get the part time maid to do the chores ?

i think I only want a maid during the 1st few yrs when my kids are young so I can spend more time with them. Hopefully i can bear to send the maid away when they are older. scared I cant start my engine to do hsework next time ! hhahaha

lbt,

for the exam we take, they did mention during the course ... No news is good news. Unless they sent us email to ask us to retake, if not consider passed.

Celeste,

For the coming exam, it is actually a certification (PMP). I took the course last year and suppose to take the exam within a year.
Last year, tot that this year would be good year to take exam ... who knows ... got myself preg and now have to train my new maid.
I dun think I could make it, but I can't postpone anymore. How to take a 4 hours exam sitting there with such a big tummy if I take it in Jun.

never mind ... fail just retake, lor. But must waste some $$ to pay for the re-examination.

hi mummies, was on leave today cos worked the weekend. shiok (the day off, not the work!). went for facial :D and did some shopping. robinsons got sale. the usual 15-20%. heard metro also got. anyone knows if the OG next to centrepoint got baby section or not?

hot mamas hot date #2!
18 may 2008 (sunday) OR 19 may 2008
2-5pm prob high tea in some hotel. any suggestions?

1. pinkbunny! – 18 May 08
2. Delphine - 19 May 08
3. Dor dor - 19 May
4. Youpi - both days ok
5. doggiebb - 19 May
6. dusty - both days ok
7. serene – 19 May 08

Shall we change date to the following week since the response is so koyak?

Piyoz
======

Dunno leh, can trust goldheart or not? Thought Isabella/bedazzeled is better cos that’s all that they do? More specialised?

Labbit
======

Haha my sofa curtains always closed and cannot be seen from any other window in my house. Of course must plan carefully la keke.

JMON
====

Really glad that baby adeline is coping well. Take some photos and show us!!

lbt, SY, Celeste, Fiona,
Thank you very much!
I will do my research on these and start my boy on them. He has always been very healthy. He only started getting sick when he stopped breastfeeding. Suddenly, the colds and flus started! And with all the HFMD and various different strains of flu going around, not to mention the horrendous weather and dengue on top of that, I figure I'd better get him some extra protection.

Qing,
I also got stretchmarks from #1. There was nothing at first, then they all appeared at once and my stomach looked like a swollen watermelon. They faded after giving birth, but you can still see the 'lines'. For this pregnancy I have been religiously moisturising my bump and all around it, and while there are stretchmarks, they are not as many as before *keeping fingers crossed that they stay this way!* Stretchmarks are also hereditary, so if your mum had them, you probably will as well.

Mummies who are doing p/t study,
I take my hat off to all of you! I cannot imagine studying and looking after a kiddo at the same time. I do hope to take up some enrichment courses when my children start schooling. But in the meantime, I don't think I will have the time or the stamina to do so!

hey mummies anyone knows where to buy cooler bags? i know labbit got her own mini fridge in office
would actually prefer if they were the cheap ones with the aluminium insides, and i have to pack an ice pack kind. but do they work?...

celeste,
ya i know what u mean...really very "xin tong"

PB,
I uses the fridge to go cooler bag, it's very good but mainly for transportation or few hours outings, but if you want to store breastmilk in the office must put in fridge or else not cold enough, milk will spoil de...

hmm i have an avent one but that only keeps stuff cool for 4 hours. guess maybe i'll do like labbit and buy a mini fridge to put at my desk
actually heard the alumnium kind can keep stuff cool up to 8 hours leh. but maybe that's not long enough also ... pumping at work + travel time back i think may be more than 8 hours...

PB
u dun have a fridge at work? u cna always keep in fridge first then later transfer to cooler bag before u leave office. i use the medela one.

youpi
yeah once u stop bf, u realise they keep falling sick. that happened to my boy too. the first few motnhs when i stop, he just kept falling sick...

re stretch marks
mine din really fade and mine not just silver lines. the skin on the tummy so lose that it folds over. think also cos i lost weight after giving birth....

Celeste
Very weird hor sometimes these ppl. I metup with some mummies whose bb are only 2 mth+. N U know they sort of think I am SOooo Fat leh. I wonder why cos our tummy now is super obvious liao ma n even if I'm still slinging my son at my hip still can see my tummy 1 mah.
They after awhile then dare to ask me are u preg?? Wah piang eeh so big tummy of cos I am lah n they jus give birth I mean do I look so FAT meh.....hahaha

Youpi
I won't think Sambulco is considered supplement. Cos my PD says she will only give once there is symtoms n u need to have a break of 2 weeks after 6wks intake(I think). More of a tonic I would feel cos it helps to strengthen their upper respiratry tracts. I tried when my son keep having running nose once in a while with no other symtoms n it works very well for him cos I stocked up n now still have 2 bottles untouched. If u wanna get it please join the sprees to order cos it costs double the price buying from vitakids.
We didn't visit the PD for 6 mths. NOw I jus started giving a multi vit gummy but ummmm dunno if its effective lah I ordered it cos I did my own Lucky vitamin order n need to hit the free shipping.....hehe

Qing
At least ur on ur butt leh wear underwear cannot see liao.....hahaha
I had for my #1 started 3 mths into my preg n on my hips cos I gained too much weight. This time round dun have new ones yet *touchwood*. N the old ones already like silvery lines liao not very obvious.
I still remember quite happy at least my tummy dun have marks. Who knows after give birth already then I saw some small marks under tummy area(blindspot) sian man. Heng not obvious too.

PB
i see...i think over at my office the fridge also small and so many mothers sharing some more..

dor dor
yah got blind spot. last time i also din see the stretch marks on under the tummy until late..was so shocked when i saw it...

SY
======

haha ya lor don't want to mix up milk or worse still, have people take the milk and put into coffee or what! keke. gave my sister a small fridge a while ago but she never used it so i'll take it back. yay.

super funny about blind spot! me too, under belly button has been foreign terriroty for a long long long time.

something interesting:
======

http://www.babycenter.com/0_moms-confess-what-i-wish-id-known-about-pregnancy-birth-and_1405171.bc

coughing
======

got a persistent on-off cough last night and this morning. can take normal off the counter cough med or not ah? like woods peppermint cure.

oh. just checked with gynae clinic. they said must check with pharmacist on duty. ok...

PB
best to see GP to get the cough medication.

i try not to take off counter stuff.....unless GP has given me before.

PB
the last time i tried to buy something from pharmacy, the pharmacist refused to dispense, asking me to go see doc. so depends on the pharmacist also

PB

i dont take off the shelf medication during pregnancy too. Usually I'll see a GP and get the med. Then I'll call my gynae clinic to chk if they are safe for preg. Not all GP are trained to prescribed pregnancy or breastfeeding safe med.

Oh yes I have a mini fridge for my EBM only
cleaner lah .. actually I do have a nursing room and a fridge that is dedicated to nursing mothers to store our EBM but it's on a different level and I also scared I may forget to bring the EBM home !!

morning ladies

lbt,
Ya...hb help out in the hsehold chores on and off. But he works quite long hrs too so usually I try not to tie him down. Even now when my tummy quite big I am doing like 70-80% of the hsehold chores myself *lol*

Yeah...quite agree on the maid part...previously i used to have a maid...can really feel more relax cos hsehold chores all done by her...then i can still cook dinner all these and she will do the washing up. Then I have more time to my #1 as well as for myself...but due to some *sigh* reasons I decided not to get a maid. First one can do hsehold chores and take care of my ger but got attitude problem..like she can go out w/o informing me. 2nd one even worst machiam like employer *sigh*..all long stories..haha
I feel that if wanna have a maid, its better to have someone at home to jaga them.

Did consider having a p/t maid before mabbe will see how after I give birth, see can cope first anot

bluey,
Oic...
...ya...sit for 4 hrs can peng san...they allow u to leave earlier if you finish fast? The stupid acca exams cannot one. I remember got once I not feeling well, then my paper was 3 hrs...I finished in 2 hrs then i wanna leave they say must sit there till 3 hrs is up! *pengz* Gambatte yah!

youpi,
Can consider giving ur kid flu vaccine too. I gave my ger flu vaccine too cos she seems to get the flu virus quite often in childcare cos exposed there for 11 hrs a day woh
Since last mth till now seems much better, its been almost 1 mth since she last kenna flu! Hopefully the flu vaccine really works although i read papers today that this yr's flu vaccine is only 44% effective...but at least better than nothing

dor dor,
ya lor...i also think very farnie....imagine bout 7+mth or so and they tot we are fat or wat *lol*
I was telling my hb....if fat hor, the arms and legs everywhere will be much bigger also wat..how come they cannot gauge one...*pengz*

celeste
my new maid is ok with my boy at home. no one to jaga also ok already. initially of cos need someone ard but now my boy getting used to her and so much easier. if not everyone very busy helping to jaga also tough. so really depends on the maid.

re flu vaccine
i did ask my cousin who is a GP whether need to give flu vaccine but he said no need. i did think abt giving to my boy. but heard got new flu strains? sigh all these viruses very scary.

flu vaccine

my PD urged me to give the flu vaccine asap in case the flu outbreak from HK reaches SG, then he says it's too late. I am giving my gal the 2nd dosage this Fri.

It is better not to save on vaccine cos there are too many viruses around us. my PD said ppl travel in and out of the country too often that we have to be caution of the viruses. I dont dare to take any chance lor even though vaccination is not 100% safe and doesnt last a lifetime.

SY,
for me I dont feel safe leaving #2 which will be infant with the maid. Cos #1 will be at childcare so even though they can express themselves when they see maid doing anything "sala" but when they are at childcare they wont know if #2 is properly treated. Maybe cos I used to have video cam installed at home thats y I can see a lot of stuffs that maids do when there is nobody to jaga them. Which is why I decided not to get one.
And yes of cos there are also gd maids around...but if those gd maids that dont need anyone to jaga and is independent one really not many.

walked over to pharmacy but pharmacist only comes in at 1030. wah. good life. but i bought char siew paos for snack hehe. shiok.

a bit kiasu question - how to look for PD ah?

labbit, me too. scared forget to bring home the EBM! you put other things in the fridge or not? like your snacks? like yoghurt?

oh my MIL so sweet, she sent me a mother's day card!!!

PB,
when u pop liowz, the hospital will assign a PD for your bb. 1 week after bb is discharge u have to bring the bb to the same PD. After that its up to you whether u wanna change to other PD or stick to the existing PD

lbt
my boy so behind in his jabs cos of the last bout of allergies. no choice. cannot take jab when he takes steriods...

celeste
i know your concerns. i also have video cam at home. my #1 since newborn was taken care of by maid. u r right lor, hard to find independent maid. my current one can take care of #1 but i also duno how she is with #2. for #1, what i did was get the maid before i give birth and have cl train the maid. she was quite good initially but as time pass, of cos she feel like going back already plus with #2 coming, she really scared of the workload. so she changed lor.

a lot of pple wonder how i can leave my bb with a maid unsupervised but not much choice for me. and thankfully it was good for abt 2 years.

PB
u can try looking for those nearer your house also. more convenient.

SY,
I understand how u feel...cos I left my ger with maid for 6mths that time when she was 10mths old until she was bout 16mths then i switched her to infantcare. In the beginning this maid is still quite gd...she was ex-Sin few yrs back and can handle hsehold chores n my ger. But then after she sort of hinted wanna borrow $ from me then i refused then she give me attitude liowz...

Somemore I also have this concern of training the new maids, imagine if the maid come train liowz no gd, then need to change then imagine how much AL we have to burn...really dont wanna waste all these AL liowz...tats y tat time at 16mths let my ger go infantcare *sigh*.

Then it was so tiring...everyday i reach home i will try to spend like 30mins or so to roughly screen thru the whole day's video.....thats y i noe she's been telling me lies at times. Like I asked her to start toilet training my ger, we supposed to put them potty like every 1 hr, she told me okies...then when i see video she only do this like 3-4 hrs once like that how to train and she dare to tell me she got do it. A lot of things lah...until got once i beh tahanz i confront her say how many lies have u told me then she still refused to admit until i show her those videos!
Then i sent her back to agency immediately...give up.
Like safety they also donno, when she came, she can carry my ger one hand and the other hand carry hot boiling kettle to prepare bath water...imagine how dangerous it is, i told her dont do it she still did it the next time until i told her use heater water instead then at least safer.....then got twice hor she cook almost catch fire, once is she put those kitchen paper beside the stove, another time was the plastic bag she put beside the stove and got some wind and the plastic bag flew towards the stove...luckily both times i was around! *pengz*

celeste
======
oh so the PD is in the hospital?

SY
======

think at tiong bahru plaza got. i go check
but hor, how will we know when to bring for jabs and all ler??

sorry for the kuku questions....

list!
======

how's everyone doing with their baby check list? i got a few items left to buy.

celeste
yeah i was on leave so often that it was hard to get work done and my boy ended up being sticky to me. but fortunately my mum came to my place more often and her maid sometimes will come over to help. the first one that came was terrible. at least this one now is much better. so i let her take care of my boy abt once or twice a week alone to try out first.

PB,
Most PDs will clinics elsewhere and some have their clinics at the hospital. Then they have different timing whereby certain days they are stationed at hospital side and certain days at their clinic outside.

celeste
i try not to ask my maid to do too many things. a lot of times i wanted to potty train but my hb said just leave it cos hard for the maid to keep bringing to the toilet. so my bare requirement was only wake up must bring to toilet. every hour not possible with maids.

but i agree that their saftey idea not very good. must really nag them lor. but my maid not supposed to cook until i reach home. only for my boy's meals only.

PB
u can refer to the health booklet. there is a schedule inside. hee, last time i also blur blur but the PD told me can refer to the health booklet.

SY,
Actually my maid is very free. When we go to work her only job is to take care of child dont even do hsework throughout the time when we are not around. Somemore potty train we dont make her bring child to toilet. We usually leave the potty in the living room area and she just has to remove my ger's diapers and put her on the potty. Imagine only take care of #1 and settle her food if this basic thingy she also cannot handle then i tink its really jiatlat.
And yes, my maid also not supposed to cook except for my #1's meals but still have to use the stove. Can u imagine the time when she was here our power tripped for quite a no. of times...i tink she prob always use wet hands to switch on/off switches *lol*
Ever since she left i dont have any more power trip at all.

SY
======

got health booklet? take from hospital? hehe. blur mummy.

maternity leave
======

oh btw just to update. my company's maternity leave package is 56 days. that's what the leave system shows, haven't confirmed with HR yet but i guess should be accurate la.

PB
I bring my boy to the PD at Tiong Bahru... he's quite good, will write down all the dates you have to go for their vaccines in the health booklet, so no need to worry... but you must remember to refer to it lah! haha

If dun wanna go PD, you can also go to Poly clinics, the GPs for the vaccines also.

Jamon
Sorry have lost track and didn't even know you have given birth! Congrats that your gal is doing well and that you'll be finishing your confinement! Hope to see your gal's pic soon!

Hot date
Think I'll have to give it a miss... hope to join you girls some other time.

Sure, the clinic is on the ground floor, at the corner of Tiong Bahru Plaza (the part where UOB is located). PD is called Dr Edmund Koh, tel: 6276 5700. The clinic is actually affliated to TMC. You can try him out. Some frens like him and some not quite...

PB

ur mat leave is so little ? not 84 days meh ?

my gal PD is Dr Ngiam at Singapore BB And Child Clinic at GlenE. Very popular guy. I chose him becos my sister uses him and also near my mum hse at Redhill.

Hospital Bag
Sorries mummies can i check when do we start to pack our bag huh? Coz my hubby keep asking me to pack my bag asap.

SY
I rember u have posted the list but hor do we need to pack our front button gown shirt/gown dont the hospital provide us clothes meh?