(2008/07) July 2008

SY
yes, tummy hardening = contractions
the only thing to differentiate real contractions and braxton hicks (false contractions) is the pain level and the consistency.

delphine
paiseh but meant to scare you ladies lah. was just sharing wat I knew. I think cramp and pain are more of ligament stretch, not really contraction lah. even got mild ones also fine as long as we don't see show and bursting of waterbag. actually the more we get, the better it is, cos it helps in dilation mah.

PB
Hmnn.. maybe u really eat too much lah... hehe

PB
imagine i went to David Tao concert. i dunno what my bb hearing during the concert man..haha later turn out to be R&B fan...

lbt, delphine
think your bb are quite cooperative so no issue with yao lan. my parents told me when me and my sis were babies, my sis wd need them to get up everynight to rock her. if rocking stop, she wakes up...imagine the nightmare...

my ex colleague even funnier. he fixed the yao lan on top of he and his wife's bed so that in case the yao lan drop, it will drop on their bed. so one night, he said he woke up to feel something dripping. cos they switched the bb to cheaper diapers and diaper not so good so was leaking..... yucks!

sonic
======

haha basket. rub the truth in my face! thought we preggie ladies all same gang, supposed to lie to each other and make each other feel better! must say things like 'no la, not fat la, still very chio'. haha

but seriously, my stomach is hard all the time leh. you all leh? still soft soft or what? i mean err not like rock hard, but like the most can press a bit only then firm firm liao. not wobbly la.

water bag burst
======

experienced mummies, really ah, burst already will keep flowing? or is it flow in intervals one? then if happen at work how? we must rush to toilet and stay there? or bring mop wherever we go? or bring extra panties? pad?

kiam pa question again is it?

SY
======

OMG your colleague so funny ler!!!

qing,

i drank barley in moderation too...

but old folks won't allow me to eat oranges n bananas too! banana my favourite but i force not to eat... sian

but then dun listen nxt time got anything problem, they will say we anyhow eat.

pink bunny,

my water bag is burst by my gynae. it not urine flow feelin... u cannot control this flow 1... it keep flowing like waterfall i rem... hahaha

also v warm. then actually i feel the bb goin downwards like tat... hehe

garfield
i eat oranges..hee..a bit only lah. banana dun eat delmonte one shd be ok.

PB
when contractions, u can feel your tummy contract one....it is firm of cos but during contraction, it will feel harder

nearer to your due date, it's good to leave like extra towel in office or car and good to have some spare bottoms ard. what i did last time was to leave extra towel in the car.

yao lan
i think it actually make the baby feel safer. like in the mummy tummy like tat. will sleep better.

fiona
at least you still can complain to someone regards the rudeness. it is really stupid person . don't know what is on their mind loh. i definitely wont become like tat when i am older.

PB,
i will never happen to be in that area.
haiz...
is it jelly in the coconut?
really curious abt it.

water bag
one of my aunt actually had her bag burst when she is playing mahjong. and she didn't even realise it loh. so funny. according to them, it's like one pool of water suddenly being release out.

so PB even when bathing also will know ba.

pinkbunny,
actually the best way to lose weight is BF!!! I piled on 15kg for No. 1 and lost all when my ger is 6mths old *lol*

SY,
I had fun but bery tired...cos entertaining and running after my No. 1 is not easy....imagine on the ferry i was carrying her leaning onto me and part of my tummy cos she refused to let others carry her *sigh*

garfield,
ur one also gynae burst waterbag? My No. 1 too. I still remember they put the maternity pad below when gynae burst my water bag its like a gush of water...ahahah *lol*
and yes agree the water is warm warm de

qing
======

ya the coconut flesh is infused with jelly then shoved back into the coconut. like buah keluak style haha.

so funny your auntie playing mj then water bag burst!!! i wonder how if that happens to me. think i will finish playing that 'wind' first ba, esp if i'm winning! ahahahah.

celeste
======

yes yes that's what i want to do too! BF! but not just of losing weight la, also cos it's good for the little one
but i think also, if we BF, we can never fully lose weight, cos must maintain some for baby, is it?

water bag burst
======

haha garfield ok ok i will remember. waterfall. keke. i keep wondering how it will be when the time comes.

got drama or not, what time of day or night. any first time mummies thinking of that too? one of my collaegues laughed too much in the office that she had very bad contractions and we wheelchaired her out into boss' car haha

garfield,
ya loh, i totally agree.
next time got problem, sure it's boz of the thing we eat during pregnancy or the things we do during confinement. it is the 'consequences' of not listening to them.
i haven eat banana since.
i don dare, they say will lose the baby.

then now orange also can't touch.

only keep asking me to eat durian.
although i like to eat but i don like the idea that they say what i do what.

SY
good idea to have additional clothing when nearer to EDD.

now i got a silly question.
what if water bag burst when i am in a public transport alone?
oh my.
it would be very embarrassing ba.

going on 3month leave
when do your plan to go on leave?
one week before EDD?
or work thru out until delivery?

date
======

this is the latest i have. so far, bo seng li leh!

hot mamas hot date #2!
18 may 2008 (sunday) OR 19 may 2008
2-5pm

1. pinkbunny! - both days can
2. Delphine - 19 May 08
3. Dor dor - 19 May
4. Youpi - both days ok
5. doggiebb - 19 May
6. dusty - both days ok

qing
======

i think i want to go one week before EDD... then go for 2 months. the 3rd month i will spread it over a 6 month period and work 4 day weeks
my boss is ok with it but HR has commented that such an arrangement will make things more troublesome for THEM. so haven't really confirmed with them yet. they kind of sound a bit like those ah sohs on the train....

celeste, u so good can loose weight when bf... i didn't loose all the weight ley.... but this time i will lengthen my bf and also do total...

yes my 1st one also gynae burst 1... but i can't rem wat they do at my bottom ;p
my gynae just say he goin to burst my waterbag then he did it n waterfall came... lol

qing, i think i will apply for leave exactly on the EDD or watever start... hahha
cos the 1st one i v gan jiong n kiasu n take 1 wk earlier but in the end my ds duan me n come out 1 wk after edd!

qing
no lah eating banana and oranges won't lose bb. if u ask Dr Han, he sure laugh one.

for banana, it' the del monte ones that u can't eat cos that one is cooling. eat the shorter kind is ok. anyway me not big fan of banana.

as for orange, some pple think it cause phlegm in babies. but westerners will tell u take it for vit c. so a lot is old wives tales i believe. as long u dun eat like everyday, shd be fine.

re working till EDD
i think i will work till EDD. any leave u take before that is considered your ML> check your co policy first.

the last time i wanted to spread out 4 weeks of ML. in the end took at one shot cos can't bear to go back to work...

Sy,

yes i was blamed of eating only 1 mandarin orange on the 1st day of givin birth!
cos i was on BF. then my mil saw i eat, n then told my mum. then my son got colic tat time. my mum blame say it my ORANGE that cause it... i already digest dunno where liao...
n she tell everyone for the whole mth... goodness

pinkbunny,
i tink its possible to lose all the weight u gained during pregnancy if u BF

garfield,
I was yielding 1-1.2 litres of EBM a day when i was BF my No. 1....i tink thats y really burn a lot of calories...u noe i can eat 3 meals + supper everyday and still lose weight. Somemore like dinner if i eat those mixed vege rice, I order 2 meat and 2 vege! eat like a guy or mabbe even more than guy! *lol*

garfield
i only know certain foods like cabbage etc may cause some wind in bb when u breastfeed. not orange..hee old folks always very gan chiong one. any reason goes man...

celeste, PB
i lost weight until i was lighter than before pregnancy. but of cos the weight loss not so fast. u really need abt 6 months before u r back to pre preggy shape and weight.

celeste,

tat explains why u lose weight cos yr supply more than mine!
yes 1st mth i was on total bf, n i lose the most weight then even when i eat alot... super man. i can eat 2 bowls of rice. cannot imagine.

so i hope i can total bf longer. now i buy electric v prepared liao... hehee

i love orange but don dare to eat.
haiz.
hubby also don allow.
haiz haiz.

anyway,
i plan to work thru out till EDD. but my colleague scared my water bag burst while working. they don know how to react.
boz if take one week before EDD scare waste the one week le if drag too long. i might as well use it after give birth. got more days with the baby. better like tat.

qing, normally first labour is not so fast give birth 1.

yr collegues react diff from mine, the other time my collegues still joke n say they hire cab for me ;p

PB
haha.. ok ok.. we should support each other instead…

Your stomach is hard all the time arh, that's normal, cos bb is growing big inside mah. But when come to contraction, you should see/feel that certain part of your tummy is particularly harder than the rest, especially those area that shapes oddly... but they will slowly soften back to its original 'hardness'. Hee.. got what I mean?

celeste
Wow… 1 - 1.2L ??? Pardon my ignorant, isn't that A LOT ?? my colleagues who are b/fing for a year liao only managed give yield to average 300-500ml per day.

I'm staring at my 1L water bottle now, imagining your milk output…
that makes me can't stop praising the wonder of the our Creator.

delphine
yeah my hubby side most of the kids sleep yao lan n their head really round n nice.

PB
it true last week fri went to cut my hair while the hair stylist use 2 nos of hair dryer to blow my hair baby keep kicking me v hard n around my tummy think she scared of the noise.

serene
======

so cute your baby!!!!

baby activity
======

just curious, is there a particular time of day when your baby is most active? mine is at night just before i sleep then she will show me full force of her dance performance hehe.

pink bunny,

i find my girl actions more girly... as in not so vigourous. do move but not strong. v gentle.

my ds ... he always box me!!! even when scanning, can see his hands boxing!

re loud noise
during the concert, my bb was pretty quiet. then after that got really active

PB
mine likes to move at night also. esp before i sleep and when i m sleeping.

qing
hee my hb dun really care what i eat one. if i say i eat orange he also ok.

pinkie,
according to the nurse,
baby is active all the time.
we only feel the movement more at night when we are about to sleep boz daytime we are occupied with our work and daily stuff.
night time beside going to sleep there is nothing we are doing loh so feel it more.

the other day, when i was surfing the net lying on the bed. she actually tickled me twice loh.
so funny. never knew they can do that.

Sy.
they keep say eat orange later baby will have jaundice.

anyway, to me, it's like yellowish or orange colour food cant eat loh. 'will have jaundice'

don't know what logic.

PB
she activite during the day time but during at nite she will only response when i talk to her...
trying to coax her to turn her position so that i could go for natural birth, nw waiting for next week visit to gynae for the gd news....

re loud noise
yesterday I went to the hair saloon to wash my hair..
think they heard the hair dryer noise and kick when the start till the end..aiyo..

re movement
I can feel them the whole day..
looks like they r super active..
I told them to keep their energy to grow bigger lah...

qing
haha...then cannot eat a lot of things liao. no lah. not true. my first pregnancy i also din take a lot of orange my boy also got jaundice.

u can ask Dr Han if u really not sure.

qing,
your diet under alot of control hor...but never mind, treat it that they are just being concerned about you and baby.
i also didn't take much orange and my gal got jaundice too...dun take too much durian, it's high in sugar content and very heaty. my gal became quite heavy after i ate durian but one thing is, she's very strong and healthy, not sure whether it's due to the durian lah...

SY,
the diaper leaking part is so funny!
I also lost alot of weight when i was breastfeeding, was lighter than before preggy eventhough i was always hungry during that period..hehe

celeste,
welcome back from your trip

the weekend before last i went genting, also spent time entertaining my toddler haha...that's life for us now.

serene and jaslyn
======

your babies form the hairdryer club! keke.

tiredness
======
super tired from like 8 plus these days :S better sleep soon. tomorrow morning then pack hehe. afternoon flight!!!

morning ladies

pinkbunny
haha.. ya lor..

ya lor..
very easy tired hor..
u enjoy ur trip!!

SY
oh.. so sweet of him
if its me.. think I will cry..

Serene,
so it's true to some extent?

SY,
aiyo so touch, i waited till my gal is 18 months, then she call me Mani(sound like barney, maybe i look like 1 now) or mama, i already touched till wanna to cry.

Pink Bunny,
Enjoy your trip!!

morning ladies

SY,
yuppies...when i stopped BF hor...I tink i was bout 2 kg lighter than my pre-pregnancy weight....*lol*

garfield,
me that time very chamz one...imagine during confinement hor...i eat fish hor...if i eat one whole piece of prob 2" x 3" size type that nite i chamz liowz..will kenna engorgement like crazy
So during confinement its like when i eat fish for each meal can only take like 2-3 small mouthfuls *sigh*
My BF times are really sad....i tink i kenna mastitis twice before and those blocked ducts prob at least 2-3x! Imagine total of like 5x of suffering throughout my 14mths! *lol* cos i was the lazy kind...i will only go pump when my breast are like rock-hard...hehe

And yes...go for electric pump...i relied on latching and pumping using my Avent manual pump during first month and gave up went to buy the electric dual pump..so much faster! hehe

sonic,
ya...that time my ger max was drinking like aroun 1-1.1 litres a day when she was bout 6-8mths old I think. Then i still managed to store my freezer whatever available space with the frozen ebm *lol*

jaslyn, 3D
yeah i was very touched. my boy started calling me before he was 1 year old. hee my hb waited much longer.

but now i got a problem. i think he is showing signs of regression due to #2 coming. i had weaned him off pacifier in Feb and suddenly this morning he woke up to ask me to look for it and kept whining. i had already noticed his change in behavior for some time. dunno what to do abt him. if i go change or go toilet he wails like i m gone. very insecure.

i ask him why does he need to go in with me when i go change. he said he go in to fetch me from the room.

headache now..

Sy
i think it must be a dream come true like that.
i will also cry like jaslyn. then give her a hug too.
i think baby will be shocked loh..
ahhaha

jaslyn
my baby also in breech now.
i have been talking to baby too.
telling her that she can dance kick move and whatever but when time comes she must be in position. i really want to go natural.

fiona
actually i have to be in strict diet.
every month gynae visit i gain 4 kg lehz.
gynae say must cut down on carbo.
he advise not to eat rice and noodles loh.
my weight gain too scary le.

PB,
have a great trip!

SY,
your boy s sweet

my gal also has been following me to toilet since i'm carrying the 2nd one, unless hubby is in the room with her, or else "pom pom" she also must keep watch :p

qing,
wah...ya must cut down on carbo, but you can still eat the fruits(vitamins) and the meat(protein). me last visit also put on 4kg...been too sinful with my diet >.<

SY, Fiona
Haha. I am in the same predicament as you all. If I am alone with my ger at home. Even I go toilet pee or poo or shower she also must stand there n watch *peng san*

SY, my ger now also like quite insecure....whenever she see's me must be me. Just yesterday morning my hb was trying to wash her up after she poo and dress her up while i go shower she scream and cry for me like crazy....*sigh*

delphine
======

mani! so cute! hehe.

SY
======

so sweet your boy!!!!

qing
======

hehe ya. can imagine the baby thinking 'eh? si mi dai chee?' keke.

stomach
=======

mummies, anyone's stomach got funny dry spots? mine like got a few. a bit darker than the rest of the stomach and the skin looks dry. looks a bit shiny in the light, but it's spots, not lines so i don't think it's stretch marks. and my belly button is so stubbron, still not popping out!!!

qing
must control lor. 4kg a month sounds like a lot.
for me it's opposite. Dr Han says eat what i like...

PB
have fun...envious...

fiona
but yours is gal so not too bad. i dun wan my boy to have the habit of following me cos he is 2 already.....

celeste
i dunno what to abt this insecurity. driving me nuts man. esp when hb ends up scolding him and i feel that he is being scolding unneccesarily.

SY
hehe.. normally children will call mummy 1st..
daddy later..

maybe when #2 is out..
u explain to him maybe he can understand better..

Qing
ya lor..
I also wana try natural...
for u I think will be easier..
cos normally they will engage when the time comes..
for me... haiz..
quite difficult..

how much u gain liao?
ur weight gain almost the same as me leh..
gynea ask me to eat more meat and rest..
cos my weight gain also goes to my water retention..

PB
i have some dry spots....

jaslyn
not true. i read before that actually it is easier for children to pronounce the P than the M so most kids actually say Papa first then Mama....so i always tell my hb serve him right for not spending enough time with my boy....

Sy,

u r rgt... but then he start sayin mamama sooner than papa but not to us...

but now he only pt to papa and say "pa!"
if i pt at myself, he dun wanna say ma ley.