(2008/07) July 2008

pinkbunny
the sale items are usually limited so i may not find what i want. but i may still try to check it out if i can. cos i changing maid these few days may not get a chance to go.

celesteblur
i used to think abt saving the last 4 weeks of ML also but then at the end of 2 months, i dun feel like going back to work and end up taking all at one shot.

pinkbunny
4 weeks shd be 20 working days unless your co really so generous. i know some companies give exact 3 months but most do not. they only give 12 weeks.

SY,
agreed....when its almost time to return feel so sianz rite? *lol*
That time for my No. 1 I returned after 10weeks. So for the next 10 weeks i work 4 days a week. Quite liked it cos not as tiring also....

SY and celeste
yup yup i will confirm again with them. i do remember them saying 30 days (i remember thinking 'wah, zun bo? so generous ah?'). and yes i work 5-day weeks
sigh ya i can imagine after 2 months will be so sian to get back to work. but i guess easing myself back into the office would be easier than jumping straight into everything. i read somewhere that we should not plan to go back to work on a monday. makes sense!

SY
ok i will let you know if the sale got any good deals!

labbit
thanks! yup was asking if they give you a pack of anything. like samples of stuff.

hey someone was posting about some sale of cloth books? from $13 to $10? can post the link again please?

celeste blur
hee, i have been bugging hb for the longest time to let me turn PT. this time round i will sure bug harder. at most dun buy anymore stuff for my kids..hee

pinkbunny
yup let me know if got good buys. but hor, whenever i go for such things i buy a lot of stuff that i dun need...hee

are u referring to the usborne books? let me find the link and post again.

pinkbunny,
hehe, i dont tink will be so generous 4 weeks == 30 working days bah. better confirm with them
Mine is own arrangement with boss. HR we still declare as take directly 12 weeks.

SY,
ya lor...agreed...some things can give up one
But for me I am worried if stay at home full-time will go a bit crazy looking after 2 kids anot *lol*
Somewhere if need to tighten the finances like a bit sad

lbt,
really ar?? how come my gal born in 2006 in Mt A didnt receive any gold coin leh.. first come first serve ar?

Do1nk,
Send you an email on today article, the file too big to upload here.

Pink Bunny,
For me 1 month=4weeks, so very fast de..
i also took 8 weeks first and the remaining 4 weeks for flexible, like work 3.5days per week. good in a way cos new born alot of jabs to go, so can make use of the flexi leave

so good, celeste. unpaid or paid leave? i think mine cannot chamsiong like that cos it's all about 'showing face'. i cannot be seen as being given special treatment cos i know that everyone else comes back after 3 months. and by spreading my 3rd month, people may already talk. even though that's like our given right.

delphine
maybe you go and check, it's still in a plastic bag somewhere hehe.

SY
yes! it is usborne! thanks!

pinkbunny,
of cos its paid lah...cos i will only go for 8 weeks of ML. So I shld have 4 weeks left. My side other dept also got ppl like that...and i have spoken to my boss she's fine with the idea cos like that my absence wont be so long too.

But actually me still considering being sahm. So its still a question mark *sigh*...i checked with my ger's childcare, even if I put No. 2 there for infantcare they wont be giving much discount. Imagine the amount of $ spent for 1 infantcare and 1 childcare then everyday still rushing here n there....then at these places kids easier to fall sick, then every weekend still rushing housework...if hire p/t helper its another cost *lol*....then i also tinking of spending more time with my kids...*sigh*

oh i get it. still the same 12 weeks but boss let you spread it rather than take 1 shot la. okok liao jie. hehe.

hmm ya hor. if got 2 kids then spend so much on childcare/infantcare, it might work out to be more cost effective if one person stay home to look after. i have a friend who said when she got married, when they have kids, the one who earn less money will stay home and take care. i think her husband is a stay-at-home-dad now.

pinkbunny,
and then there is also the feeling of like spending the early developmental yrs with ur kid. Like my ger now is 21+mths she is at a very cute stage now but of cos also very notti stage. But its a very nice feeling to be with her but if there's no one around to help out at times then it might be a headache *sigh*

SY,
if i have older folks at home to jaga then i will get a helper but no older folks to help me. I dont feel safe putting an infant with a helper

pinkbunny
u mean register to be mumcentre member or whoopeekiddies member? u dun need to be a whoopeekiddies member to buy.

celesteblur
hee, my boy was alone with my helper all these while. so really thank God that so far so good. usually if u get the helper right from the start to take care of them since newborn, they will love the kids more.

pinkbunny
oh yah mumcentre is pretty good. i registered long time ago. so sometimes they have retailers who promote their sales on their website. useful.

celesteblur
yeah man. i m keeping my fingers crossed that my new helper wll be good.

Wow ... half day out of office. I have to scroll the thread like crazy ...

Pinkbunny,
My gal is Dora fan ... I am thinking of bringing her go as she "nag" at me for missing the disney show recently. What's the offer?
Haiz ... kids recently got a lot of "requests".

My gal quite temperamental nowadays ... i think becoz of her new baby brother. She ask me not to go to work, must fetch her after school, etc.
Just have to be patient.

I am changing my indo maid of 4 yrs next month ... sian. She hopes to work in Hong kong, so must let her go....

Now looking for philipino maid this time round. Hope the new maid can converse well with my gal.

My maid arriving this fri, keeping my fingers crossed...

Pink bunny,
haha, dun think i will miss out that gold coin leh..
how's your damage at perfect mum? brought anything?

celesteblur
my current helper actually extended but after she found out abt #2, she said she wants to go back and get married. think she scared of the work.

delphine,
u first time getting a helper? Or its replacing ur previous one?

SY,
Ya....i was told before if you wanna get another helper its best to get when your baby is born, otherwise if they too engz now later when the bb comes hor they "buey gam wan" do so many things

delphine
didn't go in the end. went to buy bras at john little in the end. *shake head*.

SY
ya i also think your helper changed her mind when she found out about your #2

blackout!
i've been meaning to tell you girls but i wonder if i actually have. i blacked out some time ago leh. washing dishes at the sink and just for a split second i lost consciousness and then lost my balance for a bit then 'came back'. it's like when you turn too fast (but i wasn't turning) and instead of seeing a smooth view of right to left, there is a void in the middle when you only remember seeing black. i don't remember blacking out but i remember coming back. very scary. some more i was holding breakable bowls - what if i had dropped them then dropped ON them? *shudder*. maybe can use this as an excuse to not wash dishes anymore haha

celesteblur
yah lor. so i need to get my new helper in asap. at least got time to bond with my boy and then after that help with #2.

and one thing i learnt from this. never give them easy schedule first then after that add more work cos they will not take it one. last time we always think since she needs to take care of my boy, we dun give her too much work. but as my boy gets older and the demands change, she also got trouble to cope. then when i started to send my boy to sch to relief her, she became lazy instead.

pinkbunny
yeah this was what we thought too.

hey, i also keep feeling giddy recently. think u shd mention to your gynae next time.

my colleague says that once you start seeing 'black' then sit down or tell someone because before you know it, very soon you will be on the floor. wah. so scary.

i think not enough blood la. but also, that was before i got on iron tablets.

SY,

I also agree. Same case here. This time round, I must be more demanding at the first place, else they tot like doing "extra" work.
When my gal is a baby, I told her that baby is her piority, so I would not fuss with her on slow completion of housework.
Although my gal dun demand so much attention from my maid since she has grown up, but the housework still the same standard.

Ya ... getting filipino this time round. With my indo maid, my english standard drop like hell after 4 yrs! Me with 2 kids, i dun think i will have the patient to "teach" my maid english anymore.

Still choosing ... but must confirm one soon so that she could come over early.

pinkbunny
the funny thing is the times that i feel giddy happen when i was sitting down.....

bluey
same thing. now that my boy go to sch, we demand higher standard of cleaning esp when my boy got sensitive nose. but she just can't get it and sometimes i really lose my temper with her. so i guess over time things start to accumulate, she not happy, we not happy so with #2, i guess she scared of the work liao.

delphine,
not much guide...but like what SY said dont let them have too little things to do at first and dont treat them too good until they take u for granted.
I also heard that dont tell ur helper when they can rest. Just tell them once they finish their duties required then they can rest. At least like that they wont be like "Ohh, now wat time liowz shld be my rest time" kind of attitude. Like that time my myanmar helper...i tink she is quite lazy....i tell her usually by 8.30pm she can rest but if she finish her things earlier she can rest earlier, if we go out or wat prob she has to do stuffs until later. I posted in the Myanmar maid thread i sent her back on "chu san" cos cannot tahanz her. Imagine chu-er we reach home 10.10pm she quickly unpack the bag then chiong to her room off the lights and ZzZz whereas i am supposed to make milk for my ger, settle her change her etc. Machiam me more like her maid *lol*...haizz...mine is long story...

SY,
yeah....fully agree. Sometimes i tink i treat my helper too good liowz. They can rest early and then not say wake up in the wee hrs or wat. Last time my helpers dont even need to do cooking hor. If like dinner i tabao rice for them as well as ourselves. Main thing is taking care of my ger only. But....haizzz....bitten twice i sianz liowz

celesteblur
my hb always say i m like the maid more.... hmm, at least my maid cooks dinner. she will cook when i reach home.

delphine
i think it is good to be clear abt what u wan them to do. last time i quite relax. i only tell her bare min is must mop the floor and clean my boy's toys before he wakes up. then do laundry everyday if possible.

then once a week will clean the kitchen, clean fans, windows.

but now with the new maid, i think i will be more specific abt her schedule. the main points u wan to drive across is that main chores must be completed before u wake up. cos the time u wake up is prob the time your bb will wake up next time. so she must finish things like cleaning the floor and laundry if possible. it is impt that she finish cleaning before your bb wakes up so that the place is clean next time when your bb starts to crawl. anything to do with cleanliness, make sure it is done on regular basis. and must be a habit to do it.

Agree!
I even have my timetable worked out already ready for my new maid.

Mayb we are treat them "too good" ... well, I tot anyway my gal is "in her hands", so treat her more like a friend rather than a maid.
But ... kena sabo instead.

dor dor

i gave birth in 2006 Aug ... got gold coin leh.. how come you dont have ??

pinkie

hmmm i think there is also a Mt A havesack with some sample stuff inside .. cant rem the actual items already ..

pinkbunny and other mummy at gathering,
sorry I didn't turn up that day for dinner. Was so sick and drowsy after taking the cough medicine that I forgot about it. Was concussed for 1 week and MC for 4 days due to bad cough. Now still left a bit of phelgm.
How was the outing?

Re: full month DIY gift
anyone thinking of doing their own full month gift instead of ordering cakes? I feel like preparing my own "box" of goodies but seems like need lots of energy and time. should I start preparing now?

lbt, Sy, Dor
I thought the gold coin is for everybody? I got mine in 2005. Btw, since I will be giving birth in MAH again, do any of you know if I will bet getting another bathtub? 'Cos if so, I will give away the one that I got for ds1.

Pinkbunny,
I had a light blue cotton sateen sling that I gave to my cousin when she delivered last year. I also have a light green silk one, and a white (with blue trim at the ends) one that my friend's hubby made for me. I just bought a cotton one that's white with thin green stripes. Our Ergo is blue with a green lining. Hubby can use all of them lor.

jeanyard
it's ok la! hope you're much better now but yes we had fun. join us next time la!

bathtub... alamak how to carry so many things when discharge? put the baby in the bathtub? haha

jeanyard
i din do my own gift but it wd be nice. i think i did think abt it but hb says too much effort.

youpi,
i din get the gold coin leh...is it only for pple who give birth at MAH?

U all confuse me with Delphine la.....haha
She is the 1 who gave birth at Mt A.
But so nice lor u got gold coin at Mt A. I also gave birth in Sept 2006 but in TMC no coin n no bath tub....... hahaha

morning mummies...

so what do hospitals usually give us? one outfit for baby to wear and one receiving blanket to wrap the little baby in?

wah MAH even gives out bathtubs? hehehe

do1nk
wah got outfit and receiving blanket some more ah? not bad eh! i didn't know!

dor dor
haha good idea - i just concentrate on carrying baby and let hubby struggle with all the dua bao sueh bao.

jeanyard
actually i didn't want to say anything cos wait the other mummies scold me for being too kiasu again but since you brought it up, i will follow through hehe. i think there is a significance to giving cakes leh. better check with your mum. but i think i will give either cupcakes or miniature cakes. we've ordered them before for wedding/housewarming respectively and both had very good comments. i think it's cheaper also than going through the conventional cupcake/cake channels

my mum says that if we have a full month party then don't need to deliver cakes cos you already invite people over. but if no party then must deliver. might as well have a small party! we'll do it after baby's baptism then all just walk over from church to our house. then p-a-r-t-a-y lor

goodbye 2nd, hello 3rd?
since gestation period is 40 weeks, is it right to say each trimester is about 13 weeks? so technically i'm in my 3rd liao at 27 weeks? gulp

i think for KKH, they din really give any stuff. u still need to bring your own bb blanket and bb outfit. i only got the pampers which is probably in the bill...

pinkbunny
is there significance in giving cakes? i din give cakes at all for my boy. only had party. but i know some pple will still give out cakes at the party.

yup, think at abt 26-27 weeks, it abt 3rd trimester liao...getting closer to D day..

today going for my checkup. so excited!