(2008/07) July 2008

rain finally stopped..i guess i shld start making my way to work soon :D

will go pharmacy today to see calsium pills..any brand also can rite?

re BKK - pinkB - gotto warn you ah, now very hot! and i think april Hotter! I am not sure about other brands but if you want carters, go to MBK,3rd and 6th floor..there are about 10 shops/stalls selling carters and other brands.

for good thai desserts and yummy pad thai after all the walking/shopping, go to 6th floor food court and eat till your hearts' content

Qing,
u r jus suffering post marridge blue + now u r expecting, so it's normal to feel that ur hb does not care abt u.

agreed with others that we hv to independent. when i preggie with #1, i did all house chores myself (tat time no maid). when my man saw me doing chores, he will automatically helped me lor. at least he felt paiseh tat his wife with big tummy still did house chores.

ur hb not bad liao, switch on lights for u, mine just said 'eh be careful ah, floor is slippery.' or sometimes snoring away and dont even know i went toilet.

Sally,
I'm also taking public transport. Hopefully can get a seat on the MRT. So far my journey was short so I didn't mind the standing. but to expo quite far............

Baby fair,
I will be there on Friday or Sat. Depends on the weather.

Pinkbunny,
So cool. Can still go hols. I tot 3rd trimester cannot travel internationally. Better check with your gynea k.

Hot Mama pic,
So small. Send ler so that we can recognise some of us at the baby fair tomorrow

Qing,
You can always call home. I didn't know about this 1mth thingy. We still went back within that month, esp to return the wedding stuffs that are left behind in my home.

TGIT,
Yippee! Can sleep in tomorrow

Maybe will prepare roti john, then can clear my onions and egg...... Good idea hor. And must prepare bu soup for my hubby. He works so hard the last few weeks.

Organised again ler. Really like to meet up with you mummies.

Jmon
oh dear, hope your boy gets better soon. maybe that's why he keeps waking up. when my boy falling sick, his sleep pattern will change.

steph
hee, yeah good to know who are the exhitbitors so can be more targetted...

Today very mood becoz of the looooong weekend ...

So decided to post 1 "old"(3 yrs back) photo of my precious "babies". Small, small one

1308476.jpg

garfield,

see doc this morning liao. he is taken care by ILs now as i hv mtg to attend in the afternoon, so hv to come back to office lor...

Jmon
usually when they going to fall sick, they change patter one. so that's how i know my boy will fall sick after a while. this observation has worked quite well for me. teething may have some fever but shd be low grade. and may change eating habits.

is he still active and playing well?

garfield,
i posted it yesterday. not the full list though. only what the lady managed to recall. let me try to find my post.

Mums R Us - selling bumbo seat
- Cadi Scientific (i bought the thermometer before. Braun still better)
- Baby supplies
- Cordlife
- Mustela
- Growing Fun
- Babysafe
- Mumsfairy
- Ocbc Mighty Savers
- Bumwear
- Moms in Mind
- Pharmed
- Grolia (sell books)
- GD Baby
- NTUC Income
- Nestle
- Kiddos
- Educational Technology
- Wyeth
- Pureen Diapers
- Raffles Creative

This one she not very sure but she said

- Combi

SY,
ya he's quite active and still play along with me lor. his pattern changed many weeks ago leh, till now the fever? and he's kind of rejecting his FM and porridge.. so now thinking hard on how to feed him

thxs SY.... hmm i lookin for FM and diapers offer....

some things r cheap so have to see see.

JMON, hope yr son recovers soon. it v tiring n helpless when they sick. u also take care.

SY, JMON, maybe lost of appetite due to fever too. when my son have fever few wks ago, he also eat lesser. then after tat, he will be back to normal n eat more. so dun worry.

tat time he kenna viral fever.

he could be teething too. but normally teething doesn't cause fever. it indirectly cause cos the bb will tend to bite on things to calm himself n then germs go in n they get fever.

normal sign of teething is drooling n crankiness. watch out for that.

We can always organise another gathering and see the hot mamas in real person better right?? hehe..

Dor Dor,
hehe.. shh..

Lbt,
the moderator didnt reply me leh.. how ar??
we quickly post and post and get it archived ok?

Pink Bunny,
wah.. so shiok!! the trip is so much better than my flowers..

Bluey,
your gal very chubby hor when young, is she still as chubby now?

Steph,
no prob. my pleasure.

steph,
yup, staying with the in-laws. that why i say he won't feel a thing because nothing change for him. if possible, i really want to get a house o four own real soon. i don like staying with the in-laws.

rain,
according to my hb, he say can't go back and stay overnight for one month but can go back visit.
but i really miss waking up at my house and everything loh.
miss having my mom to wake me up in the morning and dad nagging us to sleep early.
i don know, i am only 22. maybe time will really heal but. now i really miss home.

i am even very reluntant to address his mother as "ma". it is just so not right. (the feeling la).

anyway,
update on gynae check yesterday night.
doc han comment that my weight increased too much. oh my.
so quick check with you girls.
how much have you gain le?

and how does the doc weigh the baby inside?
when i ask him about the weight, he reply 500gm.
like not accurate lehz.

delphine,
i think going to archive soon ba... almost 100 le...
we will just have to keep posting.

pinkbunny,
so good
you going to holiday trip?
can i ask how much you spend on the air ticket and hotel?

Hi Bluey...all your babies look really cute..hehe is your girl attached to your cavaliers now? how old are they? do you usually bring them out?? we go to the bishan dog run every weekend! maybe you can pop by some day?

carters @ BKK: think you can find them almost anywhere..we found them on sale at the street markets juz below baiyoke suites, at platinum mall and at suan lum night bazaar too..the food at the restaurant near suan lum is not bad too...

wah so envious...my hubby super kiasu...remember I mentioned going to Japan some time back..well no cherry blossoms for me...

3D,

My gal ... yes, still as chubby. Quite worried for her as she looks a bit short compared to her classmates.

Qing,

I think everyone have different weight gain. But if your doctor says that you gain too much weight then you have to watch out on your diet.

Hi Annie,
My ds1 is 28 months, quite close in age to yours

Baby bottles
I bought Nuk and Avent, but used them about 3 times only 'cos ended up TBF till now... Have heard that both are good.

Pinkbunny,
Wah, shiok! Enjoy yourself shopping and makaning!

Independent mamas
That's the best way to be, really. After all, we are independent women, right? So when we become mummies, why should we suddenly become dependent on others for everything?

Book fait at expo
Just saw in the papers that there's a book fair starting today, at the expo - for those mummies who may want to check out children's books...

Do1nk,
you dun looks like put on 9kg, will you slim before preggy?

Qing,
me so far put on 7kg.. dun know consider huge or not..

seems this raining season made many kids down with fever and rashes huh. my boy also kena. he got mild fever after few days of his MMR jab, then it subsided. who knows fever came back again last weekend with big rashes all over his face and body, so scary.
this is the first time he develops rashes, he had never had that before...

delphine, 4Ds family, the nick is really cute..haha...

getting seat at public transport
me also hardly being offered seat, feel very sian and malu every time standing in front of people who pretend sleeping/reading. i gave up and normally stand near the door, it's still ok now for me to keep standing for 20mins. but if i'm very tired on that day, i will normally travel backward to Harbour Front, then take the same train heading to Punggol.. poor thing hor.

cordlife
i'm also thinking to bank my #2's cord with cordlife. hopefully got good discount at the expo.

3D.. I was definitely slimmer before getting preggie lor... hahaha! I think 1.5kg per month is the ideal amount to put on right?

anyway I tried out my old bikini last nite..it did fit, but I looked like a hippo in one... so don't think I'm gonna go near the pool unless I ge a new one haha

cordlife..hubby doesn't think it's necessary..haiz how to convince him that it could be a lifesaver...we never know....

Jmon,
teething normally drools alot. my boy's saliva is everywhere.. sofa, bed, toys, floor.. he even purposely 'paint' his saliva on me.
also, teething could cause milk/food rejection. maybe that's why your boy has no appetite?

Sonic,
haha.. still deciding to change my nick.. hehe 4Ds family sound like this mummy betting siao.

So far not yet, only brush her teeth daily with toothpaste lor.

Do1nk,
i cannot even fit into that liao, dun even dare to try on.

qing,

how many wks r u in? i think shld be alrite as long as u eat well.

my gynae never stress me even when i gain 20kg for my first preg!

this time round, I not going to gain 20kg... hahaha so scary...
tryin to control lor. but i hungry i still eat la.

so far, i gain abt 6.4 kg.

Sonic,

u 2.5kg? ... me none

So dun worry.
Me still very happy on the "zero" weight gain... me a bit crazy one.

do1nk,

My ckcs are 7 years old now. My gal is the "big" sister to her doggies peers. She commands them to go here and there, shout at them to stop them barking ...
Before my gal is here, my dogs always train for obidence competition one, now train for "sleeping" competition only. Most of the time, is "stay at home dogs". My female ckcs always get "bullied" by bigger dog in the bishan dog run and ends up hide in one corner, so seldom bring them there. Our preferred choice is the west coast dog run.

Weight Gain,
Normally within 1 month it is about 1-1.5kg. But we should be gaining more in our stage now. Baby growing bigger. In another month time, Baby can even survive if premature born.

Qing,
Soon with your baby, you will so busy that the homesick feeling will suside. Then u can nag at ur baby
So cheer up ok.

Cin bunny
Thanks! I’ll whack MBK for sure :D

Bluey
OMG so cute the 3 yi yi (round round) babies together on the bed!!

JMON
Hope your boy gets well soon. Sayang him over the long weekend ok? To find out if he’s teething, I know one sure way. Put your finger in his mouth! Hehe

Thermometer
What kind should we get? Put in ear type?

SY
Thanks for the book website. The cloth books are so cute! I’d like to get the mouse one at least. For obvious reasons hor? hehe

Giddy
Today yoga was very good. Was afraid I was going to be so stiff cos this morning woke up yao suan bei tong. After that I think too hot or maybe I eat too full the feel very giddy
now in office so guess should just take it slow and leave on the dot to go home and rest. Lucky got long weekend!

qing
Airfare I think it is $500 incl tax for 2 people on thai. Now got promo. Hotels haven’t booked yet but should be not more than $300 for 3 nights. We no need to stay Pratunam Princess kind.

do1nk
High five! I also want to see cherry blossoms and we were thinking of going this year but didn’t think we’d have a baby around this time. So next year lor. See you in Japan! Hehe. oh I know that place below baiyoke suites! I stayed there the last time. I think they will sell whatever is “hot”. The last time I was there it was lesportsac bags hehe

weight gain
Not sure how much now but last appointment was about 3 weeks ago, gained about 5kg

Qing,

you're so young ar?! no wonder you home sick.. i got married and moved out at 32 i also home sick lor.. hehehe.. me so paiseh! anyway, are you working? and you shd be able to feel your bb's movement liao right? so at night, can stay in your room and read / sing to your bb if you not comfortable with your inlaws yet. but it's in your best interests to get to know them and let them get to know you. it's not easy staying with inlaws.. take it easy.

i was always cooped up in my own room reading/listening to music until recently coz i don't like to watch the programs inlaws were watching. and sometimes after work very tired so not keen on small talks with them too :p

don't know what to say to your parents when you call them?! hehehe.. gossip lor.. but not very healthy and not advisable. so best is update your parents abt your health now. don't worry. they'll love your bb as much as if not more than they love you ;)

Weight gain:
ermm.. looking at the posts, i think i'm underweight and my bb shd be quite small.. i only gained 1 kg every month :S think i better check with gynae during next appt.

OMG steph, that's so funny!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! better than my post-it pad! ahahaha.

btw just called gynae clinic. 32 weeks onwards cannot fly.

HAHAHA... ya i was reminded of the discussion here abt hb not listening to us and some of you stand in front of tv just to talk to them! maybe next time we can try this method... hehehe..

garfield,
i am in week 24 le.

bluey,
you have no weight gain?
is your tummy showing???
curious...

rain,
we are only half way thru.
still have to wait for quite some itme before we can start nagging at the young ones.

pinkbunny,
wow, go thai also need to spend so much money ar?
at least must get ready to spend $1500 on the trip and shopping ba?

steph,
ya, working full time loh. out in the work field for almost a year le.
fortunatley got the 3 months thingy, if not depend on my hb salary not enough loh.
as we both just started working, salary also not a lot loh.
and we just start on saving got not much money.

anyway,
and baby very active loh, kicking every now and then
but i have yet to see bump lehz. don know if it is my fats too much le or what.

qing
we are staying 3 nights. thai is the cheapest flight now loh. but haven't checked papers yet. maybe got package deals.

i think my jeans too tight. babyD kicking alot haha

qing
Dr Han doesn't really measure weight of the bb. he always estimates only and he estimates by feeling the bb size. but he is not too far off in his estimation. previously he told me my boy ard 2.6kg and when born he was 2.85kg.

so far i gained 2kg. how much did u gain?

i think u will get used to it soon. when i first moved out i also missed home. i have home cooked meals everyday when i was staying with my parents. so moving out was a huge adjustment cos everyday got to eat outside food etc. then at home got maid but when i move out i got to do my own housework.

u will get used to it one.

youpi
yeah times book fair. i have been banned from going to anymore book fairs...

sonic
i heard taking MMR jab more likely to get fever. may not be related to the rainy season.

i have brought my son to dentist before. i went to bites inc at tanglin shopping centre. not too bad.

steph
weight gain and bb size not related. if u gain very little weight, it means that you are actually losing weight.

re weight gain
depending on whether u start out normal or under or overweight, there are some general guidelines. i think for normal weight, the ave weight gain shd be 10-12kg. for underweight, need to gain more and for overweight of cos gain less.