(2008/07) July 2008

pinkbunny
for the herbs, if u can ask pple to buy from msia for u, it is RM 1 i think. ard that price. i asking my fren to help me buy cos her sis always goes to msia.

but if u can get a good deal from the medical hall, i dun mind joining the BP.

re taka fair
i just went to taka fair. think i will go back there again. wan to buy mattress. dun think got a lot of good deals there.

CL
just the CL is it from malaysia ? R u all applying temp work permit for them ? Coz previously my SIL the CL only manage to get 4 day stay in S'pore so she only do 4 days for my SIL.

the other day i mention to my CL she say will want me apply temp work permit for her than the cost share btw both of us.

serene
i think some CL dun get work permit. they apply some kind of pass then every 14 days need to go back and stamp. of cos not very legal actually so they usualyl dun tell pple they are your CL but will say they are your relatives...

sally
i haven gone to look at tangs. maybe will try there. just now at taka fair i saw a maclaren 200+. thinking of getting that for my boy then let my bb have the combi.

SY
i check with 1 of my friend she say the 14 days pass is just a normal chop when they go through the custom vaild for 14 days, but somehow nwdays the custom give some CL very short days stay in s'pore like 4 to 7 days. that y much more safe to apply for temp work permit valid for 1 mth.

youpi
U so lucky ur son sleeps at 8+pm. My son now sleeps at nearly 12am already n normally after he sleeps (if I dun conk out with him) I will be online till bout 2am.....hehehe

dor dor,
ur son sleeps at 12am!!! Then wat time does he wake up? My ger nowadays 10.30pm sometimes she still dont wanna sleep
We need to make her sleep *sigh*

Re : Mother and Babycare at Expo this weekend
Do u all think worth going anot?

celeste blur
i trying to call the org to check who are the exhibitors. anyway , i may pop by. will come by with reviews if i do.

serene
i see. i think if the CL willing to apply the work permit, then better. less troublsoem also.

serene
i heard that now their permit is for 28 days so don't need to apply. but better check la. mine is local so i dunno

SY
wow RM 1 is cheap! i don't think i will go into malaysia and don't know anyone going in la. and even if got BP at medical hall (sounds so funny), don't think it will be as good a deal. anyone going malaysia?

tangs sale
actually i didn't find much there. pumps lor.

mother and baby fair
ya me too wondering if mother and baby fair is worth going. anyone going? my bro getting married on sun. thought can go between tea ceremony and wedding dinner cos my parents place is at tanah merah. in the end i can go for tea ceremony but 1) must hide in room when bride arrives and 2) must skip the being served part.

dora blanket/throw
mummies, sally and i couldn't find a mutually convenient location to meet for the blanket. it's still avail if anyone wants. i live in tiong bahru and on saturdays i have yoga class at forum that ends at 2pm. if this fits anyone who's keen, let me know. fasterfaster!

shocking revelation
mummies, in a month (or less) we will be in our <font color="ff0000">THIRD TRIMESTER</font>!!!!!! oh my gosh oh my gosh oh my gosh!!!!!!!!

reminder, dun forget to let the milk powder companies know abt your bb so that they will send u the sample for the milk powder from 6 months onwards.

celeste blur
do u ahve a routine for your gal's bedtime? last time when my boy was young, also very hard to make him sleep. then we establish a routine. we will bring him into the room at 8+, do some reading, singing (my hb will play some rough games but i try to discourage that) then at 9+, we will give milk, water and brush teeth then turn off the lights. initially it may take some getting used to but after some time my boy got the idea it's bedtime. so unless we are out, his bedtime will always be btwn 9.00-10. he will roll abt on the bed and mattress but eventually fall asleep.

celeste
He used to sleep at 9+pm but dunno why maybe older liao he still willing to sit with me to watch tv but only nearing 12am then will drift off to sleep. But he wakes later too used to be about 10am now he wakes 11 or 12pm. So I get to sleep in more too la.....hehe

Expo
----------
Not going too far already n normally nothing much for me to buy so will skip.

SY,
me thinking if wanna drop by on Friday since its PH then reach there when it opens prob not so crowded....but wondering if worth going all the way there anot. *lol*

For night time, yes usually we try to ask her to sleep around 9+ to 10pm if possible. Last time she still can mange to sleep around 10pm most of the time. Nowadays even 10.30pm she still like quite energetic! *sigh*

dor dor,
Hehe....at least ur boy wake up late. I try to make my ger sleep earlier cos morning 6.30am we will pull her up and need to get her off to childcare....if she no sleep enuff she will be very grouchy one...*sigh*

celeste
I also sort of have a routine for my son like SY since he was born. Cos my hubby goes at work at 8+pm nearly everyday so once we 'bye bye' Papa its lights out(jus a small nightlight on).
Then my son will lie/sit beside me on the bed while I watch tv. N if he keeps talking to me I jus tell him I wanna watch tv ask him to keep quiet......heheehe
Normally after awhile he will fall asleep. But now he will sit with me all the way until he sleeps at nearly 12am. So by the time I also tired already sit there so long with him until I stone.......haahaha

celeste
Yah I hate the grouchy part when they lack of sleep. So sometimes my son's late wakeup time also got abit of prob for me lor. Like his jabs normally schedule at 11am so gotta rush n wake him up then his timetable messed up liao.

seriously, am i the only goondu who is shocked at the fact that we will be in THIRD TRIMESTER soon, which means we are very quickly moving into ALMOST GIVING BIRTH stage soon? everyone else is taking it nice and slow and swelling gracefully when i am the only idiot jumping around and screaming??

pinkbunny,
cannot lah...if my ger fall asleep at 7pm i tink she will wake up at 3 or 4am! *lol* Then i die also...haha

dor dor,
ya lor....when u drag them up they whine and cry and scream and struggle...really headache...*sigh*

pinkbunny
Jogging??.........hahahaha
I try to make my son tired out by letting him play in his playroom before I bring him in for bed. But he never seems to be tired leh I'm the 1 who is tired n will run back to my aircon room to hide......hehehe
Worse is if they r too tired they be cranky too n still dun wanna sleep. That is horror man hahaha

dor dor,
ya ya...when they super tired out and refuse to sleep kind...scary...can take like at least 20mins to tahanz their nonsense!! headache man! *lol*

pinkbunny
I am opp from u......
How I wish I'm already at 30wks......hahahha
So I can see my bb faster n not having to constantly worry if she's okie inside. N I can go back to shopping sooner. Now still gotta wait at least 3 more mths leh....kekekke

dor dor, celeste blur
how long is their nap in the day? my boy only takes one nap a day. but i noticed that since we have a routine, no matter what time is the nap in the day, he will still sleep ard the same time each day. once i bring him into the room, he cannot go out of the room. so he roughly knows that it is bedtime.

as for waking up, i also need to wake him up at 7am for sch. sometimes he auto wake up but nowadays he has been sleeping past 7am. and he wants to laze hwen he wakes up....

i dun think they will tire out from playing in playroom. my boy can go on and on reading if i dun turn off the lights....

SY,
for my ger her naptime is approximately 2-2.5 hrs. Cos she is in childcare so her naptime is quite fixed one. Even during weekends she usually nap around same timing unless morning she wake up late.
Ur boy is gd...can read by himself? My ger super jiatlat cannot concentrate on one thing. Pull me play jigsaw, matching cards, then pull me off go play ball, play drawing on the easel board from ikea etc...super tiring for me! *sigh*

SY
My son naps once a day at most timing vary on wat time he wakes. But will be bout 1hr+. But sometimes he gets too much fun or if we r out he sleeps very late at 6pm. n if he doesn't nap in the day he will sleep at 7-8pm but def will wake about 11 or 12. Then he will only sleep with us after we finis our chores So messed up night sleep already.

hi non first time mummies

i brought my ger for her jab last week and PD advise me to let her take the flu jab asap and not wait until the outbreak happens like in HK now.

I will schedule my ger prob this week or next week. FYI...

as for schedule .. my ger also has a bed time schedule. Depends on her nap time of the day, she will drink milk between 9+ to 10+. Will then wash her up and change her into pyjamas and all lights off after that. She knows it is sleeping time already. Sometimes, she beg me to bring her outside though she is mobile enough already. But I said NO .. she will cry a bit lah .. then still kuai kuai lie down and sleep.

celeste blur
her naptime is pretty long. my boy never naps more than 2 hours. hee, but got 2 Sun, he slept more than 3 hours. so happy...he was sleeping in his cot for about an hour and half. then after he woke up, i put him beside me and he slept somemore. got one day slept nearly 4 hours. but at night still sleep before 10.

my boy doesn't really read by himself yet. he will jsut tell me he wants to read book first before sleeping. so we will read. i will read with him or sometimes he pretends to read to me. he can do something for quite long as long as it interest him. so we can spend quite long reading books sometimes.

pinkbunny
hee, once u see your bb gal u will forget about all the birth process. even as my gynae was sewing me, i din even feel anything cos i was just looking at my bb.

dor dor
maybe need to do only quiet activites at night with him? at night, i restrict the activities to reading and singing. though he will still run and jump abt but he gets the message that it is night and time to sleep. but nowadays he getting difficult at times as he will tell us he doesn't wan to sleep but wants to do something else. so we have to force him. a few times i will tell him if he not sleeping i will leave the room. that works cos he likes me to be in the room.

hi pink bunny,
you dun wanna to save the dora blanket for your princess??

Mother &amp; Baby fair
when is it?? maybe go there get freebies.. hehe cheapo mummy..

it's like an exam. i know the freedom i will have after, i know the relief i will have after, in can even take the studying before the exam, but it's the actual being in the exam hall and opening the exam script that i'm scared of.

delphine
by the time i save save save, it will be 2 years. no prob la, just give it away now. pay it forward
you want?

hey if anyone who is going tomorrow wants the blanket BY TONIGHT, let me know so i can bring ok?

mother and baby fair starts this friday, till sunday at expo

SDs family
i remember last time got this fair that i went gave free milk powder sample and the person kept handing out to me and i end up getting 2 tins of the same one. hee.... but must be very proactive to go and ask for samples some times...

anyone knows who are the list of exhbitors? i have been calling but no one pick up.

SY,
haha.. save milk powder $$..now super EX leh.. but everytime the fair do not have abbott brands..

Pink Bunny,
ok.. then i chop your blanket.. hehe. See ya tomorrow..

hi delphine, ok ON! i bring the blanket for you tomorrow. don't care, you have to take it ah, i don't want to bring home! hehe.

wah SY, thanks for the tip! i will go for the fair and be very thick skinned and ask for freebies! but of course must put on earnest face and look like i believe everything they say right? hahahah

delphine, not cheapo mummy. it's SMART mummy!!!

see you all tomorrow, i'm going off soon liao.

3Ds
i remember i got a lot of promil samples that time....

pinkbunny
u can also register yourselves with the milk powder companies and they will follow up with u to send u samples when the time comes. or just do it online. or call them.

sally
i think sounds like volvo or something like that. i go again and see and let u know.

babysafe will have some offers at the babycare festival. trying to ask them what are the offers. dunno whether they will share or not but they said they ahve some good offers at the festival

Dor Dor, SY, lbt, Celeste Blur,
I put my boy on a routine from quite early on. He used to sleep at 7pm and wake at 7am, nap two hours during the day. It was an adaptation of Gina Ford lah. But he would wake up during the night to nurse.

When I went back to work when he was one and a half, his sleep time got pushed to 9am and he would take a longer nap in the aftenoon.

After I resigned and became a sahm again, I modified his routine to the 8pm-7am sleep time. The only difference is that he has dropped his nap, so I don't get any break during the day!

Babycare festival
I feel like going there to kaypoh even though I don't really need to get anything at all. May go on Sat morning. Anyone?

Moms In Mind will have discounts on nursing clothes/bras, slings etc.

lbt,
Hope you don't mind me asking: How old is your daughter and how much does the flu jab cost? Who is your daughter's PD? Now I am wondering whether I should bring my son for a jab or not.

lbt
are they too young to take flu jab? maybe i shd let my son take also cos he is going to sch

youpi
hee, i know what u mean abt going there to look and see. just to see what good buys there are also.

youpi

my ger is coming 19 mths. I dont know how much is the flu jab .. hehe forgot to ask. My ger's PD is Dr Ngiam from SIngapore Baby and Child clinic.

SY

i think flu jab can be taken after 1 yr old. I remembered my fren's son took the jab shortly after he turned 1. ANyway my PD has given the green light so shld do it lah. I am giving her the jab on 28 Mar since she just took the booster jab last Fri.

SInce ur son is going to school, you shld give him the jab !! just in case lah ..

My PD always tell me if the kid is staying at home, we can do the jabs slowly. But if going to sch or overseas, shld ensure they have their vaccination done asap.

SY
Night time we dun do any activities at all after I switch off the lights we will jus sit on the bed n watch TV. I won't play with him 1. If he naughty I jus tell him I dun want him already then he will quickly slump back beside me. But now no matter wat he jus lie there for very long still dun sleep 1 leh.
But then again jus now he sleep at 10+pm liao. But think he not feeling very good cos teething his molars all 4 coming out afternoon cranky liao lucky now okie *touchwood*

youpi
So ur a sahm now too?? Hi 5...hehe
Yah if they dun nap in the afternoons very hard for us to do things. Esp when my little itchy finger likes to touch n play with everything.
I can't change my son's sleep schedule much cos it follows my hubby's work schedule more....hehe
So when hubby's home there's like no schedule.
The only timing I try to control is my son's wake time the later the better so I can sleep more.......hehehe

hi mummies...had a lousy monday...my back's been aching badly and it made me so grumpy the whole day...the only good thing was going home to my dog n hubby.. n feeling the little baby move quite strongly last night.. but funny..each time my hubby puts his hand on my tummy, the little one lies still haha

anyway...PB..you are not the only one..I'm someone who's got very low pain treshold, even normal jabs make me shiver, and I used to tell my mom.. I'd probably break down in tears and go hysterical, and they'd have to strap me down and I'd probably pass out from all this chaos even before it's time to deliver hah! lately met up some friends who juz delivered, and got more frightened listening to their stories *gulp* I dunno how I'm gonna do it man.. and it's AKAN DATANG! 5 months to go and the clock is ticking!

*SHIVER SHIVER*

morning everyone!

i slept through most of the night but i'm so tired this morning :S and my neck hurts

last night we had a mini show by babyD! she was showing herself through little bumps in my tummy. i was in the room, reading when it happened, and i screamed for hubby who was watching heroes outside. but 1. he didn't hear and 2. i think my loud voice scared her cos she retreated hehe. but she gave a small preview to papa la. he's jealous that i saw so much more. i told him HUO GAI!! who ask him to be so gian to watch his show rather than his daughter!

morning ladies,
bz day yday at work so didn't catch up. but can look fwd to holiday on Fri.

do1nk, pinkbunny,
i've been having neck aches recently too. and last night, hubby felt the movement for the first time! he was so excited! hehehe..

don't listen too much abt the delivery process of other mummies... scare yourself only. now i stopped asking liao. even when they offer the details, i try to change the topic by saying i'm opting for C-section ... end of story. :p

Expo fair:
heard the fair may have some stuff on good bargains. i'll be going to stock up on the smaller-ticket items.

i told my husband of course i scared la. it's like a watermelon coming out of something the size of a tennis ball. and to illustrate it further i said 'try to imagine a tennis ball coming out of your kuku'. he tried to change subject. i think he can understand now. haha

but i guess women are made to be strong right? like last time in china (anyone did "the good earth" for lit in school?) they work in the fields until it was time to give birth, then after giving birth, back to the fileds liao. clap clap.

told my husband i don't want him to be looking between my legs when the baby comes. 1. he can't do anything there also, might as well let the gynae take care of her. so he can be with me and encouraging me. 2. i think if he see me like that during birth, it might have some adverse effect on our sex life after. dunno?

another thought provoking comment brought to you by pinkbunny pte ltd

lbt
let me go and check out the flu jab. think it is impt esp with flu season nowadays...

i m behind in my jabs cos my boy was falling sick. he hasnt taken his booster and MMR yet....

dor dor
u let him watch tv at night? i try to restrict my boy's tv time. maybe he finds the programs so itneresting so he dun wan to sleep..

do1nk
hee, same, when hb puts hand on tummy, bb will not move one. quite funny. like teasing him

re expo fair
mummies who wan to buy babysafe stuff, they said that they are looking at min 30% off most items. good time to buy!!!

pinkbunny
dun think too much abt the birth process. nothing that u can imagine. anyway now we have the choice of epidural. it is a lifesaver!!!

it's ok lah. my hb was watching the whole process. he said it was really bloody and i think when he sees gynae sewing me, he feels the pain. not a bad thing mah, then they will really know how much u go through just to give birth.

after i gave birth to my boy a few months, hb did surprise me with a necklace. dunno whether is it for all the hard work but i like to think that it is a gesture to show his appreciation....

pinkbunny

hehe your hubby wont have the chance to stand in front of your V and watch the process lah !! your gynae will be sitting in front of you with your legs wide open.

in Mt A, the sisters will always get the hubby to help out during the delivery. During my delivery, hubby is in charge of pressing my head lower during the push. Sister says can push easier when head is lowered. So hubby is standing beside me.

SY

hey your boy turns 2 oredi right ? Did MOH send you warning letter on the MMR jab ? My fren kana warning twice before she sent her boy for the jab. ahha

oh my gal completed all mandatory jabs liao. Next will be flu jab only. nowadays bb very cham .. kana jab so many times ahha

and .. your hubby is sweet !

lbt
nope i din get the letter from MOH...i was also surprised cos i heard so many stories abt getting letters from them but no leh.....

anyway i did intend to bring him but cos that time he had a bad case of allergies and he was on steriods so PD said cannot take any jabs for the next 6 months.

ha, my hb does surprise me once in a while. that time he also very funny. i saw this necklace that i like but he said not nice. then after that he wanted to buy jewellery for me and he went with a colleague. in the end, his colleague picked the same one that i picked. so he got the one that i liked....

labbit
that's good to hear, that hubby will be forced to help! but... the sisters will be in the ward too? like praying for smooth delivery? wow. this morning while walking to office i was thinking 'what if i curse and swear in the delivery ward?' some more now you tell me the nuns will be there. gulp. what if the nurses all give me funny looks when they see me at the nursery after? 'ya lor, that woman lor, yelling all the vulgarities in the delivery suite'. jialat. maybe i should ask for one of those dog muzzles

SY
i guess you're right - we can't imagine how it will be anyway so might as well not think about it. just wing it la!

yup your hubby is very sweet
can someone hint to my hubby too please? oh btw did i update about the whole diamond issue? i asked him if he remembers his mother saying that she will give me a diamond when i give birth (she said before i was pregnant). and he said no he doesn't remember but it sounds like something that she would say. hmmm.

hair
anyone realising that your hair is looking thicker? i buey tahan, want to cut liao!!

back ache
do1nk, i bought a heat pack from guardian (now only $1 per pack) - stick on clothes one instaed of on skin. i prefer. cos the stick on skin kind, when peeling off very pain la! maybe you can try too
i long time never put liao but last time it used to help with normal back pains (not pregnancy kind)