(2008/07) July 2008

Why need the cooler bag?
I was searching the same website when I was searching for Medala. The price is quite similar, except Amenda sold in US is different from local in term of the packaging. Got more items included for that price loh.

Garfield,
Was it you who told me baby fair is selling Amenda pump only? I tot baby fair not yet here ler.

pinkbunny,

i dunno how old you are. but i'm crossing the mid 30s soon so i'm not very far from the 4s.. even so sometimes i dun like it when friends ask their kids call me auntie! hahaha... so i think your mum is still in denial and you have forced her to face the "4". hehehe...

i know what you mean. like yesterday at isetan, my mum kept asking me to wait for her while she go grab the stuff i want. she said too crowded to be walking ard. i told her.. but there are ladies with tummy even bigger than mine walking ard !!! but very touched la.. my mum very traditional type.. not the mushy type.. my hubby even commented she has no emotions :S so very heart warming for me...

after a day of shopping yday and TGIF today... i no mood to work :p

rain
i think the cooler bag is for you to store the milk if you express out of the home.

cute pic!
1298805.jpg

steph
i think you mean force my mum to reach the big 5 la, not 4 hehe. about being called auntie... sudah la. ever since got married i resigned to my 'auntie' fate liao hehe. me crossing my third decade liao this year

ya it's just nice to have some concern. like with hubbies also. not that we cannot get water to make our own foot bath, but if they do for us, it's very nice right?

speaking of which, a few weeks ago when we were watching DVD, i was complaining my feet very sore etc and then my husband paused the disc and went away. i was quite irritated cos walau i'm watching halfway also lor, right? then he came back a while later with a foot bath. so sweet lor

pinkbunny,

WOW!!! you got tear or not?! hehehe... my hubby only turn away from his pc game when i face black black :p

nvm la.. we still have fellow mummies here to share share mah... ;)

pinkbunny,
I see. then the cooler bag MUST have item lor.

Steph,
Think my mum is very happy that I'm starting a family. My grandmum even happier. 4 generation ler.

Garfield,
If you are getting the isetan amenda pump, could you check if it include the backpack for the pump and if there is a cooler bag?
So far, it is pump + milk bag + milk warmer (contributed by pinkbunny) So to get cooler bag will be another cost. Taka is inclusive of the cooler bag plus some feeding bottles.

of course i super pai say la cos i was so fed up mah. i keep thinking "KNS so rude this man, just pause it like that". cos usually we will ask each other first mah. like "pause pause, i need to pang jio!" kind.

must see mood one la. sometimes i keep asking him for things when he's playing his dunno what AOM game then he also ignore me. refer to my story in one of the old threads about 'babe, got dishes in the sink you know'

rain
chope, chope! mine is:
<font color="ff0000">avent pump + cooler bag + baby bolster, and
pigeon sterilizer + food and bottle warmer + bottles</font>

you mixed up my items la hehe.

you're lucky la, everyone happy for you. my MIL is very very super happy. it's just my mum dragging her feet a bit. but i told her really too bad la, cos you marry so young and had me so young, if i want until you are old enough to be ah ma (like 50+) then i myself will be lao ah bu liao

Stephanie,
yuppies agree. But i donno how is it like lah, i still feel that having own ppl to take care of the kid is best. Like me now everyday my ger goes childcare, easy to sick then yesterday alone kenna bitten on the arm again *sigh* there are always pros and cons

JMON,
Usually its like this, cos we are used to our own parents oledi so our comfort level is better with them as compared in ILs. If I were to stay with my ILs I think i prob will have conflicts also

Evon Chan,
haha...agreed! But a bit sad cos the last 2 visits he forgot to give me a scan printout of my baby. Although this time is no. 2 but i still wish to keep the printouts for his own album mah

But me so far comfy also lah....thats why went back to him for no. 2...*lol*

pinkbunny,
wow...u are very young?

i'm turning 30 this year la. got younger mummies here la.

how can your gynae forget to give you printouts!!!

btw i must have said this befor ebut just in case: ladies please scan your scans. as in the printouts that you get from gynae, please scan them. because they are like fax paper and ink, will fade after a few years.

all mummies who are coming for the dinner, i will email you tonight!

18 march date, 730pm

1) pinkbunny - crystal jade, pasta de waraku
2) Delphine - anywhere
3) cin_bunny
4) doggiebb
5) blakmagic
6) labbit
7) do1nk - crystal jade, pasta de waraku, din dai fung
8) Jeanyard
9) bluey - Crystal Jade Din dai fung Magic Wok
10) qing - Crystal Jade
11) serene

bluey,

if u thinkin of getting handsfree, there is sale at expo nxt week on a kit which allows handsfree.

rain,
the adapter had to buy so that can use in SG. cooler bag for you to store yr EBM.
for me, I already have 1 fridge-to-go so doesn't matter if it comes w it.
yes the bb fair only nxt week open but i check w supplier liao! I kaisu!

Rain, pinkbunny,

most of our mums/mil will be very happy when we become mothers ourselves. imagine hor.. i've been telling everyone.. if i don't get pregnant by 35 then that's it! factory close. too bad! so when they know i was pregnant, they were more relieved than happY! hahahah!!

but it's good to have children when you're young. like my parents, now late 50s enjoying life liao. for me?! i think i'll have to work until my kid finish uni - and hopefully before i hit my 70s! hahahah

pinkbunny,
30 still okies lah
means ur mom had u when she was 19! wow she is young mommy!
haizz, i also forgot to ask printouts. But for my no. 1 printouts some are like a bit over 2 yrs still havent fade but i keep inside those photo album lah

rain,

ok i help u check since i goin isetan

btw, i think u dun need the backpack. heard ameda backpack is like any other backpack so to save cost u can just get a bag of yr own ya?

cooler bag is a must.
actually bb fair got one package
ameda + ultimate kit (the handsfree kit included) + dry bag + 1 fridge to go = $460 plus.

OH NO!! i'm the oldest 1st time mum here ar?!?! aiyoh... so ma loo... hahaha...

Celeste,
of coz i'll feel more assured if my mum / mil is capable of taking care of baby. but my situation and hubby's views do not allow me to leave kid with either of them. so bo bian.. it's off to infant care! unless i quit my job!!!

re: cooler bag/fridge to go/pump

well, mummies, dont say i pour cold water hor, but maybe u wanna buy these items after delivery cos normally u will think if u r going to continue to BF or not. this is my view lah. last time i kept bugging hb to buy pumps &amp; other things, lucky i didnt buy cos i cannot tahan engorgement pain.

well, if u r really persistent and die die must succeed in BF, can buy lor, if not it's a waste of $ and later still hv to 'get rid' of the things.

steph,

re: isetan card,
u can charge to isetan card on the spot then pay cash at the same time to the cashier. so u wont have to make payment when the bill comes. less hassle.

garfield,

I like that model becoz the motor is light. So bring to office, not heavy, thou I do drive.

Last time I carry PIS backpack, feel so bulky and heavy.

Jmon,

can ar?!?! i didn't know that. so far, my friends pay me cash then i charge to my card. actually not a lot of hassle la.. coz i won't spend the money before bill come. hehe..

Pill for engorgement:
before i forget.. mil and mum have been reminding me to tahan the pain .. do NOT take the pill given by doctor for the engorgement. take liao, our boobs will shrink to even smaller than pre-pregnancy size!!

celeste
aiyah i'm talking about many many years then will fade la. like fax you know? after 10 years then cannot see liao. quite funny - i was looking thru old files then i ask my colleague 'eh you file blank paper for what?' haha. all the ink gone liao from the fax

yup my parents became parents at 19 and 20 respectively.

JMON
really? can charge to card then pay directly? that's great! cos i always never keep receipts so when the bill come i will always have to think back hmmm what i buy ah? hehe

thanks for the advice re pumps and all

Pinkbunny,
I'm not talking what you buy lar.
Just to compare Isetan and Taka Amenda package.
Isetan fair I wasn't there ma, so I got the information from your post. I scared kena "sue" for copyright, so put your name there lor

Please don't forget to send the list to me too. I can't go, will be working on Tue nite. Maybe next round in April.

haha rain, won't sue you la! just thought better clarify in case other mummies also wu hui like me and jump to wrong conclusions

okie will send you the list too. you want to PM me your real name? then more consistent with the list mah

calling jeanyard and serene! PM me please with your numbers

Steph,
Understand....like me having headache whether to really be sahm after my no.2 anot

pinkbunny,
really ah....heng i got take a digital cam picture of all the scanned out pics placed together *lol*

garfield/pinkbunny/steph,

re: isetan card,

can, there were few times me and fren shopping at isetan. the purchases were charged to my cards &amp; i signed on the receipts and my fren paid the discounted price to the cashier on the spot.

i tend to spend the cash if i collect the cash from fren, so might as well let my fren paid cash on the spot to the cashier lor.

Pill for engorgement:

i took the pills. but sizes are ok :p

bu then i think i wld tahan the pain lor cos i dont like to pop pills leh

JMON
re isetan card: that's a very good idea. i will do that next time too.

re neh neh: don't forget cabbage/warm towel as suggested by some of the mummies!

celeste
i scanned each one individually. so can print again mah. know what i mean? cos if put all together then take photo then next time want to see again, a bit hard to see right?

pinkbunny
thanks for checking for me the price of ameda. Think I will drop by on Sunday to check it out.

garfield
you really did a lot of homeworks, even to the extend of calling the supplier on the upcoming Expo baby fair???!!
So the price at Expo baby still can't beat Isetan hor?

we mummies really have to count/compare carefully in order to safeguard our wallet's hard earned money. If my hubby is the one who is buying the baby stuffs, he will just grab it and pay, never bother to compare price. That's men.

Isetan sale is on at all their 3 outlets, ie Orchard, Tampines, and Katong rite?

steph
pardon my ignorance. Thought isetan credit card doesn't need to pay annual fee? Why do you need to pay $12 ?

sonic,
i cant remember the name of the pills i took leh. it's a very SMALL pill. i buay tahan the pain and was slowly into my depressions. so hb brought me to KKH 24 hr women clinic to see doc and get pills to stop pain &amp; bf.

pinkbunny,
the cold cabbage cannot stop my engorgement pains at all...

sonic
i think the sale is on all 3 outlets but orchard is the best la. the biggest. katong like very small.

haha ya my hubby also. want to vomit blood sometimes when i bring him shopping for baby things.

Think I missed shopping too much n was too engrossed in shopping I reached Isetan bout 11.30am then continued my shopping to Taka. Went back at 5pm to wait for my hubby to pick me n son at MRT station.
Who knows at home I found I got bloody discharge.....sobsob
Think I walked too much n it was such a big piece of bloodly mix transparent discharge (sorry for being gross) I was so worried it was my mucus plug. So after calling my gyne off I go for a checkup.
N with #1's case of early labour gynea not taking chances n I was given a jab(damn painful) n will be on pills to prevent contractions.....sigh
Worse of all I'm now banned from shopping trips.....sob sob

Sigh n I didn't buy alot of things leh shouldn't haven been tempted sia.

Pinkbunny
Not joining u ladies for din din. Tot might shop around there in the afternoon n see if I can catah u ladies if u meet earlier but....sigh me gonna be good girl n stay at home for now...sob

doggiebb
Me too bought from Mothercare but I find the material too thin very flimsy. I got 1 in Marks n spencer for about that price much much better quality but they dun always have button fronts.

do1nk
Yap now only got powder 1 for pigeon detergent the liquid 1 OOS island wide I searching like siao. But stocks should be coming in liao.

dordor..you rest well at home and spend time wiv your #1 okie? dun worry..we can cheong Great Singapore Sale again in Jun for more goodies

engorged boobies: hey I was told NOT to use the cold cabbage leh coz dat would reduce your milk supply permanently leh! so better to use warm towel...

heard of scary stories on blocked ducts where some had to use some scary needle to unblock it or worse..go for surgery..hope that doesn't happen to any of us...

what's the fridge-to-go and cooler bag for...to keep the BM cool when we travel from office to home? and is this fridge-to-go one good or juz like any other cooler bag?

This thread moves waaaayyyy too fast for me to catch up! Anyway, I had my detailed scan this morning and I am having another boy!

Dor Dor,
Do take care. Watch DVDs at home, surf the net, buy lotsa things online...

re: engorgement
yah, even when I express frequently, still get it cos machine is not as good as bb sucking effect.
buy the osim heat pak and put in microwave before expressing

dordor! take care!!

do1nk... NEEDLE? OMG....

youpi ... congrats!!!

updates!
was at OG bugis today. pigeon s54 diapers for $21.30. drypers s64 at $14.50. anaku nappy liners 150 at $8.50. BFREE if anyone wants, is at 20% off.

bought some iron ons at art friend, will iron on her romper this weekend
also, think next time i will do her name iron on the butt portion of her shorts when she start walking. hehe. so cute.

yawn... morning mummies. last night had a very bad cramp and i didn't manage to jump out of bed in time or wake my hubby so now my calf really hurts

but this morning i saw the little bumps on my stomach again! papa was on long distance call with his mama so he didn't come to see. i brought babyD to him but she didn't want to show anymore. hehe this girl got attitude!!

anyone knows where i can buy a tower fan? anywhere that has a sale? i don't think isetan or BHG or OG sell fans and not sure about tangs either. guess taka is the best bet.

anyone has tried pigeon diapers before? seems like most of their products are good so wondering if their diapers also worth a try

hi gals !!

GOod news .. i passed my exam yest !!! heheh finallyn freedom ! I've prep for the exam since Jan and having late nites. SO worried it will affect my bb's development but gynae assured me that late nites are ok as long as there isn't any strenuous physical activities.

dor dor

hope u r ok now. Ya pls be guai guai and have lotsa bed rest ok ?

re:eye examination

ok my gal went to PediaOPtix at Shaw Centre. You can call them at 96988188. Strictly by appt only hor.

their website is www.pediaoptix.com. There are other branches like Paragon, Mt Alvernia, Kovan, Parkway Centre,Jurong Pt, Siglap Centre and Jurong East.

youpi

congrats !!

pinkie

is ur leg ok now ? try to walk slowly. I hate cramps too.

btw u have not send the email hor ? I did not rcv it.

hiya mummies.. brought my son#1 (our precious pooch) out for a walk and juz had my yummy vegetarian beehoon wiv cold choc milk *burp*

yeah about dat needle poking thing to clear blocked ducts... hope it's juz someone trying to scare me..coz it sure does sound scary!!

tower fan: we used to have one..not dat fantastic..not strong and didn't last long...

wah talk about cramps..I'm someone who rarely gets them but few nights ago, in the middle of the night, I did a lazy stretch and was horribly woken up when I felt a painful cramp in left leg! youch!

pinkbunny..you mean you can actually see little bumps forming when you stare at your belly? wow cool! i'm still holding on to my tummy every nite to try so hard to feel my little baby...

lbt congrats on passing your exam...wat are you taking.. last paper to graduate? thanks for the optician's contacts... must set a reminder for ourselves in a year's time

labbit
you PM me your email add ok? cos i realised that you actually SMSed me your number and not PM it to me that's why i don't have your email add
congrats on passing your exam! woohoo!!!

thanks, leg is better now. lao gong massaged a bit for me earlier.

do1nk
tower fan.. thought it might be better to just 'move' the air in her room a bit cos the standing kind like very strong like that. if blow directly at her little body, i scared it will be too strong! tower fan thought can distribute the weight abit.

haha my cramp is also on the left.

yup can see little bumps when i feel the kicks la. but it doesn't stay there. just bump and go away. think about movies like alien 3 or something haha.

baby movements
my MIL says that if baby is active in tummy it means when born, will be quiet and calm. and the opposite for quiet tummy babies. dunno if true or not but she said it was like that for my hubby and his bro.

hot date email
all mummies who are coming for the date, got receive my email?

black chicken soup is cooking on the pot for me! yummy :D

Thanx mummies
Will try not to go out shopping alone with my son liao.
Actually bb's fine bleeding not from womb either n its a 1 time thingy but gynea not taking chances n of cos hubby is the happiest(secretly) I can't go shopping cos online shopping he can monitor ma. N I report to him before I checkout the shopping bags....hahaha

But maybe cos buying for #2 nothing much to get so abit sian lor can't satisfy.....sigh
Think must wait for the next ON sale then I can spree again......hehehe

youpi
Urrr watch DVD?? The only ones I get to watch now are brainy bb.....hahahhaha
Congrats on ur boy boy.

pinkbunny
do1nk not scaring u I heard of the needle thing before so we must be vigilant la any single slight pain on breast nia must settle immediatley liao cannot wait n see how.

Pigeon diaper heard its good but never tried.

Tower fan get at those neighbourhood shops normally will be cheaper. I love tower fans cos the wind is jus nice n cooling n best of all toddlers can't stick their itchy fingers into it!!!

lbt
Congrats on ur passing now can kiao kar liao huh....hehe

Eye examination
-------------------
Okie preggy brain cannot remember exact now huh but last yr was free leh.
If remember correctly its free for bbs below 12 mths n we did ours at TMC. I was told its the banks paying for it for all bbs that's why its free. But my brain can't remember if it was only for last yr or wat. Maybe when bb is born can check with the PD cos mine was booked at my PD linked to TMC 1.

dor dor

about sticking fingers in fan: normal fan also can buy those cover from neighbourhood budget shops/provision shops. very cheap $1+ or $2 only. then just 'wrap' it around the fan. good bye!

did gynae say why the bleeding? shopping stress?

dunno if i heard it from here. someone said buy a few more of those little kiap kiap thing (that we use to kiap socks) to hang baby's clothes. makes sense la. cos they're so small hor? neighbourhood shops also sell very cheap.

update! i ironed on baby's name to a romper liao hehe. so cute. 85 cents per letter from art friend (or have i already said that ah?)

got your mail pinkbunny..we juz have to remember not to say that reservations are under pinkbunny

oh so the tower fan's for the little baby huh.. are you guys all getting a cot and putting it in your room?

dor...yikes..so if we feel any engorgement coming, quickly pump n massage to release? but some people can't help having blocked ducts right?

wats the benefits of eating birds nest..anyone knows? for baby's good complexion?

little kiap kiap thing = umbrella hanger? my MIL's using the usual poles to hang the baby clothes out to dry..so u can see poles of little outfits out our window haha

hi.. anyone here using avent steriliser ar? is it good? i bought avent milk bottles... not sure if its only compatible with avent's steriliser or i can use it with other cheaper brands..

keke.. now doing house reno oso.. need cut down expenses here n there..

oh.. 1 more thing.. anyone heard b4 that orange-light steriliser works more efficiently than blue light ones?? as in kills bacteria better and does not emit harmful chemicals to milk bottles..

not exactly sure what blue light or orange light thingy.. cos tts what my int. design consultant told me.. she used to sell baby products..

pls advice..

thanks! ;)

do1nk
i think if you ask for reservation under pinkbunny you will hor lang chio (let people laugh) lor hehe

we got cot but prob not putting in our room. we converted guest room into baby room.

birds nest prior to pregnancy is supposed to be good for OUR complexion. a friend had birds nest for second pregnancy, not first, and baby's complexion is nice and fair compared to first. not sure if it's just coincidence though.

kiap kiap thing err no relation to umbrella. like we use to kiap socks and small things. so cute to see the little things hanging on poles
but i don't hang anything outside. my dad and hubby banned me from that cos my back is bad, plus it's dangerous. so we hang everything inside on hangers. easier also. but for baby stuff i guess we'll just use the kiap things

cheryl
i got pigeon sterilizer, pigeon and avent bottles (cos my pump is avent) and the pigeon sales promoter said pigeon pumps can take any brand of bottles. alamak what orange light and blue light??!!

ironing service
the other morning i was thinking 'hmmm this top must iron or not?' cos it was a bit wrinkley. in the end i bochup and just wore it to work. but when i got to work it was not wrinkled at all! another benefit of being preggie - no need to iron; the stomach will do the work for you, stretching the material till it's straight! hehe.