(2008/07) July 2008

pinkbunny,
can use toilet paper lah, i just used the tap water & Vagisil (brand name) foaming wash after pee and use toilet paper or sometimes cleansing wet wipes to tap dry leh.

steph
what time were you there? i was there 1-3pm. i think dordor was there before lunch.

Pigeon wet wipes (hard case) with refills $18.85 i saw also! looked like very wu hua but too heavy la.

evon
spam = stuff that you don't register for but people just send to you. e.g the 'do you want a bigger pXXXX?' kind of emails.

JMON
you very wei da! i think i cannot make it by myself. go buy that confinement book and ask your maid to cook for you! that one i recmomended is very good. very easy, and it also gives you the reason why each dish is good.

blakmagic
got your PM! now short of jeanyard and serene only. rain, if you want, can also give me your real name

garfield,
I juz on the tap water and wash! Cos my hse is not storage heater type so dont have hot water to every tap *lol* Juz wash wherever I am :p
I wash my bottom with those tap water also never care...haha
actually donno why must it be boiled water hah?
I hate confinement process, that time almost went gilaz like trapped at home *lol*

JMON,
you are great! Did everything urself during ur no.1!
But this time round you have maid so shld be better also...must take care of urself during confinement too.

pinkbunny,
i already have 1 book at home. aiya all confinement foods are abt the same. rice wine, sesame oil, ginger, etc canno run away one.

i can ask my aunt to cook pig trotters in vinegar for me *yummy*.

the items i need to ask hb to buy is minced pork, mee suah (if i get sick of rice), vege, lean pork, fish, etc

celeste,
ya lor, was discussing this last nite with hb. he was suggesting i bring the maid & my boy to my aunt's plc to do my confinement which i m hesistate to do cos wait later his mum sure got things to say one.

she already complained me behind my back liao.. there's no other things she WONT do.

Re : Confinement Food
The other day bought the Chinese "Wanbao" saw the article on the "Xiao S" that taiwanese host. She gave birth after 1 mth lost i tink 10+kg!! They said she ordered special confinement food costing bout SGD3k i think! And made those special "zhen xing nei yi" to wear....but the effect really looks gd dont look like just gave birth!

i actually didn't mind my confinement so much except for the pain in the neh nehs and the pain below in the first week!

LURVE the confinement food! YUMZ! then i was really resting! sleep and sleep until CL bring bb to me for milk every 3 hrs nia!

i was one of those who cried when my CL left! *blush*

doggiebb
haha me too i think i will like confinement food! i LOVE mua yew kueh and mee sua!

JMON
are you close to this aunt? i think confinement the most important thing is that we are comfortable with the people around us la. if you are not close to her, plus it's not your house, could be tough hor?

lunch time soon!!! very excited, can go and buy 4D! hehe. cos i dreamt of my daughter and she gave me numbers to buy some more :D so kuai, my girl! hehe

i very close to my aunt, we r like fren fren rather than aunt-niece kind of r'ship.. she's my mum's sis and she watched me grew up.

Jmon,

The Pigeon bottle warmer big enough to hold the Avent bottle coz warmer comes with a small container for warming food

And the Avent Steriliser can hold the medela bottle... i tested last night liao .. heng ar can fit otherwise sure kena suan by hubby...

pinkbunny,

I was there from 10+ to 12+ with my mum. then went back around 5 :p my mum helped me carry also lor...

I saw so many preggie mummies walking around and i was just wondering to myself.. dunno who is on the forum too hehehe... but super crowded... every thing like FOC!

So much post already.....

Looks like those who went for the Isetan sale have enjoy it very much hor.

The Ameda pump has a package at TAKA @388. Should wait for baby fair or not or buy now ler??????

Zhu Jiang Sauce:
Indigrents: Garlic, onions, tomatoes and minced meat. Can add in those cabbage type if you wanted cooked veggie, else just put the lettuce on the side whereby you pour out the sauce.
Sauce: Water,Oyster sauce, sugar, salt, tomatoe & chilli sauce. To thicken add corn flour. If you prefer those brown type, go easy on the tomatoe & chilli and use dark sauce instead. I prefer tomatoe & chilli. *It is very salty*

Cooking: Cook all the ingredients first then add in the sauce part later, keep stiring. Add the corn flour last to thicken.

As the noodles (normally I use mee sua) and veggie are tasteless, this sauce is very saltish and it is meant to complement the no-taste mee sua and veggie. If prefer lighter taste, go easy on the salt and oyster sauce.

Rain, u saw the Ameda pump package at Taka? wat does it contain of? bb fair selling at $350 for pump only i think. n if bundle with ultimate kit it cost $420.

pinkbunney, of cos can use toilet paper. u must wipe dry or else u get infection. I feel so lazy to take a the bucket of boiled water or with herb everytime i go toilet u see... hahaha

back from lunch...eyeing my tea time snack now wondering when I should "open ceremony" haha

STRAPLESS BRAS: the only non-wired kinds I seem to find are the tube bras..but this gives you arm scallops (fatty armpits..did you guys read URBAN yesterday haha) and I hate my fatty armpits! and most of my maternity tops are tube tops..

PINKBUNNY: wats mua yew kway? I dun like vinegar..so that's one confinement food I'm not gonna touch!

WATER: why can't we come into contact with water during confinement ah? dun think I can abstain from bathing and washing hair everyday..and if we do, we gotto bathe in herbal water or that ricewine+lemongrass concoction? won't we smell of rice wine and be coated wiv it then?

18 march date, 730pm

please also indicate a makan location so that i can book ok?

1) pinkbunny - crystal jade, pasta de waraku
2) Delphine
3) cin_bunny
4) doggiebb
5) blakmagic
6) labbit
7) do1nk - crystal jade, pasta de waraku, din dai fung
8) Jeanyard
9) bluey - Crystal Jade Din dai fung Magic Wok
10) qing - Crystal Jade
11) serene

- Cafe Cartel at Plaza Sing
- Crystal Jade at Plaza Sing
- Din dai fung at Plaza Sing
- Soup spoon (affordable) at Plaza Sing
- at Capitol Building/City Hall (affordable)
- Pasta de Waraku at Central/Clarke Quay MRT

do1nk ah

the vinegar pig trotters is to shrink the womb wor so its quite impt! and I LURRVE LURRVE vinegar, literally drank that by the bowls!

steph
me carrying red polka dot bag yesterday! got see? :D wah you champion, stay from 10-5pm!!! hey yesterday at isetan i asked one auntie 'this one the clothes are 5 for $10 is it?'. and she said 'ya. oh what size are you holding ah? 9-12 month ah.. this one i want one'. AND SHE TOOK IT OUT FROM MY HAND!!! I WANTED THAT TOO LEH! but i was too stunned to say anything.

rain
i posted yesterday about ameda package. go check it out! seem to be quite good. wah the zhu jiang sauce seems very yum!

do1nk
haha me too. hate my fatty armpits. always got extra flesh there. my husband say 'it's part of your boobs la', trying to make me feel better. please lor, whose neh neh go all the way to armpit one! no matter how i try to grab and squeeze into the bra cups, still got the fattyness. and i realise my armpits have become fleshier since pregnancy!!!

mua yew kway = sesame chicken. MY FAVOURITE!!!!!!!! no vinegar :D

water... i think it's cos they want to prevent us from getting hong sip when we are older la. and the concoction is supposed to keep us 'warm'. but ya, i think we will smell like a herbal factory.

reminds me of last time when went for oil massage at lombok then went out in the sun. walau eh. the oil maciam like making the sun cook me lor!

update udpate!

NTUC mamy poko NB52 = $16.75, S72 = $22.90!

and near my place got one small shop that is selling baby stuff, wah. $12.90 for 200 tollyjoy nappy liners! $8.50 for 150 anaku nappy liners. $14.90 for 2 pigeon wide neck bottles. hmm the nappy liners sounds like better deal here than any other baby fair or sale hor?

JMON,
u staying with ur MIL anot? If not staying with her then heck care lah, juz do watever you prefer, most impt you are happie with the arrangement

doggiebb,
I quite like confinement food too my hb's sis still can cook chicken chop for me!!! Hehe :p But chicken i tink supposed to take only after 12 or 14 days after ur delivery lah
She also cook fried beehoon all these one :p

pinkbunny,
how much is tollyjoy nappy liners at robinsons now hah? I usually buy when there's 20% storewide lah...so donno if its worth it anot

eh celeste you asking wrong person la. i didn't go robinsons. i went to tangs, isetan and taka. i bought some pigeon liners at taka but not sure how much. i think not as cheap as this place. and also pigeon laundry detergent is $7.50 for 1kg. i think that's the price i paid at taka lor. basket. feel cheated!

pig trotters in vinegar to shrink the womb? but very smelly la, the vinegar.. which I never take with sharks fin or bak chor mee...

mua yew kway: oh... why was i thinking of kway as in bengawan solo kueh haha

pinkbunny..wah your goods kena snatched from you? haha I would have responded wiv a loud WOI!

haiz..my arm scallops can't be possibly breast remnants lah coz my breasts are non-existant to begin with..sigh..I need to figure a way to squeeze them southwards....

pinkbunny,
oopsie...haha. Pigeon laundry detergent I tink I bought at $6+ from a neighbourhood shop near my hse. Somemore I think comes with the additional 200gram or wat.

pigeon laundry detergent: did you get the liquid one? I only found the powder ones (at taka too leh) for $6 i thought?

celeste,
ya i m now staying with ILs and i already heck care abt them, but then they still hv something to say one, esp MIL.

pinkbunny,
didn't take closer look at preggie mummies coz was trying to squeeze my way around. NOOO... i left for lunch abt 12+ and went Paragon. After my mum went home I went back to Isetan coz have to wait for my hubby to KO mah.

Confinement:
Ladies take heed on old folk's naggin esp with the water. My girlfriend gave birth overseas and didn't have any help. She had to wash everything and do housechores herself. no herbs whatsoever. now her whole body "hong sip" she says! so, sometimes must be guai.. listen to our mums and confinements ladies (afterall, we paid for their experiences and services liao!)

Evon,

start praying they will NEVER appear! hehe.. i bought the Palmers but hubby hate the smell. so bo bian bought the Clarins. there is the Cream one and the oil based one. i was given a sample of the oil based one which i find very good but have to apply on wet tummy. The cream one can used on boobs too! but expensive!!! $79+ after discount from Robinson.

JMON,
I feel that if stay with whether parents or ILs have to master the skill of one ear in one ear out!! *sigh*

Evon Chan,
how u find Dr Woody? Haha

Celeste,

and don't forget, sometimes have to turn blind eyes to certain things they do too, esp if they're helping to take care of your kid(s).

the pre-marital workshop i attended emphasised that we should always bear in mind that whatever the folks do, most of the times they did it out of kind intentions. i try to remind myself that whenever i see / hear things i buay song with... for the sake of "harmony breeds prosperity" i still waiting to strike TOTO hehehe...

pinkbunny
yes, me me me! I wanted to know about the Ameda price. $320 is for member on 13 Mar only? Does the offer apply to public? Think I can only go down on Sun. If I miss it, think got to wait till Mother & Baby Fair at expo next week.

wow, the anklet is quite reasonable. It's the mickey & minnie series? Must bring my mom to drop by poh heng one day.

garfield
I think the name for Ameda electric dual pump is lactative pump or something like that. The one I saw from the web http://www.ameda.com/products/personal.aspx is called Purely Yours. They look the same. But purely yours is so much cheaper, only USD149.95!! I'm still considering should I order it online or go get it from Isetan.

rain,
which website that you surf quotes Ameda's price is about the same as Medela? Hmn.. it seems that it's not true lah. maybe that one has factor in high margin.

lbt
which eye center/clinic did you go? I suspect my boy has slight crosssed eye, as he likes to play with small toys up close.

dor dor
your boy is so cute. my boy also likes to go 'arh arh arh', but he does that to his toy, no dog for him. But he's not afraid of dog even when he met a dog at my aunt place for the very first time, he was trying to play with the dog instead.

on the potty training,
think got to wait for a while now... he has been sick with flu and cough and fever (after MMR).. Lost his appetite, rejects porridge & milk… heartache..

Hi Celeste...

Think u shld kw his style la... Hee

When see him, he will ask everything okie? how are u? lay down and scan.... Haha...

Overall i m okie wih him...

vPOST has replied me on the shipping cost.
I have attached the email.

=================================================
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your email. Please be informed the shipping calculation is as follows:

$13.24+$9.16x5.45=$63.12

Thank you and have a nice day.

Yours sincerely

Shira
vPOST Customer Service Officer
vPOST
www.vpost.com.sg <http://www.vpost.com.sg> I [email protected] <mailto:[email protected]>

Sent: Wed 12/3/2008 1:25 AM
To: vpostusa
Subject: Enquiry on shipping charges ...

HI,

I intend to get a Medela 2008 Pump in Style Advanced Breastpump from hackleyhme.com.

The item is 16 x 12 x 18 inch and 12 pounds.

What will be vpost shipping charges?

==================================================

garfield yup I think I got the price right. $320. with a lot of things inside (milk storage bags and something else I don’t remember). Not sure if they got many sets but I overheard one promoter telling another ‘you got enough? If not I bring up from store room”. So I think quite safe la

do1nk
I was too stunned to react! And some more after yoga class mah, so I very relaxed and in my shan zai shan zai mode mah hehe. Suan le la. I managed to find more.

Hahahah kway as in chicken, not kueh kueh from bengawan solo! Keke. Funny ger you. me too, never been much of a vinegar fan. I don’t mind it in noodles a bit but I also don’t add it in on purpose into my sharksfin

evon
I’m not sure if $12.90 for 200 tollyjoy liners are considered cheap but it does seem more wu hua than what I paid at taka baby fair. Saw it near my office (Pasir Ris)

stretch marks
I heard that it’s genetic. Check with your mum if she has. Mine has but she said not very serious kind. I so far haven’t had any pop out yet. But I’ve also been quite kiasu. Started applying mothercare one from first trimester liao. From 8 weeks I think. Dun remember if it’s $12 or $18. I also don’t like palmers. Very smelly!

sonic
Hmm sorry not sure if the price was only for members yesterday or it will stay like that for public also. Isetan card is good to have btw. Got 5% off.

Nope not Disney series. The anklet is very plain and simple one. Only got one bell. I told the uncle I don’t want any of the ling ling long long.

mothers and MILs
Two sides of the coin I think. For me, MIL is not around so I have to ‘depend’ on my mum for advice. But she was quite bo chup in the beginning because I think she was upset at having to be a young grandma (49 years old). Like I robbed her of her youth like that. But lately she’s been telling me small things like ‘raining, floor slippery, must take care hor’. Which are nice gestures la.

What I would really like is to be fussed over with tonic soups and all. I think that shows a lot of love and concern, and that I don’t have from my mum. So for those of you who have mums/MILs who do all this for you, and do confinement for you, appreciate it!

sonic,

purely yours is USA version. here is called Lactaline Dual. it the same thing. U got to add shipping charges and adapter if u buy purely yrs.

i think wat as y buy from sg cos price will be v diff lor.

For medela, price quite big difference...
thxs bluey for the vpost charge.
if buy from them, medela will cost US 230 + sg63.12 + 65 for adapter - $15 offer... will cost around 500 plus plus... less than $600.

Think I cheapo prob i pop by Isetan to buy Ameda.
hope no need to be member to get this offer price.

pinkbunny,

your mum will change once she sees your cute girl.. my aunt was promoted in her 40s too and she wasn't too happy then.. but now her 2 grandchildren are so precious to her. heheh..

actually now we can't have too much tonic soup. ermm.. no one gave me a valid reason why tho.. best is still bird nest woh...

Isetan:

I'll be in Orchard tomorrow. hubby got hair cut appt at 2pm. If any of you ladies want to enjoy the Isetan card discount, PM me. we can arrange to meet at Scotts isetan around 2pm, you pay me cash, I use isetan card to pay for your purchase ;) what's in it for me?? so that i can hit the annual 2k spending and waive the stupid $12 annual subscription :p

steph
really? good, then i'm not the only one! i guess she is becoming more and more accepting la. just that she don't want to give up her 'hip' status you know.

aiyah it's not that i want the tonic soup, but i just want to be fussed upon by my mother la. she just tell me 'drink alot of black chicken soup'. then i buy myself from the market and cook it myself. not that i cannot do it, but it's still just very nice that someone else does it for you lor, know what i mean? sigh.

garfield,

Ameda is a very good alternative for medela.
I did ask for a demo at robinson once, I quite "turn off" by the "beeping" sound.

Oh yes ... the one in isetan sale, ameda include a "first few years" milk warmer.