(2008/07) July 2008

pinkbunny, confinement and babysitter were just a start of everything that followed! actually he quite poor thing. he keep quiet bo chap, i not happy, he comments too much i say he think too much! :p

steph
haha so funny! i think i will just test on the baby... (sorry in advance, baby!)

cin bunny
eh want to share GOON also or not? same thing, i order then pass to you together with the nepia lor. now it's out of stock, next week can order. also free delivery above $60. it's $14.80 for pack of 58 for NB (same price for S but for 63 pcs). how about we buy 5 packs (2NB, 3S) and divide everything by 2? it will be $69/2 = $34.50 each. it's actually $74 but i think i got $5 discount for first time purchase. if none of the other mummies are keen to join, then we can take this offline and continue thru email la!

haha i also think mamy poko is a cute name. in fact, at home i always sing the tune to my husband.

community message
yesterday at yoga class the instructor? teacher? conductor? was saying for beginners like us, we should be doing kegal about SIXTY times a day wor!

SY
Added u too....hehe
Yah I stayup very late cos only when my son sleeps then its MY FREE TIME....hehe
Luckily I'm sahm so can sleep in late me son normally sleeps till 11-12pm so I get my beauty sleep.
I never listen to my inlaws cos I'm the 1 taking care of my son solely why should I listen to them dun make sense lor anyway they are parents of 5 but dun even know how to care for bbs. Imagine my fil asked me to bring my son to see doc when he started dropping hair when he was a few mths old. I mean wah lao dad of 5 have never seen any of his bbs drop hair before meh its normal wat.
But its okie lah since my son doesn't really like them anyway....haha

pinkbunny
I never liked Suan Lam anyway cos its so far from the MTR...hehe
Prefer chatuchak, but why must they close it no business aah??
Those tie front I only let bbs wear during the 1st mth or so then I switch to rompers big liao wear the ribbon very troublesome leh.

Ask ur friends to give angbaos to contribute to ur girl's future education. That's wat I gonna do....hahahha

lbt
Mine's a GIRL.......hehehe
So my shopping spree starts....actually I already ordered some girly stuff from ON before I knew gender.......hahahha
Daring hor but never tell hubby...... hehehe

Millie
I do. But I heard 2 diff views on this. 1 is that its as good as birdnest the other is that its cooling so not good to take much.

doggiebb
The NTUC promo is cheaper then online. I'm gonna stockup liao.....hehe

Stephanie
Think they pantang so ask u not to get early. My mum too lor for #1 keep telling me dun need so early wait till 8mth. But tummy so big liao where got mood to go shopping n carry so many stuff. For me after detail scan clear liao should be safe enough to buy for bb liao.

cinbunny
Yah very hard to say when bb will wear the next size diaper. I still remember complaining about how my total BF son is so skinny still n suddenly he balloon at 2nd mth so chubby.......hahahha
Nobody believes he was born at 2.68kg.

Breastpads
-------------------------
1st time mummies better not stockup too much cos my cousin's wife didn't BF so gave me hers(1 n half pack) n I bought another 1 pack. Who knows I dun leak much endup with nearly 2 packs even though I BF for 1 yr.

Nepia diapers
----------------------------
I'm using the pants for my son now very good but newborn I dunno leh but its not that cheap lor.

Goon diaper
----------------------------
Used the pants also bout the same as Nepia quite okie maybe cos its also made in Japan ma. Might try it since cheap....hehe

celeste,
ya i know the teats shd be changed every 2-3 mths but hor i just lazy till i totally forgot abt it Lor lolzzzz

dordor
wow your son sleep until so late! does he sleep late too? at night?

i like suan lam cos the pace is not so kalang kabut. and won't get lost like chatuchak!

breastpads
ok just buy some :D

millie
birds nest my parents say don't take too much now. they say it's cooling. they're also bugging me to keep taking black chicken soup. now the soup maybe i take once every 3-4 weeks (lazy to cook it la!) and birds nest maybe once a week

if you are interested to make your own black chicken soup, it's very easy.

step 1: buy black chicken from market. ask them to remove the skin for you and chop into small pieces
step 2: bring home and wash. then use back of chopper to smash everything (i.e break all the bones)
step 3: wash again and blanch with hot water
step 4: put in DOUBLE BOIL POT when water is boiling. throw in some gou qi zi. boil on high heat for about 15 mins then bring fire down to small and simmer for about 2 hours.

usually i don't even need to put any other ingredients or condiments, it's already very tasty

* i've tried both in normal pot and double boil pot and the latter is MUCH tastier

Re : MSN
I also got msn...anyone of u all have? Hehe...can add me at [email protected]

Re : Breastpads
Me that time use 2 pairs of breastpad everyday, i donno how many boxes i used up. Tried both pigeon, tollyjoy, medela. Still find pigeon best but more exp than tollyjoy.

JMon,
Haha...me also theory lah...i only change my ger's teats when i find it too yellow or wat *lol* i tink prob every 3-4 mths...*hiak hiak*

pinkbunny
Normally my son sleeps around 9-10pm. N see his mood might sleep all the way or wake at 12am when Papa comes home n only sleep when we sleep at 2am.
I got quite good life now lah cos he sleeps late but when bb comes not sure if can continue that so will try to enjoy it for now......hehe

btw dunno wat I find so funny about this but I realise I might still have MS n luckily it really is morning sickness. Cos I had to wake at 9.30am on Wed for my detail scan at 10.30am. Thanx to the nurse whom I told her can book it ANYTIME cos I'm free whole day.
After I woke up keep feeling nauseous even after brushing my teeth n eating something. N it dawned on me I'm having MS......wahahahha

Think I'm seriously considering if I'm willing to have more kids next time cos I won't be having such goodlife wake so late when my kids r older.....hahaha

wah cin_bunny the jetsetter..thought you were going to korea too? you may be ableo to get carters anywhere.. i heard the shop at suan lum is very neat...when I was there, I saw carters at platinum mall, at streetside stalls near the hotel (was staying at baiyoke suite then) think you can find them at many places..cheaper than prices at pushcarts here.. BTW r u having a girl or boy?

kegel exercises 6o times a day?? I've beem doing ZERO so far...what's it for?

so have yo all thought about whether to deliver via c-sec or natural? epi or endure the pain?

do1nk
eh woman, old news liao la you. she came back from korean today liao! keke.

kegal
squeeze your pelvic muscles so that you lower your chances of incontinence next time. eg when you sneeze and you get a leak? how to squeeze - when you pee, try to stop the pee half way. that's the muscle. supposedly your husband will be happy also la

dordor
maybe you're just not used to waking up at that time?

eh i also stayed at baiyoke suite during my last trip (huai nian....). downstairs already got alot of things to buy!

let's talk about sex baby
i know it's a bit sensitive but can i ask a Q about sex? as in humpity hump, not 'gender'

giving birth
i would like natural and i say bring on the epi!!! i don't think it makes me any less of a woman if i don't go through 100% natural, and i'm not a big fan of pain. remember during blood test, gynae ask me not to faint? he wasn't joking.

ok i will just ask the sexy question and whoever feels up to answering can just do so. if not just ignore me ok?

here goes.

do you feel that it's different now that you're pregnant? like no mood/scared? for me it's no mood. for my hubby, it's scared that he/we will hurt the baby. i feel like it's not my body anymore, but rather a prime hotel of sorts and i have to make sure the hotel guest is happy and i don't want to disturb her stay...

pinkbunny: we have the same concerns.. but we tried anyway but only a while coz it felt soooo weird... and heard leaving sperm inside can give baby birthmark! didn't attempt again.. pity the hubby...

ok.. me KO liao.. catch you mummies tomolo. going taka now!

Have a nice weekend!

pinkbunny:
Feel like having but sometimes really not in da mood.. Poor hubby, he tot he wasn't good enuff.. kept on trying.. but but... u really get wet very easily.. but funny thing is.. no mood.. tis time round..

me too! sometimes all day can feel very up to it then by the time go home no mood liao. i don't really feel sexy clotheless anymore, like i'm one big blob. then every position is uncomfortable and challenging. on hubby's mind is too hard/too fast/too much/too rough can hurt the baby. but honesly i think it won't la. but when your mind is thinking about so many things you can get distracted lor. i also think maybe he can't see me as sexy wife + mother of his child at the same time. it's one or the other.

btw heard that sperm close to delivery date can induce labour.

Really?! Heard old folks' tales, sperm close to delivery date, bb will have cradle head.. Haha :p

During my 1st, we had it almost daily.. but this time round.. hmm... jialatz. LoL. Machiam under deprived.. Worse.. I dun even feel like touching/DIY for him.. :x Bad wife..

re: Nepia vs Goon
I still find Nepia cheaper because although it costs $15 but the nepia point can redeem $1 (when you accumulate 10 of it), so it's like $14 per pack.

re: Gathering
is it still on? I would like to join but please confirm date asap so that i can apply leave.

re: prenatal yoga
no one is doing yoga here?
pls join me. now there are more classes ($195 for 8 sessions at Tanglin Mall)
Morning classes avail on tue, fri, sat, sun.
Evening classes only thur

mama
wah your old folks tale even got rhyme leh! keke. i guess tiredness also plays a part la

jeanyard
welcome back long time no see! i'm taking prenatal yoga at como shambalah. i think it's $220 for 10 or 12 lessons. don't remember.

date is on, just don't know when. seems to be the most popular date and time is 18 march, dinner.

diapers update! seems like NTUC is good!

<table border=1><tr><td>Brand</TD><TD>Quantity</TD><TD>Price</TD><TD>Unit price</TD><TD>Buy from </TD></TR><TR><TD>Drypers WeeWee dry S</TD><TD>64</TD><TD>$13.04</TD><TD>$0.20</TD><TD>Giant </TD></TR><TR><TD>GOON newborn</TD><TD>58</TD><TD>$14.80</TD><TD>$0.26</TD><TD>www.diapers.com.sg </TD></TR><TR><TD>GOON S</TD><TD>63</TD><TD>$14.80</TD><TD>$0.23</TD><TD>www.diapers.com.sg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Huggies newborn</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>$9.80</TD><TD>$0.41</TD><TD>www.diapers.com.sg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Huggies newborn</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>$9.55</TD><TD>$0.40</TD><TD>Cold Storage </TD></TR><TR><TD>Huggies newborn</TD><TD>70</TD><TD>$21.25</TD><TD>$0.30</TD><TD>Cold Storage </TD></TR><TR><TD>Huggies S</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>$6.30</TD><TD>$0.26</TD><TD>Giant </TD></TR><TR><TD>Huggies S</TD><TD>44</TD><TD>$13.80</TD><TD>$0.31</TD><TD>NTUC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Huggies S</TD><TD>44</TD><TD>$14.50</TD><TD>$0.33</TD><TD>www.diapers.com.sg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Huggies S</TD><TD>70</TD><TD>$20.95</TD><TD>$0.30</TD><TD>NTUC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Huggies Ultra newborn</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>$9.80</TD><TD>$0.41</TD><TD>www.diapers.com.sg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mamy Poko newborn</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>$4.99</TD><TD>$0.21</TD><TD>Giant </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mamy Poko newborn</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>$12.15</TD><TD>$0.41</TD><TD>Giant </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mamy Poko newborn</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>$12.45</TD><TD>$0.42</TD><TD>Cold Storage </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mamy Poko newborn</TD><TD>52</TD><TD>$18.14</TD><TD>$0.35</TD><TD>NTUC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mamy Poko S</TD><TD>48</TD><TD>$15.99</TD><TD>$0.33</TD><TD>Giant </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mamy Poko S</TD><TD>72</TD><TD>$24.15</TD><TD>$0.34</TD><TD>NTUC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nepia NB</TD><TD>60</TD><TD>$15.00</TD><TD>$0.25</TD><TD>Nepia direct 6226 2650 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pampers baby dry S</TD><TD>46</TD><TD>$18.85</TD><TD>$0.41</TD><TD>Cold Storage </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pampers baby dry S</TD><TD>46</TD><TD>$12.13</TD><TD>$0.26</TD><TD>NTUC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pampers newborn</TD><TD>36</TD><TD>$16.50</TD><TD>$0.46</TD><TD>Baby Kingdom </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pampers newborn</TD><TD>36</TD><TD>$16.97</TD><TD>$0.47</TD><TD>Cold Storage </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pampers newborn</TD><TD>36</TD><TD>$17.95</TD><TD>$0.50</TD><TD>Giant </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pampers newborn</TD><TD>58</TD><TD>$26.89</TD><TD>$0.46</TD><TD>Giant </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pampers newborn</TD><TD>58</TD><TD>$16.20</TD><TD>$0.28</TD><TD>NTUC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pampers S</TD><TD>58</TD><TD>$26.90</TD><TD>$0.46</TD><TD>Giant </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pureen S</TD><TD>10</TD><TD>$2.70</TD><TD>$0.27</TD><TD>Baby Kingdom </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pureen S</TD><TD>66</TD><TD>$11.99</TD><TD>$0.18</TD><TD>Giant </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pureen S</TD><TD>66</TD><TD>$14.20</TD><TD>$0.22</TD><TD>Baby Kingdom </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sealer newborn</TD><TD>48</TD><TD>$9.99</TD><TD>$0.21</TD><TD>Giant </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

btw huggies is on promo at NTUC until end of the month. but judging from lao niang's research, it seems giant is still cheaper. also got nepia, 2 pack for $26+ but only size M and L

if i may bring your attention to PAMPERS NEW BORN. seems like at NTUC the price is significantly lower! unless lao niang bak chew huay and saw wrongly

Stephanie
Sperm leave birthmark on bb??...hehe
Where'd u hear it from?? No lah my son so far only has a small birth mark on his right hand.

Pinkbunny
Yah think first few mths won't have the mood for anything at all but last few mths still okie la. Actually only if gynea tells u no sex then cannot else its no prob 1. N yah doing it near edd can induce n some say bb will be dirty as in the sperm cover the bb but I dun think its true lah jus old wives tale.

Jeanyard
pinkbunny n cinbunny doing yoga I think. I would love to but there's no one to care for my son......sigh
N I can't possibly bring him along leh sob sob miss yoga so much.

isetan got sale too! 13-27 march with private sale 830am-10pm for cardholders. some interesting items:

- ENDO 1.2l thermal lunchbox with 3 microwavable containers. usual $39, now $19.90 + additional 10% off at isetan scotts for members on 13 mar

- ENDO 500ml thermal food jar usual $25, now $12. + additional 10% off at isetan scotts for members on 13 mar

also, little tots fair 13 mar - 5 apr only at isetan scotts and katong
some interesting items:
- avent express steam sterilizer, feeding bottle 260ml x2 and pillow. usual $203.10, now $131

- pupsik baby pouch carrier usual price $42.90, now $29.90

- combi truller stroller usual $559 now $359

OH!!!!!!!!!!! i just saw that isetan sale is 20% off avent and NUK and pigeon. and fisher price. got a few more but not so interesting. excitement central :D

AND watsons at tiong bahru plaza (not sure about other watsons) having small little atrium sale. kodomo wet wipers only $1.95! for pack of 70 i think.

too much excitement for a bunny in one day. got to sleep. goodnight all, have a nice weekend!

pinkbunny,
where's shambala? Forum mall?
place nice or not? see if you can take a photo without them knowing. now my yoga place is carpeted, so it's really comfy for us.
Now NTUC have nepia 2 for 26? wah, must stock up again. Last time bought about 10 packs.

dordor,
you should consider putting your son in childcare. what if you go on labour when you are with him alone?

Re: wet wipes
I'll be ordering Carlson wet wipes from supplier directly about $1.30 for 80pcs per pack but have to order 4 cartons (80pcs x 3pack x 8 bundles x 4 cartons) to get free delivery.
Will share with neighbour in the West. Anyone interested to join?

Pinkbunny
Actually once these bb products on sale will all be 20% 1. Now taka bb fair also 20%.
Sigh think I gotta miss the Isetan private sale this time tummy too big to bring my son along n chiong with the crowd liao.......hehehe

Jeanyard
I'm a sahm cos I want to take care of my son so not gonna put him in childcare. If I go into labour hubby will come back n I stay very close to my parents n inlaws. My mil is free actually a sahm too but my son doesn't really like her but when I delivering bopian lor. Unless bb coorperate n deliver on a weekend then my dad will be available n my son loves him to bits....hehe

Carlson wipes
--------------------------
Can post the contact here or PM to me???
I stay in the north so probably order on my own.
Is it fragrance free or got camomile smell?? I got small packs from JL before got camomile smell 1 but remember reading a thread say the new 1 no smell.

dordor,
I just purchase from one mummy who bought in bulk.
91463669 was the contact given.
not sure whether have smell or not. but tried it quite ok. at least for my 10mth old, who's skin is not as sensitive now.
Last time I used Angel wipes (from China!!) but the investor pulled out I think. so no more stock.

re: sex before labour

i think it's not the sperms lah. It's because the mummy is having orgasm and can cause contractions in the womb so early labour lor !!

so remember I say.. dont let hubby touch ur boobies when u reaching full term ! ahhah

Jeanyard
Thanx for the contact. I used Angel wipes before too bought from JL too n yah its gone once I wanted to order.....hehe
So now got this carlson wipe also cheap get this cheaper then always using Pigeon wipes so ex leh.

lbt
Urrrrr I think not only hubby cannot touch we also should try not to touch or rub. Actually I read before in a yoga book they say dun stimulate or rub our nipple or aerola(cannot remember exact) cos it might induce labour.

dor dor

yes right .. we should not. Some mothers even pressed on the breast and the colostrum came out ! it is soooooooooooo precious !!

lbt
Actually now when cleaning my nipple if press abit will have dunno is milk or colostrum also leh. 2nd or 3rd time mummies also have right??

dor dor

u sure ?? so fast !!

eh i haven try to squeeze my breast. eh dont lah .. reserve it for bb.

nite gal

morning mummies! seems like i'm the earliest today.. coz I have to work!!!! wow.. you mummies can stay up so late at night one ar?! latest by 11pm for me... Zzzz...

Retail therapy:
went taka and found the peg-perego stroller!! price was around $100 cheaper than Kaki Bukit &amp; Balestier. i also manage to chat with someone who appears to be "boss" and he said taka baby fair has the best deals for his strollers. Baby fair at Expo is to grab the other stuff which will be cheaper there. dunno how true though...

Steriliser
Anyone used the Avent steriliser IQ24? can it be used for medela bottles? would appreciate feedback. thanks in advance!

Dor_dor
aiyah.. you know la.. friends heard from folks lor.

but with the discreet talk here, think i can report to hubby... safe to proceed.. at least for these couple of months.. hhehe.. thanks ladies for sharing such intimate info ;)

Hi pinkbunny,

Which NTUC sells Pampers newborn (58) at $16.20?? Think it's very cheap. I might want to stock liao. But NTUC online sells 36pcs for $16.20... so, not sure if any specific one giving such gd promo...

Stephanie
We happening ma.....hahhaa
Actually think once u have given birth before there's nothing much to be paisey about liao.....hahhaa
At least that's wat I told hubby. Cos in ward nurse n gynea see everything liao u won't even feel paisey when feeding ur bb 1.
But I would say if dun do now when bb is here how to do??? Hahahahaha
I was acutally worried for awhile that we won't have the time n energy to make bb #2 but we managed....hehe
Got to see our mood n even bb's mood n timing liao so if got mood to do now jus do it lah....keke

lbt
I didn't squeeze my breast lah its my nipple.hehe
Cos when I cleaning if accidentally press abit can also see the milk 1. So abit confusing lor can keep till bb born the milk??.....hahahha
But dunno if its becos I was still Bfing when I found out I was preggy that's why my breast maintains milk in it. But think my boobs will be much bigger then previous preg leh cos now already fit my nursing bra tight tight liao......sob sob
I dun want big boobies mine are already enough.

Pigeon bottle trade-in
--------------------------------------
Heard this from a kind mummy in another thread.
Appreantly the pigeon booth at taka has this trade in offer. U bring any old milk bottle trade in n buy new pigeon bottles at 50%.
So those who have old old bottle pass down can bring n buy new bottles for ur bbs lah. Dun waste ma.....hehhe
But must bring full set eg. bottle, teat, cap.

Hi dor dor/Pinkbunny,
Thanks for your advice.

Any idea which brand breast pump is good ? Avent or Ameda ? Where can buy Ameda breast pump ?

Millie
Actually depends alot for breastpump. Wat works well for me might not even work for u. So gotta trial n error see which u prefer n ur budget.
Think Ameda 1 shop in PS sells but i dunno wat the shop name is forgot liao but it has branches else where too.

dor dor

same here leh .. i started with bigger boobs this time round cos I have not lose the wt from prev preg. U know lar, our boobs are mostly fats. and then when we start BF, oh no I cant imagine how big is gonna be. Ugly !!

Stephanie

I think any sterilizer works fine with any bottles. they all serve the same purpose just that some comes with special functions. I am using the Avent Steriliser IQ24. It can sterilise ur items and if you dont open it, it remain sterile for either 6 hours or 24 hours depends on the setting.

THe next thing to consider is what kind of milk bottle you going to use and that also sort of determines the size of the steriliser. Because Avent bottles are bigger, their sterilizer is more spacious. THat's why I chose it, cos can steriliser more in one go mah
can put in bottles, teats, pacifier, my breast pumps, glass bottles for storing milk etc ...

Millie,
I like Ameda pump. you can get it from Moms in Mind.
it's silent (can use when bb sleeping) and efficient!

Beverly,
I'm sorry for your loss. Pls don't get too depress but try again. Meanwhile take some tonic for your body.

cin bunny,
the schedule I posted is latest.
maybe you want to call them? 68360063
Come join me lah, me very sian cos I have breakfast alone every time before yoga. will go on Tue or Fri (use my time off or leave)

Jeanyard
Como shambalah is nice la. No carpet. Parquet flooring. Take photo? Don’t want la. Wait they run to catch me and now with the stomach I sure very clumsy one, cannot escape one!!! Yep it’s at forum

Wow $1.30 for wipes is very cheap! But I think I better not. I got quite a lot of wipes liao. Think better not buy so much now. Cos may dry up

Jessica
I checked the one at Tiong Bahru. Yup it does seem very cheap. Significantly cheaper than the other places hor? Dunno why.

Dor dor
I’m opposite from you. I’m very happy with my massive boobs! Haha. Ok la not massive but just much bigger than usual. Told my hubby better enjoy now while he can cos when it’s too sensitive I’ll stay away from him keke

Wah today at JL saw avent airflex bottles 3 for $24 in the promotion cart. Psychologically thought should be cheap but lucky never buy. After that saw in Tom and Stef, it’s even cheaper (22.30)

pinkbunny

if i am those who are originally A cup then become B cup i would be very happy. But i feel so heavy in front.

Friday I wanted to buy some cheap and BIG bras .. sian .. either too small or too big for me. Just cant find the right size .. no wonder cost $15 only aahha

but yet I dont want to spend on brands like Triumph cos may not wear when I slim down in future leh .. sian ..