(2008/07) July 2008

GOON leh? anyone used? seriously, new born babies go through 10 diapers a day ah? i'll be mixing with cloth diapers la but still, should buy maybe 2-3 big packs, no? 1 big pack is about 40+-60+ so still, should last about 1 week only if mix with cloth... wah...

hi ladies..

PUREEN PADS: didn't know these existed..thought they only produced baby powder haha

SUAN LUM MKT @ BKK: ya heard that they are closing down too..anyone going to thailand, go buy Carters clothes for your baby! manufactured there so super super cheap!

STERILISER: thought Avent IQ was the popular one? gonna inherit my younger sis' when her baby turns one so will start by using a big pot to boil first..

STROLLERS: eye-ing the quinny but taka no discount leh...

BB 1 MTH OLD ANGPOW: a bit paisay to tell people to give us cash instead of crappy gifts leh..kinda like the wedding dilemma where we didn't dare tell people to give us angpow instead of crappy presents like photo frames or photo albums leh..

NEPIA: wah sounds really good huh..must go look out for it..

and finally our hot date:

DATE: 17 mar/18 mar/19 mar
TIME: 130pm (lunch+shopping)/ 7 pm (dinner)
VENUE: TBC but prob town

1) pinkbunny - 17/18/19 all can. lunch/dinner also can
2) Delphine - 17/18/19. Dinner/ Lunch have to depend whether i can apply leave or not.
3) Sy - 17/18/19 lunch
4) cin_bunny - 17/18/19 - dinner. if lunch, i will try come out from office on 17.
5) Jmon - prefer 19 as i m very busy this mth due to year end closing
6) doggiebb - 18/19 - dinner
7) blakmagic - 17/18 - dinner
8) labbit - 18 dinner
9) do1nk - 17/18/19 dinner should be ok

GOON sounds funny huh...diapers made for goondu babies! haha

BFREE BOTTLE: Bfree is a brand I think..and there's the Dr Brown's Bfree bottles too (another brand?) they are supposed to be bisphemol free (some chemical in certain plastics that will be emitted when we boil/sterilise baby bottles) though so many people are using bottles like avent..wonder how harmful is this.. and if it's really worth avoiding (use either BPA-free plastic bottles or glass bottles instead)

2) Delphine - 17/18/19. Dinner/ Lunch have to depend whether i can apply leave or not.
3) Sy - 17/18/19 lunch
4) cin_bunny - 17/18/19 - dinner. if lunch, i will try come out from office on 17.
8) labbit - 18 dinner
9) rain - 17 dinner to chase away Monday blues

ooh just had my birdnest on Mon nite ...brewed by my mum .. shiok !!

had durians again last nite ahhaa very bu hor ?

do1nk
how many photo frames and albums you ended up with in the end? haha. for wedding my family all very zi dong. but i scared for baby, they will feel compelled to buy clothes and she'll grow so fast. anyway not that we are spending the money, it goes into her account so should be ok la. but also depending on how close you are to your family hor

i hate the EXACT same thought about GOON diapers haha.

haha BFREE is a brand??? keke. i thought it's avent brand but free of dunno what B chemicals or what. i can imagine my baby shaking her head and going 'so blur la my mummy. tsk tsk tsk' haha

3) Sy - 17/18/19 lunch
8) labbit - 18 dinner
10) do1nk - 17/18/19 dinner should be ok

still seems that 18 dinner is the top choice

lbt,
wah, good life eh... had durian again :p

pinkbunny,
i have a Bfree bottle cos my boy had 'wind' inside his tummy. but then he does not like the bottle. used only once. wasted my $.

anybody want to buy from me? half price, lelong lelong...

Robinson sale
Went down yesterday. Was quite dissappointed as I'm looking forward to get a cheap electric breast pump. No discount given for Medela and Ameda breast pump. Just wanna to share with you, the price list for the breastpump

Ameda electric dual pump - $388
Medela swing (comes with thermal bag) - $348
Medeal PIS dual pump - $750
Avent (manual with therma bag) - $150 (not sure got discount or not, didn't ask since I already got one)

Taka bb fair
Any idea are they having good bargain for breast pump?

SY
Are we suppose to change plastic milk bottles regularly? Thought only changing the teat once in every 3-6 months time? I've used the same Avent bottles for 15 months for my son!! Alamak!

BFREE bottle
I think B = burp (burp free?)
The name tells the good thing about this bottle, no burping required after feeding baby because baby swallow minimum air from the bottle. I used it initially but then stop soon after my mum complained about washing too many small parts of it, indeed it's very very troublesome.

It's a brand. Dr Brown is another brand.

Gathering
Already set for dinner? Then me got no chance liao, can only go for lunch + shopping. Anyway, put down my name to make the list longer.. Hehe..

3) Sy - 17/18/19 lunch
8) labbit - 18 dinner
10) do1nk - 17/18/19 dinner should be ok
11) sonic - 17/18/19 lunch

I'm looking at the Medeal PIS dual pump.
I read that it is easy to use and quite fuss-free. Anyone uses it can comment?

I think I ask before about stroller. Is there a difference between light-weight and standard stroller? How to choose a stroller?

Re : Diapers
Actually I tink I can swear by Pampers Active the premium one. Previously used Huggies Dry Comfort for my ger overnite nowadays will leak and my ger will get some rashes. When I use the Pampers one can last thru the nite and wont get rashes! I do hear that Mamy Poko is good too!

Re : Buying baby items
Hehe...me now havent bought any items for my no. 2 or myself. I guess cos most of the stuffs i can use from my no.1 *lol*

Re : Stroller
Speaking of stroller. My No. 1 juz refuse to be in stroller. I tink she sit inside stroller less than 10x and I spent $300+ that time to get the Maclaren Techno XT for her! *lol*

sonic
my bottles look very milky so i changed them once a few months. dunno whether is it cos my maid never wash properly or what but i will change the bottles and teats regularly lor.

pinkbunny
u so funny. Bfree is a brand of bottles. i only tried avent so no comments abt this one.

rain
i m an advocate for Medela PIS dual pump.....

lightweight stroller is good if u r going out with bb alone and u need to handle stroller by yourself. if not, i think standard stroller is good enough. for me, i bring my boy out alone quite often so i need light weight one. but i feel light weight one not very hardy...

pinkbunny
for diapers, actually u dun need to share with other mummies cos they finish very fast one. u can order one carton by yourself. sure can finish one. my boy went thru 6 packs in the first month....

pinkbunny,
if you BF your baby fully. Yes, they can poo like 8-10x a day. Which means if fully on diapers will be bout 8-10pcs a day. For me I use cloth diapers in daytime and only disposable diapers at nite
But if bb is on FM then wont poo so much, I tink mabbe 2x a day? Not very sure though.

wah i go brush my teeth and come back only so many posts!

sonic, not sure if i posted this before:
<table border=1><tr><td>Brand</TD><TD>Before disc</TD><TD>Price after disc</TD><TD>Buy from</TD><TD>Other details </TD></TR><TR><TD>Medela Swing electric/battery</TD><TD></TD><TD>336</TD><TD>Baby Hypermart</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Medela mini electric plus</TD><TD></TD><TD>305</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Medela mini electric plus</TD><TD>305.60</TD><TD>244.48</TD><TD>Tangs</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>medela manual </TD><TD>50.90</TD><TD>40.72</TD><TD>Tangs</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>medela harmony </TD><TD>101.8</TD><TD>81.44</TD><TD>Tangs</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>medela mini electric </TD><TD>193.5</TD><TD>154.8</TD><TD>Tangs</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>medela mini electric </TD><TD></TD><TD>259</TD><TD>Tangs</TD><TD>plus cooler and 3 bottles $259 *this one is promo so no discount* </TD></TR><TR><TD>avent isis manual</TD><TD>91.6</TD><TD>73.28</TD><TD>Tangs</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>avent isis manual $91.60 </TD><TD>91.60</TD><TD></TD><TD>Kiddy Palace</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>avent isis manual </TD><TD></TD><TD>88</TD><TD>Tangs</TD><TD>with therma bag and baby bolster $88 *promo so no more discount*</td></tr></table>

i got mine at tangs. the last row, the $88 one. wah is it the same thing at robinsons at $150? wah!

Jmon,

you went taka baby fair liao ar?! did you see any peg-perego strollers there? hubby like only eyeing a particular model... thanks in advance... i can't go yet coz my office in Jurong!!

Goon diapers:

my hubby got them to send a sample! will check with him which website he went to tonight and update again. but he said the same thing.. let baby wear donna baby will become Goon-do or not hehe.. :p

SY,
Thanks! Saw it. Going to register and get the free sample to try too
Price for the GOON diapers looks very reasonable!

doggiebb
thanks for nepia's number. placed my order liao. very funny, i called (the same HK accent lady!) and ordered 4 boxes. she said 'really? you want 4 cartons? that's alot you know'. and i was thinking how come how come. ah... because i was supposed to order 4 PACKS la. hehe

what's the benefits of taking bird's nest ah?

dun recall seeing peg-perego at the taka sale last nite.. saw quinny, mclaren, baby planet (anyone tried this before? looks quite nice I thought) some other funny brands never seen before..

i heard peg perego is heavy, but then again, quinny's super heavy too, but we still like it best leh...

wah steph so shiok your hubby is so on. but i realised that mine worries in a different way la. yesterday we were just talking and i said i'm stressed cos of all the things to get for the baby's arrival and he said he's stressed about the bigger picture, about education and all. wah. not bad. i didn't know. i thought he everything just follow where the wind blows. like lallang

celeste
i also got the GOON sample
i think it was recommended by one of the mummies here. sometimes parenting magazines also give free samples. i got some drypers samples that way.

pinkbunny,
u so farnie....if really order 4 cartons i cannot imagine *lol*
Yuppies, sometimes magazines got give but i seldom buy those parenting magazines nowadays...normally drop by library to borrow...hehe :p

do1nk,
yuppies. I heard that Peg Prego is heavy. Its more suitable if you have transport when you go out. If you want one that you can bring out urself prob get those Combi?

silly question - but how long will most baby wear S size diapers till change to M size? then can estimate how many S to buy...and anyone knows if S for nepia is good enuff for newborn or must get newborn diapers?

arghh! this is like a whole new chapter in my 'ordinary" life - diapers, milk bottles, strollers - i think the more i know, the more confuse i get..lol ;))

so tempted to get stroller from sales but i think now still a bit early so will refrain and focus on the bottles and other stuff first.

hi do1nk - suan lum mkt sells carters? i going Bkk next week

pinkbunny - thanks! i arrived home safely but crazy taxi driver drove at 120km/hour so was quite stunned on ride home :p if you want, i can share nepia with u...

stephanie,
i didnt see leh cos i just walk and glance thru any good buy or not. did not pay much attention.

i think i will spend less this time round if it's a boy again cos i can use my #1 clothes &amp; etc

but if its a girl, jia lat liao... but then i dont think i wld spend tat much lah cos i hv hand-me-down clothes + my colleague stand by her dotter's clothes for me liao.

SY,
i damn jiat lat mummy leh. i have not changed my boy's milk bottle since he was born :p but i did change the teats regularly lah...

cin bunny,
dont buy so many newborn diapers to standby. last time i just bot the most 3 packets if remember correctly.

hw to know when to change S from M.. i use estimation lor.. when i notice my boy's thighs got the rubber band marks, then i just change the size lor but it wont fit nicely one..

SY,
we share the household expenses even when we keep our a/c separate. but i feel he's more excited abt having a baby than me.. maybe becoz he's not experiencing all the MS, tummy cramps, toilet trips etc.. hahah..

pinkbunny,
i think most responsible men think abt all the issues of raising a child.. just that they don't really talk about it unless they're in the mood.
my hubby didn't say much in the beginning until i started asking him qn like: where shd i spend my confinement month, who to take care of baby after my maternity leave, etc... wah... imagine my inner surprise when he actually had so much to comment! hahaha ...

thanks do1nk and Jmon! no peg-perego ar?! hmm... now thinking still wanna go taka or not..

me not getting all other baby stuff coz mil and aunt said no need to get so early.. then i ask them why they cannot explain :S so weird right!? got sale of coz buy first lah!

cin-Bunny... i've been confused since months ago.. luckily got all the mummies here to advise and share info

cheers to all mummies here!!

hi jmon, thanks for tip..1 packet usually 10 diapers? so newborn i get 3 packets= 30 diapers..then S size - how many months b4 thighs go bigger and need to change to M size ah?
))

Rain,

i'm not that young for a 1st time mum so tend to worry more. imagine when hubby and i in our 50s, our kid still a teenager... omg.. the rebellious stage!!!

cin bunny,
err... which brand got 10 diapers in a pack ah?

i didnt know leh.. last time i used Pampers for newborn, think 1 pack got abt 36 diapers bah..

how many mths b4 thighs get bigger ah? hard to say leh cos it depends on individual baby growth.. advise is dont buy so many packs 1st.

stephanie,
can go taka to take a look 1st. maybe u can get good deals on other items leh.

i am a bit kiasu type, so advise is buy baby items bit by bit so you wont have to rush for last minutes shopping. i remember last preg, i finished all my things by 3rd trimester.

Jmon, i'm printing out the checklist now :D

you're right.. looking at it alone already is stressful hahaha...

cin_bunny, pinkbunny did a wonderful job compiling a list of diapers.. maybe you want to scroll up the thread ;)

jmon - i think i better :D..was just reading the reviews on Goon..seems quite good..so maybe will try both nepia and goon and when baby is bigger, maybe mamy poko just bcos it has such a cute name ;)

celeste
i think if i buy 4 cartons i will open a diaper factory haha

cin bunny
welcome home! the experts here say i can prob finish 4 boxes on my own. but if you want to share i also dun mind. so we can both see if the babies like it or not. test water a bit. where do you stay? you drive or not? if not carry 2 big packs of diapers a bit funny leh hehe

you going BKK???? lucky you! i also want to go!

steph
mine thinks a bit further than that. confinement and babysitter he left entirely to me. he's thinking about when the baby is like SIX and going to school. haha. and i think he only thinks about the financial aspect. the rest, he leaves to me

i was just thinking, mummies. when our mums were new mums, were they as blur as us? cos it seems like mums know everything. is it just us (ME?) who is blur?

JMon,
Teats must change once every 2-3mths right? Cos thats what I read

cin_bunny,
I also think dont buy so many packets at one go. Cos from what I see newborn and S size pampers seldom got discounts one. So prob just buy what you need?

oh steph, thanks for giving me the opportunity to show off my beautiful work of art again! nah cin bunny, don't need to blur, lao niang already do diaper comparison:

<table border=1><tr><td>Brand</TD><TD>Quantity</TD><TD>Price</TD><TD>Unit price</TD><TD>Buy from </TD></TR><TR><TD>Drypers WeeWee dry S</TD><TD>64</TD><TD>$13.04</TD><TD>$0.20</TD><TD>Giant </TD></TR><TR><TD>GOON newborn</TD><TD>58</TD><TD>$13.80</TD><TD>$0.24</TD><TD>www.diapers.com.sg </TD></TR><TR><TD>GOON S</TD><TD>63</TD><TD>$14.80</TD><TD>$0.23</TD><TD>www.diapers.com.sg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Huggies newborn</TD><TD>70</TD><TD>$21.25</TD><TD>$0.30</TD><TD>Cold Storage </TD></TR><TR><TD>Huggies newborn</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>$9.80</TD><TD>$0.41</TD><TD>www.diapers.com.sg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Huggies newborn</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>$9.55</TD><TD>$0.40</TD><TD>Cold Storage </TD></TR><TR><TD>Huggies S</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>$6.30</TD><TD>$0.26</TD><TD>Giant </TD></TR><TR><TD>Huggies S</TD><TD>44</TD><TD>$14.50</TD><TD>$0.33</TD><TD>www.diapers.com.sg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Huggies Ultra newborn</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>$9.80</TD><TD>$0.41</TD><TD>www.diapers.com.sg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mamy Poko newborn</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>$4.99</TD><TD>$0.21</TD><TD>Giant </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mamy Poko newborn</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>$12.15</TD><TD>$0.41</TD><TD>Giant </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mamy Poko newborn</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>$12.45</TD><TD>$0.42</TD><TD>Cold Storage </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mamy Poko S</TD><TD>48</TD><TD>$15.99</TD><TD>$0.33</TD><TD>Giant </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pampers baby dry S</TD><TD>46</TD><TD>$18.85</TD><TD>$0.41</TD><TD>Cold Storage </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pampers newborn</TD><TD>36</TD><TD>$16.50</TD><TD>$0.46</TD><TD>Baby Kingdom </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pampers newborn</TD><TD>58</TD><TD>$26.89</TD><TD>$0.46</TD><TD>Giant </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pampers newborn</TD><TD>36</TD><TD>$16.97</TD><TD>$0.47</TD><TD>Cold Storage </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pampers newborn</TD><TD>36</TD><TD>$17.95</TD><TD>$0.50</TD><TD>Giant </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pampers S</TD><TD>58</TD><TD>$26.90</TD><TD>$0.46</TD><TD>Giant </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pureen S</TD><TD>66</TD><TD>$11.99</TD><TD>$0.18</TD><TD>Giant </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pureen S</TD><TD>66</TD><TD>$14.20</TD><TD>$0.22</TD><TD>Baby Kingdom </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pureen S</TD><TD>10</TD><TD>$2.70</TD><TD>$0.27</TD><TD>Baby Kingdom </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nepia NB</TD><TD>60</TD><TD>$15.00</TD><TD>$0.25</TD><TD>Nepia direct 6226 2650 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sealer newborn</TD><TD>48</TD><TD>$9.99</TD><TD>$0.21</TD><TD>Giant </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

NTUC/sheng shiong coming up next

pinkbunny - i got car and tiong bahru is near (i work at alexandra!)..so we can test..help with storage too :D

Bkk- yeah, going for 2 days - booked flight like 6 mths ago wayyy b4 i was preggie ;).heard tt there's carters brand there but for now, i only know MBK has one store selling..now sure about suan lum mkt.

cin bunny
it really depends on your bb size. if bb is pretty big, they wear size S very soon intead of new born diapers. my boy switched to S after one month. M will take a while more. but think usually by 5 months or so, will probably start to switch to M.

no need to buy too many things. can get some pple to combine to buy things for u like stroller etc

eh, no diapers come in 10 per pack one. as the size gets bigger, the diapers in one pack get lesser. like for my boy using nepia pants, it is 26 pieces per pack.