(2008/07) July 2008

serene

some old folks are like that. then once they see their grandchild, it's a different story. So by that time, they wont mind if it's a boy or gal.

u know my dad is a little bit feng jian too. he does prefer boys but u know hor, he doted SOOOOO MUCH on my gal. He doesnt shows prejudice of my ger and nieces against my nephews. He treats them the same. All they want is a healthy and obedient grandchild, that's all.

so you cheer up lah ... it's your own bb after all and you should stay happy for her ok ?

SY,

the CL is really ridiculous. they dont take care of the older children nor do they do hsework. Why they ask so many qns ?

u know I got a feeling they charge according to the hse/flat you stay in. They gauge your wealth from that qn right ? tell them u stay in 3 room. then when they see the hse, u tell her u just moved ! hahaha

pinkbunny

oh ya bb do hiccups in our tummy. Dont think we can feel it now. But if u feel a consistent "burp" kind of motion that lasted a few secs to mins, it's hiccups.

Some CLs i know from friends are really nice and the mummies actually cried when their CLs left.
but some are like CMI (can't make it) type. My friend kana food poisoning as her CL is very dirty in handling food. yucks !

very.... sleepy.... now.... zzz....

hehe hiccups sounds cute
oh my baby just kicked. i think she's saying "good morning mummies of all my friends!"

lbt
yeah lor, i find it funny when they ask this kind of questions. i immediately ask her why does it matter. is it going to affect the price she charge me? cos when i get recommendations i will ask how much the person paid right...

SY,
I tot CL supposed to take care of the older children too. Mummy sleep and rest on bed, still take care of the other children kind of defeat the purpose of getting a helping hand.

serene
retail therapy always helps
ya labbit is right - most old folks will love their grandkids all the same, boy or girl. don't worry. just rest well and be happy for the sake of your baby.

SY, Rain

I dont think CL takes care of the older kid right ? My understanding is that she only covers Mother and newborns.

lbt,

yes for my CL, only covers me & newborn and meals for hubby as well.
older child have to take care ourselves.

delphine
i misread as 'older children have to take care OF THEMSELVES' so it was quite funny hehe.

dunno if my bra or my skirt too tight or what. my mid back very sng now. i would love to go for those thailand massages when they crack every joint. shiok. sigh...

oh i think my baby likes this song on class 95 now, she's kicking to the beat!!!

oh so embarrassing. i saw something black on the floor and i realised IT'S MY BRA HOOK!!!! my bra extention. i don't know how it dropped out, because in total it's hooked to 4 places lor. lucky nobody saw!!!

lbt, rain
CL dun take care of older kids. they expect u to find other help to take care of the kids. they even ask me whether they need to bring my kid to and fro from sch...so it is very clear cut one. they won't take care of the older kids.

pink bunny,

haha, if they can take care of themselves, I dun have to worry so much lor..
how come your bra extension hook will drop, thought should be quite secure?

I very "bochap" one.

toking about eating ... I take coke, sashimi, durian, fried food basically everything.

I just take what I feel like eating.

My gal has very good memory now, so I tot it might have come from the raw fish I ate. So this time round, more sashimi for my boy : )

But these are the food that we are told to avoid : (. Maybe I am a "terrible" mom.

delphine
dunno leh. i just saw it on the floor. best part i didn't even feel the bra was looser haha.

bluey
to each his own la! no matter what we all eat, i'm sure all our babies will look the same in july hehe

washing cloth diapers (copied from somewhere)
use only 1/4 of the detergent stated for 'normal' clothes. Vinegar can be added to the first rinse to help get the detergent rinse out easier. The vinegar is acidic and it breaks up the bubbles and the detergent rinses out easier. Then rinse out the vinegar. Try different ways to see what works for you and your water conditions. Vinegar is fine for regular diapers, but it is better not to use vinegar on the all-in-ones or the covers because it is an acid and will damage the waterproofing. Don't use fabric softener on any of the diapers or covers. It decreases the absorbency of the diapers.

Back from my detail scan n i'm joining the PINK GANG!!
Wooo Hooo bring on the shopping sprees........hehe

lbt
Me bopian leh cos hubby work time very bad n scared mil pop in during daytime n dun dare to leave bb alone. I jus make sure I wash n blow dry very throughly lor.
Confinement thing I believe half only becos those angmo also bath n wash hair as usual but how come u see when they r old they can still walk better then us chinese who believe so strongly the confinement rules.
N if follow very strict then accidentally kanna something like so wasted cos will still have those back ach when old. Like not very worth it leh.....hahahha

I know normally wash hair at night also not good cos cold but bopian me now also still bath n shampoo at night when hubby is home....sigh

Sereneyap
Some of their thinking very traditional sian hor I think my inlaws r like this but they r lucky my 1st is a boy lor. During my wedding hint to me if I have a babyboy will be the 1st great-grandson. N during my son's 1st mth celebration my fil told my hubby next bb will be a girl. I damn pissed lor my son jus 1 mth old nia u thinking of another bb think I wat PIG aah.
Treatment wise also diff lah only after detail scan n found out that I was carrying a boy for #1 they make birdnest for me. So till now I keep teasing hubby bout that. Means this preg also must wait till after detail scan see boy or girl then got birdnest to eat right.
My friend case her inlaws also want boy n when bb was born they jus keep asking boy hor boy hor. My friend so pissed lor never even ask how was she jus make sure bb is boy nia.
Bo chap them la we have kids for ourselves not for them ma.

pinkbunny
U r so funny!!!......hahahahha
Eerrrr u dun find it more 'cooling' meh since ur extension dropped....haha

dor dor
if your hair is not fully dry, you can say 'ya lor, so long never wash that's why oily mah' keke. i also used to think angmoh ladies also never do confinement what, they're still ok what. but their weather is not as humid as ours and it's the humidity that gets to the bones in old age i think. but i'm #1 madam pantang la hehe. gia si kind.

actually i think maybe cos my top is the clingy type that's why my bra still held its place. that's why didn't feel hehe. some more now my boobs bigger mah. chey...

pinkbunny,
the robinson sales on the 5 & 6 march it on for card memebers preview. where card members have additional discounts, my hubby is a cardmember.
there always have additional discount for members. but the sales is till 9 march.

nursery items additional 20% for card memebrs.
bedlinen items the brand sheridan UP:$385-$$445 card members only at $150 100% cotton design lansdowne.
hope the above information will be helpful to you

dor dor, congrats on joinin pink gang

till now, my hb still cannot believe n still insist gynae check. but i think detail scan shld be accurate rgt?

gender of bb

my sil who have just given birthnin jan to twins boys she was so happy like hell man.
in fact all her children their first kids is a boy. In total nw grandchild boys 7 n 2 gals isnt it enough for her. as for the gals only 1 belong to son while the other one belong to the daughter.

sorry for all the nagging story

Just brought my DS to Sentosa this morning 'cos he's been talking about it and asking to go and play at the beach again. Luckily we got out just before the heavy rain started!

Hannahl,
I am going to Phuket for a short break, in April. Really looking forward to it

Confinement:
For DS, I had no CL, no family help. I catered confinement food, bathed and washed my hair everyday. It was tiring, but okay. This time, with DS around, I am getting a CL as I will definitely not be able to handle two on my own. Also, am prepared for DS to be super-sticky and very unhappy about sharing mummy's milk and boobies with someone else! My Cl is $1,900, Malaysian.

Robinsons sale:
It's really worth it for the big ticket items, especially if you are a member. Things like cot, stroller, Babysafe mattress etc will all be going at a much cheaper rate.

serene
dun be too bothered abt it. most impt is that your hb doesn't care abt such things. u know, even though i have boy, my mil also never made anything for me. this time round gal + 2nd one, sure even worse.

anyway, most impt is healthy kids right....since she prefers boys, then all the more better, she won't interfere so much with how you bring your kid up. most look on the bright side!! my IL had a lot of comments even to the extent of asking my parents to talk to me abt certain things i shd do for my bb. so the less interference the better.

re robinsons sale,
i feel like going already...tempting...

robinson sales
yeah open to public is fm 7 till 9 mar.
in fact it would be gd that you guys can apply for the card.

youpi
yeah you're correct. especially the stoller it seem this time sellng ard $299.

SY
although i give birth next time we could share problems n go shopping together n have coffee. hehe

wah! so many posts... I'm totally swamped at work!

PINK BUNNY: must crown you joker of the thread...you are one funny bunny! *grin* keeps our spirits up...hey you sound like you are married to an ang mor..are you? your MIL sounds very nice and open too...

BELLY BUTTON: pop out sexy meh? urr...kinda like nipple thru blouse leh so weird.. was juz joking about the plaster though kekeke

HOLIDAY: oh ya...i'm not the one going to korea lah..think it's cin bunny? but may go japan end apr for work... can we still travel when 7 months preggie?

ANKLET: urr is it weird for baby boys to be wearing them? like dordor said.. kinda girly hor..

and lastly: UPDATE ON MY DETAILED SCAN TODAY: we are having a baby BOY! saw the little pee-pee juz now.. but here the boy gang no power leh...never mind lah..my boy can slowly choose girlfriend from in here now hehehe

excited about the upcoming sales too.. sis even asked if I should drive in case i buy too many things n cannot take public transport home myself (hubby not in town

hi Sereneyap - do you know the stroller brand going for $299?

hi do1nk - re travelling, airline lets u travel till 36 weeks BUT with doctor's letter. my gynae said not to travel after 28 weeks cos we will be big and it's very uncomfortable for us to move too much and maybe airline seat too small for our big bellies? :D

i wanna shop at sales! i think i will get all those bath stuff for baby and maybe some bottles..was there an earlier discussion that glass bottles better than plastic? cant remember if i read on this thread :D

Do1nk - congrats on baby boy! so lucky he gets so many gfs from this thread ;)..we need more baby boys so our baby girls dont hv to stress too much..hehehee

on anklet - i think it's ok for baby boys to wear la..so cute, got ringing sound when they move

do1nk
yay congrats on a baby boy! ya man, got no lack of girlfriends from this thread hehe. aiyah popping out belly button not the same as nipple la. or you wear a one-cup bra over your belly button lor haha. or a nippie? a bellie? haha

check with your gynae about travelling. some would prefer you not to. but if he's ok, ask for a letter. different airlines got different restrictions. and tell the airline when you are booking! and try to check in early and make ko lian face to get upgrade :D

anklet
i also think it's ok for boys. aiyah i think babies are quite genderless to a certain extent.

cin bunny
very funny, the way you say the airline seat too small for our big bellies. i imagine sitting sideways hehe. eh you come back in time for the robinsons sale?

serene
i would love to apply for the card! but i cannot. "bad credit history". long story but it's 100% NOT MY FAULT!!!!! no bluff. anyway i printed out the form for lao gong to fill liao but it's still collecting dust somewhere.

robinsons sale
I CANNOT WAIT!!!!!!!! will go friday after work though sure very crowded one. ok. go on friday and weekend haha.

weight gain
"what to expect when you are expecting" says:
baby: 3.5kg
placenta: 0.675kg
amniotic fluid: 0.8kg
uterine enlargement: 0.9kg
maternal breast tissue: 0.45kg
maternal blood volume: 1.5kg
fluids in maternal tissue: 1.4kg
maternal fat: 3.25kg

total AVERAGE overall weight gain: 11.9kg

eh don't throw book at me. i'm just re-typing what is in the book.

all the talk abt sales makes me feel tempted to go shopping!!!

do1nk
hee, your boy really got a lot of choices next time from this thread....

mummies, how's everyone coping with mood swings ah? i'm mostly ok but like the hokkien song, wu si ki, wu si loh la. just now out of the blue super pissed with hubby cos i'm doing baby research online and he kept pestering me to go to the living room to see one of the american idol performers. but i'm not interested lor!!!! so i went just to 'geen' at him and snap at him.

pinkbunny
it's quite normal..sometimes i wlil just cry and hb dun understand why i cry. hee, one good way is to come into forum to chat...

or for those with MSn, we can chat over MSN!

SALES: I may go for the robinson sale today if I can leave the office early! but juz gave up my robinsons card not long ago..now must drag my sis along to use her card kekeke

MOOD SWINGS: thought I was over this too but recently I burst into tears after a very minor tiff wiv hubby and was shocked myself haha

AMERICAN IDOL: who's watching?? I'm rooting for dat guy who sang Lional Richie's HELLO last nite..he's good man!

MILK BOTTLES: have never seen a glass bottle yet, but ya it's supposed to be better coz it doesn't release this BPA chemical when bottles are warmed, but glass sounds heavy and not very practical huh.. I was considering the Bfree bottles but the many parts inside to wash kinda dampen the thought now..

weight gain
i have only gain abt 400g per mth is it normal? but i drink milk everyday. gynae keep telling me must eat more but i cant force myself to eat or else everything will be contribute to the toilet bowl.

robinson sales
i might be going if provided hubby come home fm his reservist early as today is his last day for in camp ...heheh
so i can go for robinson and taka baby fair ..pray hard man

cin bunny
the stroller brand is GRACO

SY
my msn add : [email protected]

morning mummies
i'm ultra sleepy today cos i stayed up late to read hehe. i'm hooked on this really good book called 'the time travellers wife'. and best part, it's my 2nd time reading it haha.

serene
you still having MS? just eat whatever you can keep down. try not to take too oily or too spicy cos that will trigger your body to reject i guess. i don't know if it is the same for everyone but my breakfasts are usually mealshakes (fruit juice + powder) and they don't bother me. since i never have much appetite to eat so early in the morning anyway, and if i don't eat at home, by the time i get to work i'm already going to faint from hunger and there is no food to attack

i think there are websites that will show the weight increase chart. babycentre or pregnancy.net i think. but plus/minus la cos it's usually based on angmoh ladies

milk bottles
do1nk, me too. can't help but think glass ones are heavy leh. how will the baby will be able to hold them when he/she is older (like just learning to hold by him/herself time)? too heavy or not?

mood swings
mine are not the crying sort, but more like the 'i want to strangle you for being so irritating and insensitive' kind.

MSN
sorry, can't MSN in office! it's not allowed - IT is very strict

sale
i would love to go for robinsons sale but i don't have the card either. tomorrow lor. guess i'll swing by taka this evening after yoga class

coffee
i'm trying to cut down on coffee and guess what? my husband bought a coffee machine. see la it's things like these that make me want to yell at him

morning all

hi pinkbunny - me coming bk tonite
..cant wait cos miss my bed :p and had my fill of kim chi oredi ;)..eh, i also read time travellers wife..can cry kind of read

glass bottles - hmm, i guess i shld rethink..maybe go with plastics..avent, pigeon...decisions decisions :p

milk bottles
oh chope. i'm guessing most of us want to BF? heard that we should 1. ask hospital to give us glass bottles so we can store milk and 2. these bottles fit a certain brand of milk teats. if i rememebr correctly, it is medela that fits perfectly. so just screw on the top, no need to transfer and can cut down risk of losing precious drops of milk

cin bunny
oh i love love love the book!!!!

sereneyap
added u to my MSN list liao

do1nk
i get the mood swings too. last night also cried after i ticked hb off. initially he said he will come n fetch me at 6.45 but in the end i decided to go off on my own. he din reach home till 8.30 so of cos i was worried right. asked him what time he left and he said 7.30. so angry with him. just cos i dun need him to pick me up doesn't mean he can go off later. i m stil sick and i tot he will try to come back earlier to help me with my boy. all these little things sometimes just make me so angry with him.

pink bunny
glass bottles can be a bit dangerous so maybe good to have a mixture of plastic and glass. sometimes glass bottles can chip and if it drops into the milk and u din see, that cd be worse. i wd still use plastic bottles to feed actually

SY
glass bottles can CHIP??!! walau. so dangerous!!! i guess if stick with plastic and then sterilize them in sterilizers instead of in a pot of boiling water, that should be safe la.

i understand what you mean - sometimes men and their perception of time is very cock up one

long time no post cos being swamped by work + some more year end closing.. sian siah.. feel like taking leave again leh... any one on for shopping tmr? hehehe....

next gynae appt would be on 11 Mar (tuesday), veru gan jiong leh. dont know turn out to be a boy or girl this time...

sereneyap,
my MSN [email protected]

pinkbunny
yes, glass bottles can chip so need to be careful. i think regular changing of bottles is also good? like maybe change the plastic bottles once every few months?

Jmon
i can understand how u feel. when i went for my scan i also very gan chiong...

i feel like taking leave but then this week already took 2 days MC...

yoo hoo, re our date, can please indicate your level of can-ness? or else wait i get stuck with reputation of being a very shi bai event planner leh. 3 choices of dates, 2 choices of times. we just go with majority ok?

DATE: 17 mar/18 mar/19 mar
TIME: 130pm (lunch+shopping)/ 7 pm (dinner)
VENUE: TBC but prob town

1) pinkbunny - 17/18/19 all can. lunch/dinner also can

2) Delphine - 17/18/19. Dinner/ Lunch have to depend whether i can apply leave or not.

3) Sy - 17/18/19 lunch

Anyone interested in clothes from this website? They ship worldwide. The gal clothes are pretty nice.

http://www.hannaandersson.com/home.asp

dor dor
you mentioned before you had the pigeon sterilizer. you remember how much and the model type? my colleagues are buying for me so i need to give them more info la

baby clothes
so cute, i saw this on a website: Button-fronts or tie-fronts are usually easier on little babies, as they get scared of things coming over their heads!