(2008/07) July 2008

i've just asked my colleagues to give me a specific AVENT sterilizer. told them it's better i ask for something i need than they give me dust collectors. haha. the shamelessness begins!

Jmon

no no no... I mean I'm wondering whether I can hit half of my 12kg record or not, by looking at my weight gain so far. Of cause I wanna to gain more, best > 10kg lor.

Wow~ 22kg...

Durian buffet
Don't test me leh, I love durian, but must control control... Durian is high in sugar too!

Hi mums-to-be,

I'd like to join in. I'm expecting #2 in July. Detailed scan next week so will confirm gender then.

DS is 28 months. I'm still breastfeeding him. I put on 20kg with him, went from size S/M to L. Don't know how much I've gained with this one, but I'm definitely hoping for less!

youpi

weight gain
mummies, you are all scaring me with the weight gain!!! do you think if we all go to expressions/marie france together, got group discount or not? hehe

no mood to work. now looking through the list of items and wondering what else i can possibly ask for instead of buy haha.

cloth nappies
any of you are using? how to wash ah? must scrape away the sai first is it? then throw all the diapers together in washing machine? or mix with baby's clothes? or hand wash? alamak. sorry for such a kiam pah question but i really dunno la!

Anyone interested to learn to bake muffins?

POPULAR Commercial MUFFINS Hands-on Workshop II

Date: Friday, 07 March 2008
Time: 7.30pm – 10pm

Muffins are favourite amongst kids and adults. They are as nourishing as they are good to eat. They are not too difficult to make with the right procedures and they often contain much less sugar and fat. We usually eat them for breakfast but like them with any meal. They work well for snacks and desserts as well. Extras can be frozen and heated in the microwave for hot muffins anytime. If you are thinking of setting up your own food kiosk specializing in sinful chocolate muffins, this is definitely a worthwhile course for you. Do register early.

Workshop Outline

· Methods in producing commercial muffins that can last for at least 6 months

· Methods in storing them to keep them longer (without any preservatives)

· How to have them ready in minutes and anytime

· How to produce chewy muffins and cake-like muffins

Participants are expected to work in groups in weighing ingredients, washing utensils etc. Each participant will, most of the time, have their own cake to work on and very often are encourage to create their own designed cakes . During the workshop, you may be required to take down notes and tips for baking. Participants may have to bring along an apron. After the lessons, participants would bring home their own masterpieces.

Passion Kiss Muffins – Every bite is bursting with passionfruit, strawberries and white chocolate. Truly a delightful and moist muffin. (Refer to photo attached)

Doughnut Muffins - A classic muffin that never gets old. This is a wonderfully flavoured baked doughnut but in a muffin-style topped with a generous spread of chocolate and nuts. Definitely a no such thing as too much chocolate in this muffin! This is a hit with young and old.

Very Berry Muffins – They are loaded with good source of fiber and nutrients with a twist and made the very berry flavor just JUMP out for your taste buds. A delectable country -style muffins at its best!

Schwarzwälder Kirsch Muffins – So tender and moist plus full of plump, juicy cherries makes these muffins an ultimate choice for morning and afternoon pick me up. (Liquor is used)

Participants will have to bring with them:

A note book and pen

Apron

Tupperwares

Participants will be provided with:

All ingredients and recipes

All materials needed for the cake course

Workshop Cost - $60* (if you register after Wednesday 05 March)

Early Bird Deal -$50* (if you register by Wednesday 05 March)

Buddy Discount - $48* (if you come with another 5 friends, ie 6 of you, each pay this special rate. Must register and pay by Wednesday 05 March)

Venue of Workshop: 78 Marine Drive (Near NTUC Marine Parade)

www.creativehomebaking.blogspot.com

rain
if i'm not the only one then ok, on!

baby room
wow mummies those of you who have not started doing up your baby's room, i urge you to start soon! because once you start, it's really addictive! now we're looking for pictures of us as babies to put in her room hehe.

sonic

so far I know, no one has the breakouts. Like I say PD also never warned me. You may want to check again.

how abt other mummies here ? given ur child the chicken pox jab ?

gals, pls dont mention durians. It's my FAV !!!!

lbt,

me too.. love durian for both pregnancy.

Have already taken my gal for chicken pox jab just before i found out i am pregnant. so far so good..

phew... I don't feel so bad about my 7/8kg gain now after listening to all of you..but I do wonder if I can ever go back to my original weight...

durians..used to love them, but ever since I got preggie, they make me sick! so sad....

pinkbunny... I hear using cloth nappies will be a lot of work...gotto use nappy liner..so hold most of the sai... diaper think must wash in baby detergent? then must dry too.. I may juz use disposables..though will cost more.. heard in the beginning..baby can use more than 10 diapers per day!

re chicken pox
i did give my son the jab before but ok, no fever nothing..

re muffin class
i m interested but weekday nights are hard for me! when u have a #1, your time is really restricted...

do1nk,
i used 6 packets of newborn diapers in the first month for my boy....

pinkbunny,
Guess noone else interested.
Just put up to share with the rest of the mummies cos I recalled someone trying to setup a baking club.

I'm not going cos too soon. If you like, I can forward you the details if you provided me your email

Tot the muffin looks delicious.

Thanks SY, lbt for your assurance. Maybe the nurse just wanna to play safe, and warn me of possibilities of breakout just in case. Hmn.. I think I'm going to give my boy the jab nearer to my due date then.

Is it fine to postpone the 5 in 1 booster jab by one month or more, ie at 19th or 20th month instead of 18th month?

Pinkbunny
You can get bottle drying rack at most of the shopping centres or kiddy palace. Various brand available. I have one, can't remember is it lucky baby or pigeon. But I didn't use it often. Most of the time, after sterilising the bottles, I just leave them in the steriliser till I want to use them.

rain
haha it's ok rain. i also dun wanna go alone

do1nk
i'd like to rotate between cloth and disposable. aunties say babies that are trained with cloth nappies are toilet trained faster. anyway i have 10, will get 10 more, see how la, if it works. if not then will use as burp cloth lor

i read somewhere that babies will go through a whopping 2,400 diapers in their first year! poo factories!

pinkbunny,
Ok.

Pinkbunny, do1nk,
Ya lor. Better get more clothes. They tend to changed a lot in 1 day. I have 24 cloth ler. I will also get disposable cos easier when we go outing with baby

I have some brand new products to sell.
1) Medela nipple cream
2) 2 box of tollyjoy breast pads
3) Pigeon breast milk storage bags
4) Palmers nipple cream

Some brand new maternity clothing for sales. 1Suitable for petite MTBs. PM me for the pics.

stocking up!

my office quite near a supermarket so every lunch i go and research a bit. i try to buy whatever essentials that are on sale 1. while i still got energy now and 2. because i scared at the end of the pregnancy i will be too tired/lazy/broke to do so hehe.

so today i bought tollyjoy wipes - 3 packs of 100 each, total $8.50!

rainbaby

the disposable milk bags cannot be reuse. use once and throw.

very waste of $ hor ? I only use glass bottles to store BM. can wash and re-sterilize.

pinkbunny

you cannot mix bb clothes with cloth nappy.
u can buy the NAPISAN detergent from chinese medical hall for washing cloth nappy only.

i dunno how true the cloth nappy is to toilet trained the bb effectively but u only use cloth nappy for a while mah.
and potty training starts at least after 1 yr old ...

labbit
i think the logic (or belief) is that babies that use cloth nappies will feel very kao eh with their waste that they will learn much faster when it's time to potty train. dunno, but no harm trying. anyway can save cost so lagi no harm trying!!

napisan, got it! thank you, labbit-san! so that means the whole laundry load is nappies only la. or must handwash?

glass bottles can buy? my friend who gave birth in KKH said that you can ask from the nurses and they would be glad to give. then... put in fridge ah? or freezer? wait explode how??

pinkbunny

u bought those in a packet or from a bottle one ? if bottle one, can forget it. damn hard to pull out the wet tissues. i am using pigeon ones. these wet tissues are always on sale, no worries.

pinkbunny
u have to chk if ur washing machine can take these detergents else u have to handwash, that's why v siong and I not adopting it as well.

i got the glass bottles FOC from Mt A. I tell them to reserve for me. the rest are from my friends who stopped BF.

can put in fridge or freezer, no prob. just dont fill the bottle to the max if u put in freezer.

labbit
i bought the packet ones.

very funny, hubby fixed up the cot yesterday then he kept asking me to pretend to lift an imaginary baby out of it. so i lifted' the baby and face its imaginary backside to hubby's face and said 'papa, i got present for you! and made imaginary fart noises. haha. sigh, pregnancy makes people crazy

napisan
as in can my washing machine take powdered detergent? oh, can, no prob :D

pinkbunny

i tot some machine specify low suds powder only ? i not sure NAPISAN is in powder form or detergent leh. u chk it out ok ?

ibt,
I know if used cloth nappy, then baby will not get nappy rash so easily.

I probably will get those delicate laundry and try. If baby skin got reaction, then swtich lor.

washing nappies
thanks labbit and rain. i'll go check. actually i was thinking of washing all baby's stuff with delicate detergent only - the pink bottle, essence i think. anyway, i'll check!

booking hospitals
no need to book yet right? gynae said 8 months then book. sure got space one la hor?

pinkbunny

i use kodomo detergent since my ger is born till now. but i have started to mix her clothes with adults ones after she turned 1.

newborn skin is very delicate so be careful.

hospital:
no need to book one, sure got space ! hahaa dont worry lah ! u may even get free upgrade at times ! but i din kana last time leh ..

ibt,
I dunno if reuseable or not for those packet ma. Cos thinking of saving space in the fridge. Somemore, got garlic smell.

Where to store the milk? Can store at the vegetable/fruits drawer?

rain
i just learnt this recently - to get rid of garlic or other strong smells in the fridge, open a container of bicarbonate soda. it will absorb the smell after a while.

diapers
mummies, saw in one of the other threads that for diapers, new born cutting is higher than S size, to protect the baby's cord. good to know!

and my latest price comparison:
<table border=1><tr><td>Brand</TD><TD>Quantity</TD><TD>Price</TD><TD>Buy from</TD><TD>Unit price </TD></TR><TR><TD>GOON newborn</TD><TD>58</TD><TD>$13.80</TD><TD>www.diapers.com.sg</TD><TD>$0.24 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Huggies Ultra newborn</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>$9.00</TD><TD>www.diapers.com.sg</TD><TD>$0.38 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Drypers WeeWee dry S</TD><TD>64</TD><TD>$13.04</TD><TD>Giant</TD><TD>$0.20 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mamy Poko newborn</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>$12.15</TD><TD>Giant</TD><TD>$0.41 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Huggies newborn</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>$4.99</TD><TD>Giant</TD><TD>$0.21 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Huggies S</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>$6.30</TD><TD>Giant</TD><TD>$0.26 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pampers newborn</TD><TD>36</TD><TD>$17.95</TD><TD>Giant</TD><TD>$0.50 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pampers newborn</TD><TD>36</TD><TD>$16.50</TD><TD>Baby Kingdom</TD><TD>$0.46 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pampers newbord</TD><TD>58</TD><TD>$26.90</TD><TD>Giant</TD><TD>$0.46 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mamy Poko S</TD><TD>48</TD><TD>$15.99</TD><TD>Giant</TD><TD>$0.33 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pampers S</TD><TD>58</TD><TD>$26.90</TD><TD>Giant</TD><TD>$0.46 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pureen S</TD><TD>10</TD><TD>$2.70</TD><TD>Baby Kingdom</TD><TD>$0.27 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pureen S</TD><TD>66</TD><TD>$14.20</TD><TD>Baby Kingdom</TD><TD>$0.22 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pureen S</TD><TD>66</TD><TD>$11.99</TD><TD>Giant</TD><TD>$0.18 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sealer newborn</TD><TD>48</TD><TD>$9.99</TD><TD>Giant</TD><TD>$0.21 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

taking a break from work..sleepy n tired n hungry...

i think tollyjoy wipes smell the nicest.. have no problems yanking them out from the bottle, but they come out skinny n long haha

about bottles.. I read about how some brands like bfree are bisphenol A free, but quite disheartened now that I see there are many small parts in the bottle dat needs thorough washing... any views on this?

do1nk,

me prefer pigeons wipe cos they are much more thicker than tollyjoy but do agree that tollyjoy smells nice.
another thing with tollyjoy bottle is they cannot do with one hand system which means have to use another hand to tear them away.
Talking about this, the other day my dear daughter pull the whole bottle of wipes out and smile at me wildly after i came out of the bathroom.

Kiddy Palace,
just nw went kiddy palace to shop shop for bb clothes find that it v expensive than robinson n toher shopping centre,

any mummies went there to shop for bb clothes?

hi pinkbunny, thanks for diaper list. huggies newborn seems reasonably priced considering it's branded.
just now passed by hair clip shop and could not resist getting cute strawberry patterned hair clips for baby girl..i hope she has hair! i was "botak" when i came out :p

cin bunny
me too i was botak!! my parents made me wear dresses some more haha.

diapers - heard sheng shiong has better prices. will check out soon!

just now i was at great world with some old friends and we ended up going to cold storage to get some stuff. and i headed straight for diaper section. what have i evolved into??!!

serene
ya i was also at kiddy palace over the weekend. too expensive ler i feel. i think at this age they grow so fast, no need to buy expensive stuff. but that's just me

pinkbunny
hehe that's wat I like about yoga slow movement also can sweat n so siok lor but too bad hard for me to attend leh cos of my son....sigh.
Tot can do yoga this preg n see if it can help shorten the labour but now must pray hard hard the bishan class can work out....haha

I tot lavender oil can use direct on body too?? Jus that its expensive nia. Maybe I forgetful liao....hehe But I dun fancy lavender smell I love peppermint but can't use it during preg......sigh

Sonic
U want to gain more weight??....hehee
I gain 20kg last preg n I gave birth on 36wk leh else will be more. Hmmm maybe I should also cut down my carbo but then hor I eat my brunch at 1pm n by 4pm I'm hungry already so how to not eat. I put on weight very easily n not so guai like u really cut down on carbo. Jus hoping not to get GD this time only n cut down alittle on icecream, rice n potato intake nia.
Last visit to gynea nurse tell me I can still gain another 9kg for max 15kg but then my checkup at wk 6 they didn't weigh me so not accurate too la.
U won't envy me lah when I jus got preg I didn't increase food intake but my hips expanded already n gained weight my loose pants were tight already. I envy those who are preggy n still look so slim n nice.
Now changing my mind about taking maternity photos liao....hahaha

The chickenpox vaccine yah I got the same tots as u so might wait till bb is bigger then see how. Or maybe callup my PD n check with her wat is the best time for my son to take the jab cos haven taken the penumoccucal too I'm waiting for him to turn 2 so only 1 jab.

Sonic, Jmom
I hate durians too.....hahahha
N still got some in my fridge craving now leh but abit worried wed checkup gynea will say I gain alot this mth again.....haha

Pinkbunny
I use the essence for my son's clothes since birth cos I wash them with my clothes. I jus throw them in a net n wash together so far so good.....hehe

Ikea Sale
-----------------
I feel nothing much leh cos not EVERYTHING is on sale...hehe
At least not the multi-tier cabinet we're eyeing so didn't buy. Went Tampines 1 not that crowded but the queue was super long.

Just did my detailed scan, confirmed that it's gonna be a minnie!!! Very happy cos i've already have 2 boys.. have been hoping for a gal
I'm delivering at TMC

Just a note, pls dun eat too much durian if you want to have an easier birth. Durians will make your bb very big. I ate lots of durians during my 1st pregnancy then end up kenna caesarean. Second time round, no durians and i managed a VBAC ;) My 1st was 3.65 kg while my second was 2.86kg
See the diff? :0

Hannah

congrats !! happy for u !!

wow u had VBAC !! that is very very brave of u.

Eh i tell u, i had lotsa durians in my first preg but my ger is only 2.44 kg leh. This time round I am eating again .. in fact just had that a few hrs ago !! how to resist ???

clothes at kiddy palace

i am not sure if it is more ex than robinson or tangs but I only buy newborns ones from there. ya some brands are quite ex such as Max Kool. Alternatively can choose cheaper ones like TollyJoy.

a big good morning hello from pinkbunny.... who is still at home in pyjamas :D today getting a visit from town coucil about leaking rubbish chute (water comes out whenever they wash from the inside!) so on half day. hehe.

ok someone please tell me what is VBAC. it sounds very scary, and very suspiciously linked to a certain part of my body which is already very scared of the whole birth thing

cloth nappies
for those of you who are going to do it (aren't we first time parents such innocent people?), i've found this site quite useful: http://bumwear.com/ will prob pop by their shop this weekend.

serene
for baby clothes you can also try tom and stephane. there is one at tiong bahru plaza but not sure where else. departmental stores also got.

pinkie

VBAC is vaginal birth after c-sect! don't worry! since this is your first! nothing to do with you at all!

i am using bumwear for my ger. i quite like it but since i have a helper at home and she handwashes all my ger's clothes with baby detergent, i don't have any logistics problems.