(2008/07) July 2008

hello Happy new year to alll... i long time never log in lost in here already....

my bb gender is boy pls help me update.. thanks

i will be going for my detail scan on this coming 21th ...hope everythings is ok ....

btw u all start to shop for bb things already? i havent do any shopping yet cos i feel still early..

hi ling

I am going for detailed scan on 21st at TMC 1030am.
where is your scan ?

eh urs confirm boy ?? i also saw the xiao di di lookalike thing during 4th mth chkup but when ppl ask me, I say dont know. haha wait give wrong info.

serene
still at least log in your cmoplaint with MOM la. she may have found things to back her up but if you are innocent, you should try to prove it. and if will affect you too when you next look for job

ling
i am champion of buying clothes for my ger. hehe. the moment i found out girl, i went to buy pink rompers liao hehe. but a few only la. cannot tahan la cos sooooo cute!!

just to check, we're not supposed to be around the house with any reno work right? but what if it's like fixing up cribs? can be around?

so stressed today cos of work! argh! and going to KL on friday. by coach cos found out that by plane it's $500 so i felt bad and told my admin colleague i don't mind taking coach. then i realised JIALAT no toilet!!!! how how how... pregnant and toilet are friends!

pinkbunny,
maybe can check out the budget airline. May be even cheaper than coach.

Ibt,
I'm also waiting for the detail scan to be confirm. Meanwhile, I will buy unisex clothes. So that next time if I'm having a girl/boy, can still reused.

Serene,
So no 3 mths pay? That's so mean. Bring it to MOM for their attention. Let them investigated if you deserve it or not.

pinkbunny
i was ard when my crib was fixed up.

wow how u going to tahan the long trip without toilet? i tot some coach will have toilets?

evon
i did eat ham from ntuc during pregnancy. dun eat too much lor. i usually will toast it a bit to warm it before eating.

Re: Bloom photography
-------------------------------------------------
LATEST UPDATE: If there are more than 15 MTBS who sign up for the bloom BP, the CD containing all the shots can be bought at $200 instead of $250. If we only have 10 mtbs, the previous offer still stands
-------------------------------------------------
Will need minimum 10 MTBs for this BP to take off. They are offering us for the same price at $160 for 1 super 8R photo, 5 5R photos and extra 3 more 5R for this BP. For phots that are selected, the soft copies will be given back to us. For mummies that are interested in keeping all the photos taken during the photoshoot, you may also purchase a CD with all the shots taken on that day for $250 if you are a forum member which we all are here...

You may refer to this link for their pricing details http://www.thestudioloft.com.sg/rates/TSLoftRatesY9T04N7.pdf

To look at their work you may go to:
http://www.thestudioloft.com.sg/
or
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/450761/594409.html?1164635256

Mummies participating
-------------------------------
1. Amy (Apr mtb)
2. Yo (Apr mtb)
3. Gervynne (Apr mtb)
4. Wish Come True (May mtb)
5. Piyo (Jun mtb)
6. Veniz (Jun mtb)
7. Mogudog (Jun mtb)
8. Chewy (Apr mtb)
9. Jer (?? mtb)
10. Juin (May mtb)
11. Serene123(Apr mtb)

***Anyone else?? 4 more to reach the min. 15 for the $200 offer!!! ***

rainbaby
i have not bgt anything for this bb cos he/she can reuse the elder sis one. i want to buy some newborns clothes after I confirm the gender first.

sheila
i'm taking NICE but i asked and they said no toilet. only one stop which means i have to tahan 2.5 hours before can release. must plan - 1. cannot drink too much water, 2. pee whenever i can (at custom/stops etc). last resort ask bus driver to stop at petrol kiosk... or jungle...

evon
circumcision is to snip off the foreskin of your baby's kuku. in some countries it's done automatically (ie the doctor may not even ask) and in some religions it is compulsory. i think if i have a boy, i will get him circumcised too. for hygiene reasons.

i think 2nd trimester is the best. cos our stomachs are quite cute now, and rather obvious enough for us not to be mistaken as fat cows hehe

pinkbunny,
if travelling in the day, not so bad. Think nite time u tend to pee more.

Ibt,
Where do you usually buy clothes? What is the price range? I didn't got any clothes for NB, starting from 3-6mths onwards. Will it be too big?

Evon,
I did eat ham or bacon or char siew sometimes like eating burger or fried rice. Cannot avoid so many food when outside.

pinkbunny
I've never took Nice before but i thought it is equipped with toilet...
how abt aeroline, i took it b4, its the fastest so far - 5hrs on the dot, u may select the double decker one where there's lounge at lower deck...

Rain

yes it maybe a bit too bigs for small petite newborns. suggest u get one or two newborns ones or wait until u r near delivery, then you can know your bb's estimated delivery weight.

u can get these clothes at Kiddy palace,plenty of choices.

Evon

rgd ham hor .. it is just like hotdog, all processed meat. Hubby also restrict my intake. he himself also restrict himself cos all these processed food is not good for us lah.

so try to control ur intake ok ?

i take bread with butter and peanut butter/jam every morning. really miss breakfast with ham and cheese.

sheila
i also thought nice got toilet but i asked the call centre and they said no. aeroline and transtar both fully booked for the timings i want. no problem. i tahan...

kegal
mummies, you all doing kegal? stupid question: how "tight" to squeeze? i wonder if i'm doing it wrong cos if squeeze too tight i feel my butt muscles contracting. or my stomach muscles. i wonder if i'm doing it wrong leh

Hi Serene,

From my understanding, if the termination is due to poor performance, the employer must provide sufficient proof, e.g. document to proof that they have been giving counseling and guidance for you to improve your performance. If not, guess your boss will have to spend some time to "entertain" MOM's enquiries if you decided to file a complaint.

However, employer has the right to ask the staff to leave immediately without compensation in the event of dismissal due to misconduct.

You may wish to drop an email to MOM, explain your situation to them and ask for their advice. Normally they will get back within 3 working days. You can try to call them as well but their lines are very "hot" so not easy to get them.

Not sure if you all still remember my detailed scan which was scheduled in my 16th week. The hospital called me n informed that they made a mistake...haha....the detailed scan should be in 20th week. So I got to wait till 7th Mar for the scan.

Next gynae visit will be tomorrow. Really hope to find out the BB's gender.

pinkbunny

u r right. by right when we do the kegel exercise, stomach and butt muscles shld not contract. Just imagine u r trying to stop the flow or your urine.

u know after delivery of my 1st ger, for first few weeks I wasnt able to stop my urine flow !! I panic !! tot this time siao liao... all my muscles gone !! luckily i regained this ability weeks later ... phew !!

re: ham

by right, we shouldnt touch cold cuts. but i still eat! almost everyday!

i choose baked ham(honey baked ham/apple baked ham) over the cheaper alternatives like PINIC ham which seems to be more raw.

i then put the ham on one slice of bread and cheese on the other piece of bread and put to toast in the oven on high heat. i reckon it will "cook" it a bit.

so far i ve no problems. avoid those from subway or delifrance instead. best if they are handled by yrself n direct from fridge to toaster..no left at room temperature in containers on shelf at those deli outlets.

then again, by the books, we shld be eating cold cuts at all!

Pinkbunny,
Cookie is my son's nickname. only I call him that now and my mummy club friends. My HB called him by his angmoh name (given by me).
He sure behaves like a Cookie Monster when he sees food.

dor dor, SY
you must not overstretch. me really scared and kiasi. think after this, don't want to give birth anymore, very tiring with back ache and ligament stretching.
I can't play much with him unless he's inside the play pen cos he is super active and will climb the stairs. I stood up slower than he crawls to the other end of the living room

Jmon,
wah, you're my idol. HB bathes Cookie. I only bathed him once when he was 4 mths. I don't even change his diapers now cos told HB to take care of it.
We must really take care of ourselves now else when old, a lot of problem.

tinyfeet,
yah, I microwaved the ham with cheese too. cold cuts should be ok but we should be on the safe side.

Re: kick
yah, confirmed can feel bb kick and not my stomach or veins pulsating.
at Week 20 now.

Jeanyard
Me bopian cos I'm a sahm ma. N i'm mostly alone at home with my son cos hubby's work time is very bad so I gotta handle everything. I guess I'm lucky I am still quite able to handle him n bring him out for shopping alone now. Jus dunno if I can still do it in the 3rd tri when tummy is very big.
Seems ur very tired aah ur son crawl faster then u stand....hehe
Must rest well okie.

morning mummies!!

kegal
labbit, you mean that i am right that i am wrong is it? hehe. so kegal - it's not really a tight squeeze la, just to 'stop' the flow only? and hold for how long?

jeanyard
hehe the name is so cute. "cookie". wow your husband so good! take care of diapers and bathe!

dordor
i envy you... i'd like to be a sahm too. really considering sigh. so stressed at work. we'll see. this month trying to live on husband's salary only, and when the baby is born we'll still go for babysitter, i'll stilll take 2 months maternity + 30 days spread over 30 weeks for 4-day work weeks, then if we feel it's still better for me to be home with the baby, then at least it would have been a well thought though decision for us and not rash.

good news everyone!
no more big trip for me to see hubby's family in end of march!!! we cham siong with his mum. cannot afford to make 2 big trips a year so it's better to go at christmas with the baby. rather than go in march and let them see my stomach. yay!!!

dreams
last night i dreamt of my baby!!! first time i think. in the dream, it was the first night we brought her home and i "got up" at 5am thinking, wow she let us sleep through the night! so i went to her room to check and it was so real cos it looked exactly like her room now, only in the dream there is a cot and she is in it. and she looked like suri!!! (tom cruise's daughter).

wonder if she's saying hi to me

lbt
after my first delivery, i also couldn't control my urine! so sad cos it was like such a basic function. i had UTI. it was quite bad cos cannot control urine. hopefully this time round it won't happen!

jeanyard
i also start to feel bb more nowadays. yesterday can even feel the stomach moving. told hb abt it and hope he get a chance to feel too!

dor dor
i also bring my son out alone now. keep telling hb dunno whether can do that in 3rd trimester and he just says stop going out..duh...

pinkbunny

yeah yeah u r right that u r wrong lah ahahah

ya do it for a few secs each time.I think do a few times a day .. i cant recall the details.

usually 1st time mothers will have weird dreams of their unborn child. that's very normal.

while I was preggie with my 1st ger, I always dreamt that I am breastfeeding her hehe

baby moving
oh this morning i asked my husband 'want to say hi to your daughter?'. he said 'maybe she's sleeping'. true enough i didn't feel her until about 8am! so cute la

lbt
UTI = urinary tract infection

my gygnae said cos i pushed too hard so the whole area down there very sensitive and i coulnd't pass urine initially. then when pass urine, it will be painful and cannot control.

pinkbunny
during confinement, dun think the old folks will let me drink cranberry juice..heee

SY
oh ya hehe ya, prob cannot drink that during confinement! lots of water... i think it helps get rid of the infection.

push too hard??? then how? so scary... i'm scared....

lbt
not eveyrone will get it. mine was more cos i pushed too hard during delivery and too long also. i was given medication for it. yucky medicine i remember. strangely, another fren of mine also got it after she gave birth.

pinkbunny
the old folks will tell u cannot drink water also. can only drink red date longan water...

i think i quite lousy at pushing...

SY
cannot drink WATER!??!! only drink red date longan water? walau! how to be lousy at pushing? thought push is push ma. got good and bad one meh?

sally
i also heard that 2nd time onwards you can recognise and differentiate between fluttering and gastic juices hehe.

ham
ham, sausage etc. by that count, does it mean fish ball, fish cake, meat balls (bak chor me!!!) all cannot?

pinkbunny
hee, i still drink water lah. but according to old folks, u are supposed to drink red date and longan drink only.

i think i din get the right timing and technique. took me one and half hours of pushing and my gynae had to help me push from the top. if still cannot, i think he will use vacuum.

jeanyard,
i bo bian leh. hb very lazy.. lolzzzzz.....

slowly will train the maid to bathe bbA liao...

bb movements:
i also can feel the bb's kicking inside since CNY. though i m a 2nd time mum, but the feeling is very good.

Hi Sally,

When you are in confinement, you will find that plain water is so much niceer than red dates drink cos you drink everyday till SIAN!!

i quite like longan and red date drink... as long it's not me who has to brew it haha. ma fan like you all say! i guess the confinement lady will do it hor?

sally,
ya lor, agreed with 3D, everyday drink the longan drink can get very sian one leh... some more the ingrediants not just red dates and longan only leh, my ILs put ginger, dang sheng, etc. but still nice to drink lah. and hor, becos' i drank alot, my tummy 'shrink' quite fast leh.

BB movement
JMon-Lynn, even i'm mother of 3, bb movements (of course not those sharp, jerking ones) is the one i miss most when not pregnant. That's y when i'm preggie again, i look forward to the movements. My bb movements are now quite obvious, can see the tummy rise n fall when bb moves (when lying down).

labbit and delphine
not sure if you have already mentioned if your first baby was also at Mt A. went for hospital tour last sat and while both my husband and i felt very warm and comforted in the cosy hospidal, i couldn't help but feel a bit scared when in the delivery room. the delivery suites are next to each other... can hear another mummy screaming or not ah?

songs and rhymes
a while ago some of you were talking about singing to your baby. my MIL was telling me about this very old song that i'd forgotten. que sera sera. like very appropriate for our sitautions now.

When I was just a little girl,
I asked my mother, 'What will I be?
'Will I be pretty?
'Will I be rich?'
Here's what she said to me:

'Que sera, sera,
'Whatever will be, will be;
'The future's not ours to see.
'Que sera, sera,
'What will be, will be.

When I grew up and fell in love,
I asked my sweetheart, 'What lies ahead?
'Will we have rainbows
'day after day?'
Here's what my sweetheart said:

'Que sera, sera,
'What will be, will be.'

Now I have children of my own,
They ask their mother, 'What will I be?
'Will I be handsome?
'Will I be rich?'
I tell them tenderly:

'Que sera, sera,
'What will be, will be.'
QUE SERA SERA

could be a nice song to sing. rather than all humpty dumpty and london bridge is falling down. i think these songs they will learn in school ba.

pinkbunny

me me me !! i delivered in Mt A ! yeah it was a cosy place and the sisters are very friendly right ? Oh yes becos my water bag leaked the whole nite, I hear so many mothers screaming their lungs away. hehe i guess these are the ones who did not take epidural. The next morning, the sister told me 6 babies were delivered the nite before ! wow !!!

Hi Beverly, you are due end July too right? my visit's next wed (wk 19) but I'll only be doing my detailed scan on wk 23..arrgh dats still a long way to go...

wah most of you can feel the little baby moving already..I'm still lying in bed everynight with both hands on tummy trying to feel my little one inside...

labbit
gulp. now i'm scareder than before. maybe can ask for earplugs. i ddin't talk to any of the sisters but the receptionists were really nice. and it's nice - they have a small chapel!

ok. ginger will be my best friend.

do1nk
i don't really feel my baby moving. i feel fluttering and bubbley on the inside. not the outside. so maybe you feel it too but you're not sure if it's gas?

pinkbunny,
ya, lbt is correct, it's the ginger makes my tummy shrink fast. my sil hates the drink, tats y her tummy remain quite big after her girl was few mth old. this is what my mil said cos she witnessed that. my tummy shrink quite fast cos i kept drinking the longan tea.

lbt,
ya when ppl ask me i also said dun kn cos i scare later give wrong info...my appointment is at east shore 2.30pm. how much u have to pay for the scan? mine hv to pay $180 if wan to take a 3D photo then have add another $25-30. so total around $205-210.

Re: Tummy
so most of the mummy tummy now showing already rite? but i still only look like i grown fat only now im in my 20 weeks liao but ppl still dun kn i preg... hahaha then most of my auntie they ask me y my tummy so small i also dn kn how to ans them ...hahaha is it normal huh?

ling
i think there is no 'standard' size. i read somewhere that big tummy does not necessarily mean big baby and vice versa. as long as it is growing well.

anyone can share the address/name of the shops at kaki bukit? baby palace or baby kingdom or something? i want to go take a look this weekend