(2008/07) July 2008

sonic
no need to wait 6 months btwn jabs. think just check with PD. usually wait one or 2 months is enough.

lbt
yes u need to go back for a booster jab at 18 months. my boy's booster jab and MMR kept getting delayed..he hasn't taken so far...

Jmon,
It's mandatory to try eggs before giving babies MMR.
On giving eggs, like most mummies did, I gave my boy egg york first, then egg white. Now my mum is mixing the whole egg in his porridge, he just eat without notice it. Generally my boy doesn't really 'enjoy' eating. We have to coax him to eat every single meal. So we will mix all ingredients in his porridge and feed him together.

SY,
Steam egg is an good idea ya, maybe I will try.

Steph,
Hmn... The cramps 'down there' huh? V area? That's abit strange. Wanna check with your gynae to be sure?

Do1nk,
There is yummy curry crab at AMK, eat with bee hoon.. Shiok!

3Ds, lbt, SY
Maybe I will check if can give my boy MMR and chicken pox on the same day, just need to endure the pain at one go.

Jang
U still can can do "za ma" arh? Wow...

desiree is so cute!!!

sonic
yeah my steam egg or omelette is a meal by itself. will add in brocoli and carrots as well. and one scoop of FM. so easy to prepare and no need to cook separate

lbt
i think the booster jab is the DPT one or something like that

i brought him to see PD twice already. the second time PD wondering why i go back when still the same. my mum gan cheong lor. kept saying wna to see again..haiz.

i missed one dose of fever med in the middle of the night cos too tired to wake up to give him. so his fever came back and he vomitted when he cried. he is ok as long as his fever doesn't come back. still his active usual self. just a nightmare at night!

Jmon,
yup, will steam the brocoli and carrots first so that not so hard. then add everything together. the cheese is optional lah. if i remember will put. if not then i skip it. my boy is not a big fan of cheese.

SY,
i m jus lazy hahaha, think i will jus mix the yolk, chop the brocoli and carrots into tiny bits and mix with his porridge & cook in slow cooker :p

SY

usually the fever comes back at nite. what my PD instructed was ... whether there is fever or not, at abt 10+ to 11, give a dosage of NEUROFEN to suppress the fever. And let the kid go to sleep, the fever will not come back. Then in the middle of the nite, no need to give dosage.

i steam egg, boil the egg or even fry the egg. My ger simply loves egg !

but beware of steaming the vege for too long cos the nutrients will be lost by then.

jmon
must try out as many foods as u can when they are young. at 1+, my boy started to turn fussy. i tried many different stuff with him...hee i quite on one. always read recipe books to see which one easy to try. until my hb think i bo liao cos my boy wasn't too receptive for a period of time. but i try to give variety. now for his meals, he gets noodles, pasta, porridge, rice etc. i did sandwich before but he din like the idea....

sept03
the highest temp that i took was 39.5. i din sponge him. even putting a towel on his forehead , he will cry. he hates the fever patch thing so the minute i try to use towel on him, he cries...

SY,
hope your boy is getting better, agree that usually the temp will shoot very high in the night. try to paste the patch behing his back. That's what i do cos my gal also dun like the patch on her forehead.

SY

yes, use damp towel.
err not too cold in case bb "GAM TIO" ahha

i use normal temp, if u want colder, just put on forehead bah ..

wa 39.5 v high. cry also no choice. if too high, go hospital i heard put inside tub of ices lor even worse. really must bring down temp

Fever
SY, hope your boy is getting better. Just an advice, the next time you go to see doctor, request for "insert fever medicine" (the bullet that you put through the back hole. I always have 1 ready in the fridge, just in case any of my children has high fever in the middle of night. Most kids do not like to be sponged or like to eat medicine in the middle of night. If the fever is very high, just insert the bullet, better when they are lying down.
PS: never let your child has high temperature for long period, especially boys as they might have fits.

Fever
If fever is high, go to hospital, they will bath the child with ice cold water (with ice cubes in them!)- happened to my son before when he was about 1+mth last time.

SY,
i can only try on weekends cos mil is too 'lazy' to cook other things for him...

hope my new maid can learn things fast then i can teach her to cook for my boy.

btw, my maid so far so good. mil 'likes' her hahaha... :p

sy,
usually if my boy kanna fever, i will use a damp cloth and wipe his forehead. sometime i will wipe the ears too cos i find the ears very hot leh.
And the fever always comes back in the middle of the nite. So usually i will hv to wake up hourly to check temp and wipe him if fever persist.

oh dear sheila,
that sounds abit cruel lor. I tried once to bathe my boy in cold water when he was running a fever. He cry until very jia lat and i have never seen him crying so miserably tat i cried too.
I picked him up and vowed never to do tat again.
Ice-cube+cold water.. unimaginable

no choice bcoz too high temp is bad for brains!!! so rather be cruel for that short period of time is better.

would like to share a pic of my 2yo boy

1232899.jpg

3Ds
i can't paste on him at all. the last time we managed to do it, my hb got to paste one on himself too. my hb so funny. took the masking tape and paste on his forehead to bluff him. quite a funny sight

shelia
thanks for your advice. my boy is ok with taking medicine. in fact, i can wake him up to take medicine cos he loves the medicine. but the doc did give me the insert yesterday just in case. never used before and a bit blur on how to use. but doc showed me yesterday. think it's really quite good. his fever went down very fast after that

Jang
yeah i remember when i was young and had high fever, i was admitted to hospital and they did cold showers. still remember it till now.

Jmon
i also get my maid to cook. usualyl i try on weekends then if successful i get my maid to replicate it. i do very easy stuff so easy to follow.

3Ds Family
Your girl, Desiree, is very pretty. Is she looking forward to the upcoming Lunar New Year?

Sept_03 Bride
Yeah... I cant helping crying also when i saw my son screaming when the nurse soak n bathed him with the icy cold water. The nurse explained that they had to do that (bring temperature down) before any brain damage happened as result to high fever. From then onward, i always i vowed not to let history repeat itself. If child has high fever, first thing to remember, bring fever down first as painless as possible.
By the way, your son is such a handsome boy...

SNL
ya lor our area like no good fish ball noodles hor?

delphine and sept03bride
your little ones are so cute! happy new year to them too!

SY
Can you share your recipe for steamed egg? Is it like shui dan in mixed rice stalls? I’ve never succeeded in making it!

Jang
That’s what my husband will do! Tomorrow at our next check we will film the scanning :D

Sheila/Pink bunny/Sonic,
thanks thanks..
She is looking forward to new year liao, everyday showing the hand gesture of "Gong xi Gong xi"

Sept03bride,
wow.. your boy so cute and chubby... dun think my gal can ever reach that stage.. she is always under weight...

SY

oh ya suppository is good to bring fever down.

wah sept03bride

ur boy is very well fed ! my ger is the petite one hehe

hey sonic...was it you then, who mentioned the curry crab @ AMK??

so there's really curry crab somewhere out there?? eat wiv beehoon? nice? where where where?

juz had tom yum fish soup for lunch....*slurp*

have not been satisfied with what I ate lately leh.. getting sick of milk and soya bean and fish!!

dats why I went for tom yum today...hot n nice..now dat it's raining..

feel like eating mee goreng too now...

it has been quite a while since i log in. i have just went for my detailed scan... mine is a mickey mouse. Yeah! now can prepare to buy the baby stuff.

do1nk
not really as i also tarbao home to do. then go office continue.

sonic

ya i always za ma when i go toilet (outside). how ah? can do it? safe?

but i wonder after my stomach grow big, how?

Re Crabs
why u guys still talking abt crabs ah? crabs v DIRTY ONE LEH. Its full of bacteria etc and the stall must really cook it asap after its killed. otherwise can be food poisoning too.

SY
some memories are just there. just like how i remember my wrist bone pop out after i fell down and the sinseh PRESSED it down.wakaoz no epi one lor hahahhaa. no ma zui yao one........ just SCREAMMMMMMMMM. and thats like pri sch. even kindergarden say byebye to my dad while walking to kindergarden can fall into one big drain when its raining. then the cleaning of my own wound etc. the pus etc, gosh. memories.

Pinkbunny
u guys goin to use camera/hp/video cam which one for filming? heh

i read some parents actually do those footprints in 24k or industrial gold, with pic n framed. but i juz feel uneasy when i look at them. not nice

Sept03
ya boy v 'ba ba' hehe. he really know how to pose heh

sept03
your boy compared to mine so big! think jh really quite small size...

pinkbunny
no particular recipe. just beat the egg with one scoop of FM and little bit of water. then i will add in the steamed carrots and brocoli (sometimes i will add mushroom also) and then just steam it. simple one.

jang
hee, my memory of my hospital stay was when i was in kindergarten! i cd remember it and my dad stayed in hospital with me those few days.

3Ds
yeah i went to see PD twice already. think he thinks this mummy super gan cheong...

Jenny
U so fast detail scan liao aah.
Congrats on ur boy. Must be so happy to go shopping.....haha
I remember for #1 once know the sex at detail scan we go buy something for bb.

Rain
Ask ur hubby to eat the same things as u lor forbidden then he also forbidden to eat lor.....hehe
U help him carry ur bb leh u suffer he must suffer with u ma......kekeke
That's why my hubby dun dare to restrict my food....hahaha

Jenny
waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa so fast. how many mths?\

some feb mth Mtb give birth in jan...... i think i better give birth in late july, at least aft i do my GST. ZZZZZZZzzzzzzzzzz or aug lo frm my latest EDD. less stressful for me

jang
what is za ma?

filming during the scan
my husband will use his mobile phone. he better be quick hor, because the scan is usually quite fast. wait he hand leg slow then miss the whole thing.

eh you got to relax la, don't always think about work leh. not good for your baby

SY
sorry ah, what is FM? formula milk is it?

detailed scan
chope, detailed scan is the 1 hour plus to 2 hour one is it? where they draw blood and everything? i think that's the one i'm going for this sat. AND CHECKING BABY GENDER!!! woohoo!! please be cooperative, baby, let mummy see ok?

crabs
jang....eh... don't la... i really love crabs... and suddenly now i feel like eating pepper crabs. wahhh!!! and i want to eat beehoon goreng... jialat. i think my cravings officially have started!

rain,
like i told u, for the #2,i bo chap liao. but my hb still as gan jiong as before hahaha...

eh, rain, stop the rain leh. i feel very sleepy now leh :p

crabs,
heng ah.. i m not a fan of CRAB. if not, i wil be thinking abt it and cannot work :p

i had mee soto for lunch and rite now i m munching 4 mini char siew bao and kopi lolzzz

Jmon, dor-dor,
I ask my hubby not to eat, he give me this :p
Ok lor. I still eat sometimes, out of his sight.

I just went for scan and now I cannot wait for the detail scan.

I have setup the baby bed ler. Need to air. Is there any lotion to use to sterilise the bedframe, etc?

pink bunny
yes FM = formula milk

detailed scan is quite long. no need to draw blood. but it also depends how cooperative your bb is.

wow so many mummies going for detailed scan. mine is on 27th feb

rain
u set up the bed so early? dun put the bedsheets everything first. if not will be dusty. the bb clothes all that dun need to wash too early also. i only washed them a month before bb came.