(2008/07) July 2008

celeste_blur, yes new maid must train from start but at least they might listen to u more as they lack of experience. but u need alot of tiem to guide them. for me, is diff lor cos i workin n no 1 at home. u too rgt? how u train her? take some leave?

Jang,

i still cant take porridge, chicken and prawns. but fortunately, porridge cooked by my mother is fine. those sell outside is a total no-no.

and i encounter something really bad in my lunch yesterday.
make me lose confident in hawker food.
eat fish soup and found a whole cockroach inside. totally gross. and i was already halfway there le. eee. never in my life had i encounter special ingredients in my food.

oh my. going fro lunch now. very hungry but don know how am i going to eat the food down later. maybe i will do a thorough check before i get them near my mouth.

then what did u do? did u show them the cockroach? call up relevant authority? wasay cockroachesssss so dirty creature! i always found hair/flies inside my foods. so sick! then i dont touch them anymore.

i was browsing thru the website n they have a song 'if u are happy, then u show it' or something... clapping is fine but the last thing i want is bb to "step" while he is inside.

Hi hi... My EDD is 17th Jul. Recently I'm feeling so depress and upset
bosses trying to make things difficult for me. 1st they says want CLOSE DOWN, then says want PAY CUT, and says 3 mths maternity only meant for those who work for more than 1yr
Dunno is it bcos of my pregnancy! Also haven't decide which gynae to go... Pls help!!!

3mths not v sure but u can check out MOH website. as for the 3rd mth, its up to the company to decide how to give. whether to give it in a full mth or take by portion. this is to avoid co having prob with employee absent for 3 whole mths and disrupt their working schedule. but they r v mean lor. how can be so mean to u now. there's mean employees and mean employers ard so dont think too much.

as for gynae, ve u been to any for checkup? why havent decide? i didnt jump hop my gynae lor. if good then continue. jump here n there only make me confused.

i'm e only staff here... my boss suffer frm DEPRESSION! Now she dun trust anyone and starts to suspect me tis & tat... "TOOK" co's $$$... giving me tons of shits...
Think she dun wan pay my maternity... doing all these things to FORCE me to leave

I've been trying so hard to help ever since she's suffering frm depression in late Aug. Handle e customer, run the company... and now what she's giving me!!!

garfield,
haizz...me oledi told my boss might have to take even up to 1 mth leave liowz...prob some unpaid leave if need be....*sigh*...i also no one help me train
...sad....

Lisa William,
I tot the MOM law is work 6 mths in co. can eligible for maternity leave liowz?

Yes, tat's wat I told her... then she says "Is it? Ok"

Dun understand why these FEMALE bosses can be so meant!!!

Actually I'm with KK for the time being and need to take leave/ time off on wkdays. She says how can KK no wkend? Then she claims her daughter VERY RESPONSIBLE... Cos she din take any leave on wkday for her checkup, she'll do it on wkend.

KK + Me = IRRESPONSIBLE

ya loh i'm also only staff to do with clerical work. headache. dont know who do payment etc when i'm away. but i plan to tar bao them home to do from 2nd mth onwards.

not 6mths but 180days? but thats for 1st n 2nd mth pay i think. its compulsory to give pregnant mother 1 month break from the delivery or so, whether or not they get paid/unpair leave.

3rd mth must meet other criteria. singaporean/married etc.

Hi Lisa William,

Please report to MOM regarding your company. You can get MOM to deal with them if your company keep giving you problems due to your pregnancy but you have to deal with this properly lah. My gf was fired from her company for stupid reasons after she told her boss she is pregnant coz he say it is costly if she go on leave often & maternity leave. she brought her case to MOM & her company kena fine & they compensate her.

re maternity leave
as long as you have worked 180 days, u will be entitled to the 3 months ML. for the 3rd month, you must be married and Singaporean etc. so if any companies try to shortchange u, please bring it to MOM's attention. it is not fair for the companies to behave this way....

I'm entitled for e 3mths! 6mth = 180day... so by e time I deliver I'm almost 12mths here.

We are e Maid agency and I'm not only doing the admin work but Sales... Home Service... Pick & Send FDW to/ frm airport... Do FDW's WorkPermit, Course, Test...

I'm so so so tired... nobody can help... yet stil say sour things to me! I'm so worried tat baby will get affected and become moody, upset, unhappy....

I've called MOM for help!!!

My boss aren't really "SILLY" even she's suffering frm depression
She keeps telling me tat company NOT MAKING $$$... Either pay CUT CUT CUT or "CLOSE DOWN"...

MOM says they can't do anything if they really close down.

All because of my pregnancy... things turn so sour. They knows nobody will employ me... so they make things difficult for me

mummy23
but if they really close down, can track whether it is genuine close down and not just some excuse right? quite silly if your boss close down becos of you getting pregnant

SY,
I think to be eligible for the additional 4 weeks on top of the default 8 weeks, as long as you are married and your baby is Sporean and you are PR?

celeste blur,
It depends only if the child is singaporean or not. Is your husband Singaporean or also SPR?

180 days is almost like 6months, so you aren't wrong. aga aga also good.

Hi Mummy 23,

Its terrible that you are stuck in this kidn of working environment, is it possible to have a talk with your boss?? She is a woman too, she shld understand also mah. I dun think anyone will close down just becoz 1 staff is pregnant, tat is like so weird. Better to talk it out with her face to face.

hi mummy23

i dont think ur boss will shutdown the company like that. She will be at the losing end also, unless the company is really in a bad shape.

alternatively why not start to look for a new job ?

american or british companies are usually very generous to preggies.

my fren went interview to a US company while she was pregnant and though she know she will be there for <6mths when she give birth, her boss gave her the 3 mths maternity leave too. How nice right ...

Good luck to u !

Rain,
mine both hb and child Sporean so I got 12 weeks. I got col. both are sporean but child is not sporean so got 8 weeks only. Thats why I agat agat think its like tat

mummy23
did your boss only started to be like this after u became pregnant?

if MOM cannot help, how abt writing to PMO? say something like govt wants us to have more kids but some working envt really not pro family.

Rain
I dun remember when I started.....hehe
But I dun think it matters when lah cos anyway bb can hear when u talk also ma cos he's always with u....hehehe
But normally I will talk to bb at night esp when I'm trying to sleep n he's very active.
N I will make hubby talk alittle n say goodnight to my tummy too......hehe

SY
For now I still dun feel unfair to #1 as I think #2 actually benefit leh....hehehe
Cos when we are reading n singing to #1 its consider tai jiao for #2 kill 2 birds with 1 stone.
But I'm already worried #1 will be abit neglected cos he normally plays until very wild with hubby when he gets home in the evening so will be laughing loudly. But would have to stop that when bb arrives else bb won't be able to sleep ma......sigh...

labbit
thanks for the tip of talking loud to baby! my husband keeps thinking he will scare the baby by talking normal tone so he always whispers. i also cannot hear. haha.

JMON
take care ya? drink plenty of water!!

qing
YUCK!!!!!! which hawker centre and which stall!!

celeste
how to both parents singaporean but child not singaporean ah?

dordor
your baby is active when you're trying to sleep? you can feel already ah?! i cannot feel anything leh. and i'm due about the same time as you. i only feel slightly sharp pains once in a while. wonder if that is common.

about tastebuds
i've been feeling hungry less often now, but hardly any appetite for anything. because of MS the only thing i can keep down these days are soupy things like mee sua, and boring tasteless crackers. argh

about babysitter
yay, found out there is a babysitter opposite my house! auntie network is strong in my neighbourhood! but still haven't found CL. seems i jumped a step hehe

about citizenship
mummies, if i am singaporean, but my husband is not, then technically if baby is born here, is it automatically singpaorean? or follow husband's nationality? or can choose?

about tang kwei and ginseng
mummies, not sure if i have posted this but gynae said the above two should be avoided because they may cause internal bleeding!

prenatal yoga
oh btw can anyone recommend a good pre natal yoga place? i went to whatever yoga at keong siak street but like very dingy leh the area. must walk through the office in a shophouse to go to a small room for the class. i walked out rather quickly. didn't feel comfortable

leg cramps
anyone gets them? like sleeping soundly and suddently TNG!!!! leg kena cramp then very pain kind? apparently wearing socks to sleep is supposed to help. or asking your husband to stretch your leg. i try and see how then come back and report ok?

hi pinkbunny..i am keen on prenatal yoga too! i heard that TMC offers classes..also, a few studios in tanglin mall..but i hv yet to check out any..will do so the next 2 weeks..let me know if you find somewhere good. I hv been to whatever, they are not bad but i dont know about their prenatal classes as I only went for the normal yoga classes.

dor dor
hmm, how old is your number 1? mine is 2 so now very active. feel that i dun rest enough cos of him and in a way that's unfair to number 2. but i agree with u that when we sing songs/read books, number 2 also benefit!

jang
think as long as bb is born in sg, they get a choice whether to be singaporean or not.

pinkbunny
so far no leg cramps. even for my first one, i dun get leg cramps also....

just beware of tanjong pagar hawker.
it's a fish soup store next to the famous ice kacang.

i brought the whole bowl back and demand for money back. when i show her the special ingredient, she say she will replace with another. but who would want another bowl. oh my. she quickly refund me the money as there is still ppl queueing. eeee.

yesterday went to those religion event then drank the chinese tea........ and argk they put ginseng inside! so i took just one sip and stop.

SY
not i asked leh. pinkbunny. but i think at least one must be SG PR or citizen right? otherwise, foreigners here on illegal visit etc gave birth then become a singaporean baby? hmnnn

dordor
think maybe u can start to introduce bb to yr kid already. i was watching the korea variety show and the small bro (think only 6yrs old) went shopping with her mother to buy stroller etc. then he even asked qn on whether stroller has brake etc. how to use. plus he learnt how to wrap bb using the blanket and holding bb up with a soft toy as eg. n he talked v softly and tell the bb to quickly come out n play with him. i think all these really helps to make 1st kid welcome the bb and also less jealousy etc. v cute bro. so can tell him bb in mummy's stomach/tummy, he must learn to lower his vol and not shout so as not to scare bb

Massage lady
when must we book them? need to advance booking?

morning ladies

pinkbunny,
Haha...paiseh, i blur typo error. I mean I got col. both parents are Spore PR but their child not Sporean so she got only 8 weeks ML *lol*

Jang,
for popurlar massage ladies you prob have to book way in advance like 4-5mths at least

Qing,
That is so awful.

Jang,
It is ok to drink that tea with ginseng as long as you don't take it often. I was drinking herbal tea which has those cooling herbs and ginseng when I'm only in 1 month preggy.

dor dor,
Every morning, I will tell baby that mummy going to work so must kuai kuai. Does that count?

Pinkbunny,
where are you staying? I'm having headache on how to look after my baby after birth and when I'm back to working.

Rain,
Your parents or in-laws cannot help u look after also? What bout relatives? Haizz...I went thru this stage with my No. 1

Morning bp &amp; lbt

There's no point to talk to my boss cos she's suffering frm DEPRESSION... Always use her sickness as an excuse, say she can't coninue... want close down, want cut manpower.

I think she keep using her DEPRESSION as an weapon... say and agree things then say "Is it? I can't remember bcos I'm having my medication!"

I've actually tried so many many times talking to her but RESULTS = Talking to WALL!

Mummy23

since ur boss is so heartless, maybe u want to look for a new job. At least spare a thought for yourself and the bb.

Celeste,
In-laws are staying in Malaysia, which is far from Singapore. My parents are working.

Am thinking of maid but scared scared maid dunno how to take care of baby.

wow few days never come in see got so many news post already...

Mummy23,
my company also closing down end of this mth..i also jobless at 1st i though still can work till may then i rest but now company ending this mth no CNY ang bao liao. i plan to look for part time 1st ba then after i give birth liao then look for new job...

i now 15 week + liao but some time still got MS ...sian ar... vomit till i scare...and everyday feel very tired wan to rest on bed dun feel like wake up..

Qing,
So u must be very busy planning for the wedding rite? but must take care of yrself dun stress yrself too much... but yr parent now ok with u liao rite?

I've send many resume... went for interview but they heard I'm pregnant
ask me wait

Really worried tat will affect my baby.

Pray hard tat I'll get a GOOD job.

Ling

I'm 13wk+ also having MS, always dun feel like eating... Always so so so tired. I'm actually thinking of taking part time

Wish U &amp; ME good good luck ya!

rain
ohhhhh i am brewing roasted jap tea to drink now hehehe.

Mummy23
normally pple employ pple when they need staff so the staff to be away soon for 2-3mths might be headache for them. but u might get lucky so dont worry too much.

its also good that those not interested in employing pregnant mothers will not waste yr time n trip during yr pregnancy.

Rain
if u employ maid, then install webcam? at most areas and make sure that u or husb can login to check out. otherwise, go to childcard. the one i check recently is like $800 after govt subsidy and full day from 7am to 7pm. but at alexandra/depot road.

i want to ask can sit cross leg?

Jang,
Why cannot sit cross leg? Always did that lor.

Maid:
I don't know ler..... maybe nearer to term I will know what to do as the light shone on me

i dont know if it will affect placenta or whatever in 1st trim lor. i think later stage (big stomach) not advisable because like affect bb. the legs must be placed at the side. thats what i learnt from i saw the korean mummy show.

Rain,
getting a maid is dependent on luck one. My ger 2-10mths taken care by nanny, then change to maid I tahanz her for 6 mths give up cos she got attitude problem, then now my ger at childcare. But I going to try for another maid again...cos been really tired preggie with no. 2 and having to handle no. 1 + hsework + job

Jang

why cannot cross leg ?
the only reason I can think of is that our big tummy is preventing it.

but a chinese physician did tell me not to sit with legs crossed. She says affect the spine. Shld sit with both legs touching the floor.

Hey mummies

100% agree maid depend on luck! Dun trust those agencies tat u pay more then they'll give u GRADE A maid. All bull shits!!!

We are dealing with human beings... we can't even b sure if our kids take care of us when we aged.

Some mayb good but some starts to change when they mix with others.

U mummies can post your maids problems, I'll try to help/ advice if I can.

P/S : I'm working in e maid agency.

jang
nothing wrong with cross leg. i think like what lbt said, it is more of spine problem.

re maid
i got my maid one month before my number 1 is born. she takes care of him full time when i m at work. of cos cleaning house etc not very good but at least she can take care of bb. i got both CL and maid during my confinement month and my maid learnt how to take care of bb during my confinement from the CL. that is one way to teach the maid how to take care of bb.