(2008/07) July 2008

morning mommies

sounds like everyone had fun at Ethan's birthday. I really suppressed that most managed to go in green, which I won't find in my closet..

do1nk
good to hear that bbG's fever is not that high. The fever will continue for a few days.. I feel it's better to stick to milk ba as it's easier to digest too..

mid week dim sum attach at red star 22 july (wed)
meet at 12pm sharp sharp ok?
1. pinkbunny
2. holly
3. sy
4. ME QING!!!
5. chumint

Denise had a fall yesterday, haiz, her cheek got a big blue black.. so heartpain.

Cin Bunny,
Congrats to Sophie! am still waiting...

bbG,
Hope G is better now, most prob it is a viral fever which temp will shoot up during the night.

think michelle is off enjoying Ethan's bday with him....

delphine,
sayang denise!

do1nk,
G better?

cinbunny,
whoa! i can see your excitement!

cake
The choc banana cake fm awfully chocolate was really nice. Everyone went for seconds, luckily I ordered a 2.5kg cake for 30+ adults. I gave C the banana part, no choc for him yet... he ate it and mummm-mummm-mummm-ed for more.

ronnie
it is at takeshimaya
don need taka card also got discount

HAPPY BIRTHDAY ETHAN...
bet u have a wonderful day today with daddy and mommy...

agree agree
no matter what our baby is the cutest.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY WUFFY...

happy bday to ethan and wuffy!

how come all the mummies can remember so well...

delphine
hope denise gets better. it is really heart pain when they fall

chumint
hee, i always tell my hb that his son is better looking than him too!!

bbG
me been looking at air purifiers lately. my fren says honeywell gets good reviews. i saw the osim one. looks not bad. but all not cheap. at least 500 and above..did u ever consider getting rainbow?

morning, mummies.. dunno what happened to bbG last nite but he juz refused to drink his milk and was crying like he's real hungry or upset.. haiz..

SY: I think the rainbow vacumn cleaner is a tad too expensive.. I'm still thinking of getting the air purifier/ionizer/humidifier.. looking at sharp but someone told me the model I want is about $900+ *gulp*

finally got our carseat too.. next is baby gate to gate up the playroom.. any good recommendations?

bbG
i got my babygate from Ikea... not too bad and not ex too... the length can be adjusted too... i got the wooden beige one and painted it dark brown to match my furnishing... I think they have afew range...

happy birthday to baby ethan and wuffy!

doink,
could it be night terror or teething pain? get well soon, bbG.

mommies,
i can't go for the liverpool match due to a last min biz trip. please PM me if you are interested to get a pair of tickets ($88 each usual price) for this Sun, 26 July. its east gate. Thanks!

do1nk
hope bbG is ok.. has he been to see PD? He might be having sore throat or ulcers that's why he's not drinking?

JSP, cin bunny
Is the one from Ikea pressure fixed or have to drill holes to fix? Thinking of getting one to bar the kitchen

Air Purifier
$500+ is very ex.. $900+ *faint* I saw a Zujirushi air purifier with ioniser selling $200+ at OG but not sure if this is good.

Bbg,
Mine is quite good.. I bought from tangs.. Use for 4 years still very good..

Air cleaner.. Honeywell is the best but bulky. mine is electrolux.. It has uv to kill the germs as well not just cleaning the air...

Yeah... I love tim sum... I can go tomorrow but with out bb... Hahaha bad mummy...

This week..
Duno what happen this week feel so tired.. Yesterday I woke up at 7 plus .. Then went went back to sleep at 8 plus till 11 plus... Brought big e home at 12.30 and we nap at 3 pm till 5 pm..

Wah... Really so tired leh...now feel so tired coz last night small e woke up at 4 am to play... I am going to school now duno will fall asleep or not...

missyz: hehe not nite terror.. coz the terror has not gone to bed yet then... was checking gums for erupting teeth dun have leh.. can't make him open wide enough to look for ulcers or a sore throat...didn't bring him to PD.. considering getting the insurance coverage that allows me to claim for his PD bills too, coz dats working out to be a bomb! anyone has this?

feeling tired: haiz.. had 5 mins to spare while waiting for bb to wake.. so went thru yesterday's papers and saw that article about the aging zoey vs fann... haiz.. think i really aged a lot too.. n always tired n haggard.. wiv hurting wrists too! wat do I do wiv my wrists? arrgh!

*pat pat esquare*
i know i m tired bcz of work plus no rest last weekend (parties, parties, parties). you also take good naps, not just big E and small E. jiayou on carving time out for ourselves to rest!!

sy, i remember only when referring to the wallpaper SD did a couple of months back...

hope Wuffy and Ethan enjoyed their actual birthdays!!!! muaks fm auntie cellow and bbC

alamak, tmr cannot go for midweek dim sum attack.

do1nk,
ya i not only feel tired and haggard, but look it too! that was one of my rare moments of hiao-ness. LOL
sayang your wrists. chiropractor can help?

tiredness
not only you e square, my energy level has drop alot too.. sleep a bit late, 12mn, and I will wake up feeling very tired.. sleepy at work.. esp now when there's not alot of work to do :p
Take plenty of rest whenever you can and exercise too.

do1nk
There is an insurance for PD bills? But there will be a grace period for the insurance to be in place, right? Think about 1-2mths? hao ran's insurance can only claim for PD visit for accidents like falling down, etc

wow too busy to catch up here...

birthday: bbX birthday was great but my place no air con in the living and dining room so it was hot :p

Do1nk: Oh no to bbG! Hope he is better now!! PD Bills, mine is paid by co. Insurer is Aviva. I think i also claimed a ton! Went to the PD again yesterday. Turn out bbX has a sensitive air way (genetic) so she is very prone to phlegm ... haiz. she is likely to outgrow it at 5YO!! SO think i got to stay in the same co until bbX grows up ... otherwise all the medical bills will kill me! hee hee hee

bb gate: why do we need that ah? :p

bb car seat: where got discount? which is good and cheap? havent upgraded bbX's small car seat yet :p

tiredness, tell me abt it! I sleep at 11pm and still looks like a zoombie... but i realise that if i take royal jelly in supplement in the morning, i will be more energetic! dunno if it is real or not ...maybe it was just a good night sleep! hahaha

car seat: wanted to compare prices and colours.. but procrastinated til now and decided to juz heck it and get it from wherever we saw it next..and it was spring maternity at suntec.. got a boring ole plain black one...

baby gate: to gate the playroom so we can dump him there.. now he crawls out after us! again.. was beo-ing the all clear swing gate by first few years.. but decided not to,.. coz playroom already quite warm, and this one may not allow as much air to flow thru

hmm..chiropractor for wrists... i know acupuncture didn't help.. =(

jacelyn,
your co pays 100% of the PD bills? good benefits!! yea, better stay there until bbX outgrows her sensitive airway.
I co-pay 20%, my company pays 80%. Luckily got the 80%... otherwise big fat monetary bomb.

do1nk,
try the chiropractor la.. your wrists hurting from preggie days till now on and off liao.
got insurance for PD bills meh? wazzit called?

simmering resentment towards HB
dunno why, but this reared its ugly head again. haiya. 2 b fair, he wash pump for me in BKK, takes C out last evening so that i can conc on work, and does a whole host of other things for me and the family. gosh... maybe PMS is coming back!!!!!!!

cellow yah so far my co pays for all bills. but i dunno if we will hit the limit and i dunno what is the limit ... lucky ah. if not really a big bomb for me. esp the hospital bills the last time. And now it all makes sense why bbX had the bad bad cough turned pnuemonia - coz she has sensitive air way!

crawling into the kitchen, yah bbX also follow me into the kitchen ... but if i lock her outside, she will be sreaming i am sure ... hmmm

jacelyn
lovely cake! looks too pretty to eat

poor bbG and do1nk. sayang sayang

cin bunny and JSP
ya, same question as chumint. must drill? i badly need one for kitchen opening cos poppy loves going into kitchen. last time i say "NO, POPPY!" and she will just wave at me and go in. like the queen. now i say "NO, POPPY!" she just smile and continue walking in. pretend never hear.

and while i am at ikea i will also get drawer locks. our little friend here likes to open drawers and throw stuff out. yesterday her finger got KIAPed in the drawer

pb,
tell me about it. J opened the cupboard and broke a bowl yesterday! so dangerous! ikea has drawer locks? it fits any sizes of drawers?

mummies, i need all your ingenuity for a diplomatic response

C was throwing the drink coasters onto the floor from the living room coffee table. FIL told him sternly 'no' then whacked his hand (but not v hard la) when he did it again. I dont like anyone but me and HB smacking/hitting/whacking or otherwise laying a hand on C, personal preference. What would you tell the FIL, so as not to cause a domestic spat?

cellow
i would tell HB to tell FIL. this kind of thing, better own child tell own parent. separately, have a talk with HB too, and tell him 'next time i nudge you, act quickly!'

but may not work with all HBs. mine, sometimes i discreetly nudge him and he would ask loudly 'what? your elbow is poking me!'.

missy
i have no idea about the drawer locks. i've seen it before but never really looked closely. such things we don't look at until we need it

girls,
i am sorry. meeting ex colleagues for lunch on thursday and it is DIM SUM. i cannot worm out of this one. and i cannot have dim sum two days in a row! so i won't be joining on wed. sorry!!!

Cellow: hmmm that's a difficult situation. It depends on how open your FIL is about say, his son telling him not to do that. If he's open enough, it's alright. If not, it could strain family relationship. In my family, we could never do that to an elder, unless it's really very serious. Although I do not like it as well, but I just close an eye.

Jaslyn, that's a really lovely cake. Where did you buy it from?

cellow
or maybe you could also quickly reach for C and reinforce the message. 1. it (duh) reinforces the message and 2. it gives you the opportunity to take C away so your FIL cannot hit him again. 3. hopefully it is a subtle way to tell your FIL that you are in charge of your child

i also think that only parents should have the 'right' to reprimand their children. come to think of it, my granny was my main caregiver when i was growing up and she never laid a hand on me.

jacelyn
nice cake there.. is it magical rainbow? I ordered Magical rainbow design for hao ran's birthday but sticking to the original design. Did you pay extra to change the design?

pb
sayang poppy..

missy
I think ikea has the 2 ways lock for drawers that you have to push down to unlock it. Not sure about the price

cellow
I agree with pb to let your hubby talk to your FIL but most of the times they will still do it again. Sometimes I tell FIL not to handle hao ran while mopping the floor as he squeeze the mop with his bare hands (imagine the dirts, germs stuck to his hands). He will remember for a few days but after that, he will forget..

PB, SDchick,
I suspect... only suspect ah... HB's views on this are different fm mine. He belongs to the spare the rod, spoil the child school of thot more than i do. And he ll def say, we also grew up like that wat.

Also... poor C. To be smacked for smthing that is age-appropriate. I m not sure that he is able to understand why he cannot throw things on the floor. Usually now, I say 'No' very firmly then proceed to distract him. At 1yo, they are still easily distracted wat... so no need to be so fierce.

chumint,
oh.
oops. my posting just made you realise it ha... dun make any sudden actions to upset the domestic peace hor.
health issues like that, my FIL has no problems. ever since this H1N1 virus, all of us have been washing hands and feet, 1st thing to do when we come home.

jacelyn,
tis amazing the patissier's strawberry shortcake can hold up all the wgt of the toppers!
i know tis strawberry shortcake cz ethan's looked similar.

patissier cake
munching the affection cake now, the one i ordered using smiggle's card. yum yum yum. hehehe

SDchick, its from patissier :p

Chumint yup! its the magical rainbow design from Patissier (as cellow said, its strawberry shortcake!). For the pooh and friends, they are cake toppers coz patissier say they cannot make these figurines themselves due to copy right issues. so i went to toys r us to buy it. I like this design though hubby say abit too much things on the cake. think if the heart shape at the corner is not so big then it will be more spacious :p

smacking,
cellow, i am guilty. sometimes i smack bbX too .. but yah i agree smacking like no use. they dun understand yet. my mum does it as well but not too hard. but i think my PIL never do it. they scared i angry ;P

affection cake, nice nice?? i missed it!!

cellow
actually I didn't think much into family members smacking hao ran.. hahah... as long as it's not hard slap.. but I totally agree that smacking them won't make them realised their mistakes.. he will only stop and shake his head when I said "no" then continue with what he's gonna do. So usually I will just carry him away from the spot.