(2008/07) July 2008

wow they inject the pain killer at where? then they also need to poke one at the back of our hand rite? that 1 pain anot?

JMON,

I also tot that my threshold for pain is low.....imagine i'm damn scared of injection but it turned out ok leh. During the intense labour pain, i kept telling myself that it's going to be over soon and it's already too late for epidural so dun take the risk of getting one - partly i'm also afraid of the tube insertion for epidural. that's how i pulled thru loh......

Jmon,
hand one very pain then i sure die de lah ... hahaha...

that y i thinking to go for c-sec i knock me off b4 do anything to me...

but i also thinking to go for natural with epidural... cannot make up my mind..

shay, piggy
my brain also not working. dunno why but today also not feeling very well. head feel so heavy

ling
dun think too much. conc on your current one.

Jmom
once they start walking it gets even crazier!

re spring maternity
it has been there at century sq for very long. i bought some clothes there during my last pregnancy. that's more than 2 years ago.

re epidural
i find that if labour is short, then it is easier to take it. my labour was pretty long so i dunno how i can survive without epi...

rain
the bb bonus is paid every half yearly $750 each time

ling
dun think too much abt the labor. still so early. dun scare yourself..

ling,
i would not want to go thru c sec lor. when i saw my mum gave birth to my youngest bro (when i was at 10), she like very jia lat leh.. i cant even take the pain when the wound is healing lor

Century Sq Spring Maternity:
the sale staff told me they have a shop there. last time is actually at the small space.

the staff even told me they hv new arrivals this mth...

me going home to see ah boy now, ciao~!

Chloegal, SY, SNL, thanks for assuring me on Dr Han's experience. I read that thread discussing abt him. Many sing praises of him, he's indeed popular. May I ask, does he help you to measure bb's length and estimate weight of bb for you at every visit, even towards the later part of your pregnancy?

My previous gynae refused to measure length and weight for me from weeks 20 onwards, giving excuses that bb is too big to measure. Only at my 35-36 weeks then she commented that I gained too little weight, so the bb might be too small.. Then ask me to eat more at last stage.. I was so 'gan cheong' then and keep pushing myself to eat more, luckily no prenatal blues.

May I know that, besides price difference, what are the differences between seeing gynae at TPS or the Specialist Clinic? If I see my gynae at the specialist clinic, the ultrasound scanning

I've seen another gynae at TPS when I have my first one. I find that waiting time is not short, and services over there is not as impressive though.

Chloegal, my edd is mid july.

Qing,
I didn't really follow your story from the start. But reading the last few posts, seems that the only obstacle is your parents now. Since your bf wants the bb, so there won't be any financial problem raising up the baby. Your parents might be mad with you for not listening to them, but trust that your parents will not want to lose you as their daugther. Their anger will subside as time passes by. And, by the time your baby is born, they will be full of joys seeing their grandchildren.

Ceraine,
So sorry to hear abt your story. But glad that you are so brave to go thru all that. I believe you will be blessed with a healthy baby soon. Be strong and hopeful always!!

shay,
hey! it was great rite? e feeling o pushing out our bb? i had natural w/o epi too. n yah, our mums too. so when i proudly told my mum i had no epi she just looked at me n say "CHEY! most ppl oso no epi wah!" n she was nt e least bit impressed! hiyoooo... hopefully tis time rd i can do it again...

lbt,
yeah... my hubby hor... kept nagging n nagging bt having no. 2 e last time cos he wanted tax rebate!!! hahahaha... got tis kinda ppl hor... but we wanted a companion 4 no. 1 too lah. we feel it's more healthy 2 haf at least 2 kids. or else so lonely 4 them.

oh, how old is ur gal? mine just turned one. u tink it's better 2 haf an active than a quiet kid ar? hehehehe... mine hor, in e dec thread, is one o e least active. up till now, she still enjoys snuggling on e bed w us. roll here roll there... n she stones all e time. i do wish 4 her 2 b more active tho. more fun. but now tt i'm preg n i'm a sahm (no maid), i'm secretly thankful tt she's nt all over e place.

qing,
great tt u're considering keeping e bb. erm, i really can't rem figures. 4 me, 1st 8 mths, milk free cos BF mah. just invest in a gd pump. mine costs bt $90 i tink. n some nursing wear. i haf 5. n i just kept wearing them every single time i went out until i was sooooo sian. but a jacket wld do 4 discretion too.

i used cloth diapers until she was 9 or 10 mths. can't rem. so saved on diaper cost. only used diaper at nite or going out. n e samples fr hosp etc lasted q long. tip: ask 4 diapers 4 ur full mth party. hahahaha... oh n, use cheap ones. i'm using no frills brand 4 day. only 19cents p piece.

wat else? i prepare her food myself, cept 4 cereals n bread. oso oso nt ex lah cept 4 fish n meat.

clothes i hardly buy cos i haf A LOT o hand me dns. i spend v v little on toys oso. like wat e mums said, when young, they dun really noe how 2 play w them. older liao, they prefer non toys... so no need 2 buy ex toys.

but i feel FM, stroller, cot, carrier etc must get better quality ones cos they affect bb's welfare.

i din hire confinement nanny. nobody helped. me n hubby did it all by ourselves. oh, but my mil cooked e meals n my hubby collected lor. no maid oso.

chk ups n vaccinations, if convenient, go 2 GP or poly. my gynae told me it's nt nec to haf them at PD. n i found it true. PD's charges r sky hi. but 4 specific prob o my bb, i'll go PD lor.

so hor... act nt v ex one. n if u're discipline. dun spend a lot. save n save. confirm can get by n w some extra 2 boot!

rain, ling,
aiyo, y u're tink bt e pain now??? heheheh... during my birth process hor, i tink i had a total o 11 injections! hahaha... dun worry lah. when e time come, u'll b so preoccupied tt u won't feel e pain tt much.

My EDD on 28 Jul 08.

Had miscarriage few mths back in Aug as baby stopped growing since week 8 but only found out in week 11 when I went for FTS. That was my 1st pregnancy.

Now in my 7th week pregnancy so very worry about my baby n feel like going for ultra scan everyday to check on baby's progress as this is the only way to make sure my baby is still growing.

Sometimes too worry n cannot sleep at nite. Think next week will be even harder for me. Really dunno what to do.

Jmom
Thanx in advance.....hehe
Meeting on 26th I can only know last min if I can make it.
My son is like super glue goes everywhere I go.....hehehe

SereneYap
Where's perfect mum??
Actually I didn't really buy maternity clothes for my #1 cos feel so ex. But this time got weddings to attend....sigh
So die die must buy liao.

kimi

i thnk your gal very kuai lor ... at least she knows mummy is having a difficult time now so she still snug on the bed with u all !!

mine is crawling every where, exploring every corner !!

Beverly

Dont worry too much. The bb can feel it. Just try to be positive ok !!

lbt,
erm, no leh. she's a bit more active nowadays but still considered v mild compared 2 other bbs o her age. haha. hubby's on hol. heng ah! can help take care o her. hopefully by e time he goes bk 2 work, my MS wld haf subsided or else i dunno how!!!

u haven't told me ur gal's age!

beverly,
ya. dun worry too much. mb u try 2 talk 2 bb more. i did tt 4 my 1st one when doc was nt v hopeful too. i kept asking it to jia you but if it's really too tiring, i told it tt mama wld understand tt it can rest. BUT i'll add tt e world is a beautiful place i hope it can come out n see it.

Can I join you ladies in this thread? My EDD is on the 7 July 08. This is my 2nd pregnancy and I have a very active 14 mths old bb girl..

I am also experiencing the MS now, hopefully it will gradually goes off...

Hi Jas
I've a 14mths old boy too...hehe

Really seems like alot of 2nd or 3rd time mummies here. So gald we have more company to share our kids feeling with new baby.

Btw wanna share a tip.
Cos I can't take water now only alittle n I feel very bloated n uncomfy no matter if its cold or warm. Sometimes even feel like puking.
Jus now I was thirsty but dunno wat to drink when I realise I had lemons in my fridge n viola!!
Its so refreshing n nice when I squeeze a bit of lemon juice into cold water.....

re: <font color="ff0000">First Gathering cum Maternity Shopping</font>
where: Suntec
when: 26th Dec 11am
who:

1. Jeanyard
2. Jmon

Sally,
do you know how I can convert the existing table from web to excel?

Miracle,
I had GD last time too. very sure will get it this time but now, I just eat a lot since appetite is v good. will go on diet on my 6th mth. blood test is awful, like mini-suicide cos have to incur pain to myself. I didn't do the blood test and kena scolding by nurse. I managed to control my diet so well that bb went from 97% to 50% frm 7th to 8th mth.
What did you eat for your last pregnancy? me no white rice at all, only wholemeal bread for replacement.

dor dor, 3D
take half day and come join us?
this time must buy all the nice nice maternity clothes for new yr.

Qing,
hospital fee - I was from class B2 (subsidised). if you don't mind, can take class C, should be less than $2000 all deduct from CPF (but if you're not married, cannot deduct from HB) Go polyclinic to ask to refer to KKH.

monthly milk money - FREE if you breastfeed. otherwise, go JB to buy, at least $6 cheaper for 3 weeks' supply

diaper money - can use cloth diaper or wait for NTUC to have sale. about $10/week?

nanny / maid - you don't need them

maternity wear - can buy 2nd hand from the sale forum

childcare - no experience yet. ask other mummies with older kid. go PAP cheaper. start school at 5 instead of 2.

any other fee - immunisation cost, can get subsidied or free at polyclinic.
bb clothes, get 2nd hand from relatives or forum here. toys - don't need much, home appliance good enought and lots of parental interaction (this is priceless!!)

My advice: whatever your decision is, don't look back and live happily ok?

labbit,
how old is your girl now?
Cookie likes to stand more than crawling.
I am going to stop carrying him soon cos backache.

Shay,
I had epi during my 1st delivery and didn't even know when bb came out, so will definitely go again. in fact, it was so painless, I decided to go for a 2nd bb.

for those new mums, best you attend some antenatal class to decide what is best for you.

ling,
me scared of injection too. when they injected the drip into my hand, I cried.

Hi dor dor

Thanks for the tip.. I cant take alot of plain water too, me always take fruit punch or orange squash nowadays even though I know it is not so healthly.. haha

Btw, is your little boy very active? Mine is very active but I guess now kids are all very active compared to last time.

good morning mummies!

I've been drinking lots of milo and ribena coz I find that plain water tastes funny now..

read that almonds help curb MS too so may go grab some later...

have a great week ahead and christmas is coming soon!

jean,
my boy called Ashton. i dont think i will brin him out that day leh. cannot handle him alone when shopping. very troublesome. :p

sonic
for my experience, Dr Han doesn't really measure bb's length and weight everytime but when i ask him, he will tell me. i know of some gynaes who refuse to measure one. But Dr Han is very good. he used his hands to feel my stomach and bb and then he estimated quite acurately. though my bb was quite small, he was always very reassuring abt it. in fact, he even joked with me that easier to give birth. he may not tell u the measurement every time but when u ask, he will tell u.

the service at TPS has improved after my last complaint! the last time i went to see Dr Han, i waited so long and i was so pissed that i called up to complain. the second time i went to see him,. really got a lot of difference. waiting time was really short.

beverly
be positive! bb will know when u have all these negative thoughts. sometimes it is hard to control but must really try. hope u have a smooth pregnancy!

Jmom
i wanted to go buy lemon but kept forgetting. i also hate plain water now. i used to be able to drink a lot of water but now...haiz

dor dor,
the perfect mum have few outlets

1)International plaza #02-81/81A
2) The Arcade #02-05 ( you can look for younne she quite friendly this outlets only open mon to fri.
3) Suntec city mall tower 2 #03-019
4) Heartland mall Blk 205 #03-32

Jeanyard,
wow i sure cry too like that...then they inject the epi for u pain bo? cos my gf said u feel some one punch u at yr backbone..

then where got antenatal class?

dun think i can join u all for shopping on 26th cos i working leh ... somemore this few week no mood to do my work now like alot work cannot finish ....

Can check with u all,
my belly button there hor very pain leh... is it normal ar? some time pain some time not pain... but this few days pain when i walk i can feel the pain at there..

I'll be away for a short christmas holiday so won't be able to join in the shopping gathering too.. but you girls have fun!

Ling.. wat kinda pain is it? dull ache or sharp pain or on the surface..maybe safer to check with a doctor..

i know I sometimes feel a slight pulling pain or sometimes a sharp pain in my abdomen at certain angles..but heard this is normal?

do1nk,
hmmm i also dun kn how to said but more like pulling pain only at the belly button there like some one pull u from inside. dun kn any one of u got this kind of pain anot cos i dun kn normal anot.

ling
when i took my epi, i din feel the pain cos the pain for the contractions was worse!

i have some on and off pain at belly button also. think it's normal.

I will not be joining too cos my parents-in-law are visiting us. But will like to know what to buy for 2nd trimester?

Clueless...

Epi-free labour
I salute those mommies who had gone thru ithout epi! I couldn't take it and it was bliss for me after the effect set in!

Ling
They'll administer anesthetic before giving you the epi jab 'cos the needle is very big!!! You'll only feel the prick on your back when they administer the anesthetic which is bearable

belly button pain, me dun have

Rain
What do mean what to buy for 2nd trimester? For yourself or bb?

Jeanyard,
love to take leave but lots of work to clear due to year end. i can meet you ladies for lunch??

Dor dor,
I have perfect mum VIP card from my 1st pregnancy, 20% off regular price. Any mummies interested?

Went to toilet just now and noticed some pinkish spotting. Is this common for 10 weeks pregnancy like us ? Anyone having similar situation here ? Is this normal ?

rain
actually dun need to buy much for yourself. just get some new clothes will do.

MeiH
best to let your gynae know abt the spotting.

3Ds
my office is near city hall too. where is your office?

today very no mood to work.... from morning till now not feeling well...i see computer headach liao... moody too..im into 12 week liao y the sickness havent over