(2008/06) June 2008

For St andrews, cons are: not much toys there... mainly its puzzles etc, no outdoor playground and its confined to void deck, so it might be very boring for the kids.

But pros are the teachers are a very dedicated bunch. They have been teaching there for 10 over years so all very experienced. When Isaiah refuse to eat fruit, they will take the effort to cut the fruit into smaller pcs and ask him to eat. Very disciplined environment there. Whenever I go and visit Isaiah, I always see him either with his friends listening to teacher reading books or he will be sitting and playing puzzles by himself on a table.. no running around like Ichiban. Since he join this CC, I hear him sing songs like Jesus loves me etc and I'm quite happy haha But I do not think they are as strong academically as JCCK or JCK. I spoke to the principal before and I asked her how do they prepare them for p1 and she said let them develop love for books. At least now whenever I bring Isaiah to library, he will guai guai sit down and read books with me.. not like last time run here and there.

I was thinking if possible, send him to JCK in morning then after that send him to CC since they are all nearby. But my JCK slot is afternoon sianz and not morning. Will see whether principal has place for me to switch or not

Btw, I gave up Ariel's St Jame's kindergarten place already... just going to send her to St Andrew easier for me :p

talking abt sleeping arrangements...#1 sleep with maid and #2 sleep with me...

Btw gymboree having 30% storewide sale including sale item and there's also 50% gymbucks redemption so very worth it.. anyone keen to order? www.gymboree.com sms me...

reading back on previous archives:

ellysia, congrats on your pregnancy!!

zuen, I also duno how to let him attend JCK.. maybe I will send him there every morning or get my in laws to send him there.. currently my in law every morning come pick him up go to st andrew which is at lakeside area so i very xin lan hahahaha... we might be shifting to lakeside area next year also, then will be easy to bring them to cc and Rulang. I also hear Rulang alot of stress, but will prob stick to bringing him there since old boy, no need PV and headache

Connie.. which enrichment schools are good? Ive been too laid back in teaching isaiah, only play logico with him every night, sometimes he want to play i also dun want, me am lazy mummy. For PV, need to register 2 years before attending ie when they reach 5 yrs old...
Im thinking of signing him up for yamaha.. anyone want to sign up together?

Roxy,
Yamaha can take in kids from 3yrs?

Mine not ready for piano yet. Will only send him to music class when he is ready. Maybe the music tots can be consider at this moment.

Not sure which enrichment sch is good. All have cons and pros. Most sending to zoophonics n you can read.....

Me a lazy mom, so only send him to the montessori at my void deck. convenient and he seem to enjoy it over playground. I sending my gal to them for 2hrs program. 3x per week till she is ready then convert to 5 days.

Roxy,
Ahhh.. St andrews.. the ichiban is the one at yunnan walk or hong san? There r 2 different ibanchi there. I was considering both too.
I will be monitoring Shauna awhile more before I decide. Yday, I went down to celebrate her bday in school and she went for excusrion today. S, I didnt have any trouble at all with her for these few days. -____-" Apparently, she doesnt hate school so much lor.
You mentioned that Isaiah doesnt liek school. Does he put up a struggle when it is time to go to school or merely not keen?

I am keen on Yamaha. The one beside the library? I dun think they do piano now. Only some music appreciation. Have you done homework? Whoch day and date?

If I am you, I will definitely send my kids to Rulang. Best school in the west area leh, so difficult to get in and dun have to pull hair and find time to do PV.

Connie,
Are you sending your boy to Zoophonics soon?
I am thinking of doing so in the second half of the year after Shauna completes her My Little Gym term this month.

Zuen,
I will stick to summer montessori since he is progressing there. Currently he rather go into the class then play at the playground outside the class. If change, worried there might be rejection.

Connie,
I might be transferring Shauna to the afternoon session next term. She's still rejecting school and the school bus. My niece is in the same school, taking school bus in the afternoon. I am hoping that Shauna will feel braver with her cousin with her.
Are the teachers the same in teh afternoon class? Lu lao shi, Mrs Teo and Mdm Chin?

Connie,
Tat is precisely my fear. If she delay her sleeping time, hb n I will die. We start work very early.
Wat time does ur boy sleep?

I usually left home at 650am for work.

I normally let him sleep before 11am. DEpends on his nap time, at times he can nap till 7pm so by 10, he still awake. I just off the light and ignore him, he will play n go to sleep himself.

Now is better, initially he only managed to sleep by 12 and within that 2hrs, he can wake me to pee for 3 - 4 times.

I'm still thinking should I convert him to AM session next yr as my gal will be joining. As what Mrs Chong said, by mid, some kids will have own friends thus some are relunctance to change. I think I'm in this stage now.

The only set back about PM is the nap n the extreme weather. Can be real hot at to & fro timing.

Connie,
I am not much ealier then. I also leave for work at about the same time.
Shauna now sleeps at about 10[pm to 10.30pm and still needs us to tuck her to bed. She will talk to us and demand stories and want us to pat her to sleep. So I think we will die if she delay her sleep time.
The only way is to cut her nap. If she really need to sleep, then can only let her have a short nap. And I will end up with a cranky toddler. -.o" Nightmare.
Shauna has her own friends already. She can tell me who is who when I go down to school to celebrate her bday. She can also tell me the names of her friend when I ask her the things that happened in school.
I am also worried. Haiz, I must go home and ask her again today. I still have a few more days to decide.

If your girl in the am session, then it make sense to change your bou. Otherwise got to walk them to school 2x wor.
And if you want to change, sure got slot if I am moving my girl to pm session. Hehe.

I will put both in e same session so she will have to suit my boy.

Ur gal so smart , will tell u stuff. Mine still refuse to tell me more.

Ya. I read story books can read up to more than 4 n he still refuse to sleep. By then I so tired n refuse to read more. Lazy mom.

Connie,
I just called the principal to tell her that I will switch Shauna to the afternoon class. Apparently there is somebody else who also wanted to switch (from the afternoon) class and so we are doing a direct switch. That is to say, if my girl cannot get used to the afternoon class, we are screwed! But no choice, Shauna rejects school again this morning. She actually cried bloody murder. -____-"

Zuen,
Poor gal. think easier to adapt the same school.
Good luck.

You can visit ichiban kindergarten to spare. some moms remark that not bad.

Connie,
Ecco kids is ex? I no need tpt for ecco kids. Now, I m paying $210 + $95 for school bus. So I thinks ecco kids not very much more expensive.

Zuen,
If I did not recall wrongly. Their 2 months is equivalent to our 3 months fee. The school bus cost more than 120/pax.

I need to plan based on 2 toddler cos my gal entering next yr. So if you plan both to go into same sch, it will be v x. Hear St francis only 75/pax.

Connie,
Let you noe after I visit ecco kids.
My no 2 only starting late next year or the year after that.
Did you attend the teacher-parent session? I missed it cos we went on cruise. How was it?

Long time have not log in to the forum! Happy 3rd birthday to our June babies ... Now already 3 year old toddlers... Time really flies!

Enjoy this beautiful journey...

Zuen,
Ya, I went and nonthing much ba. the Chinese teacher remark that Zac was not paying attention in class, look here n there. They basically have to put him infront. During her class, he is dozing off at times, have to carrying him to sleep for a while. There is 2 pax q for morning session , so nxt year nursery have 20 kids. So now I request to q. Not sure how the teacher charge, if he cont. like this sure will affect his study cos he might be the only who doze off.

Mrs Teo told me to buy the bigger diameter pencil so that he can learn to hold. My mistake cos I thought he can use the normal one as we are using. So till now, he is still unable to hold properly but weird, my gal can,.

Connie,
Aiyo, I think shauna's turn to doze off when she starts pm session in July. Haiz.
Shauna also haven't master pencil skill. I saw some 3 yo toddlers can write very well already. Makes me worry.

Zuen,
Yes, I'm also very worried. His peers of same age are able to tell his mom that he got homework and do it himself. Mine will rather play car than writing. He still can't write due to the poor grip. I just bought those bigger pencil last sat, will see whether will he have a better grip with that.

Connie,
our #2 was also like that,
his teacher encouraged us to let him play things that can strengthen his fingers,
e.g.playdoh, stressballs

Then I bought this pencil grips from USA,
this improved his writing a lot,
HTHs.

5532386.jpg

My boy just cele his 3 yr old bday. I ordered non-dairy cake for his cele at childcare and for our own celebration. 1KG cake cost $100+ and the other 2KG cost $200+. He is v happy with the cakes bec' he normally dun get to eat it due to his dairy allergy.

I dun tink my boy can write yet. But he can hold crayons and he been doing art work in cc. I dun tink the cc has start teaching writing at this age. Is it too early?

Btw, over these few mths he has advanced quite a lot in his language etc and more expressive and responsive to people such that teachers marvel at his improvement. Then his form teacher resign due to Kinderland enforcing better qualifications i tink so.. cos mcys require teachers to have diploma. Though his form teacher may not have diploma but she is caring towards my son and disciplined him so i dun really bother on the qualifications part. then i dunno is it bec of this, recent 2 days he been grouchy and dun want to dress up in the morn. Haiz

I read in a book tat cannot let kids sleep beyond 5pm for nap bec once they slept past tat time, they have problem sleep early at nite. So i usu wake my boy up around tat time and at most latest 6pm. But once we cross 5pm, true enough he has prob settling down at 9pm.

He doesn't like to be wake up from naps so wat i do is i purposely on the light, blast loud music from TV to make him wake up on his own, he is less grouchy if he wake up on his own rather than i wake him up.

My opinion is change cc no use even if they throw tantrum in the morn.. they will still do it for another cc if it is not the cc fault. i dun want to give a habit tat can change school whenever he doesn't like it, cos it doesn't mean u can always change sch when come to pri sch.

In the morn when my son cried badly and refuse to put on uniform, will still put on for him by force and sometimes i give him the vitamin sweet (yummy bear) and i told him if he still cry the sweet will drop off. It works at times. Then he will sulk on the way to school. His behavior improved a lot in the morn ored. but Recent 2 days ago bec his form teacher quit, i worried he cannot get use tats why he resist school again in the morn. Hope he will outgrew tis problem.

Posted on Tuesday, May 31, 2011 - 8:42 pm:       
Hi I'm ashril here n I do home tutoring n even coordinate with other
ex teachers to provide parents our service... I do tutoring in
preschool centers n some tuition centers in Singapore n I believe that
if u engage me I will help ur child to their fullest potential I'm
very much experience with phonics,reading n giv preparatory classes
for k2 kids to prepare them for pri 1 as for pri to jc I do have a
group of ex teachers to do home tutoring for ur child. Shld u engage
me u will get a 20% off on assessment bks n u will get access to our
ONLINE series of activities for ur child to prepare them for their
upcoming test / exam.... Do call me at 81807666.....no obligation any
queries or question do ask me ya....

Ellysia,
Oh, u mia for quite some times.

You can ask your boy y he rejected school. Their language skill improve a lot at this time and they are able to express their feeling. My boy told me teacher beat the last time in CC so he rejected badly eversince the new indian teacher join. The previous teacher was good but she moved to the East. With the strong rejection and the frequent sick issue, I stop his CC and move on with the 3hrs program. He is happy going to school. At least now during meet the parent session, the teacher tell me he is well behave while in the CC, always he beat, push others, make others cry and walk away etc.. A big jump on behaviour.

Ellysia,
E cake so expensive ah.
It is not too early for them to start writing wor.
Good to start early.

Connie,
Frontier primar school, e new school beside pioneer mrt, is having a soft launch at frontier cc on 30 June, 7pm.

Zu En

Yah lor cake v expensive. No choice, its the best non-dairy cake i tasted so far. And the taste is just like any normal cake. My boy really like it a lot so i still feel ok but my hb feel the pinch lol.

Connie

Yah cos now i join the Sept mummies forum and they move to fb.. so been going to fb more often.

He seems ok after few days. I told the school and they will be monitoring. His ex-teacher actually ask to meet up if possible cos she really miss my son.

I tried to let my boy hold but he is holding in the 4 fingers grip in stead of the writing grip. Trying to let him get use to the writing grip.

Zuen,

I have pulled Reanne out already.
Reasons:
1.too many crying kids that disrupt the class.
2.when I check the workbook, the teacher marks Reanne correct for the wrong answer! (i don't think she have enough time to guide each kid!)

She is now attending Mastard Seed. After just 4 lessons she has so much improvement in handwritting, phonics etc.

Janiviy,
Haha. So I am not the only one who is pissed. I am thinking of trying Lcentral but they only take in 3.5 years old. There's Allen morris in jp too. Might explore that.

<font color="aa00aa">Halo mummies,

Long long time din come in. And the thread seems very quiet too.

Ellysia,
Are you preggie with #2? coz saw ur post that u join another mummy thread? Sorry bit outdated as disappear from here too long.

ZuEn,
My eldest girl ever attended LCentral@ khatib branch before. She does not show any improvement after finishing 2 term course. After that i realized that the reason is because her teacher is was an ang moh and she cannot understand him as our family member are mandarin speaking group.
Then now she was in I Can Read for almost a year. And her english improved a lot. The teacher did feedback to me when initially my girl is in her class, she was quite shy and no confident to speak english, but after that the teacher actually spoke to her few words in mandarin she was more 'open up' to her class. So is was quite depend on the kids and their language environment.
I'm going to enrol my no.2 to I Can Read in the coming July as well. </font>

Morning ladies..

ZuEn,
Hihi..Read abt ur reviews of zoophonics lor..really bad of the administrator and the teacher..hiaz... i will be discontiuning char frm zoophonics aft this term cos reason is, i can't see wat they hv done in class and hence duno how to do e animal sign to revise with char at home..I am looking at morris allen and tien hsia now...

Jp has these 2 branches wor, maybe you will be keen to go there to take a look =D.

Felicia,
I am looking at I can Read also lor...Hmm, is it an independent class?

Felicia,
Shauna speaks English well. I should be more worrid about her mandarin. She speaks mandarin with an ang mo accent. But I wanted her to start phonics young. I think phonics will help greatly with her reading and spelling in the future. I will also be exploring I Can Read. There is also a branch in JE. Called and spoke with the administrator and she was so assuring as compared to the Zoophonics person. Give me alot more confident too. See, the importance of the front staff person.

Feifei,
Morris Allen veru expensive leh. I tot of Morris Allen too. Tien Hsia not for mandarin meh. Hehehe.
Like wat janiviy says, from 3 YO onwards, all independent classes liao. I Can Read is also an independent class. It is impossible to find out what they learn (or not learn) behind the close doors. For many language schools, they dun start with phonics for 3 YO, usually story telling, songs &amp; movement. So I think it will take a while for them to show results.

Jan,
Hihi...hows things? =)...

ZuEn,
True lor...Morris allen ex ? Hv u tried asking before? hehe, me also curious abt their price..shall call them now to ask =D.

Oh ya, forgot to update, took char for eye test last fri at Gleneagles, cfm she is shortsighted of 350 degree and had to wear specs =(...