(2008/06) June 2008

hi connie_lcl, bb now has a swollen lips from the knock. gotta feed her watery and cold solids. put icecube on her swollen part lor..no choice..she complaint to daddy last nite, pointing at her jaw and the stool..

onsang
ur bb so cute. know how to complaint. did u bring her to e pd?

tinklebelle
tt wat i thought when first saw e bp. i relise buy thru internet can easily lost control. think i over spent

feifei
thks. will check them at jurong pt kiddy pl

agar agar
someone bought before, any idea how much?
thkin of either agar agar or kaya cake.

hi Connie, i din't bring bb to pd. monitor first n check her temp occasionally. tink, she can recover fast with daily delrosa vit c and scotts emulsion cod liver oil and lots water.. thanks.

My boy having running nose since sat then yest night develop to cough. Aiyo he has been sick almost every month since he attend CC. Sigh hope he get out of this sick phase soon. Very scared this time round develop to wheezing again.

hi, if kids oways fall sick - why don't we consider remove and put them to cc again when they reach 3yrs old instead? no point seeing them suffer so much, although it's said exposure can help them boost immunity. the trade-off is too much medication to give symptomic relief.

better consider alternative, getting a nanny or a domestic helper for time being to take care of kid at home first, until their health is strong enough.. i'm also contemplating to expose my bb to playgroup next year or delay until 3yrs old or nursery.

meanwhile, we just teach our kids at home first.. like to hear some of your views too...

anyone has ever thot of bringing their kids to eu yan sang for bao ying dan prescribtion? i dunno how effective or which category of kids (high, low or no risk) can take it safely? best do a check with TCM. heard some said, it's good. if any of you decided on bao ying dan, please update us of it's medication effect too vs western medicine..

onsansg

Originally i plan to only let him attend CC at N1 (3yr old) but cos my MIL need to undergo operation & body not strong liao, so we have no choice but to let him attend CC at 20 months. If given a choice i will prefer to let him attend at 3yrs old.

I dun really advise putting at nanny bec of those abuse case etc, and not much benefit. Maid oso have its own set of problems.

At home also doesn't mean won't get sick cos adults oso bring back virus and diseases.

hi ellysia,
i agree the sets of problems if at home too, by maid. though our kid can still get sick from virus brought in by parents - however, chances of recurrence may be lower.

i'm also hesitative what is best for my bb. i wanted to go bk to workforce too (already 2yr with no income) but no one can take care of my tiny size bb gal well, other than i stay at home. i have been trying to hands-off to let my elderly mum and maid take care but they are careless too, allow bb to move into kitchen without them realising it. i can't work in peace, leaving bb with them at home too when i go bk to work. sigh!

onsansg,
these are the age my kids attend full-day child care;
#1 - 20mths
#2 - 18mths
#3 - 19mths

YES, they may get sick easily for 3-6 months,
then they'll be stronger in immune system by the time they are 3.

If a kiddo were to attend a child care at 3 or beyond,
where the other kiddos there are already strong in their immune systems,
most properly the whole class won't get the regular cold, cough, runny nose,
but when a strong virus attack, the weaker ones will be hit hard.

Since you are not working now,
why not send her to half-day childcare,
let her get in touch with little virus.
At least at this time you are still at home to look after her when she's ill,
by year end, she'll be stronger,
and you can have a better chance of returning to work without needing to take lots of childcare leaves.

Just my 2 cents.

If family can afford then stay at home take care ourselves is the best.. but oso not good to be stay at home mum for too long. ideal to have a part time job or someting when kids are older. Just wat i tink.

agree, we are not well-off but stil take on a domestic helper cos mum is old with severe eczyema for 30yrs liao, no cure for chronic eczyema one.. (after her womb removed and no more hormone balance)..

domestic helper mainly to do housework, cooking and help me along to take care of my bb who sleeps little and a constant vomitter.

now, bb is entering her 2nd year and like what Leng Leng suggested, to let her go to childcare while i'm still at home, it's indeed a good idea. perhaps, like what daddy oso say, let bb expose herself in 2hrs playgroup session first.

if my co still reserves a place for me when i go bk next year, i may want to enrol my gal to childcare in the office building when she turns 3 yr old..then, can even save a great deal by having just part-time cleaner at home..no nid to have anymore domestic helper.. $900 to support a maid coupled with many headaches, and also now all finances on hubby alone..

Actually sometimes kids may not get sick due to CC. I suspect is oso bec tis age is an active age and they like to mouth everything and lick their fingers etc. My boy when he go out will run around, touch everyting (wall, floor etc), then put his fingers in his mouth etc. Very hard to clean him regularly when going out, can only do the best. But v hard to keep germ free. Then dun let him go out, he get v bored at home playing the same old toys, watch cartoons etc.. Can't be always buying new toys oso.

Hb just bring ah boy to KKH for another neberliser treatment, cos school report tat he is wheezing. Waiting for him to settle down ah boy before more info.

Toking abt toys.. recently just bot a car track (Tomy brand) for him. Then oso bot Chuggington garage for him to play too.

hb called and say doc say a lot of phelgm inside lungs so need neuberliser for few days... still waiting for senior doc to confirm whether need to admit or not... worried

dun worry about nebuliser. remember i hv mentioned abt my bb gal condition on previous postings of the above thread?

nebuliser is effective than oral. phlegms in lung, if diagnosed pneumonia can be treated with amoxycillin oral antibiotic. i sort of trust kkh senior medical doc now after diagnosis on my bb's as pneumonia.

apparently, it's the pneumonia epidermic according to tv news. so, hospital is more cautious to check for all possibilities and rule out the unlikely.

Your bb will be strong. remember to ask for flumucil for phlegm if need be.

I tink is bronchitis again..

Dunno how to use nebuliser at home leh.. he will struggle strongly. Somemore tmr my hb not free so i taking care him alone.

Ellysia,
you are not alone. my boy also sick almost every month since attending cc. he was not well over the weekend, had fever and was coughing and having running nose.

went to SBCC AMK this morning. dr diagnosed my boy as having bronchitis and he was placed on neubiliser. he struggled like crazy while on the neub. good thing is after the neub, pd said his chest improved a lot, not so congested. he suggested to give my boy oral medication first instead of being on neub everyday. he also warned me not to let him run too much cos of the pressure on airways and that he will take a while to recover.

hope our boys recover soon! very tiring on us.

Hi Tera, which PD at SBCC AMK? I may wan to bring bb there next time, nearer.

Hi Ellysia,
U need to put his legs in between you and have to hold him down by force, sure, there will b struggle, just try to aim nebuliser as close to his nostril and mouth as possible. better if he cries, so that nebulised mist can enter into his mouth directly right to his airway too. make sure, you add the dosage of nebuliser liquid correctly. how many doses of nebuliser and for how many days? any repeat follow-ups?

Tera

My boy took 2 doses of neberliser & follow up by liquid ventolin for the past 2 episode of bronchitis. Tis time round doc say too much phelgm so need to bring neberliser home and took for 2-3 days.

Onsansg

Yest i tried putting nose drop alone and ored he struggle like mad and spill some liquid out from the bottle, heng not whole bottle.

Will discuss with hb see if he can take leave tmr or not.. but like tat will mean our leave wasted again lor.

ongsansg,
my boy was like crying non-stop throughout the whole neub process. very heart-pain tho'. then when i reached home, my mum also told me its good they cry.

oh, i saw a dr goh han seng at SBCC. very patient dr.

thanks, tera, will keep dr goh han seng in mind. i learnt the hardway of the nebuliser effectiveness when my bb was struck by Respiratory Syntial Virus (RSV) at 3mths old.

after your bb recovers fully, let him take scotts emulsion cod liver oil to strengthen back his lung. some of these long-time standing brands is still the best.

hi Ellysia, is the nose drop called Oxymetazoline (brand name iliadin)? did doc oso prescribed oral piriton (chlorampheramine)? if yes, can skip the nose drip. Give a call to KKH Pharmacy and Attending Doc line to seek clarification which one can be skipped? Piriton also helps to ease runny nose. Can skip the nose drop.

call until you get them to advise you. 24hrs service at tel: 63942466 (Operator line) or 63941177 (Nurse line). I learnt a lot of diff medicines and which can be skip by seeing the most docs at the last attack of my bb's condition.

onsansg

kkh only prescribe neubeliser, so only using it now.

yes nose drop is iliadin. cos he had blocked nose can't sleep.

tera

my boy oso cry non stop. now at home use he see liao will cry.

ellysia,
how's yu zhe today?

i was also given iliadin. its another struggle giving him nose drop. he woke up at 4am last night, coughing very badly. then finally coughed out, or rather, vomitted out a lot of phlegm. managed to sleep well after that.

ongsansg,
thanks for your advice. hehe, my mum also told me same thing. yes, i will give him the scotts emulsion once he has recovered.

<font color="aa00aa">Morning ladies!

Ellysia/ Tera,
Hang in there! I believe the phase will pass. But do continue to give supplement or watever to build up their immune system.

Tera,
Scotts emulsion is good especially the white color one but bit smelly lor.

Btw, ladies, can advise me if taking SQ flight can bring the hot water themos flask to the plane? What about the milk bottle? Water feeding cup?</font>

hi Tera &amp; Ellysia,

illiadin is an extra nasal decongestant. can remove it n continue with the oral syrup that helps to clear running nose. no need to have both types together. overly decongesting will irritate the bb (according to the respiratory doc at sbcc, when i showed her the types of medication provided by KKH doc. even KKH doc also tell me, i can skip illiadin and stick with oral syrup that relieve runny nose)..

first you try scotts emulsion cod liver oil together wif food/solids feeding. once bb is used to it, he/she will able to take it without accompanying with food. we've tried that on my bb, now she happily taking scotts emulsion cod liver oil alone after or before food and we keep praising her "good, good baby. nice nice cod liver oil". she's so delighted being praised and open her mouth for another spoonful. hehe..

now, i tink i can roughly concluded that it was a start of virus infection when ellysia mentioned that her boy vomitted on 2 days recently, before he's down with bronchitis. bronchitis or bronchiolitis are virus infection into lung..

Iceland's dust is in singapore now,
thus explaining the dust in our air, hazy mornings...
the increasing pneumonia, bronchitis, sore throat, sore eyes, etc. etc...

Drink more water, rest more, stay indoors.

Hope all your darlings recover soon and all kiddos stay healthy and strong. =)

Can i ask do you give supplements to your kids?since some have started going to CC, maybe is a good time to introduce supplements to them?
im thinking of giving my boy too. but not too sure what to start with actually =) any rec?

Ah, came in and read that so many kiddos are sick. -.o" My girl has just recovered from her usual cough and runny nose.
A few weeks ago, her PG got HFMD and got us so worried that we stopped her from gg to school for 2 weeks. Almost drove my maid crazy cooping in the house with my DD.

Eve,
Ask Lengleng, I brought some supplemnets from her spree, but forgot wat already. Haha. Colustrum and duno wat.

Morning,
Last week received letter from CC that 2 more case of HFMD in the center. 1 is from pg 1 which is my boy group. They claim he got it from outside.

Last mth 1 case, this month 2 case. Next mth don know will get 3 or not.

Yesterday i was on leave with hb, cos need 2 person to force him to use the neubeliser. Later at night he seems more co-operative. He is still coughing n can hear phlegm, breathing tightness.

The CC teacher actually called up yest to ask how is my boy and is v concerned. We feel tat his CC teachers genuine concern on our boy.

For supplements i have started on cordyceps, Scotts emulsion cod liver oil and manuka honey. He doesn't like the honey so much so its not given regularly. Now when he is coughing i have stop the cordyceps but still give the cod liver oil.

For cod liver oil i just give after food. After i let him take 1 lick, then i pass him the spoon to let him feed himself.

hi Ellysia, hope your boy recovers soon. stop honey completely. over consumption of honey induces cough and phlegm too.

only take cordyceps brew with small chuncks of pork after he fully recovers and all phlegm clears.

kkh loan nebuliser equipment home and for how much per day?

hi Tera,
hope your boy recovers soon too. i've emailed to you on some quest regarding maid and contact for agency. pls kindly reply to me. thanks.

i'm bringing bb for her DPT booster this Saturday at 18mth old. feel like to delay her vaccination. any idea how many months can we delay this jab?

Just went to KKH for the specialist appt. Was given the medicine for asthma prevention plan. Have to give inhaler every night as a prevention.

onsansg

The cost of nebuliser is on purchase, the cost is not based on per day. Around $120 including consultion.

The booster i will recommend u dun delay cos if u delay means no protection during the period of delay.

Hi ,
Like to know do u get a seat for the tobble when u take flight? Tobble till 23 months is cheaper and no seats but 24 months onwards will need to pay 75% of the adult cost to get a seat.

<font color="aa00aa">Morning ladies!

Connie,
If u pay infant fare , then no seat for the infant. But you can request for bassinet. But u can onloy request the bassinet provided u pay for an infant fare ticket and the infant must be below certain weight. Cant remember the weight limit liao. And the kid must be below 24mths based on the exact age on return flight date.
Planning for a holiday?</font>

Connie,
The last time we went Melbourne, Lil Zu-En was about 21 months and it was so hard to fit her into the bassinet. I also cannot rem the weight limit. The bassinet ended up as a storage space for our bags and diapers and water bottles and stuff. My DD was on my lap for most of the flight and it was really tiring.

hi Ellysia, is your boy getting any better? $120 for new nebuliser incl consultation cost is cheap. my fren bought over $100++ umpteen years ago. please ask specialist if your boy can be given lung supplements with the brand called "Zaditen". my fren and sis-in-law children were prescribed this until their kids' lung are strong. Zaditen is a long-standing brand from umpteen years and even up to today.

how long is the asthma prevention programme and how does it work? don't mind sharing with us your boy's progress over time.

I will ask my bb doc about Zaditen too on saturday, when i bring my bb gal for booster jab on DPT. thanks for your advise, oso no point to delay booster jab while she is currently ok.

Felicia,
My boy only turn 24 mth on 3 Jun and the trip is 28 May to 1 Jun'10.

Now either opt for infant or child. Diff is S$300.00. If pay for infant, any food for them?

Thinking of joining my hb to japan since he go for biz trip. He go first and I join over the weekend. Now still thinking cause the freight is S$1154 just for 3 days

Onsansg

I have ever ask PD tat if delay the booster for pneumoccal, wat is the effect. Cos due to the nurse say wrongly, we dunno got booster at 12mths. So only took it at 18months. Doc say the effect is no protection from the vaccine since booster is not taken at the correct time.

I tink KKH is cheaper than PD. The specialist charges are also quite cheap especially cos we r referral from the emergency section, so its subsidize. Consultion with specialist is $28 and waiting time is only 1.5 hr including taking medicine. Medicine cost around $20++ too.

The asthma prevention plan require to use the neubeliser every night (but using a milder buff medicine) even when there is no sickness. If PSI is >100 or got mild flu, have to increase the usage to twice a day. Then if got wheezing, cough or breatheless etc, have to use neuberliser more times. Specialist suggest to do the prevention for 2 months before she advise again. Hopefully this can break the current vicious cycle of bronchitis attacks.

onsansg

Do u give the correct brand name? Cos i search under yahoo "Zaditen", it is an histamine medicine. Not any supplement.

hi ellysia, it's called Zaditen as informed and were prescribed to both my sis-in-law and a fren when their kids were very young then. their kids were oso on nebuliser all the times. maybe, their docs told them on laymen terms as a lung supplementation.

i oso jus called a PD clinic to confirm, it said this syrup carries many brands name too. it helps to strengthen lung function but the nurse did not specifically tell me whether it is a medicine or supplements. You can give a call to KKH Pharmacy to enquire, the filipino pharmacy technicians there are very helpful.

I doubt the doc will recommend supplements...

The food allergy doc which my boy visits, always recommend not to take supplements if diet is balanced.

<font color="aa00aa">COnnie, thats a 'perfect' trip before your boy turn 24mths!
For infant fare, normally they give puree jar.
But yest i called up SIA and request to change to kid's meal and the guy said ok. So i'm not sure if really they'll give my ger kid's meal or food jar. My ger dont take food jar lor. U can try to call up and request.</font>