(2008/06) June 2008

Felicia,
yes, i rem it was iamsnow who was asking.
i believe the list has some super high-class ones, like Hai Tian Lo, Hua Ting. Usu the hotel ones are quite high end. Hope it helps. ;)

ZuEn,
I agree with Felicia, usu kids will start crying when they see a familiar face. It happened to my niece when she started cc last time. I guess at this age when they can't really verbalise fully yet, one way is to ask the teacher. cos for my fren's case, the dd was able to tell her that she does not like the teacher.

Feifei,
haven't thot of primary school yet. either hubby's old school or primary school near my house.

feifei

Need to do PV so early?

if do so early then need to do many years until pri 1?? faintx..

My colleague only do 1 year in advance nia.

<font color="aa00aa">Today i'm so openly surfing net, coz with the excuse of finding restaurant details. haha.....
Even called up some restaurant, some private room must be with min set menu of $1000. Really high class lor.

feifei,
u can look at the school P1 registration history from kiasuparents forum.(i remember last time i posted the link here before. But now it only allow member to view nia.) It had the P1 data with balloting data. Tats how i know the school which just behind my block dont ned ballot, so i dont plan to do PV.

Ellysia,
As far as i know normally the parent will need to register as PV when their kid is 4 yrs old. Some school will start PV registration in Jan and some in June. You'll need to call in to that particular school to enquiry. Most school required 42 hrs of PV jobs (if i still remember correctly), but there's some very popular school will required parent to complete 60hrs of PV jobs.
Basically school din care how many yrs in advance u start the PV, but u must completed the hours as per required before your kid register P1.</font>

Felicia

If old school boy, is it really confirm in? Cos i scared too popular that even old school boy can't get in, then by the time i do PV will be too late.

ZuEn,
wow, good lor..at least u hv help liao...Hope u can find a gd maid..U getting indonesian maid?

Tera,
I see...hehe, cos hor its really a headache..

All,
Anyone knows of any lawyers to recommend to me?tks...

<font color="aa00aa">Ellysia,
Is ur hubby an alumni member of that school? If no ur kid will be under phase 2A2. Thats 3rd phase after Phase 1 (sibling whom is studying at tat sch) and phase 2A1 (parent is former student plus join as alumni member).
No gurantee if u opt for those very popular school. Which school are u looking at?</font>

U mean Anglo Chinese, rite?
The past 2 yrs history shld no ballot but it was cut off at those within 1 km one (Phase 2B). That means those out of 1km was rejected.

ZuEn,
what is the initial total payment to hired a maid?</font>

ZuEn,

As what Tera mentioned, cos of ur girl age she ant really complain, thus can only cry when shes not comfortable with the school. It could be the teacher or even her friends in school that she dislikes. My cousin’s daughter rejects school for a week. Afterwhich they realized theres a bully in the class who always tries to snatch other kids stuffs. monitor lil Zu En for the time being. Hope shes fine soon =)

N goodluck for your maid search! Hee hee. Its like a gamble to get good maid. Just pray hard. =)

Ellysia,
Thanks for the recipe. I already save it. =)
can i ask whats lunberg pasta?

Felicia

If we stay outside 1km, but is old school boy or alumni, still need to stay nearby meh?

Eve

Lundberg is the brand. Lundberg produce brown rice and many other type of rice. they also have pasta and some other food products.
http://www.lundberg.com/

recommend u go vitakids at united square, many variety.

If old boy/ girl, distance is not a criteria to determine oredy. Normally those ballot is under phase 2B.
Old boy/ girl is under Phase 2A.</font>

Felicia,
Cant rem the excat amount.
Agent fees = $277
One time loan payment = $2700
Insurance = $100
Then $20 to take some course online for 1st time maid employer.

Eve,
Monitor her? I only haerd my mum says she cry or clingy lor. I oso dun get to see her in class. Then how to monitor?

Felicia,
tks for the infor...how come u looking for schs in Sk?

My plc tink quite near to compassvale sch lor..Wonder how the ballot works...cos i duno wich phase i am in lor...

ZuEn
monitor if there is a problem with the school or care provider. Perhaps ur girl needs ample time to adjust to the new environment bah.

Zuen,
Haha, sometimes I think she's cute but most of the time she really drives me up e wall. Lately she can drink from our normal cups already and she very kpo, any min I'm not watching her, she goes to the tabletop and pour water, creating alot of mess.

Hmm, maybe I start looking for colostrum for her also. My mum also nagged me to give her supplement cos I told her tt yesterday the doc told me that her weight is nt gd, need to monitor for the next 2 months. And, Actually I'm lost in wat to give her also, some ppl recommend DHA, some said multivits, some said vit c, and see you giving colostum. And when I went to vitakids tt day, they recommend me probiotics. Claiming tt a good gut system is impt for good health. I'm really kinda lost.

Did any incident occurred at the playgound tt caused her to reject the playground? Such as she getting pushed or anything? Cos there was once at Polliwogs my gal got bullied, and after tt she got abit reserved towards the playground and will clinged onto me. Maybe you'd like to check with the teacher in charge if anything took place before tt caused her change in behaviour?

Felicia,
If I'm nt wrong, there is no extra charges for Private room dining. Just need to reserve the place early. But the place is nt cheap also, tt time 7 of us for 8 course meal came up to 500++. But thumbs up for the food. If company paying, can consider tt place. The one I'm toking abt is the one under ToysRus.

Ellysia,
I think you're rite. She is probably picking up the negative behavior from us already. But I tried distraction on her and when her interest went off, she goes back to her forbidden acts again. I seriously think good parenting is really an art to master, sometimes it's really so hard to juggle between the right, wrong and acceptable.

Are you still giving him baby cereals or you give those adult cereals already? I stopped giving my gal baby cereal cos she rejected them. So now the cereals I give, I give those rolled oats cooked in milk and egg and sugar. Sigh. I feel bad for adding sugar to her food.

For Sweet Potato Fries, I bake them myself. Juz grab those Japanese Sweet potatoes, skinned them and cut into strips, drizzle some olive oil and juz bake them for 20 mins. For me, to ensure tt they're all coated, I put the strips into a ziploc bag and mix the olive oil before pouring them to the tray.

I also run out of recipes for my gal also, until I resort to making pizzas for her breakfast. I think nowadays they don't like bland food anymore, so must rack our brains to give them healthy yet tasty food.

Are you looking at ACS independent for ACS primary? Cos from what I know, ACS Independent seems more popular. I ever know 1 mum specially bot a unit at carnhill juz to ensure her son gets into ACS independent.

Tera,
I think it's normal for kids to burst into tears when they see a familar face after awhile. I read before that children display insecurities in a few way. Some will cry their way throughout. Some will cry at the separation period and forget about it when they get along the day and happy when they see a familar face later. Some children are the suppression type who will "ren" all the way, but the min they see a familar face, they'll start crying liao, and usually these type are the ones who are harder to console. Sad to say, my gal belongs to the suppression type also. Everytime I picked her from my MIL place, I need to spend 20-30 mins to comfort her. And after that the next 3 days she'll cling onto me like a koala, I go toilet she also cry like mad. Sigh.

Tinkerbelle

Me will scream/shout so my boy learn from me ored. I agree its hard to implement good parenting so i been reading some books when i am free.

I am giving HT cereal, cos they have more iron and other nutrients which i tink is good. I can't give adult cereal as most contain dairy which my boy is allergic to. But i tried giving rolled oats (origins).

U can try to add fruits or raisins instead of adding sugar. Natural sugar is better.

For breakfast need to be simple ideas cos my MIL dun have the time to prepare.

I giving probiotics from GNC (the brand is solaray), it increase my boy appetite. If u give Si Sen powder from EYS or other medical hall it works too.

I tink is the more popular AC. But if old school boy then no need the distance criteria.. i hope no balloting needed for old school boy.

Felicia

Btw when u check yest does AC has any balloting for PV? Cos if they have balloting for PV tat means those who apply under alumni and old school boy will be confirmed a place i guess so.

kelcqi,
that's an interesting read, thanks for sharing.
cos i always wonder why my niece will cry whenever she saw her father or grandma at the cc whereas my boy will smile when he sees us. ah..so my niece belong to the suppression type. and u are right, she was quite inconsolable, according to my mum. during the adjustment period, she cried a lot and will even lie on the floor, kick and kick and cry. she took around 2 months to adjust to cc.

wah, so ur daughter (elly) is very sticky to u which i think it's also not a bad thing. means u are #1, hehe.

re ACS,
my fren also! she just shifted to bukit timah so that her son can go ACS. *faint*

ellysia,
is distance a consideration to u? cos to me it is. my hubby's ex-school is in bishan but i am staying in the east. whereas there's one primary school that is within walking distance.

Tera

Not a consideration since got car, just worried tat if stay too far then the school may consider not to accept. Cos i know a lot of old school boys + siblings etc, then worried no place even if old school boy.

Anyway my MIL will be moving to Bt Timah in 2 years time. But we will be still staying at amk i guess. good location and no point to upgrade and saddle with extra cost.

My boy will oso throw tantrum, cling to people like glue type... worried too lor.

Yest MIL complained of knee pain until must take painkiller. today she going to see doc. her knee always got problem doc say may have to go op sooner or later. if she is down then no one take care my boy, must find alternative. so stress

My boy if dun allow him to do certain tings, he will cry and throw tantrum on the floor, lie down like 'soft soft' and refuse to let carry. He insist to run around mall then if dun let him he will throw tantrum lor.. then if run around he dun bother to see if we follow him.. sigh.

I beat him no use, he will throw tantrum or sulk then refuse to co-operate so usually i will tok nicely then raise my tone if he didn't follow. nowdays i know he can understand my instructions so no excuse if he dun follow. if he throw tantrum or out of control then will beat him liao.

Leng Leng

she has been taking ored, another brand. But the doc say can only reduce the effect as her collagen is lost around 70%, left 30% only.. when she walk down stairs can hear bone scrapping sound.

Can i check with u all, when u go out with yr kid at shopping mall, do u let yr kid run around without holding hand?

My boy dun like to be held and insist to run around freely in shopping mall, then we have to chase him but it also expend his energy so we will go to those less people area and let him roam. But my colleague yest said her boy will let her hold hand and her boy won't run around freely one. so i wonder wat is the correct way. shd i start to train him and dun allow him to run around?

Ellysia,
also can try the "hua jiao" that felicia was talking about,
it's full of collagen.
She can't just take simple collagen,
need those that'll help her absorb the collagen supplement.

Lengleng,
Will u be at home on sat? cos i going to mind power cc to make deposit lor..was tinking mayb can meet u at ur void deck to get the colostrum...Hows Comelius doing in cc?

feifei,
not too sure,
morning bah...
Wat time are you going htere?

Ellysia,
hua1 jiao1
It's something inside fish...

Fish Maw that's not fried.

Ellysia,
U also scream at your son ah? Haha, I cannot help it sometimes and also shout at Elly, but nowadays I try not to already cos I realized she likes to yell whenever she cannot get what she wants, and in turn my hb will snap beside her lips. So sometimes I wonder if I am the cause of her yellings sometimes. Nowadays I practise the silent treatment. I'll suddenly be quiet and give her a firm stare, sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't. Sigh. Its really hard to find e rite way to discipline them sometimes.

I've also picked out books to read sometimes, but I realized the books are usuallly the more "Ang Moh" style. They do not believe in caning and those kids who talks back, they consider it is the child's confidence and they're expressive, but if a kid talks back in our culture, the elders will think they're rude.

HT is dairy free? How I wish my gal will still accept those baby cereals cos I think they are the most nutritious liao. Every morning I gotta crack my head to think wat to give my gal.

Ask u something, your boy allegic to dairy, did the PD said he might outgrow it one day? Cos I have a friend whose son was allegic to allegic last time also, but later he outgrow it at ard 15 mths. My friend only realized her son outgrown it cos some relatives fed him cake without knowing his allergy, and her boy took it well. So maybe u wanna check wif the PD if there is chances of ur boy outgrowing it?

Hmm, Mayb I should try adding raisins to her oats also. My gal hate fruits. She only takes banana. I also have to hide the fruits into her food like pancakes to make her eat fruits. I hope next time when I send her to CC and she sees other children eating fruits, she'll learn to love them also.

I'm giving her the Si SHen powder. Her appetite is still nt good. The doc told me her weight is nt gd cos it dropped from 85 percentile to 50 percentile, and now need to observe her weight for 2 mths. What ever can help to improve her appetite and weight gain, I'll try to feed her nowadays.

ACS, If I'm nt wrong, PV also need to ballot for those popular schs. My ex-student's mum went to do PV for RGS and in the end my student still cannot get in RGS, her mum was so upset.

I also like staying in AMK, afterall I grew up there. I was telling my hb if I move back to AMK, it's either Ai Tong or St Nics. But my hb now prefers the East cos he thinks East side have lotsa good food. *Faint* So I told him if we're upgrading in e East, it will be either Red Swastika or Tao Nan. There's only 1 thing I like abt East is there're alot of gd primary schs, but very few gd CCs though.

Tera,
Your boy is so sweet! My MIL told me sometimes my gal will go and wait at the door to see if we're coming. And when she mentioned "Mama", my gal's eye will get teary but she'll nt cry, until she eventually sees us, she'll cry like nobody's business.

Talking abt CC, I am also very worried how she'll adjust to CC next time. I told my hb I'll be sending her to halfday for 2 mths to let her adjust before letting her go on Full day. I hope this method will help to transit her.

I really salute those parents who are willing to move juz for the sake of Primary Sch. For us is confirming moving cos of the "Feng Shui" for this house is nt suitable for my hb, so the "Feng Shui" master recommend him to move. Now "Ren" until the 5 yrs grace is up.

Re Knee Pain,
I just read this health section abt Knee Joint pain. 1 temporary relief is to elevate the knee, or cold compress. If the condition never improve, some ppl will go to the doc where the doc will see if there is a need for fluid extraction, or some old age might be need the injection of those Gel.

I was sharing wif my mum this info cos she also knee pain and she told me black beans soup helps. Nt sure how true it is cos she told me it works for her.

Lengleng, Ellysia
My gal also refused to be held. And I don't like the idea of leash cos it makes them look like a dog. Fancy my neighbour kept recommending me to get 1 for my gal.

Leng leng,
Sorry I've yet to reply your email. I reply u here. I'll prolly go by Reg Mail if opting for mail options. U juz let me know again later how much to tt u for the shipping and postage. Thanks for having the LV spree!

Tinkerbelle (kelcqi),
black beans soup with chicken leg soup,
high in collagen too! hehe...
Pork trotter in black Vinegar also.
That explains why confinement mummies take them.

Need to wait 3-6 weeks,
hope it'll reach before CNY.

LengLeng,
Haha, I didn't know Black Beans soup consist collagen too! Keke, no wonder my mum said it works!

I remembered my CL added Black Beans to my Black Vinegar and made me take at least 10 a day. I sulked throughout my meals. Haha, now I know she meant well.

No worries abt the spree lah, I'm nt in a hurry to get the bottle and teats.

Today my Phyto Fibre I bot from BP arrived, took a pack in e noon, now LS like nobody's business. But tt means it really works also. Cos I'm always having constipation problem. I think I might consider continue to take them since they can solve my problem. I was reading the poster from clinic toking abt colon cancer, and they said frequent sufferers of constipation are of high risk of colon cancers cos of the toxins accumulated inside. So scary...

Morning girls.
I had a crazy day at work yday. Hope today will be better.

Eve, Tinkerbelle,
My girl rejecetd school again yday. -.o"
Not sure why. We were wondering if the 2 hours is too long for her. The teacher said that she wasnt beaten leh. Haiz..
I also duno how to monitor the school, I dun send her to class. And what's more, she's refusing to go now. -.o"

Tinkerbelle,
Our angels are unable to digest rasins properly yet, so go easy on the qty hor. My girl loves rasins but they always "appeared" in her poo poo.

Aiyo, I also constipate leh. The Phyto Fibre makes you LS? Is it supposed to be like that? What flavour huh? Maybe I should try too. Hehe.

<font color="aa00aa">Morning ladies!

Morning ZuEn!
Same same, me oso super busy yest, tahts why din come in here. Today i think no better coz got some business review thing. Sian!

feifei,
i was looking at Sengkang area for u lah, coz i think u stay there mah. Well, if the school u want, u r not old girl/ old boy, not doing any PV, then chances is u r in phase 2C lor.

ellysia,
As far as i remember for AC, last yr history show no ballot for those old girl/old boy/ alumni. Anyhow, is better for u to monitor for few more yrs, coz u nvr know what will happen by the time we need to register for our kids. Coz even old boy/ girl oso quote quota. Each phase got quota one.

re: knee problem
i'm oso hvin knee problem, so -called as arthritis. I have been taking the supplement given by specialist for more than half yr, but not much improvement. I have been trying to avoid, climbing staircase, no running. But not sure for how long i actualy din realised my knee problem just getting better. Thats oso aft i stop all the supplement. Maybe the supplement work so slow till now only take effect. But i think i'm going to start again on chinese medicine in pill for this knee problem. According to the specialist, if situation get worsen, till can feel pain even walkin, then might need to do op liao.
Btw, sea cucumber oso got collagen. Can try that. Leng Leng, i try to eat the hua jiau but too too fishy, not able to swallow down leh. But YuJie is taking it so well even cooked with porridge. My MIL said she wanna vomit when feeding YuJie the porridge. She oso wondering why YuJie is so ok with it. haha....</font>

<font color="aa00aa">kelcqi,
yes, not cheap. The CNY set menu for 10persons start from $998++! For the private room, min must be $1000 set menu.

Now i'm consolidating the list of restaurant and price. Very very tiring job. </font>

Morning ladies..

zuen,Tinkerbelle,
My ger also love rasins and her rasins also comes out in her poopoo cos not digested properly lor...

Felicia,
Aiyo, seems like so many people also having knee problem.
My mum too.. but she vegetarian leh. Other than black beans, what else is good huh?

Felicia,
u may want to take this supplement called glucosamine for your knee problem. my hubby recommended my parents to take it when they had knee pain the other time and my mum told me there was improvement after taking it. u can get it from those health shops like GNC. i just did a quick check on the internet and it seems like its recommended for people with arthritis.

kelcqi,
thanks, it's really very sweet to pick him up from school when u see his little face light up and beam when he sees u. then again, it's my hubby who will get that treatment most of the time cos he's the one who picks him up while i drop him off. thankfully, he has stopped crying when i drop him off.
now just waiting for him to smile and wave good-bye. never contented hor? :p

as for ur girl adjusting to cc, i think u can get some feeedback from the school. have u got a place for her yet? for me, i started with half-day for about a week and the time that i picked him up gets stretched from 12 plus to about 2pm. then second week onwards, we let him nap there and slowly stretch from 3pm to now 5.45pm. but all these took about a month to adjust. so i suggest that u talk to the teacher/principal and see what they suggest with regard to the half-day to full-day transition cos most of the cc ppl i visited had told me that its best not have a wide gap cos it means the child has to adapt twice.

haha, same lah, i also will not move for the sake of primary school unless..i strike toto?!

feifei,
so char starting cc in feb or march? i just rem i have not sent u pic of school bag. i will do it this weekend cos by the time i rem, his bag is in the school. also, i thot u may want to check out the BP and spree for name labels (since u will need to be labelling char's stuff), keke. i ordered mine from brightstar, very good quality and nice design! ;) good to get them early.

ZuEn,
hope ur day gets better today!

hmm, did the teacher share/give any suggestion on how to ease her in then? maybe let her go half-hour then slowly extend to 2 hours again? or can someone accompany her again?

<font color="aa00aa">ZuEn,

Not sure if 'hua jiau' (non fried version of fish maw) ok for vegetarian? Birdnest oso got collagen. I think for vegetarian like not many choices leh. Maybe supplement lor.

Mine knee problem was due to my 1st pregnancy weight and too much walking at tat time. So now must quick quick try to cure it, else when old i think i cannot walk liao. The specialist i went, he commented that my knee aged 50 yrs old and above.

Tera,
Tks ger, no prob..Char will start her cc in march lor...hehe, i got mine frm brightstars too cos my fren gave char as her xmas gift..hehe...Really everything also must label hor?

Transition in CC from half day to full day - my colleague done it and her kid seems ok. I still tink its easier to transit from half day to full day. Also i notice tat older kids seems to take transition to CC much better than younger kids.

I only know black bean soup reduce the water retention so my mum keep asking me to eat during confinement. dunno it helps with the leg too. i will recommend my MIL and my mum to take.

Felicia

My eye doc says my eyes are also like old folks eyes liao.. aged too much

Thks for the info on school, at least i not so worried. ya will check again when the time comes.

Tinkerbelle

I bring my boy to visit an allergy specialist just recently and did another allergy test. Specialist says his diary and egg allergy is v serious and will take a long time to outgrow if any. Now hoping and waiting for his soy allergy to outgrow cos its on the low scale. Peanut allergy dunno when can recover cos specialist say peanut allergy has no trend. I find tat he has too many allergies tat why a lot of tings cannot eat, if only 1 or 2 still easier to manage.

He almost dun want to eat the HT cereal liao.. if can give then give lor. My hb usu feed him bkfast cos i wake up late. He said he has to put in raisin or else my boy won't eat. Last time i used to put fruit puree but my boy nowadays dun like puree liao. Bread he also dun want to eat sometimes.

I oso try not to scream but sometimes get so angry hor. ya i read those ang moh books too, some r quite good. But easier to implement when kids are older say 3-4 yrs old.

I find its easier to manage when we give him some 'privileges'. for example let him roam around for some time then he be more willing to let us carry/put on stroller later. Or let him go the water playground (IMM) play awhile then he be more happy to listen to us later. If everything also restrict he will be angry and throw tantrum. And also easier if we pre-empt him by repeating few times tat he has to end his 'play' or to leave a place (e.g. toy shop) before really leaving.

Ellysia,
I suppose when they know what's danger,
there are bad guys?

Our elder 2 were taught to hold us when we're on the road,
even in the carparks,
if we have no hands for them,
they'll grab my pocket or bag.

19mths old is a good time to teach about cars on the road.
When holding their little hand,
use your last finger to "lock" over their wrist,
meaning your thumb &amp; last finger is on the same side of their wrist.
This way, even if you lose grab on their hand,
you'll have their wrist "locked".

Needs pratice, but once your are used to it,
it's very very useful.

Tera,
Nah. Actually, we tot badly of the teacher. She didnt seem to be too willing to handle my girl when she started brawling. She's still recovering from her runny nose and cough (mild) but they become very bad when she started crying. So the teacher actually asked my mum to bring her home when she doesnt stop crying. -.o"
My mum has been sending her to PG. We stopped today as well, hoping that things will be better when we bring her on Monday. Ya, intending to start with a shorter time until she's comfortable.
Now I got dilemma, duno to switch her PG now to a better one or to tahan until my maid come and switched her to a PG nearer to our place. Still sourcing for ine near to our place. Haiz..

Felicia,
Stupid question.. but is bird nest Ok for vegetarian? Hehe. I dun want I buy liao, my mum dun eat, everybody else eats. Haha.