(2008/06) June 2008

Zu En

U are not the only one who tink so.

U see me, cook a lot of homecook stuff and v cautious on my boy food etc, teaching him stuff.. but ask me to take care whole day, i also buay tahan.

Eve

Yah own mum is easier..
too bad my mum is v occupied + my brother depression not suitable to put my boy there. so i can only rely on my MIL. bo piang.

Actually even have maid, i dun tink the maid will do everything bec' some things yr MIL may still prefer to do herself, so maybe tats why she is tired.

Eve,
Sending maid back cos her contract's up in june plus with my boy in full-day cc, there's nothing much for her to do at home also. And if I really do have #2, hubby and I are quite set on infantcare. Maybe also cos my current maid's english is really quite bad and communicating with her is a big headache.

Same as you, i also wished my mum could take care but she's working too so we only bring my son over on monday night and weekend. my mum's the kind who loves kids whereas my MIL is the very outgoing kind and has a very active social life.

Tera,
Thanks. No wor. Nothing has been done yet. We are still considering if we should get a maid, so no shortlisting done. Even if we decide so, we probebly wun get one immediately. The original intention was to get a maid when no. 2 comes along, but I think we cannot tahan that long liao. Probably sometime next year, after my girl has settled into the playgroup.

Buttercup,
Hb and I also rushing around constantly. When we are running errands without the baby, I realised that I am walking so much faster now. Haha.

Tera,
ya lor...haiz...can't imagine my little ger wearing uniform..hee...

All,
I guess now with our kids, its really bery tiring..can't imagine when hv #2...hiaz..

Stopping at one

Let me share with you my grandma's story... My mum's mother...

She has 12 kids, 5 girls & 7 boys,
all in all now... kids, grandkids, great-grandkids... around 45 members...

Cut the long story short.
About 3 years ago, my grandma got a stroke,
after that 2 more stokes,
she's been in & out of hospital & now bedridden.
Due to her weight, she's taken care of by 2 maids.
Most of us contribute financially to taking care of her,
only my mum stays at her place 3-4 days & nights a week to look after her.
Maids are still maid, they'll only take care of her essential,
she's left with the listening to Malay language Radio or TV channels that the Maids fancies.
Only when my mum's around, she has someone to talk to...

So, if we only have 1 child,
and when we're sick... bedridden or paralyse...
Will you prefer the child to work, earn money to employ a maid for us,
or stay at home look after us & we starve together?

But insurance? Start saving for nest now?
Investment? Passive income?
Work like mad & earn money for old age?

It's time to plan & the time is now...

JIA YOU EVERYONE.

Morning ladies...

Lengleng,
I agreed with you lor..If onli hv 1 kid, next time anything happens to us, the burden will fall heavily on our child de...Then the poor child nobody to discuss problems with lor...Even though now i also dun feel like having #2 since charlotte is already this big le, can't imagine all the hassel of nite feeds, BF etc...But hor, tink of long term and on our child side, its better to have more than 1 =)...

So u planning to hv #4? heehee..

Lengleng,
I just finish reading the thread u posted...Actually some of e problem is wat I am thinking lor.....=)..Tks for e thread...

Feifei,
I also cannot imagine Lil ZuEn in uniform. And it drives me crazy when I see kids in oversized uniform. Why parents cannot buy fitting uniform but make their kids look like clown swimming in their way-too-big uniform? Haha. My Mum bought Lil ZuEn's uniform when she went to sign her up for the playgroup. I haven seen her unifrom yet, but I think hers will be oversized too. Hoho.

Leng Leng,
I totally agreed with you. When my Dad was very sick, in and out of hospital, I was so glad to have my siblings to discuss, decide and to share the burden (physical and finanical). I think only people who have been thru this will understand how it realy feels. I feel that it is for the good for the kids for them to have siblings. That is why I always wanted 2, but provided I can conceive lah. My sis says that I am weird to use this as a reason to have more kids. ;p

ZuEn,
hehe..i tink i know y cos if buy bigger hor, can wear longer leh..hehe, dats wat my frenz did and they told me...hehe..

Feifei,
I know and I believe Lil ZuEn's uniform will be oversized too bcos my mum wants her to wear it longer. Haha.

ellysia,
Thx so much for the pictures of the books! =)
I juz bought one similar at Borders. V cheap.... got it in sale price - $2.30 (75% Discount)
3438144.jpg

But the usborne's contents look more interestin.

ZuEn,
I not v sure. but i thought i bcos they will not holdin at Sq2 anymore, thus the new classes r at tanglin?? i b calling them later to ask on some other issues. will ask them on this. =)

Uniform buy bigger, can wear longer mah.. cos kid grow so fast in the initial years, so play safe, buy bigger lor.... haha

Leng Leng,
wow,, ur family got alot of kids. 3 from ur side, 3 from ur bro. must b a crowd during the gatherin!! =) my parents sure envy urs..

ZuEn,
Then i weird also lor.. i also wanted to have more kids, so that they can have one another during the "hard times".. but then, i also dun place hopes that they will be "fillial" to us as we wish when we aged... if they r fillial to us, count it on our blessin. if not fillial... then rely on our own "retirement funds" lor... =p

Feifei, Buttercup
Found one similar to the doll at the class... but hubby say it look "eerie".... $19.. duno if want to buy...
3438146.jpg

look eerie to u gals??

poky,

The book cheap wor...I also looking for this type of book le...If u see it again, can help me get? Tks ya...

Where u found e doll leh? I find the doll's eyes abit eerie leh...hehe...the class one seems to be softer lor...hehe...ur ger likes the doll too?

U got my transfer? I sms u yest wor...

Poky,
Really ah.. Hmpf. I as supposed to call them up but was too lazy. Do let me noe if you find out anything. Thanks.
I agreed on the fillial part. But by the time we are old, I think retirement age maybe shift to 70 liao. We should be self-sufficient bah. ;p
As for the doll, it definitely looks scary at initial look. I have one of those at home too. I refused to buy it but my mum claimed that my girl love that doll, was draging the doll everywhere in kiddy palace. After looking at it for awhile, looks quite alright. But I still scare that it will start laughing or crying in the night. Hohoho.

Feifei,
actually, i found another one of the learnig tab for colors... but due to the hooha by the borders cashiers, in the end, i only found back n paid for one. =( went back another time, but no more le... only left those with sale price at 10% ($8).

But if memory serves, i think i seen this book at the bookshop at bras besar. but definitely not cheaper than the one i bought (clearing at 75% discount).. think cost ard $5-6. if so u stil want? I most likely goin there later to check the pricin.

So happy with the purhase at Borders last thurs.
These r my "goodies" for $35+
3438222.jpg

But my 2nd trip the day after, not fruitful liao...
3438221.jpg

the doll in the "toy warehuse" shop near to bugis. think is TaiSin.. not much vairety of dolls.. this one i find the nearest to the doll at the class le.. size abt the same. also "heavy". can "sing" say mommy, dada, giggle n cry i think....

the eyes eerie ah... hmmm.... mayb buy liao, then let it wear sunglass? hahha.. jokin la....
then think i ponder it while more.. if come across the doll again,, then consider again.. haaha

i replied ur email rding the transfer yesterday le. u hv not received?

<font color="aa00aa">morning ladies!
I was hvin sore throat for the past few days. So my boss allow me to go back earlier, as i'm still new in the company cannot take MC, else it'll be consider as unpaid. Lucky got a good boss.

Reading thru all the posts, i really feel the same as most of you felt. At least now i have a MIL, else sure super 'xiong'. I always told hubby dont take thing for granted, we must plan for alternative plan if my MIL decided to go bak Msia. I'm also tossing on the idea of maid, but i afraid i'll go into depression if got a bad maid. If put my 2 kids into CC, it'll be super 'xiong' for me and hubby as we dont get subsidy.
Btw, me too cannot stay at home and taking care of the kids. I'll sure go crazy.

<font color="aa00aa">Poky,
i brought a doll, (i think smaller than what u posted) for my #1 from kiddy palace at $9.90. My #2 does not know how to appreciate it leh.
Btw, is it coz of the angle of the pic, tats why it looks bit 'eerie'?

ZuEn,
U r so funny! U must have seen too much on such ghostly movie liao. haha....</font>

zuen
oki on the class.. nobody picked the phone yet. i try again later n update here. =)

ya lor.. i also scare of dolls later start whisperin... duno y i find most of the dolls in the market all v "glassy" eyes.. look scary... but cos saw my gal keep playin the in the class when she was alone.. so tot buy a doll for her.... hv been searchin for one since she was borned... juz not found one that i find not "scary".... hahah

feifei.. i think the class doll is not the beads type rite?? think it those drawn on type. thus look softer?? but ask me to spend few k on a doll,,, TKK liao.... hahah

felicia
the eyes the type that will close when lie flat... i only like the "body size n weight"... but dun like the eyes n hair part only... cos tot if get one doll that has hair.. then i played with my gal to put hairclip on the doll, then my gal will let me put hairclip on her??? one stone, two birds!!! haha

Poky,
no wor...hmm..mayb i go check later..hee..

Wow u hv good buy leh...When border sales end? No need member card hor? cos I tinking of going aft work today leh...wan join me? We can go for dinner..hee

felicia,
drink more herbal tea hor... nowadays weather not good... got smaller ones?hee

zuen,
*nod nod*,
when my dad was diagnosed with cancer 3 yrs ago,
he got to go thru operation, chemotherapy. etc....
After 1 year... got another tumor in this head,
2nd operation &amp; radiotherapy...

We took turns to bring him to the National Cancer Center...

After all is over, he told us in tears,
he wouldn't be able to go thru the whole thing without us, &amp; TWICE somemore...

When one is down, family support is very important,
we, his kids spend times with him,
and seeing his grandkids made him want to live longer...

Hi poky,
do you rem me? us actually... hehehe...
we went to your place to collect the Exsaucer last year... :p

Yah, now toying with the idea of #4... hahahaha...

poky,
ya lor, more than $30 i bu she de wor..rather spend on books cos my ger is shan fen zhong ri du one..hehe..but books she can flip e pages n then i can keep it away and the take out again..hee..I realised my ger like to couunt frm the books..like count the no of balloons etc.....

Wonder if positive tots will give us a foc tee for our kids hor =)...Kindermusik hv wor..hee

lengleng,
#4???? faintz..really salute u lor...I tink i cannot handle more than 2..haha..hb will go crazy..hehe..

but hv #3 onwards hv more BB bonus hor?;p

amazon books cheap?

<font color="aa00aa">poky,
Yes, thats the part of the eyes catch my #1 attention. Actually i'm asking her to pick another doll which the hair is thicker type, so wont get messy. But then i realised the one i choose, the eyes cannot open or close one. She just loves the eyes open and close. Then my #2 start to pull the eye lids when she saw it close and open. *faint*.

feifei,
the one i bought shld be smaller about 30-35cm tall. No hat with 2 pony tails.</font>

Felicia,
i see...mayb i go see see lor..cos hor, so far char dun like soft toys leh..she will throw it away..hiaz...now she like to cook for us to "eat"..hee

<font color="aa00aa">leng leng,

What you posted really hit on me. My mom yrs back oso diagnosed with cancer. As the eldest in the family, i'm her financially and morale support as well. As my sister whom is 9yrs apart from me is still studying and my bro is not earning much as he had some problem with his hearing.
At that time i was the one sourcing for specialist for her and brought her to hospital for check up, then can only rely on my father to bring her for ops if i'm not able to be back to msia. Luckily i had a supportive husband whom help me on financially and emotionally as well. At that time, i really used up all my saving just for my mom's ops (she had 2 ops), chemo and oths. At that point of time, i really feel so stressed up, that i realised i had mild depression.
So, just nbr of kids is not really can split up the burden but i think their age gap oso plays a part too.</font>

lengleng,
of cos remember. cos ur boi v active n friendly!! was envious that time that ur boi was heavier than my gal... =p

so gd, ur hubby supportive to have many kids.. i want 3, my hubby alrdy reject.. if i say want 4, he flip liao... =(

feifei,
ya lor... since after the class.. saw the dolls within budget of 20+,,, either the eyes too glassy or not to my "requirement"... if to my requirement with cute features. cost a bomb.. so bu se de liao.... same same.. books stil can learn from it. can pass to the nxt one. dolls,,, by the nxt time, the other one come along... the doll alrdy broken legs n arms liao....

still waitin for Has to call me back..

by chance, get to buy the books only. cos went there for seminar... nothin to do, so browse at borders to find the usborne readers... but found the clearance cart instead... haha
the ones i bought were all from the clearance cart @ Borders. only abt 3trolleys, jumbled all over.. so hv to dig lor... i even dig the boxes underneath!! hahah
tonight i cant leh... cos i alrdy prepare dinner in the mornin for hubby to eat on way home... so goin back straight... but i b goin nxt thurs, after my assessment at Shinagawa. want to join me then?? kekek

Felicia,
actually i think it best to get dolls that r washable... then can wkly throw into washin machine to wash... hahaha

<font color="aa00aa">feifei,
YuJie oso like to make us 'eat'. She will just pick the 'food' from all the places and 'feed' us. I was wondering where she pick this habit?</font>

Poky,
Next thurs huh? I hv to cfm with u again wor...then we can go for dinner hor..keke..

Wow, u steady leh, dig e boxes...keke..Cos tinking today the sales still on at taka so wan go there see can get shoes for my ger lor.

Felicia,
hehe...they bery cute hor...jiejie nv play with her? char like to open n close bottle caps, then likes to pour water n drink, can make e sound somemore...hee

feliciarosey,
*nod nod*,
that's why I have 3 &amp; age gap so close...
Had planned this with hubby 10 years ago... :p

If there's #4, it'll be a bonus,
still have 3 years to think about it,
not sure physically can tahan or not,
I don't like to be pregnant &amp; hates confinement...

<font color="ff0000"><font size="+2">Ice Ice, where are you</font></font>?
PS: Ice is a mother to 4 kids... hehehe...

<font color="aa00aa">feifei,
They do play together. Thats when my stomach will 'explore' coz of too 'full' coz both of them keep 'stuffing' me with 'food'!They oso give to each us and make sound when they 'eat'!
Btw, now YuJie likes to play lego set. Her favourite model is stacked the pieces up and up and up, making it taller than herself.

poky,
he hadn't gain weight since he learnt walking,
stopped at 11.2KG for about 4-6mths already.

Plan Plan...
I stopped working for 18mths for #2,
now still at home for #3...

My hubby loves kids too,
that's one of the reason why I marry him in the 1st place.... *lol*

Felicia,
hehe...so cute hor...gers are gers..hee..

U buy those big lego blocks for her? I bot a set of those lego bricks but cheap cheap and onli afew pieces frm KP lor...but seems abit too little, no enuff for char to stack up lor...That day went OG, saw e MEGA BLocks, cost $60+ lor..hiaz...so ex leh...

lengleng,

good hor, but ur job is good cos can work frm home leh...I dun mind actually, at least can grow with char and not missed any of the new things she do..well, not my job doesn't permits me to do so...hiaz..

lengleng,
ya hor, i tink u did..me forgetful..hee..

Actually if my hb earns enuff, i also wan to be SAHM til char goes to nursery..hiaz..

So are u going bk to ur studies?

poky

thx for telling me abt the 'cheaper version' book.

i dare not buy, cos my boy is quite picky on books. a lot of books he dun like or can't see so long. So even if expensive but he like, i will rather buy that than if he waste and not read the cheaper books. Previously i have bot some cheap ones at popular $3, but his interest is not as long.

anyway it boils down to individual kid's preference. doesn't mean expensive is good. most impt is yr kid can appreciate and hold his/her interest long.

feifei

Leng Leng mention before in forum tat she become stay at home mom liao.. previously i rem she bring her kid to her workplace which is contractor's firm or someting like tat.

Felicia

My boy also recently like to pick up food and 'feed' us! LOL.

Btw my boy dunno how to play with lego or mega blocks yet leh.

I oso bot train tracks for him, but he oso dunno how to play.