(2008/06) June 2008

<font color="aa00aa">Halo mummies!

Wah, wat happen to all the June mummies? The last post was on 26 Nov. Almost one week no one post anything?

Congrats, Crystal! Just saw ur message here. Jia you! Soon you'll be meeting ur lil one.

As i was just change job, tats why din come in here. Thou not very busy, but very messy, coz ned to learn lot of things. Pray hard i can survive.</font>

feliciarosey,
you can do it! JIA YOU.

Last sat we went to reckee 2 CC - Tots schoolhouse and preschool-by-the-park near Braddell Road. Hb prefer preschool-by-the-park.

Sunday my boy develop a high fever of 40 degrees and we bring him to KKH after 3 doses of panadol fail to bring the temp down. At KKH was given another fever medicine to be taken with panadol, given priority bec' of high fever + history of fits. Monday nite his fever ok but still have sore throat n flu..
Yesterday i take care of him alone cos my MIL went hols, then i bring him to ion orchard on myself, first time bring him out alone.. cos see him like v bored at home. quite manageable, then halfway he fall asleep then i went to buy 1 pants, push the stroller inside the big changing room.

Too busy to post the above, just a concise summary of wat happen last week

<font color="aa00aa">Leng Leng, Thanks!

ellysia,
What happen to YuZhe? Is some virus infection?

feifei,
Yalor, here become so quiet. So unusual. Really miss last time when we hardly can catch up on the posts. hehe...
but me oso not so frequently came in here due to work constraints.
4th day into my new job. Still in the same work line but diff products line. So far still struggling to understand the products. </font>

Felicia

Yes it upper respiratory virus infection. Now he still have sore throat and is v grouchy. Appetite oso go v badly and refuse to eat food. Only can squeeze in bits and pieces of fruits here and there.

hello mummies! can advise how to treat toddler's constipation? my RY is suffering from it recently and can see she pains when trying to poo

thanks!!

<font color="aa00aa">ZRY, try prune juice!

ellysia,
when kids is sick, they tend to eat less. Dont worry, he'll recover soon. Let him drink more water and take more fruits.

<font color="aa00aa">feifei,
My main reason of change job was due to location. Previous job was too far and the journey is really killing lot of my time. Now at least i can woke up later. And can even fetch my #1 to her CC.
Work wise no comment yet.</font>

Feifei,
Welcome back!! So battery recharged already &amp; enuff to last the entire 2010? Bot alot of HK stuff boh?

Ellysia,
Can your boy take honey? If can, I recommend u go buy raw honey, not those supermarket clear type. Apparently it's very beneficial, maybe u can read up about it before u give http://www.benefits-of-honey.com/

ZRY's Mummy,
U can buy dried prunes from supermarkets and blend it into paste or puree. U can also buy Gerber's Prune puree &amp; feed your ger. Can also give oats cereal cos that helps my boy too. Apple also can do the job. Hope it helps.

Morning ladies...

Mag,
tks ger..hehe...actually hor, more tired le..hehe..been walking everyday lor =)..hee...I played alot of Hk lucky dips lor...hehe...

All,
Any kids here have become more naughty reecently? Duno y, charlotte became more naughty liao leh...now her new hobby is to tear books and paper now. When we beat her hand ask her dun tear, tell her cannot. She will make alot of noise,and then beat her own hands, then conti to tear again..hiaz..

Yest hb almost wan to beat her liao cos she testing our patience lor..hiaz...How to discipline huh?haiz..

Brought her for her 18mth booster jab on sat, PD says charlotte is abit slow leh..say by now shd learnt to call people liao, and also shd start to know ABC lor and not verbs and sentences??!! I was like blurs, then my hb told me must be charlotte watch too much of Barney liao thats y onli talk in bb language in sentences.. I was tinking is't it better to talk in sentences? She knows A, C, O and S liao, can pronounce quite clearly too but duno y PD say shouldn't learnt verbs n sentences first...

Anyone can advise on this?

Lengleng,
Really huh? cos mayb she din see us for 7days lor, so now she wans our attention leh..when hb and I talking, she will make noise cos we nv talk to her..or she will pull us away leh...faintz...

feifei,
yes, all our kids does that too.
Sit her between you &amp; hub or on your lap when talking lor...

This is the "Q" to have a little sibling for her to boss around... hehehe...

Lengleng,
wow, chimz manz..hee

Then charlotte also like to pull our finger to her book and ask us to read ABC to her..Like us to take a pen and draw things for her to see wor, but when we ask her to draw, she dun wan leh..hmm... When did ur 2 elder kids start to talk?

feifei,
haha... acting blur?
She's bored, she wants to learn more...
School will be a good choice to solve this problem,
after that she'll come home &amp; perform what she learn from school.

I think both take clearly about 2 yr old.

feifei,

Who is your PD? at this age know their ABC? seow huh? ...I am not an expert but to me, as long as they can communicate what they want to us,...they are developing fine. My girl can say alot of words and some sentences but she only know ABCDEFG,.....dunno HIJK and the rest...so she is slow? I think nonsense leh.

As for being notti...I have to agree. My daugther is also getting very notti. Think they are approaching the Terrible Twos..arghh...sometimes really testing my limit. =(

<font color="aa00aa">Leng Leng,
Wanna ask u if Besper still using milk bottle?
Actually for RuJen i oredy wean her off bottle long time ago, but just recently i heard from a frenz tat kids whom drink milk direct from cup tends to drink less. And this exactly happen to my #1. And sometime she totally refuse to drink any milk.
So, over the weekend, i 'seek' her opinion if she want to drink from bottle. And she actually hesitant for a while, then said 'want'. So i let her try. And surprisingly for the past 2 days her milk volume increase. And today morning she actually ask for milk b4 go to CC which for the past, she actually dont want any milk b4 goin to CC.
So i was thinking whether to let her drinking from bottle or wat?</font>

feifei,
*nod nod*

feliciarosey,
every morning our elder 2 will drink from milk bottle in their dreamyland,
but when they are awake, they are not suppose to drink from the teat.
Have you tried using straw?

<font color="aa00aa">feifei,
If char is slow, then i think my YuJie is abnormal liao lor.Coz till now YuJie havnt started any sentences, let alone ABC. But she can said 'dog, key, ball,etc' n some oth one syllabus word. As for 2 syllabus words she can only pronounced very limited wording.
But she can understand wat we told her and routine thing she can do well. Like if we said bathing time, she'll go and take her towel , then go to washroom and try to strip off her cloths.
I think dont need to worry too much lah. Diff kids develop differently lor.</font>

actually when she reduce her milk intake, i actually buy a kind of straw which inside have some (not sure wat it is called), which hv flavour like strawberry or chocolate one. So when we suck the straw, the milk will pass thru the thing inside the straw and your milk will hv some flavour. She oso dont like it. As for using straw directly nvr try before.
When i let her drink from bottle on the weekend, she was quite happy and even lying on the sofa and suck happily. I think she just dont like to sit on chair and drink lor.</font>

feliciarosey,
we sample that before,
our kids don't like it either,
full of sugar, the flavour taste artificial.

Kids this age may not like drinking from cup,
cause there may be still spillage.

Our #1 hate drinking from the cup,
she says the milk don't smell good... hehe...
She's fine with straw,
so we'll collect a few everytime we go to fast food resturant.

felicia,

What straw is that?where to buy from? i never see before leh...I also wanna intro drinking milk from straw instead of spoon feeding her milk.

In fact i nvr try tat Sipahh straw, coz i myself not a milk lover, so din know how is the taste. But my sis loves it. Btw, she's oredy 20+.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Jan,
When i bought at Carrefour, it was placed at the cool department which together with those yakult, fresh milk compartment. But my sister told me her frenz bought it at Jusco, Malaysia it was placed at normal rack, which is not under those cool section lor.</font>

sexyaqua,
I won't suggest that,
sugar level is very high,
next time our kids don't like stuffs blend... :p

felicia,
is your sis the type who loves sweet stuffs?
ask you, is she "fat"? hehe...

HI

My boy seems to have recovered from his sore throat. I brew barley water, winter melon soup for him. Bot a small rice cooker to cook his rice, so that it can go with the soup.

Felicia, my boy can take honey. i was wondering if honey will help. thx for yr article.

feifei, I tink the pd must be dreaming. According to a source i read, i tink is from KKH. Children at the age of 2 shd be able to speak phrases, i.e. join more than 1/2 words together. By age of 3 should be able to speak short sentences.

Some of my colleagues feedback by age of 2.5, their kids can speak a lot of sentences.
Also, those who attend child care centre tend to learn speaking faster, in my opinion.

I bot some pictures books for my boy, with pictures and words. So when he point the pic, we will say the word and he will learn to pronounce. He can speak a fair amt of words recently. I tink is ored quite good liao. But we haven't been teaching him ABC, so he didnt know to recite ABC. In fact we been teaching him chinese, cos my hb say can learn English at school so start chinese at home since it is harder to learn.

My sis not those sweet dessert lover leh. And she's very slim, totally opp from me.
She said the flavour is very nice and she din mentioned anything about too sweet leh.

ellysia,
I'm not the one posting on the honey article leh. Not sure which mummy liao.

Yup, i agree with ellysia, that those kid whom attend CC learn to speak much faster. When my #1 was at 2.5yrs, her sentences is still very limited, but aft i enrol her into CC, her language improved very fast and her sentences is much much clearer and more.</font>

Me back from my trip. Reality is cruel. Boohoo. Sick, got Aussieland flu virus. Hoho.

feifei,
Does Char love to sing? Bcos Lil ZuEn loves singing and has been learning her words and ABC that way without us really teaching her. She can sing the entire ABC song (less the words) just missing out M and W. We were impressed too. She just gets better with her ABC song bcos we kept making her sing + sing with her during the trip to entertain her. Hoho.

Morning ladies...

Ellysia,
Wow, good hor, at least ur boy can speak afew words le...

Felicia,
hmm, cc is good in a way that the kids get to be exposed to more learning in the correct way..

ZuEn,
char love to sing lor..she loves Barney leh...We also sing to her wor... Clever lil zuen can sing wor..i always sing ABC song to her she can't pick up le..I suspect charlotte will learn slower cos her teething is slower than others le..so i guess her learning might be slow too...

U came bk frm where huh?

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">hi to all mummies... been ages since i last login.. how are everyone? anyone watching the barney at novena sq?</font></font>

feifei,
We went Melbourne and I was almost tirtured to death by the princess. Hohoho.
Dun worry too much about the "slow" or "fast" part. I tot it is all too early to tell now. I bet the environment plays a part too. Char will soon pick up words and whatever when you start enrolling her to CC and playgroup, where she get to inetract with other kids.

Hi all..
Anyone can share with me how heavy is ur toddler now? tks..cos last sat, charlotte is onli 11kg+ leh..

ioio,
Wow, long time no seeu here liao...hows ur boy?

I wan to bring my ger there lor, hv u been there?

My sis is younger than me by 9yrs. So i'm telling her dont be so 'hao lian' yet. Wait till she become a mother of 2 first. hehe....

ZuEn,
So nice to go for a holiday. Since #2 is born, my only so called holiday is to Malacca. hahaha.... But it was always a tired one.

feifei,
Me oso just weigh YuJie last nite. She's around 10kg nia. Anyhow, dont worry too much on weight lah, as long as they r eating well and healthy. I think at theit stage maybe their weight wont be increase too fast liao as they r active toddler.
Tell you i did a check on YuJie's height percentile and she's only less than 10%. She must be a small petite little girl liao but still pining hope she'l grow taller when bigger. hehe...</font>

Feifei,
Lil ZuEn is 11kg too. The doc actually says that she's a little above average for a 18 months' old wor. But she has grown much taller, but we never measure. Now she can reach the cups and stuff on the dining table. So dangerous. Hoho.

Felicia,
Ya lor. I was even more tired than before I set out for the trip. This morning, I told my hubby that I want to be a housewife. But he must 1st employ a maid for me. Hoho.

hi feifei
11+kg is very good weight for a gal... isaiah is only 10.6kg now and pd says he's average weight for a boy.. so dun worry abt her weight....

btw baby ariel was delivered on 26 nov weighing 2.795kg via csect... i wanted to try natural but during routine gynae visit n ctg scan, bb heartbeat suddenly dropped during contraction... as she wasnt engaged, gynae made decision to take her out via csect... now trying to latch n pump, latch n pump.... i feel like a moo moo cow all over again...

Felicia,
tks for the assurance =)...hehe...actually hor, being petite is good leh..cute cute wor..

zuen,
ya lor, now they grab everything leh...hee
Anyway, i am bringing char to zoophonics this wkend at Tamp branch wor...

Roxy,
CONGRATS! hows the feeling of havign a NB again?hehe...ur boy happy to see meimei?