(2008/06) June 2008

Bonjovi,
You not KS liao. My friend also signed her daughter up for SJ when she's barely a few months' old! I think he is somehow affliated to SJ but still sign up early for max chance.
I hope to send her to a church kindergarten too. Almost wanted to call and ask liao but tot I wait until she enrolled to CC 1st. Just in case I find the CC good enuff for her to continue till kindergarten.

My elder niece is in full-day cc and my younger niece will be enrolling soon too. My mum just hint me that day that Lil ZuEn will have no playmate then and the hours will pass very slowly. But she's so young, I bu she de enrol her yet.

feifei,
I will jia you de. But actually, I relaised that there is less stress. Somehow already have no. 1. If really dun have then dun have lor. Hohoh.

Morning ladies..

Bonjovi,
Tks for the infor, its realyl helpful lor..so envy ur plc there got good kindergarden...for Sengkang hor, there are afew but its qutie far from my side..hiaz..

ZuEn,
ya lor, just leave it to fate and dun stress urself ya..REm, u will strike when u least expected..hee

Janiviy,
U staying near SJ?

Lengleng,
Do u happen to know any nanny in Sengkang that is good?

I'm a mummy from the Aug thread, I recv this from a fren

<font color="0000ff">St. Hildas' Church is organising a food festival on 21st Nov (Sat) and it's in the morning. It's to raise funds for two local communities that the church supports through their community project. The project caters to Old folks and latch-key kid mainly. The church is located at Ceylon Road which is on East Coast Road, opposite Katong Mall.

In the spirit of good causes! I've tickets to sell for this fundraiser, one set of tickets goes for S$10.</font>

This is also a church kindy so mummies living in the east can check them out too.

Any mummies interested in going or getting tickets, do email me [email protected] I'll consolidate and get the tickets from my friend.

Lengleng,
I so sad u know...cried when I tot of charlotte going over to my mil hse next yr when she starts her cc =(... so upset, bu she de...

Story goes here...
I have been searching ard for CCs right? Then last sat, my mil say this particular new cc which hb and I are seriously considering, she said its near to her hse, within walking distance. So hb and I tot we heard wrongly so ask her wat she meant. she say when char goes cc, she wants to bring my ger to move bk to her hse as currently she is stayign at my hse since hb and I are studying and we can't bear the tot of not having charlotte in the house.

Initial agreement was that she will stay at our hse til we graduate which is in 2011. Now she changed her mind. So we ask how come u wan to move back? Know what she says, she said because she doesn't want my FIl to walk over to my plc everyday just to help her as his back is not getting very good.And also, her area there is building a new market which will funtcion end of this yr-the market near to Compasspoint lor. And wait til u read this, she say she wants to COOK for my BIL's wife as they are going to ROM this dec and this lady will be staying with them. I hear liao so pissed off. Wat she means she wants to COOK for her to eat? So frm this, I know where I stand in the family le. Obviously she prefers this new DIL of hers cos she dun mind to stay with them as she is a malaysian =(. Got once I overheard my mIL telling my hb, malaysian wives are good, they would want to stay with their ILs unlike spore wivies. What will u all do when u hear this? !@#&amp;^$%

Haiz, I am very sad lor. I can say I am doing my part as a DIL and at times, even better than her 2 sons..I am even treating her much better than my mum because I know she did alot for us.Then my MIL said we cannot be so selfish, she already stayed at our hse for 2yrs liao, wat more do we want!! =(. Problem is , my hb's auntie is staying at my ILs hse together with her Pri 1 son. Her son bery naughty de, I worried charlotte will pick up all the bad habits from him and then we as parents will hv problem correcting her later on...I also worried he might bully her as she is still a small little ger mah.

I have been tinking of all the different types of solutions :-
1) Quit my job to take care of char while studying --> This is not workable becos my hb dun earn enuff.

2)Stick to my mil's plan, let char stay at her hse on wkdays, wkends then bring home.

3)Bring my ger to my mum hse at Bukit panjang and onli bring her bk on wkends. --> This option, my hb disagree as he say BP is so much further than SK.

4) Find a nanny near my plc.

P.s: i have problem because next yr onwards, I hv to attend lessons thrice a wk..hiaz..I really regretted studying lor...
3174474.gif
If i din hv to study, i can bring char to cc on my own and bring her bk home myself..

Sorry for the long post as I really need advices here...Tks ya =).

<font color="aa00aa">Morning ladies!

Leng Leng,
Yalor, u know my hearbeat was stop for a second when i saw cornelius was on top oredy. I was so worry he will fall down or knock on something. I think my MIL got a shocked too. haha.... Now she realised is not just my girls whom is super active. hahaha.......
Btw, Cornelius is real fast lor!

Janiviy,
Must put deposit? So fast? Just curious, can i know how much is the fee per month? Any idea what make it so popular?

Bonjovi,
Flying kite a good idea. I have brought a kite for my gers but till now still hvnt got time to go and play.
About CC/ Nursery, to me proximity to home is very important lor. Now my #1 new CC is a street away from my house, and i oredy find it bit troublesome. As her ex-CC was just below my block, very convenient.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">feifei,
If your MIL insist want to move back, i dont think u have much choice. Since u and hubby is studying, i dont think u both will be able to adjust the timing to fetch Charlotte, rite?
Even if you find a nanny around your place, are you able to pick her up on time?
I believe if u r taking care of char yourself w/o your MIL, ur study might be affected as well. Or can ask ur mom to move in with you?
Another alternative, hired a maid to help you.</font>

felicia,
Ya lor, cos was tinking if i resign, then char goes cc, i can use e time when she is in cc to study..but prob is when we hv lessons, who going to fetch her frm cc...Onli if the nanny is ok to let char spend 3nites there at her plc on e days we hv class lor...As for maid, i did tot of lor but my hb dun wan.he say dangerous to leave maid with char cos duno wat e maid will do to her also..hiaz... Me really going bongus tinking of all this le..haven been sleeping well also...Still very sick now...=(

You can try to find if able to find one nanny whom is agreeable to your requirement.
As for maid, wat about a hidden video cam so that you can monitor while at work?
Actually i'm quite worry oso that my MIL will wanna to bring YuJie back to malacca. Coz i can sensed that she's oredy thinking to bring her back when she's bigger. Now the only prob she's facing is my #1, coz hubby and me is goin to work very very early, so she'll need to send my #1 to CC.
I think once i'm able to send my #1 to CC, sure she'll voice out to move bak with YuJie. Then is my turn to headache liao.
Anyhow, kiasu me oredy start thinking of all the alternatives. </font>

St James - It is in a recent magazine that its so popular tat their waiting list is a few hundreds.. another popular CC is Nanyang KIndergarten.

My hb dun want to spend too much so he said dun wanna put in these type of 'ar tas' CC.

Recently on bus i saw a kid wearing Mindchamps t-shirt and she is quite chatty on bus (can say a lot of things) as compared to another kid (wearing another CC t-shirt which i tink is PAP one)..

Gym membership fee - yest Fitness first return my call later and said they will refund to me.. heng..

Felicia - my boy snatch other kids toys when he attend my hb's fren daughter bday party few months ago. And acting spoilt and dun want to release the toys plus knock over younger kids in order to snatch the toys. I was so embarrassed.

Later i read some books and it says it v normal at tis stage and we have to teach them wat is the proper behaviour in these context.

I guess its bec my boy doesn't have much interaction with other kids yet. But somehow i notice he won't snatch toys from older kids, he only target younger kids..

feifei

Is yr MIL staying v near to yr current house? If so, can u fetch Char to and fro everyday? Like my arrangement?

We dun want our kid to stay overnight at MIL house as i understand it will lead to kid dun want to go back home with parents in future.

U can also opt to put Char in full day childcare and fetch her?

Feilica,
ahyo, how come ur mil wan to bring yujie bk to malacca leh? so far leh....wat solutions u tot of?hee
I also duno leh, hv to convince my hb to get maid seems so hard..haiz..

Ellysia,
heng, lor, can get bk the refund..did they say y they make such mistake?

If walk, takes abt 15-20mins to reach lor...Cos we dun hv a car lor, if everyday bring to and fro, will spend quite sometime on travelling also lor...

I did tot of putting charlotte in full day cc then i try to find a job that starts work from 9am cos my current job starts work at 8am and 6am i hv to wait for the company transport at my plc liao...then after work if i dun hv class, I can fetch her, but wat happen on the days when I hv lessons?Hiaz, so headache over this now.Unless i solve this, if not I won't be able to concentrate for my exams..haiz..

Feifei,
How about bringing her back on days that you dun have to study + weekends? Just have to be prepared that you and hb will be very tired.

Sometimes there is no perfect solution and we just have to make do. Sometimes, I leave Lil ZuEn at my mum's place too when I have to work really late, which I try to avoid and I will miss her like mad. But then, I will also realise that it is actually a good break from her and I get a good rest.

Getting a nanny or put her in cc will only handle the day. Night time, you will still need help when you study. Unless the nanny is so nice as to help to take care on days that you &amp; hb study.

Jia you, jia you.

hello mummies

any gatherings coming up or not...i am going back to work in about 1 or 2 weeks time...want to meet up with you and your toddlers leh, never meet you all before hehehe.

Cannot offer my place now cos move back to stay with my PIL liao any other people can offer their place? hehehe

All this while, my MIL still cannot get used to the life here. Plus my FIL and BIL is still at Malacca. I believe when YuJie know how to talk liao, she'll request to bring her back to mlk lor. During my #1 times, she oredy hinted to let my #1 enrol into the playgroup there.
Anyhow, my solution is either get a maid or enrol YuJie into CC with her sis together lor if it really happen. </font>

Felicia,

You can see more infor here
http://www.sjck.org.sg/info.htm

I paid $353.50 as deposit,because Reanne confirmed has a place mah.

The current nursey fees are $900 per term (10 weeks)

I also dunno why so popular. Think due to their curiculum and there are 2 teachers in a class. 1 mandarin speaking, 1 english speaking.

Feifei,
I stay Jurong leh, hubby will drive her to school lor. Kekekekeke.

Felicia

it depend whether u want yr kids to study in SG or not. If intention is to enrol in Pri sch at SG, it will be better to enter CC at SG, if not child may not adapt after come back from malaysia.

feifei

they didnt admit any mistake. But i dun wanna pursue since they say will refund.

How abt yr hb help to fetch on the day u have class?

Actually I surprise tat St James fee is $900 for one term (10 weeks)..

cos some of the CC i reckee charge $400 after subsidy per mth.. so actually st james considered cheaper in tat sense..

my hb wanna find CC with transport so tat my MIL dun have to travel to fetch.. cos take taxi v ex and she can't take public transport.

Ellysia,
can't cos hb and i hv class on e same day..hiaz..

ND'girl,
hi there, hows things?

Felicia,
i see..haiz..but somehow bu fang xin leave kids alone with maid hor? haiz..

Janiviy,
wow, not bad hor..actually not ex also wor cos its for 10wks leh..

feifei,
Actually, if one day I have no choice, I will oso leave my kids with maid wor. True will bu fang xin but if really bo bian, then life still go on. Use those hidden cam and remind maid that I am watching her lor.

ZuEn,
Ya lor...really fan hor...we were asked to give birth to more kids and yet taking care is the most troublesome things...

feifei

then is it possible if u get school bus from the CC then send Char to your MIL place, then after school pick up from MIL house?

feifei,
don't be sad, you can still go over everynight to see her after work,
wait till she sleeps then you return home.

Don't compare, as long as you have done your best for her,
that's enough.

Staying so near to her is enough, she may not realise it now...

The Pri 1 will not have lots of time with Char,
if she goes to CC, she'll be in school about 8-10 hours a day already.

A nanny is still a paid nanny, she won't love your DD as much as granny,
there are few who treat the kids as precious.

ellysia,
I think chatty or not, depends on the individual kid,
also lots to do with home.

Our kids are from ulu ulu CC, also talk a lot! hehe..

feifei,
how about...

Get hubby to bring her to CC in the morning,
evening you bring back.
Days that you study, MIL bring back lor...

Or like us,
morning hubby bring them to school,
evening my MIL bring them back,
eat dinner, bath them,
every evening we bring them home.

How about investing in a bicycle with a childseat?

hi mummies...any tips to share how to train our 1.5 years kid to sit still to eat their meal?...my gal cannot sit still to eat running around very distracted. These few days worse...refusing meals for reason I still cannot find out...sighh...her molar teeth are growing out...can see the teeth liao, think once can see teeth it's not painful liao rite?...dunno if this is the reason why she is not eating her meals....wat are your kids eating now and how much they eat?...can share?...really very exasperating during feeding times....sighh...

hi....check out if your kids are drinking formulae milk now?...wat brand is good?...my gal since birth breastfed only. Now she getting very picky with food and kept drinking my breast milk these few days. thinking of introducing her to formulae milk. She constipates easily so which formulae will not cause constipation? thanks a lot for sharing...

Morning ladies...

All,
tks for the advices......Anyway, yest,hb and I had a long "negiotation" with my mil. We asked her wats the real reason she wants to move bk, she told us she feel guilty towards my BIL as he gives her allowance every mth and yet she is not cooking or taking care of him lor. Then my hb fedup, went to call my BIL, ask him he ok if mil going to stay with us until we graduate but she goes bk every wkends lor..He say ok, then my mil got nothing else to say lor. PHEW!...So end up, conclusion is, she will still stay at our plc til we graduate, then she will move bk with charlotte in yr 2011.But i am tinking of getting another job either aft i graduate or next yr startign work at 9am so that i can send char to cc before i go to work lor...This is my plan lor..But I am still glad that she agrees to stay for another 1yr =)...hiaz...

Then hb was telling her, next time, when his bro going to hv kids, tings get more complicated as well..haiz...No choice lor, can't think too much le, most important i must graduate in 2011!!..

MOOMOOKO,
So far, my ger still sits in her highchair during meals, we dun allow her to come down until she finish her meals.. Hmm..I tink teething is part of the reason u ur ger dun wan to eat wor..Hmm...Or can change receipe?

My ger has been drinking friso since birth til now, so far so good. Onli during her 4th mths, feeding her was a battle, I added Brown rice to her milk since then. She loves her milk til now =).

janiviy,
hehe =)...clever u leh =).

Morning..

Need some help. What is the compulsory jab at 18-month? Can that jab be delayed?
I am beinging Lil ZuEn to Melbourne. The last thing that I want is for her to fall sick. -.o" I was thinking of delaying the jab until after our trip. By then, she will be 19 months.

ZuEn,
Err..the 18mth jab is a booster wor..i also delaying charlotte's jab to 2wks later cos i will be in japan then...When u going melbourne?

<font color="aa00aa">Morning ladies!

Leng Leng,
Dont said ur kids is naughty lah, just active nia. Initially i keep wondering if my gers is super active liao, but seeing ur kids, make me realised 'THEY'RE KIDS' afterall, running and climbing around is normal. So now whenever my MIL complaining my gers keep running here and there, i'll remind her of your kids. hahaha......
Btw, she still feel amazing at the speed Cornelius climb up the dining table. hehe.....

Ellysia,
Sending my kids back to study at the CC there was an excuse for my MIL so that she can bring her bak to malacca. Last time i told her if CC at Mlk, then i afraid my ger cant catch up on her english when back to spore. Then she told me the CC main language is English and i myself did go there and take a look. Is a private CC and environement is real good. Then i told her kids w/o parent at side tends to be more rebellious in future, coz this happen to her side of relatives. Of course i dont mean all will be rebellious lah, but w/o proper guidance kids will be spoilt lor. Thats how i manage to let my MIL 'temporary' stop thinking of the idea to bring my ger back.
But i think next yr she might voice the idea again since YuJie is almost 1.5yrs by then. Coz recently she had been keep telling me about some cases about grandparent taking care of grandchild at msia.
Anyhow, oredy told hubby if MIL wanna bak to mlk, i wont stop her, but be prepare to hired a maid or send YuJie to CC.

feifei,
Tat at least make you feel better , rite? Actually for my case i sometimes feel guilty too towars to my FIL and BIL. But then me and hubby keep asking my FIL to come over to stay and he's the one dont want. As for my BIL, he now got a gf to look aft him. hehe...
Anyhow, once my BIL is married and hvin child, my MIL will be bak to mlk. So, is just a matter of time, sooner or later that i need to find alternative way of taking care of my gers.

Janiviy,
Yes, is consider cheap. No wonder must booked so early. You got a good deal! </font>

Was doing abit of research on CCs and Enrichment classes for Athan last week. Saw you ladies talking about St James Kindy, previously I've called to enquire but they dun provide childcare, only purely 3hrs session for all levels.

Moreover, no subsidies, it's only can use CDA account to pay for the fees nia. Anyone please correct me if I'm wrong.

Mag,
thank you so much for ur help last wk =)...Finally can settle for the time being leh..hiaz..
Ur exams over?

felicia,
ya lor, at least now partof the rock has been put down..Onli that now hv to concentrate on my exam next wk..

Feifei,

u r most welcome n i'm glad that your worries are over n u can concentrate on your studies. Exams r temporarily over for me but still have a number of assignments to do so very sian.

Now then i know looking for cc n enrichment school for children is so stressful. So many but dun know which one to choose.

Mag,
Tks tks...Ya lor, haiz, studies bery sian lor but no choice lor, hv to conti since we already halfway there =)..

Ya lor, then some like one, logn waiting list ..hiaz...I really hope Blk 208 that area hv new ccs cos so far hor, this area no cc yet leh...tink can write in to suggest hor =)..hee

feifei,
I am going to Melbourne on 1st to 5th Dec. So the jab will be delayed by 3 weeks wor.
Hmmm... I think should b OK hor.

for the time being, do concentrate on ur exam 1st. And since ur MIL oredy promise to delay her moving, so lets only think about it aft ur exam.

Mag,
If you plan to let Athan to enrol into those popular CC, you better be fast and steady coz the waitlist is very long...
Ultimately all depend on what you want for Athan.
Last weekend, we met a teacher from some enrichment school distributing the leaftlet. She told me to bring my #1 for accessment and then see if she can 'jump' to higher class. Hubby told me even our #1 can 'jump', still let her start from scratch, build her foundation strong 1st. Then hubby pop me with a qn, will it be too much classes for her to take, coz currently she's taking mandarin speech &amp; drama class, so if we let her take phonics next yr, can she take it. I was telling my hubby, aside whether my ger feel stress or not, i think our pocket will be the 1st to be 'stress'. Seeing my ger enjoy so much in her speech &amp; drama class, i 'bu se de' let her stop the class. As for phonics, i just wanna her to brush up her english, since me and hubby are poor fella on english.</font>

zuen,
I tink shd be ok de..cos hor, i also prefer come bk then take e jab better leh... =).. Wow, ur ger will enjoy it lor..hee

felicia,
Which sch ur ger goes for speech n drama?

<font color="aa00aa">Leng Leng,
My MIL oredy wanna 'faint' with my 2 gers liao. Just yest nite, #1 fall down from chair, and my MIL was in shocked. If she had heart attack, sure cham. At least urs is boys, but mine is gers leh, shld be more demure but not leh.

feifei,
It was organised by some ex-mediacorp artiste and the class is at my neighbourhood Comunity Ctr. The name is called XiaoXingXing. Its more for the kids to play and sing lah.</font>

I was toking abt St James to my hb last friday. But he is not keen to go for these 'star' CC. His priority is those with school bus and near to my MIL house.

I had a heated debate/quarrel with hb last friday also. Previously i told MIL not to give evian everyday to Yu Zhe, but to give plain water n if want evian can give a little but not 100% evian whole day. She say boiled water v ma fan.. (wat crap excuse).. then last friday i remind her again.. then when we on the way back home i told hb i want to buy a container and bring plain water to MIL house daily.. my hb keep arguing to me tat evian is ok.. and quote to me x article and y article (my hb is v good with reasoning etc), i see his point but i can't help feeling tat he siding with MIL though he say no. So end up didnt tok to him until late evening. Yu Zhe see us quarrel he call out 'papa' and hold on to my hb hand then call out 'mama' and hold our hands together... then mumble some bb language.

ok so today i bring the water container over.. hee end up my MIL said she boiled some water liao