(2008/06) June 2008

huggy,

blueberry and cranberry is low on allergic list. It is not classify as a 'true berries'. Berries at Strawberry, blackberry, which are considered high allergic and shd be postpone until after 1 yrs old.

cranberry can be given from 9 months.

Ok thks, i wanted to give the fresh one but i can't find. then the baby jar ones dunno why due date all in June this year, too near so i didn't buy.

feifei,

Mine also start to get more naughty. I tink he is testing his boundaries. He knows tat we dun like him to touch the fan. Then he will purposely go and touch, and see if we spot him or not. when we look at him, then he still purposely go and touch. Must wait until i beat his buttock or scold him, then he will listen. but another day he will repeat this again. Also good at "sa jiao".. and my ILs really dote on him leh, he want wat also give him..

then recently, i dunno where he go and learn. he start to scream v loud whenever he is in enclosed space, cos he noticed the echo sound and find it interesting. he scream v loud in restaurant such tat the waitress close the door (of the xiang fan).. so pai say. then sat go and makan with my IL and relatives to celebrate my FIL bday. he make so much noise and cranky..aiyo.

ioio,

mine has been biting since teething stage.. even now past teething still bite occasionally. bite my hb arm until bleed u know..

morning mummies...
hey just to check my bb is stuck with 2 bottom teeth for 3 mths liao..she's already past 10 mths...issit normal?

shycloud,
my gal had been stuck w 4.5 teeth for quite some time.. then last week, saw another 2.5 teeth appearing.. she's cranky for the past week and super uncomfortable ydd..

She now got 6.5 teeth le..

Look out for signs and you might be surprise their teeth can grow suddenly..

Mine has 10 teeth now. Dunno is he still teething, cos recently i notice he start drooling again.

shycloud,

sometimes teeth can come out one go shot like 2-4 teeth together. then will be super cranky!

Morning ladies

My bb like everyday eating paper. Hai....
Give her books she bit give her flash card she also bits, now all my things have her tooth mark..hai...

Btw when can bb eat our adult porrage that we eat at food court? as my bb don't like her own porridge le. like what fennie just said, they don't like their tastless food liao.

warrior...
she had high fever beginning of the mth so we suspect she might be teething but no leh...till now still no signs...

but she's getting abit cranky lately...and keeps on biting on her teether...im keeping my fingers crossed*

shycloud,
u got see anything whitish on her gums or swollen gums? My ger for e past 2wks, poor appetite, so i see her gums, can see some whitish thing there, so shd be teething de..And duno is it when they teething, they like things which hv more taste lor like adult food..

u got apply teething gel for her?

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">warrior.. what the best way to discipline? scold or beat huh.. i dun really encourage beating the kid as they kind of noe and dun noe.. but explain to them i think they wont understand oso.. i think try the "no No' method..

ellysia..bite until bleed? wow.. tt's pain..</font></font>

shycloud,
so cfm its teething le..sometimes it takes longer for the teeth to come out..

Good wor, my ger appetite bery jialiat, all reduce by half..but heng she still can finish her 240ml milk..if not, tink she will shrink lor..We let her eat bread for bf with cereal lor cos seems like she prefers that.. As for porrdige hor, she doesn't like her normal porridge leh..So i used zhen zhu dou with pork to cook the porridge, she at least can finish 1 bowl compared to the past few days..today we going to use watercress and pork to boil, and cook porridge with the stock... really worrying at times hor..

shycloud,
my ger also only has 2 bottom teeth for very long time and dont' have whitish gums..but she's just like to chew on eveything she can get hold of..

Shycloud...my gal oso 10mths ler..oso 2 bottom teeth...few days ago oso had high fever to 40.5Deg...lose appetite...,cranky and keeps whining...sighhhhhh...worst biting my shoulder...tis am then saw a white sharp edge fm the gum....pd say its viral fever ..and i tink plus some teething ...givin me sleepless nites....ZZzzz...

shinely,
ya lor, normal plain white bread..either i feed her like that, or sock in her cereal together wit some biscuits lor..at least she can swallow lor =)..

ioio, my ger also like to bite and pull type... so painful.

feifei, my ger also fake cry one. Just now when she woke up from her nap, and saw me quickly hide my new hp (old one drown in her saliva liao), then she start fake cry lor. She cry even loudly and got tears one when i just smile at her only.
Then I want to test her and give her the new hp, wow, she immediately break into smile and keep smiling at me. So manja lor, but so funny and cute looking her acting like that.

but i told her that she can just hold and play with it, NO more biting, if she bite the hp, there will be no more for her. Ans she really didn't bite lor.

ioio,
I'll bring myself to have eye-to-eye contact &amp; FIRMLY say "NO" to Floyce. And will SLOWLY explain to her the consequence (Floyce knows)..

If she continues, I'll carry her away or take (dun snatch!!) the things away from her.

I used to beat her little hand when she try to touch things I forbid her to, but she hit me back.. hmm, dun think it's useful. So I stopped.

HB says don't scold or raise yr voice, cos she'll imitate.

And always remember to be CONSISTENT &amp; FIRM with yr discipline.

She starts to have different patterns to "overcome" the discipline portion. I'm still trying out new methods though..

My part-time helper asked me ydd if Floyce will pull my specs.. cos she'd seen other mothers having to have many broken specs.. But my Floyce won't.. I tell her.. COS I discipline my child.. Haha..
Hope it helps.

I'm a fierce &amp; strict mummy. And I really believe in instilling the right teaching. If the child mis-behaves, I always believe it's the parents who are at fault..

haha, sorry for being so serious as I really think EQ is very important and the child will cultivate her values from their parents..

warrior,
well-said lor..hehe..My ger likes to pulll my mil specs but she doesn't dare to pull mine cos i will scold her and tell her NO, CANNOT pull mummy' specs firmly lor..

U know hor, my ger hor, if she dun like, she will kick her legs and twist everywhere. Hiaz, bad tempered ger.. Me still trying ways to discipline her... sometimes wack her hand she can laugh somemore...

I m trying to post twice and stupid forum stuck again.

end up i typing again and again..

shycloud,

teething fever is usu not high, will not exceed 38, according to a doc. high fever is usu due to disease.

feifei,

recent due to pork scare, i decided not to give pork to bb temp.

warrior angel

MY ILs let my bb touch specs, play with remote control, handphone etc.. they scare he cry. My bb cry when he is being put inside high chair then my MIL will carry him liao.. so i have to told him NO many times for these, before he get the idea tat i am no mess. luckily not staying with IL if not discipline will be harder.

Hi ellysia,

My MIL also, scare she cry or just to let her station, my MIL give her coins, dollars, mirror, paper box, tissue paper. So turn up she everyday eating paper, when i carry her got to dig the paper out from her mounth. And told her how many times not to let bb play such thing but she never listen. hai... hope i can quickly move out and stay alone.

Ellysia/Shinely,
Haha.. I can understand the frustrations.. I always tell myself to 忍 when I'm outside my hse.

I'll tell people (incl, my parents &amp; ILs) to please understand, while you can find it funny &amp; cute, BUT at the end of the day, I'm the one taking care of Floyce and she's MY child.

Last Sat, my MIL tried her luck again.. Someone had bought red bean pastry fm Japan, and she wanted Floyce to try it. I told her "NO" nicely and that it's sweet. She's a little unhappy, but i dun care.

Personally, I know that sugar will trigger hyperactive in Floyce and I've "suffered" as Floyce was overtired, cried but couldn't sleep when I gave her some 小馒头.

Handphones - I tried to minimized cos of the radiation. Their little bodies might not be able to withstand.

coins - BIG "NO-NO"

mirror - will it break and cut?? Or those fake mirrors?

newspaper - I'll not allow Floyce touch due to the ink..

Haha... seems like Floyce got no childhood or freedom at all, right?? haha

shinely,

My MIL also give tissue paper/ box to him bec he like to tear them! Then he may mouth them. But my MIL usually will watch and take it away once he mouth them. I just dun like it when they give him remote control etc.. then he tot he can play with them at home too.. he will cruise and try to take the remote control. maybe need to lock the controls up or paste those control box high on the wall, once he know how to walk.

warrior angel,

for food wise.. my MIL will ask normally, due to my bb food allergy. if she happen to give someting without asking, i usu will look upset. I tink got some time, my ILs quite upset abt this. We spent some time explaining on this. Old folks cannot understand tat food cannot anyhow give to bb, and tat old practices sometimes need to be avoided.. must quote doc all the way then they listen.

My bb is first grandchild so sure will dote.. no other kids at home liao. wat to do. but my colleague says usu kids will know who can mess with, who cannot mess with. they test boundaries. I got a book on displine.. haven't finish reading though.

And i tink boys are generally more active n playful than gals.. headache.

At my MIL house, they let him play remote control, newspaper, tissue box, small plastic can (use to control vits/candies), banana (punch until black black), mouse, mouse pad, fridge magnet... zzz.

Haha... maybe my hb is those bo-chap type, and certain things, my hb agrees w me.. like discipline, sweet stuff, remote control, handphones, coins, paper, electronic items..

But normally, I'll be nice BUT firm.. Haha.. infact, my MIL knows I'm not someone to mess around even before I was married into the family.. Hahaha

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">warrior.. oh yes.. sld be take into control else next time hard to control liao...

now the swine's flu like spreading fast... hope not another round like SARS.. heard mask at pharmacy sold out? </font></font>

Morning ladies..
Raining so heavily lor...nice weather to zzzz..

Candy,
yup, i accepted liao =).

ioio,
ya lor, watched the news on the swine flu yest..bery scary leh... haiz, hope spore will be safe from it cos its really scary if it spreads in spore..

<font color="aa00aa">Morning feifei,

Yup, life had been very very busy, maybe need to wait till my boss managed to get new staff, only can relax a bit. But today my IT guy is doing some transfering of data for my system, so now cannot use system, can only online. hiak! hiak! hiak!</font>

felicia,
I see...no wonder lor...no choice de, now alot of places freeze headcount also...Wat positions ur company hv huh? my sis looking for admin or customer service position nw cos her contract ended and the company freeze headcount so can't renew her contract...haiz..

morning all.. super tired..

silly me, Floyce was hyperactive again. I suppose it's the sugar content in the honeydew I've given her abt 845pm-9pm.. She's overtired but couldn't sleep.. Crying non stop and fidgeting.

<font color="0000ff">This morning i am super angry. One women at MRT train elbow me 3 times from the back! Cos she dun want to give me space to enter the train, then i shift in and she not happy, so she elbow me. I almost want to hit her back but refrain myself.. only just grumble loudly to my hb inside the train and the women know i am toking abt her. so angry. </font>

feifei,
reading articles fm the net now.. they say sugar will NOT cause hyperactive ley..

I just got 2 tubes of desitin creamy.. Thanks..

wat are yr experience? Will sugar cause hyperactive, even sugar from fruits? Can share?

warrior,
no prob...cos i hv 1 more spare one =)..Hmm..then wat cause hor?

For me, if my ger is overstimulated, or when time for her to sleep and she din sleep, she will cry n scream de..

Yesterday found out that my ger can push the baby walker around the house without any falls liao

Hubby came back from work and saw her ger demonstrate it to him, he was so happy and touched (that his money not wasted - because I was the one who ask him to buy and he was a bit hesitated at 1st, very kiam siap daddy)

I think we bought the walker for less than a month. At 1st, we were worry that she will not know how to control the force and fall face down or backward. So, I always hold her or hold the walker for her. Or I will let it leaned against the sofa and let her stand there without moving (to prevent falls).

Yesterday, found that she was quite sturdy liao so 1st time letting go my hand to try and see. To my surprise she really can balance her weight and her force. So happy!

warrior,

i am just abt to say.. from my experience sugar dun cause hyperactivity. I give sweet fruits daily to my bb.

On the issue of discipline, my hb may agree with me but he only say say to his mum, won't speak up too loud also cos he dun want to upset his mum. So unless its v serious normally he dun speak up one.

huggy,

The walker yr bb use is the ang moh type (those push type), not the chinese round type right?