(2008/06) June 2008

Felicia, I was a very stupid child. haha! Yes, I was only put into a walker at 11 months. I didn't reject walker. Actually, I didn't know about it until my mom noticed my SIL's boy tiptoe-ing at 12 months at his 1st bday party. She asked my SIL when the boy was in a walker. Then my mom told my SIL I was only put in at 11months.
my parents only have 1 child, so I think they remember alot of things to do with me. ALso, after I was born, my mom worked only 20+ hours a week... so she had alot of time with me.

speaking about remmebering things about our bbs.. I have this fear that I will forget everything to do with Matthew.. don't know if other mummies feel the same. I was at breakfast with my boss just now.. she told me she didn't know when will be the last time her boy wll share her bed with her, will let her hold his hand when they walk together... she said she'd never know when will be the last time... sigh...

Bb has used baby walker
1. Chloe (christina)
2. Rizty
3. YuJie (Felicia) & #1 used before
4. Jade (shycloud)
5. Vivi (Veniz) & #1 used before
6. Jared (fennie77) & #1 used before(started to walk at 11 months)
7. Ivory (Sharon)

Haven't decided or not to use
1.Fen
2.Ellysia
3.Cactus

Whats wrong with putting bb on walker? I always put her on it when I'm too lazy to play with her etc... so let her sit and she will walk with me, follow where i go. Its quite fun actually when u see they run to u.

Oh, also, I normally sit my gal in walker and feed her in it. It serves me as a high feeding chair too! Mine is 3 in one type. 1st-Rocker, 2nd-Walker, 3rd - my own convenience, feeding chair!

Thanks everyone for your very valuable point of views&inputs. Appreciate it.I have bought push walker not the traditional one but haven't used it since my bb still can't stand well. I intend to buy traditional one but still haven't decided whether to buy or not,that's why do some survey here

i have bought so many bb stuffs and then just put there,and collect dust haha.hb already warned me not to collect dust anymore,thus need to be extra careful now :p

RE: Walker
Chloe been in walk since 4mth liao and at her nanny's place she also in walker liao and me notice tat when she walk ard but no tip toeing too. And now she also also learning to stand up wif support liao.

Cactus,
so mathew onli sleep on floor? Oh chloe use to sleep in bb cot cos is a gift from my bro ($500) so sleep in it lor and safer lor but she also can sleep anywhere also. Chloe use to watch tv too and her fav is Dibo the gift dragon in playhouse disney which my hb purposely subscribe for her. But think is okiez for kids to watch abit of tv if not next time they will be "Suan Ku" and will stick on tv more.

Bb has used baby walker
1. Chloe (christina)
2. Rizty
3. YuJie (Felicia)
4. Jade (shycloud)
7. Ivory (sharon)
8. Lucas (tera)

1.Fen
2.Ellysia
3.Cactus

I am also for using walker. I dun see anything wrong in using it if the hse is childproof such that child in walker cannot pull or touch anything dangerous or if child hits against a cupboard, things might fall on him etc. Anyway, we all grew up on walkers and we are walking perfectly fine what. In fact, my mum told me i was in walker practically whole day cos last time she so bz with housework where got time to carry me?? :p

sharon,
ya me also play hide and seek wif chloe and she will go walking ard the house and look 4 me....... very fun lor. Chloe will also chase after us to carry her and we will not carry her cos will be habit mah so let her chase us ard the house too.... heheheheh

Sharon, it's safety concerns. Roxy posted a link earlier.

Fen/ Other mummies with push walkers: do you think a ride-on vehicle toy with a verticle handle at the back of the toy is safe as a push walker? it's just a vehicle with 4 wheels.. and a vertical thing popping up at the back of that vehicle for bb to hold on to. But I'm thinking the centre of gravity is not there loh.. bb can easily topple over. reason for asking is MIL bought Matthew a ride on toy for xmas, which doubles up as a walker (push type) but I'm inclined to remove the vertical handle and give it to himi only as a ride on toy. I don't want to leave hte handle on incase he uses it to push around. anyone seen anything like this before?

Dear mummies
The survey is for fun,there's not right or wrong.like crystal said (crystal,let me lend your words) "all parents Love their bbs & will not harm them in any way at all."

Re:High chair
Me think high chair can me more danger cos height mah if fall more serious leh. So will not leave chloe alone in it. But walker if better for this.

ChloeMummy, yah.. Matthew only sleep on floor. I mean, on 2 cot-sized mattresses sewed together, placed on the floor. There was once he fell asleep on our bed though.. when he was very very young. about 3 months. cos he was crying at night.. colicky lah.. then I carried him to sleep then dun know why I fell asleep on my own bed, with him next to me. I was so worried about my carelessness, after that incident, I never carry him again in my bed. will carry him back to sleep seated on the floor, then put him back on his mattress on the floor.

Sharon, actually, I think I saw wrongly leh, anyhow say you skipped, paiseh hor.

ohhh, someone said debate mah, so I ask why must have debates... We had touched on this topic a few times already, now its out again, with more surveys and researches! Anyway, case closing soon.

ChloeMummy, highchair got strap leh. won't be dangerous yeah?! these days, highchair at least 3 point harness. some even come with 5 point harness.

cactus,
i have 2 of those playskool ride-on toys which doubles as walkers. sorry, but i dun get wat u mean by removing the handles. to me, toys/walkers are constructed with a certain purpose and removing any parts would only go against its use and make it more dangerous.

chloemummy, sharon,
i esp love it when i reached home and open the door to see lucas in his walker, "walking" towards me and smiling at me! really makes my day!!

ChloeMum, wat I judge? To be a judge has to have a lot of qualifications and certificates, not to mention, the contents on the certificates have to be of flying colours! I dun even have good quality toilet pp, where can be of judge? Aiyeh, you... any how say....

Tera, the toy my MI Lbought erm, no brand one. from chinese shop. the handles will come off easily if I tug. I guess you are right. I better give the ride on toy to Matthew without the handles then. I just don't want my MIL to see the toy without the handles then query us.. :p

Chloe, actually if strap is tightened and well adjusted, I think bb can't slip out if it is a 3point harness. most should be 3 point already. I'm currently using a 5point harness in a 3point method, cos want to give Matthew more leeway to move his arms during feeding time cos he likes to feed himself (very messy though!) You may want to try adjust the straps on your highchair?
like that, safer!

Fennie - Don't talk about fried chicken...when we were at Ikea, my #2 could not take her eyes off the chicken wings...ha!ha!

ND's girl - Psoriasis is the sister of eczema. It really sucks when one has skin problems especially her food list is restricted...haiz!

Ritzy - She is beautiful!!! So happy playing with water!

Talking about walkers, here's an interesting read. For me, I only put my #2 in a walker when I need to prepare food for lunch/dinner or for toilet breaks. Anyway, #2 prefer to be spidergirl..cruising along the walls.

Baby Walker - Friend or Foe?
By Dalene Joubert

Baby walkers, or sometimes also called a walking ring date back as far as 1870. Parents have been using this aid to amuse and keep babies occupied for many years.

Nowadays many parents use this plaything to encourage their baby to walk.

Of course, when parents talk about babies, walkers and encouraging them to walk, one question is bound to be raised sooner or later...

"Does a walker really encourage my baby to walk? And will a walker help my child to walk at an earlier age?"

The answer lies in looking at the pros and cons. And how to use it sensibly.

Normal baby development follows very definite development patterns.

These patterns are commonly known as milestones. And each milestone develops very specific skills babies need for normal functioning.

Many toys and aids are nowadays designed to encourage and stimulate infants to develop these skills. Thereby stimulating development.

On the other hand, walkers were initially used as an aid to give infants the ability to move about in an upright position before they've developed the skills to do so on their own.

Walkers were not designed to stimulate and encourage normal walking.

What it means is this:

Before any baby can walk, she must master proper balance and bearing weight on her legs and feet.

But when small babies spend most of their early weeks in a walking ring, they almost always learn to walk on their toes.

This walking style is abnormal and often shortens the Achilles tendon which eventually messes up your child's balance when she really starts to walk independently.

What's more, the actual standing position in a walker doesn't improve an infant's balance. And teaching the knees to take weight is often disturbed and often does not develop naturally.

Practical observations show that many babies who spend most of their days in a walker struggle to or never crawl.

This is especially true if a baby is put in a walker at a very early age. Or spends too much time in a walking ring.

Crawling on the other hand teaches important motor and perceptual skills such as distance, depth... concepts such as in, out, on and under.

Chances are therefore good that a baby who spends too little time crawling won't properly master or take longer to master these skills.

One more important point:

Injuries to your baby's head caused by the walker falling over is probably the single biggest reason to use a baby walker sensibly and under supervision.

Bottom line is... spending too much time in a walker rarely encourages your baby to walk sooner.

So, is using a walker forbidden?

No, definitely not.

As long as you use it sensibly and for short periods to keep your child entertained while you're occupied elsewhere, it can be a good friend.

fen,
one of it was a gift and the other is a second-hand from colleague.
since bb will be shuttling between ILs place and my place, so just nice to have 2. actually, my hubby let my boy try it the other day but he's not ready yet. :p

Bb has used baby walker
1. Chloe (christina)
2. Rizty
3. YuJie (Felicia)
4. Jade (shycloud)
7. Ivory (sharon)
8. Lucas (tera)
9. Charlotte (feifei)

1.Fen
2.Ellysia
3.Cactus

Bb has used baby walker
1. Chloe (christina)
2. Rizty
3. YuJie (Felicia)
4. Jade (shycloud)
7. Ivory (sharon)
8. Lucas (tera)
9. Charlotte (feifei)
10. Gianna (JP) {short periods coz need to be a cook or need to go to the loo...ha!ha!)

1.Fen
2.Ellysia
3.Cactus

8 month old development from BBCentre

Sitting, crawling, and standing

Now that he's eight months old, your baby is probably sitting well without support and may be crawling or moving about by bottom shuffling (scooting around on his posterior using a hand behind him and a foot in front of him to propel himself). He's probably starting to pull himself up to a standing position while holding onto furniture. In fact, if you stand your baby next to the sofa, he'll probably be able to hold himself up, hanging on for dear life and using the furniture for support.

This newfound mobility means that your baby is now entering the land of bumps and falls. These are an inevitable part of childhood, and although your heart may occasionally skip a beat or two, try to enjoy watching your baby explore his surroundings and discover his limits. Restraining your innate desire to protect your child allows him to grow and learn for himself. However, do make every effort to make your home safe for your child. For example, you should secure fragile objects (so they won't topple) and keep rickety furniture in rooms that don't get much baby traffic.
Using his hands

Advertisement

Your baby may start looking for dropped objects and use his index finger to point at them. He's also good at using his fingers to scoop up a piece of food and hold it with his fist closed, and he's learned to open his hand and fingers at will to drop and throw objects. He's probably beginning to master the pincer grasp, the delicate manoeuvre that lets him pick up small objects with his thumb and first and second fingers.
Getting more emotional

By now your baby's emotions are becoming more obvious. He may perform tricks, such as throwing a kiss to familiar people, and may repeat his act if applauded. Over the next few months, your child may learn to assess and imitate moods and might show the first stirrings of empathy. For instance, if he sees someone crying, he may start crying, too.
Dealing with separation

At this age, most babies have typically already begun to show the signs of separation anxiety. Your baby may start to be shy or anxious around strangers, especially when tired or irritable, and when you're out of sight and not with him, he'll become upset. Although it's hard to see your baby distressed, it's important to let him experience this. When you leave your baby and return, proving that you always come back, you're helping him develop trust and the ability to form attachments to other people.

When you leave your baby, kiss and hug him and tell him you'll be back. If he's frightened or just falls apart, take the extra time to calm and reassure him. It's hard not to cry when he starts crying, but your breaking down only prolongs the agony. It may help to have someone else he's familiar with (not a new baby sitter) there to calm him. If your baby gets anxious about nighttime separations, spend some extra cuddle time reading, snuggling, and softly singing together with him before you put him to bed.

Some babies are good at separations and some aren't - it depends on their temperament. Every child is different, as is the amount of reassurance each needs. If you know your baby needs more calming, don't feel bad about giving it or worry that you're just drawing out the process. You know your child better than anyone else, so follow your instincts.
Exploring objects

Most babies now explore objects by shaking them, banging them, dropping them, and throwing them before falling back on the tried-and-true method of gumming them. The idea that you do something to an object is beginning to emerge, so an activity centre with lots of things your baby can bang, poke, twist, squeeze, shake, drop, and open will fascinate him.

At this stage, babies like to see things fall down, get picked up (by you, of course), and then get thrown down again. Your baby isn't trying to goad you with this cycle; he just finds the spectacle interesting and naturally wants to see it again and again.

Your baby now understands how objects relate to one another, too. For example, he realises that smaller things fit inside bigger ones. He'll easily find something you hide, and he'll point or look at the correct picture when an object is named. And over the next few months, he'll start to use objects for their intended functions - brushing his hair, drinking from a cup, and babbling on his play phone.
Improving vision

Your baby's vision is now almost adultlike in its clarity and depth perception. Though his short-range sight is still better than his long-range sight, his vision is good enough to recognise people and objects across a room.
Is my baby developing normally?

Remember, each baby is unique and meets physical milestones at his or her own pace. These skills are simply a guide to what your baby has the potential to accomplish - if not right now, then shortly.

If your baby was born prematurely, you'll probably find that it will be a little while before she can do the same things as other children his age. Don't worry. Most doctors assess a premature child's development from the time he should have been born and evaluate his skills accordingly.

<font color="0000ff">At this stage, babies like to see things fall down, get picked up (by you, of course), and then get thrown down again. Your baby isn't trying to goad you with this cycle; he just finds the spectacle interesting and naturally wants to see it again and again.</font>

Very true!!
Thanks for sharing, JP.

Fen,
My ger has been in the walker sine 7mths, can feel that she is bery happy inside cos she can walk ard or even run, sometimes bery scarli leh...Now she can standby by herself but not bery steady lah cso tink her bum too big, hehe..She will hold on to the playpen and stadn by herself..When I on Barney for her to watch, she will jump up and down lor..

Chloe,
U are rite lor, i ever see my ger, use her hand to push herself up lor, so now i hv to strap her across her legs and over her shoulders now..

Tera,
Agreed lor, cos when i see my ger running towards me when i am home, i feel so happy, then i will blend down then she open her arms wide wide, so sweet lor..

Mummies who partake in the kindermusik class last Sunday:
My colleague who joined us told me that her nephew just diagnosed with HFMD and her son (who joined us at the class) had very biref contact with that nephew on Sat. No direct contact but they were in the same house.
Pls do watch out hor. I am worried that our babies might have contracted the virus, although the risk is low.
My colleague didnt noe that her nephew has got HFMD bcos there was no symptoms then. The symptoms only surfaced these few days.
She apologises to all the mummies who brought their babies to the class.
Her baby is fine, no fever or symptom now.

Tera, I also have two! One with nanny, another one at home (you saw one lor). I bullied my bro to buy for my #1 that time, coz I needed to buy one at home and one at my mum's house at that time.

Fen, wat is funny? the judge thingy I posted huh? Hee, I anyhow write one, coz english commands not so good mah.

Bb has used baby walker
1. Chloe (christina)
2. Rizty
3. YuJie (Felicia)
4. Jade (shycloud)
5. Vivi (Veniz) &amp; #1 used before
6. Jared (fennie77) &amp; #1 used before(started to walk at 11 months)
7. Ivory (sharon)
8. Lucas (tera)
9. Charlotte (feifei)
10. Gianna (JP) {short periods coz need to be a cook or need to go to the loo...ha!ha!)
11. Lil ZuEn (ZuEn)

1.Fen
2.Ellysia
3.Cactus

Walker to me is God's gift wor. When I am alone,it is much safer to put her in a walker (in my sight) than to leave her on the floor, especially when she's mobile now.

Hey hey, topic on walker now ar. I'm letting J sitting in walker since 5mos and he's happily zooming around these days. The main purpose of me letting him sit in walker is to train his legs' muscles. but moderately lah. I won't let him sit in it too long.

BUT these days, he's starting to be able to get out of the walker aka fall out of the walker if we don't stop him. So supervision is needed.

Bb has used baby walker
1. Chloe (christina)
2. Rizty
3. YuJie (Felicia)
4. Jade (shycloud)
7. Ivory (sharon)
8. Lucas (tera)
9. Charlotte (feifei)
11. Lil ZuEn (ZuEn)
12. Jayden (MLP)

1.Fen
2.Ellysia
3.Cactus

Bb has used baby walker
1. Chloe (christina)
2. Rizty
3. YuJie (Felicia)
4. Jade (shycloud)
7. Ivory (sharon)
8. Lucas (tera)
9. Charlotte (feifei)
11. Lil ZuEn (ZuEn)
12. Jayden (MLP)
13. Gwendolyn (crystal)

1.Fen
2.Ellysia
3.Cactus

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">Bb has used baby walker
1. Chloe (christina)
2. Rizty
3. YuJie (Felicia)
4. Jade (shycloud)
7. Ivory (sharon)
8. Lucas (tera)
9. Charlotte (feifei)
11. Lil ZuEn (ZuEn)
12. Jayden (MLP)
13. Gwendolyn (crystal)
14. Qyan

1.Fen
2.Ellysia
3.Cactus

yes yes.. everything must use moderately..
not dumping bb in walker and dun keep and eye as tt's dangerous.. esp now everything they will put into their mouth and they oso like to pull.. take and drop things..

normally we oni use when we take dinner but still keeping a close look on what he does.. btw he got sharp buttock, cant sit long one.. hee...</font></font>

<font color="blue">Bb has used baby walker
1. Chloe (christina)
2. Rizty
3. YuJie (Felicia)
4. Jade (shycloud)
7. Ivory (sharon)
8. Lucas (tera)
9. Charlotte (feifei)
11. Lil ZuEn (ZuEn)
12. Qyan
13. Zhi yu (bizz)

1.Fen
2.Ellysia
3.Cactus

to me i think walker is useful cos i dun like my baby to be carried around all the time in the house..imagine u are already so tired from work n still need to carry him around..i rather let him sit in the walker or on the floor n play..n it's extremely useful if u are alone @ home cos like wat JP say..u need to take time to go loo and cook.. i also hv the push walker from FP can be used as ride-ons and push..he luvs it..cos he can sit on it n be pushed around by us.. </font>

Just to add on, babies are smart. When they are tired, they will just sit in the walker and rest.

Everything as long as in moderation, it is OK.
Don be too stress over it.

Cheers! I'm looking fwd to weekends man!!!!

yupyup, I agree everything is best in moderation.

I just came back from lunch. Had beef noodles! Yummy! I bought Don chicken pie on the way back. Cos colleague said it was yummy and bought 1 pie. I've not tried it before though. Anyone tried it before? any comments?

hee! okay, let me search the archive! me sua ku. never hear of Don chicken pie before until my colleague insisted she had to buy it home.

Anyone knows if I can just use microwave to heat up? I think very troublesome to heat up for 20minutes on 120c convection setting cos need to preheat leh.

feifei,
The small size lady with an almost botak boy. Of no, my colleague is gg to scold me for calling her boy botak. Haha.

Eh Ellysia, you mentioned earlier your MIL is giving your boy cang yu? You may want to check if cang yu is high in mercury. if so, you may want to limit YuZhe's intake of the fish. From what I understand, all fish have mercury in them. mercury is detrimental to brain development. Some fish have more mercury than others (King mackeral, for instance). so while fish is good cos high in protein low in fat, high in DHA, we should try to take more fish with low mercury levels and avoid fish with high mercury levels. Last time when i was preggie, I avoided tuna (although only certain types have high mercury), and pomfret (think it could be because of mercury... i cannot be absolutely sure). I ate alot of cod and salmon though. It's good that your boy loves cod!

when did mummies with bbs with sensitive skin/ezcema start giving their bbs meat and fish? I'm thinking of starting Matthew with fish when he reaches 9 months.. wondering if that's a safe enough time to introduce stuff other than veg and fruit?