(2008/06) June 2008

tera, feifei, roxy...
thanks... yeah jus now bgt herbal tea on the way home... i think i'm going to take a nap soon... v tired...

veniz...
if i date u out to IMM for lunch one day, u on or not? keke... but maybe in early mar... cos now work is keeping me on my toes...

Tera, too bad last time I can't find or have no fate with RP's jobs lor, otherwise now i will be more centralised. I will let you all know when I can meet up at around RP and we will arrange again ya?

Soyabean, for IMM, can, no prob one. You let me know the actual date I can arrange to go out meet you, hee. drink more liang, me also like heaty lor, pimples all out already. Last week been drinking lots, but no use leh.

thanks tera... he looks like big boy now... our babies are growing up so fast! every month looks different le...

hi feifei
thanks! I wanted to go studioloft initially but it was beyond my budget, so we went to MJK. (inside business thread) She was quite nice, took abt 300 - 400 shots for us and we can choose 100 shots in high res but no printouts. Package is $88 for maximum 5 adults. We took a few family shots too

hi ellysia
we brought along many outfits but in the end only change 3 :p Props will be provided by the photographer, unless there's a special theme/toy you want to take... try to wear co-ordinated clothings for family shots

sweet dreams soya... go ZZZZ and rest ah...

cactus,
cool! ok, fri then!

crystal, ellysia, veniz (on behalf of morr)
fri lunchie ok?

soya,
have a good rest!

Thanks for accomodating me, Tera.

So who is going? Ellysia too right? Tera, I'll pm you my hp number k. Ellysia has it already!

Oh! Where are we eating ah? and I'm sorry for being troublesome, but I need to be back in office by 145pm to express.. I eat very fast though! I will keep my fingers crossed that I can leave office early for lunch on Friday. I usually leave about 1245pm. official time is 1 to 2pm.

cactus,
yes, pls PM me ur hp#.

haha, that is a good qn! any suggestions on eating places? me dun work there leh, so cannot really suggest. how abt coffee club or is it tcc at ORQ? i guess we will fix lunch from 12.30 to 1.30pm then. shld be able to accomodate most ppl.

lunch @ RP,
feel free to suggest eating places!

veniz,

Tera, I'm okay with the lunch timing of 1230 to 130pm, but if it's more convenient for the rest, 1pm to 2pm is okay also. I eat really quickly so it's fine! erm, what about yoshinoya, subway (both at Cheveron House) or soup spoon?

<font color="0000ff">hi i am on leave on friday. can't meet up with u all at RP leh. can meet on next week?</font>

roxy,

$88 is a good price. my package with foto-u is $120 i tink.. no promo cos they only have v-day promo this mth but i missed it.

Ellysia, I thought I noticed Yoshinoya advertisement at Chervorn House basement? I was walking from MRT station to Yami Yoghurt when I saw it. can't recall exactly where I saw it.

Re: Lunch date, I'm okay for lunch next week from Tuesday to Friday.

FCD 019.33 CIRCULAR
13 Feb 2009
To All Importers / Declaring Agents
All declaring agents are requested to inform your importers of the contents of this circular.
Dear Sirs
IMPORT OF INFANT FORMULAE CONTAINING LUTEIN
It has come to our attention that the Wyeth Progress Gold, Promise and Promise Gold Infant
Formulae containing lutein have been imported into Singapore.
2 We wish to inform you that the import and sale of infant and follow-up formulae containing lutein
is currently not allowed, as lutein has not been approved as a food additive in infant formulae and followup
formulae.
3 If you have imported the affected products, please recall the products with immediate effect for
destruction or for re-export back to the country where the product was imported from, failing which
enforcement action will be taken against your company.
4 If you wish to return the implicated product to the country where the product was imported from,
you are required to submit the approved Singapore outward declaration and bill of lading to this office for
verification within three working days of export. If you intend to dispose the implicated product locally, you
are required to make the necessary arrangements to dispose the implicated products at a National
Environment Agency (NEA) incineration plant. You are required to submit the quantity and value of the
disposed products, and the official disposal certificate issued by NEA for verification within three working
days of disposal.
5 For any clarification, please contact our TradeNet officers at Tel: 6325 0783 and 6221 5056, or
Ms Jessye Ong at Tel: 63251221.
Yours faithfully
TAN TUANG HONG
FOOD CONTROL DIVISION
FOOD &amp; VETERINARY ADMINISTRATION
for CEO
AGRI-FOOD &amp; VETERINARY AUTHORITY
5 Maxwell Road #18-00 Tower Block MND Complex Singapore 069110
Tel: (65) 6325 0783 Fax: (65) 6221 5091

thanks for the info, bleh...

I'm quite worried about baby food/milk out there in the market..
so far I'm only giving Matthew commercial teething rusks, the rest are home made/breast milk.. but there will come a time when I will have to give him more commercially produced food/milk...worry...

warrrior, this is her business thread
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/450761/2029748.html?1234879324

$88 is for 100 touched up high res digital images, no printouts at all... she will take abt 200 - 400 pictures depending on whether your baby co-operative or not and will email you the shots in low res and you choose 100 from there... for us we had our parents and sisters join us for entire ps so we paid $88 + $16 (fopr 2 additional adults) = $104...But her room is pretty small though...

thanks for update bleh...

ellysia, $120 also good price... but how many shots are there? am considering foto-u or gg back to MJK.. we thinking of taking another one with in laws... got to be fair, both sides also want family photos with isaiah, they more keen on him than us now...our value drop le :p

Btw, anyone looking for those retro rattan/bamboo babychairs? we just bought 1....

<font color="aa00aa">Ladies, super busy today! Finally able to come in and read.

cactus, yup is really worrying with all this milk recalled issue.
Maybe can consider plant own fruits and vege??!

<font color="aa00aa">shinely, 'fei zai shui' is gripe water. I'm giving my ger everyday. No problem to give even no wind.
Tell you a joke about this gripe water. My MIL all this while tot tat 'fei zai shui' is for baby to grow fat. hehe....</font>

shinely, it's gripe water.
it's spuposed to help remove wind from stomach. I used it when Matthew was colicky last time. I think better not anyhow give, cos it is actually very sweet. may promote tooth decay or preference for sweet things.

Felicia, ai yoh! Singapore where got land to plant own fruits and veg??

Your MIL so funny!! I was told it's called fei zai shui cos of the bb picture on the box!

<font color="aa00aa">cactus, HDB of course cannot lah, but landed can mah.

You give Matthew drink the gripe water w/o mixing with milk or water? For me, i mixed with my BM . Anyhow just one small teaspoon nia, so it wont be so sweet lor.</font>

Felicia, landed must have enough land and depth of the soil to plant.

I only gave Matthew gripe water during his 2nd to 4th month. when he was having colic. I just gave it alone, cos didn't want him to regurge the "water" if he cried (he cried very very often and would always regurge milk whenever he cried)... I remember last time, I would give 5ml, max 4 times a day.. think that was the recommended dose for his age...

<font color="aa00aa">cactus, nowadays got hydroponic vegetables mah. Wont take up too much space, i think.

ok ladies, goin back soon. </font>

Morning ladies...

Talking abt Gripewater, I alway give my ger drink, mix with water after bath..After drinking she will go sleep... =).

feifei, that's what my grandma did with all her children! She said it's for preventive effect. but for me, I only gave when Matthew was colicky... cos I'm a bit suspicious about the ingredients..Matthew was so small, 5ml per 6 hours is alot for him. didn't want him to drink something I knew little about. it's not like apple juice or anything... that is just me lah. I worry about everything!

Shinely, I think if you are just giving gripe water to increase appetite, maybe it's not a good idea, unless the PD says your bb is not eating/drinking enough?

cactus,
understand lor =)..

bleh,
hows ur boy?

lengleng,
hi ya..

All,
My ger head abit peeling wor, duno is it craddle cap...anything I can do to solve it?Heard that i can apply J&amp;J oil and use a comb to comb it off ..

feifei, sounds like craddle cap. Maybe you can google craddle cap - search images.. see if it looks like anything your girl has? for craddle cap, what I did was to apply oil and massage it off. Matthew had craddle cap when he was born.

feifei, abt the gripe water thing, the older folks believe that wind enters the tummy through the belly button (that's why they always emphasize must cover the tummy!). So my grandma would give grip water after bathe, cos that's when the bb's tummy is exposed to air and presumably wind enters the bb's body. that's the story, I think, behind the common practice of giving gripe water after bathe.

good morning,

are u all still grinding rice to cook porridge for your babies? I'm wondering when i can stop :p getting lazy

cactus,
tks for the infor =)...
Ya lor, but so far, i feel my ger is ok with gripewater =).

kye,
i din grind rice to cook porridge, i use xinmi to cook =).

kye, yes, I'm still grinding rice. I'm using brown rice and my bb is 7 motnhs 3 weeks now. white rice cooks more easily into porridge. it's very very hard to cook brown rice into porridge loh. it ends up very starchy and thick. But because I cook my porridge in microwave oven, I do incorporate some lumps into the porridge. I also make it very very thick (like a paste) now. I plan to continue grinding brown rice into powder form, but maybe when Matthew is 10 months, I will cook normal white rice porridge, but add in brown rice powder so that he will have the nutrition of brown rice too. I don't think it's possible to cook brown rice nicely. Even when my family (the adults) eat porridge, we use white rice. not brown rice. unless we use Matthew's grinded brown rice lah.

feifei, yah, I understand that there are parents who also apply ruyi oil after every bathe incase have wind. it's preventive lah.

what's xinmi? is it a commercial type of rice powder?