(2008/06) June 2008

i think we are all humans... so dun blame ourselves when such accidents happen...

last week, i oso "poke" my girl's eyes... when i was trying to catch her from flopping over on the sofa. in the end thankfully i didnt poke at her eye directly and scratch her on the area below the eye... she oso cried like mad...

I tink my tummy is not likely to reduce any further liao. Now look like 3mths preggy size. Haiz.

anyone know wat type of tummy crunches exercise is best for slimming down the tummy?

soyabean, I poked my finger onto Matthew's eyeball on Saturday... accidental. He kept moving his head and I was trying to remove a food particle from his eyelid... heart pain but what to do?

Ellysia, I think our stomachs will be slightly flabby still because of all the excess skin from pregnancy..

JTS: i find that when my Floyce hit her head or fall down.. if we pretend to act normal/don't care, she'll find her ways to get up or to self-soothe.. If we scream or quickly pick her up and sayang her, she'll cry out loud and non-stop (yang-o)..

So after a few times of verification, it's true.. so now, we'll normally pretend nothing had happen esp. when she didn't grab on properly and fall down on her backside while standing..

<font color="aa00aa">Ellysia, do sit up?
Me too have a flabby tummy, but dont dare to do any sit up yet as i was c-sec. Thou oredy 7.5mths liao, but occasionally will have minor pain near the wound, so me a 'kiasi' person dont dare to do any thing yet.</font>

The class is confirmed! Who else is interested? Coz I'll be registering liao. I will post the details later or prob tonite....
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Kindermusik Trial Class
@ Tanglin Mall
Date: 22 Feb 09 (Sunday)
Time: 10am (45 min session)
Amt: $25.47

(Pls indicate your name and baby's name so I can register)
1) Iamsnow (Dawn &amp; Qianying)
2) roxyz (Daphne &amp; Isaiah)
3) ZuEn (ZuEn &amp; Lil ZuEn)
4) feifei (Nicole &amp; Charlotte)
5) Yanling(Yanling &amp; Darren)-(May thread)
6) Iamsnow's friend (YF &amp; Yixun)
7) Shern (Shern &amp; Lucius)
8) Chobits (Evelyn &amp; Xavier)- May Thread
9) Tulip

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
http://www.kindermusik.com.sg/

Kindermusik's unique curricula cover the development of the newborn to 7 years old. The different programs represent the highest quality in educational, musical and creative content all based on the latest early childhood development research. Each program introduces your child to the adventure of music then moves at her pace, pausing to engage her interests, nurture her gifts and celebrates her discoveries.

Kindermusik involves you in each step of your child's musical learning and gives you and her the time and tools to bring the power of music into your home and into her life.

Ellysia, for animal issue, i'll try my best to keep my floor and toys clean.. but as I've mentioned, I've got 2 dogs at home and all of us are staying in the same room, it's very difficult not to have stains or fur flying around..

These days, I realized that my boy dog loves to lick Floyce.. and he'll lick non-stop.. haha.. whole face.. and my girl appear to be very "shocked".. but still, I allowed it to be part of the bonding.. of course, I wipe-cleaned Floyce's face after the "kissing"..

My girl knows how to pick up pacificer and put it into her mouth herself.. so now, when the pacificer drops on the floor. Before even, I have the chance of picking it up and wash it, it's already in her mouth.. so.. I got to close both eyes..

Ellysia,
true lor cos my ger quite mobile but slow in speech =)...But its okie lor, they will do it when they are ready =).

Roxy,
Dun cry ya..he willbe ok de..just monitor hor =).

Felicia, I thought I was the only one who have minor pain around my tummy. Me also c-section. I thought it wasn't normal to have pain until now! Phew!

Re: Accidents
Don't blame yourselves Mummies coz accidents are bound to happen. As my Grandaunt always say, kids are kids. Even if we put them in a glass case for protection, something will still happen coz he may try to break the glass to see what's on the other side (curious and bundle of energy). Of course we still try our very best to protect our kids and childproof everything possible.

of late, Matthew has been screaming and crying each time we try to feed him milk or semi-solids. It happened on Saturday, for dinner. then every meal ever since. Dont nkow what's wrong. he is not ill, nor was he overly tired during meal times...
But he is teething loh.. top 2 front teeth just starting to break through the gums, and the 2 other top teeth have not completely broken through yet.. maybe it's teething pains.

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">blue blue morning over liao.. it's now afternoon.. heee..

ellysia, glad everything is "feng ping lang jin" ;p

accidents.. ha ha.. i oso accidenatally scratch my boi face ;( </font></font>

cactus - Teething can be quite painful to babies. So, drinking milk (sucking) or eating (moving the mouth) can be quite painful. Hang in there...it will be over soon once the teeth pops-out.

snob snob ... my baby fell from her bed of the height 90cm. So height, i feel so heart pain when she just fell beside me.
I put her on her bed and turn my head to get the pillow, whoes know she able to stand and climb over, the bed handle. (i did not pull up the max height). and i heard a lound bang and saw baby on the floor. snob snob.
Now monitoring her, as i call up kk hospital, she say monitor see did she have any vomit or and unusual behaviour... hai...

Taken from babyctr website:

Whenever your baby takes a serious tumble — from a couch, bed, highchair, crib, or countertop, for example — you'll need to do a thorough check for injuries, especially if he falls on his head or back.

You'll want to make sure that your baby doesn't have any serious wounds, that he hasn't broken any bones, and that he hasn't suffered a concussion or other internal damage. Falls can be serious, but because your baby's bones are soft, they don't fracture as easily as those of an older child.

If your baby looks okay to you and seems to be acting normally, chances are the fall didn't cause serious injury. Be thankful, but keep an eye on him. Continue to carefully observe your baby for the next 24 hours, especially if he bumped or fell on his head.

And err on the side of caution: If you're uncomfortable with the severity of your baby's fall — you think he had to have gotten hurt — or if your baby is acting irritable or confused, take him to the doctor to get checked out.

Call 911 if your baby experiences any of the following after a fall:

• A loss of consciousness. If your baby isn't breathing, have someone call 911 while you administer infant cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) until help arrives. If you're alone, give your baby CPR for two minutes, then call 911 yourself.

• Bleeding that you're unable to stop with pressure.

• If your baby is breathing but not responsive — he's unconscious after the fall or you're unable to wake him up after he goes to sleep, for example.

Take your baby to the emergency room or talk to his doctor immediately if you notice any of the following:

• Signs of a broken bone, including an obvious deformity, like a wrist that is bent awkwardly, or an arm or a leg that seems out of alignment.

• Signs of a possible skull fracture: A large, soft area on the scalp, especially on the side of the head (above or behind the ear); blood showing in the whites of his eyes; or pinkish fluid or blood draining from his nose or ears.

• Signs of a concussion, such as unusual eye movements or pupils that are unequal in size; persistent vomiting; or excessive sleepiness. Depending on your baby's age, look for a change in how he crawls or walks; weakness or confusion; or problems with speech, vision, or motor skills.

• Prolonged crying or screaming, which could indicate a possible internal injury.

When babies start to walk, they seem to take more stumbles than steps. Minor bumps and bruises are an unavoidable part of developing motor skills and independence. As long as your baby is under constant adult supervision and his play area is free of ungated stairs, sharp edges, and other hazards, most falls will not cause serious injury.

When your baby does take a tumble, try not to overreact. Rushing to your baby's side every time he stumbles will wear you out and make him overly cautious. If he's upset, calmly comfort him and encourage him to get back on his feet.

Still, falls are the number-one cause of accidental injury in children, and one in three of these accidents is preventable. So do what you can to keep your baby safe, including:

• Cushion sharp corners on furniture. Because they're low, coffee tables are common culprits in childhood bumps and bruises. You may want to pad the corners of your coffee table, or you may find it worthwhile to pack the table away until your child is a more confident walker.

• Put skidproof pads under all rugs. Or remove throw rugs until your baby is more sure-footed. And use a nonslip mat to keep your baby from sliding once you're bathing him in the big tub.

• Keep your baby away from elevated porches and decks, and place gates at the top and bottom of each staircase. (Choose a mesh gate rather than the accordion style, which can trap and pinch little fingers.)

• Be extra vigilant about holding your baby on the changing table. Some tables have straps that can help you keep your grip on a real wiggler, but they may not be enough to prevent a fall, so don't ever leave your baby on the table unattended.

• Keep the stairs in your home free of objects that you might trip over when you're carrying your baby.

• Lower your baby's mattress as soon as he starts standing up in his crib.

• When you're at the grocery store, buckle your baby into the shopping cart. And don't walk away from the cart, even for an instant. Also strap your baby into his stroller and his highchair.

• Keep a sharp eye on your baby at all times if he's started climbing on the furniture. You'll want to act quickly to keep him from falling.

• Use window guards on windows. Don't rely on screens, which aren't designed to keep a child from falling out.

cactus - You are doing a wonderful job!
Hang in there..it will be over soon and M will be back to his cheerful self. Teething is no fun!

<font color="ff0000">Hello Ladies

Teething
My gal cranky during the nite.
Saliva splash splash everwhere
Her cot already adjusted to the lowest level....
coz she can stand liao

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">cactus.. my boi oso like that few weeks back when his top two teeth abt to come out.. he refuse milk and even his favourite H2O.. feel his gum swollen... guess it take some time for the pain to get away.. do be patient as when we sick or feel pain oso got not much appetite.. he is now back to normal after the teeth come out.. ;p

shinely.. mine fall twice from my bed liao... the first time we rush to KK hospital though he cried for a while then stop and can play.. but we still worried.. go there the nurse take his temp.. measure his heart beat then waited 1-2 hr to see doc.. and she looks into ears.. chk his arm and legs..body..etc realised nothing serious and ask us to go home and monitor for the next 72 hours.., the 2nd time he fell on the mat.. we jux monitor whether:
he got feel drowsy
any fractures and bruises, blue black..etc..
any vomiting..etc..

if everything ok then sld be fine..</font></font>

JP, I feel like giving up sometimes... feel quite upset today. almost teary. I am the type to feel really guilty when Matthew is not with me when he is awake, but when he is awake, he is so full of energy, I just can't keep up and I can't cope with his tantrums either. But a part of me tells me there is a reason for his tantrums and I should remain loving because he is probably go through a tough time like teething. I find that I lose my cool too easily.. cos I just want to get things done.. (ie. feed him his breakfast, so that I can go to work...) but I don't stop and think that for a baby, there are no time lines.... I just feel sooo terribly guilty and upset today...

thanks for the advice, ioio. I just feel upset with me cos I treated Matthew impatiently this morning. don't feel like a good mother anymore... I'm just not patient. I'm very short fused too.. I was planning for #2 but decide not to already. I can't cope with Matthew, much less another baby. I have alot to learn from other mummies on this thread, especially the dedicated SAHMs... it's really a very tough job.

cactus - Every Mother will feel this way when we are helpless and don't know what else to do to ease our kid from pain, etc. That's why they call it "Mother's Love". You are doing a great job liao. M knows that you are doing your upmost best for him. Even though they cannot talk, they can still feel the love,man. Hang in there and know that you are M's greatest love.

JP, I don't know if I'm actually even trying my best. I definately need alot more patience and empathy and I need to put aside my wants .. my desire to rest when I'm tired, the impulse to get ready for work when it's 8am and Matthew is still refusing to feed. Like, Ellysia.. when she was on leave, she spent her time making her home baby safe and made purees for YuZhe. I'm sure she was very very tired and she could have done fun things when she was on leave, but she still did stuff for Yu Zhe. I wish I can find the patience to be good to Matthew, and I wish I can find the energy to catch up with Matthew. If I don't have the patience to comfort him and deal with his crankiness, I can't expect anyone else to be able to do it..

thanks feifei, cactus, felicia, chloemummy for the consolation... im asking my mum to monitor him these few days see got anything wrong like vomitting etc.. so far so good, he's still very active so should be ok...

hi soyabean
luckily only the skin and not the eye, phew!!

hi cactus
Same here, another reason why i cried ydae was also cause i felt i wasnt a good enough mother.. sometimes when he cries, i just ignore him cause im so tired and also cause i dun want him to learn that whenever he cry, he will get the tings he want or people will carry him...

btw mummies, something to highlight, my sister friend also told me this, my PD reiterated that babies should not be exposed to TV because of radiation... they should only watch tv from 2 yras onwards, if really must watch, maximum is 30min per day...

Roxy, you just expressed in words what I said. Matthew knows who can be bullied and who can't. He often tries to get out of drinking milk by making sounds and refusing the teat. but if I persist in coaxing him, he will drink up to an extra 140ml (when his initial milk intake is less than 40ml). So I didn't realise that he refused milk today cos he was very very tired! I thought he was just being naughty... I feel so guilty now.. really. I mean, I'm his mother. I should know him better than anyone else right?

Re: tv watching.

I read in babycentre recently, 2 years onwards then watch tv and even then, limit to 1 to 2 hours max. erm, it's because the tv stimulates a part oft he brain for bbs to expect things to happen, and bb can't have adequate opportunity to develop their brains meaningfully in other ways. even if bbs should watch tv after 2 years old, don't let him watch fast paced programmes. things which show language is best.

A librarian shared with me that her nephew likes to bully other pple (prone to violence) and the only tv he watches is tom and jerry. go figure...

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">i think most of us feel the same way.. i oso feel guility by trying to put my boy sleep more so that i can do housework, my things and his things.. sometimes he will look at us very angrily when we try to put him to sleep.. and his expression is so cute and funny with that annoyed look.. ha ha..
</font></font>

<font color="aa00aa">Ladies,
any ideas what's ur baby height now?
Just weeks ago, i brought my girl to a PD and he measured my girl to be 70cm, and i think how come she can increase so much just by one mth.
Then yesterday i try to measured on my own (as i have a height chart paste on my cupboard) and realised YuJie only 66cm nia.
Then today i go and plot on the chart and to my big big surprised, she's in 9% percentile. Oh...my gosh! Wondering if this is normal or not leh.</font>

Felicia, Matthew was 71cm at 6 months. Not sure how tall he is now, but he doesn't seem to have grown much longer since. He had a growth spurt just before his height was taken at 6 months. Before that, he was 68 to 69cm only. He had been 68 to 69 for a very LONG time!

Height measurement for bbs is really dependent on the person taking the height. Your PD would need to stretch your girl to take her height. It is easy to record the height shorter than what the actual height really is. It's less common to measure a taller height.

Hi ladies..

Tink some ladies ask me wat type of cheese I am giving my ger, this is the one..I bot frm Cold Storage, it comes in a net with 5pics..

2164085.jpg

yup!! I think this was the first cheese that I ate as a kid. kindergarten. after that, i ate laughing cow cubes. then in primary school, I ate kraft sticks. hehe!

last time, my parents bought from Plaza Singapura Yaohan. I don't know if NTUC sold them, or if last time have NTUC. but I recall specially going to Yaohan to buy this cheese.

Does anyone know if teething causes our bbs to be more tired? Matthew seems to be tired rather easily these days...

also, when will the crankiness stop? for Matthew's first 2 teeth, once they broke through the gums, he was okay already.. but this time round, h e has 4 teeth growing at the same time.. the top row, so I'm not sure when the pain will end for him? Is it when the last tooth finally breaks through the gums?

<font color="aa00aa">cactus, oh really? Less common in measuring taller height for babies har!? Then i must be a silly mummy doing it. haha....
I saw her look so eargerly to measure on the chart when i'm measuring my #1, so i oso let her try lor. But a diff of 4cm is quite a huge gap. Anyhow, maybe tonite i stretch her and see if can get 70cm or not. hehe...</font>

yes, it's easier to measure a bb shorter cos the person measuring may not dare to stretch the bb. that's why measuring the height is very operator dependent. should try to have the same person measure each time. I mean, if you want accurate readings lah.
Try to read over/across the "cm" mark, or you may have parallex error too.

feifei,
My colleague's name is missing. I put her in the last time...
We have 10 pax now.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Kindermusik Trial Class
@ Tanglin Mall
Date: 22 Feb 09 (Sunday)
Time: 10am (45 min session)
Amt: $25.47

(Pls indicate your name and baby's name so I can register)
1) Iamsnow (Dawn &amp; Qianying)
2) roxyz (Daphne &amp; Isaiah)
3) ZuEn (ZuEn &amp; Lil ZuEn)
4) feifei (Nicole &amp; Charlotte)
5) Yanling(Yanling &amp; Darren)-(May thread)
6) Iamsnow's friend (YF &amp; Yixun)
7) Shern (Shern &amp; Lucius)
8) Chobits (Evelyn &amp; Xavier)- May Thread
9) Tulip
10) Ian (Huipeng + hb) - ZuEn's colleague

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
http://www.kindermusik.com.sg/

Kindermusik's unique curricula cover the development of the newborn to 7 years old. The different programs represent the highest quality in educational, musical and creative content all based on the latest early childhood development research. Each program introduces your child to the adventure of music then moves at her pace, pausing to engage her interests, nurture her gifts and celebrates her discoveries.

Kindermusik involves you in each step of your child's musical learning and gives you and her the time and tools to bring the power of music into your home and into her life.

Felicia,

me natural delivery but to-date, my epi wound will occasionally feel tighten/pain too. esp if i squat too long. i oso dare not squat too much.

cactus,

bb will grow 4-8 teeth by 1 years old. Molars will appear after 1 year old and shd have complete set of teeth by 2 yrs old.

In my experience, the crankiness will reduce once the teeth emerge, i.e. u can see it quite visibly.

bb is more tired especially if wake up more times in the middle of night due to disturbed sleep. Napping also disturbed due to discomfort.

And yes, bb drank less milk when they are teething. cos suckling may sometimes irritate the sore gums and make it feel more uncomfortable.

Felicia,

My boy height is also quite stagnant and only grow 2 cm each mth, since 6mth onwards.

ioio,

my bb can't be put to sleep if he is not tired. even if cuddle/latch/walk around, if he is not tired and dun want to sleep, its all no use. so we can only put him to sleep if he cry and rub his eyes (signal tired).

roxy,

i ask doc/pd before. if anyting wrong due to knock head, it usu occur within 24hrs. if 24hrs and everything ok, shd be fine generally.

cactus,

i tink if my boy dun sleep at nite, means we have to take leave the following day liao..cos at night only 2 of us take care as we stay alone.

And yup, i also felt v tired doing all the stuff for bb. Even when i take leave to rest, utimately i still spend more time doing the purees and doing housework, washing his clothes, cot sheets, bumper etc. End up i didn't manage to catch back lost sleep when the leave is taken to rest actually.

Shinely,

Hope everything alright. yr bb know how to stand up before this incident or it just happen like tat? it happen in his own cot?

cactus,

teething period is like this one. its really nightmare to me..
i rem got one time yuzhe teething, i woke up 4 times within 6hrs night time. so only sleep 3hrs in total to work. pop chix essence in office to sustain. last week, he also teething and stomach uncomfortable too. keep waking up 3 times for 3-4 consecutive days in a week.

my colleague's son teething 5 teeth at one shot, high fever, diarroe etc all come. v jiat lat too.

ZuEn,
Can u email iamsnow or Pm her ur details, ur hp no, bb's name, ur fren's bb's name etc so that she can hv a record..tks ya.. =).

Hi Ellysia,

Thanks for all the concern.
Ellysia, my bb able to hold and stand on her own. Now than i know she is able to climb of her baby cot and i thinkk she must have done a sumersult and landed on the floor.