(2008/06) June 2008

Krispy, you sure you have seen the correct baby? Her eyes not big leh, but yes, she botak head, even till now, hee, cannot waste $$ to buy hairclips for her yet.

Krispy, the premiums are based on age. I think it is same price per year from 0 to 30 years old. then it will increase after 30 years old. let me see if I can get more info for you.

<font color="0077aa">BFF

oh! ha ha ok good la to have close ones to take care at least u can work in peace *envy*

krispy

*lol* my FB pics are so not updated lor.. go to my blog la..</font>

PruShield (A Premier / A Plus)
Block out medical costs

Who this is for?
For those seeking insurance coverage against Hospitalisation and Surgical expenses, Out-patient treatment expenses and Pre/ Post Hospitalisation expenses at an affordable cost.
A Health product available for Central Provident Funds (CPF) Medisave Account funds with Regular Premium payment.
Features/Benefits^:
Provides lifetime financial protection against medical cost incurred for hospitalisation and surgery.
Available for ages 1 month to 75
Offers a High Policy Year Limit of up to S$500,000.
Offers Unlimited Lifetime Limit.
Offers Guaranteed Lifetime Coverage
Guaranteed Renewability ie. coverage continues regardless of your health condition and the number of claims you have made.
No cash required as your CPF Medisave account can be used to pay for premiums. If you do not have a Medisave account, you can use your family members’ account.
Waives the Deductible and Co-insurance up to S$5,000 for PruShield A Premier and up to S$3,000 for PruShield A Plus in the event of death during or within 30 days after hospitalisation provided death occurs as a result of the cause of hospitalisation.
Covers pregnancy complications.
Covers child abnormalities.
Add PruShield Extra for a more comprehensive coverage

PruShield Extra will pay for the deductible and co-insurance portion in the event of a claim so that you enjoy coverage from the 1st dollar.
Enhancements:
Post-hospitalisation Hyperbaric Oxygen Therapy
Coverage for hazardous activities and sports done on a leisure basis, with a licensed organisation
HIV due to blood transfusion and occupationally acquired HIV
Adjustment feature for policy year limit to offset medical cost inflation

PruShield Extra
Complement your medical coverage with PruShield Extra.

Who this is for?
For PruShield customers seeking a comprehensive medical insurance coverage.
An Accident &amp; Health product available with Regular Premium payment.
Features/Benefits^:
Provides lifetime financial protection against the costs of the deductible and co-insurance portion that is not covered under PruShield, incurred for hospitalization and surgery.
Available for ages 1 month to 75
Covers from the first dollar of the hospital bill
A standalone plan that is only available to PruShield customers
Offers Guaranteed Lifetime Coverage
Guaranteed Renewability. ie. coverage continues regardless of your health condition and the number of claims you have made.
Can only be added to PruShield A Premier or PruShield A Plus
Reimburse the charges incurred for ambulance fee^
Adult accomodation with child upon hospitalisation.
Enhancements:
Daily Hospital Incentive (if there is a downgrade of ward)
Emergency Outpatient Treatment for accident
Special Appliances &amp; Prosthesis
Post Hospitalisation Follow-up Traditional Chinese Medicine Treatment
^ Terms and conditions apply

veniz, it's me who posted the pix la... it's Lei Char fan (Thunder Tea Rice).

it's super yummy but ppl who hates veg, like my BIL, will siam far far whenever my mum cooks that for dinner.

Veniz, you and mrswrx sound so kinky together. Naughty naughty... :p

Ellysia, I understand. When I first started work, only had a measly S$1.6k after cpf deductions etc. Didn't want to take money from my parents anymore cos they helped lots with part of my uni fees. Paid for my study loan, rental of room with friends, allowance to parents, food etc all on my own.

Everything also need to budget. I even had budget for food so sometimes can find me eating 1 roast chicken bought from Cold Storage for 1 weekend. Of course, that time also lost a lot of weight lar. At least I look good in the process. ;) Mwahahaha...

<font color="0077aa">ndzgirl

shld considering purchasing.. buy those which u can use medisave as premiums ones to start of with

cactus

and the premium cost u?</font>

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">
jux to share for those who nv receive newsletter from baby center.

Sorry that the article seems to be a bit long.

Why do I still look pregnant?
You may be very surprised by the way your tummy looks after birth. Your baby is out, but there it is, right around the navel: a big, round, squishy puffball that makes you look like you're still six months pregnant. Many women also have a dark line down their abdomen called a linea nigra and a web of stretch marks, which are actually little scars caused by the extensive stretching of skin. Those who had a c-section have surgical scars to contend with as well.

It takes time for your body — and especially your belly — to fully recover from pregnancy. Imagine your abdomen as a balloon, slowly inflating as your baby grows. Childbirth doesn't pop the balloon, it just starts a slow leak. But don't worry — it's a steady one.

From the moment your baby is born, hormonal changes cause your midsection to deflate, shrinking it back to something closer to its pre-pregnancy state. It takes about four weeks for your uterus to contract to its normal size. All the cells in your body that swelled during pregnancy will begin releasing their fluids in the form of urine, vaginal secretions, and sweat. And the extra fat you put on to nourish the baby will start burning off (especially if you're nursing and exercising). But it takes at least a few weeks to see noticeable results.

Stretch marks and the linea nigra, however, endure longer. The good news is that stretch marks usually become considerably less noticeable six to 12 months following childbirth. Their pigmentation fades and they typically become lighter than the surrounding skin (the color will vary depending on your skin color), but their texture will remain the same. The dark color of the linea nigra will gradually fade over a year, but that too may not completely disappear.

How long will it take for my belly to shrink back to normal?
We've all heard stories of new moms whose tummies are tight and flat immediately after giving birth. Although this does happen, it's rare. For most women it takes months to get rid of the "pregnancy pouch" — and sometimes it never goes away.

Patience is key. It took nine months for your abdomen to stretch to accommodate a full-term baby, so it makes sense that it would take that long or longer to tighten back up.

The speed and degree of this transition depends largely on your normal body size, how much weight you gained during pregnancy, how active you are, and your genes. Women who gained less than 30 pounds and exercised regularly during pregnancy, who breastfeed, and who have had only one child are more likely to slim down quickly.

If you're not breastfeeding, you'll need to watch how much you're eating in order to lose pregnancy weight. You need fewer calories now that you're not pregnant. (See our "Diet for Healthy Post-Baby Weight Loss" and our "Diet for a Healthy Breastfeeding Mom."</font></font>

bleh, so its you, haahaa. I was salivating when looking at it. Ya, most guys will hate it as they do not like vege very much. I saw in the photos that even young kids take it, do they really love it? Hey, your friend told other friend to get Yueniang to cook huh? LOL...

<font color="0077aa">cactus

oh the NTUC LUV plan.. i saw the brochure yesterday and was trying to digest wat was on it.. is it comphrehensive? </font>

Morr, you murder what? Mosquito? Hahaha... That reminds me. I should change my FB status. I'm not really 'hard at work'. Hahahaha... All day chatting in forum. Ermz.... hahahaha.. What's your blog webby?

Veniz, eyes quite big what. So cute. With her botak head, like little alien... ahem ahem. Don't throw something at me k. :p Btw, did you shave her head?

Cactus, I heard that Aviva offers free health insurance to kids until 12 years of age if both parents are insured with Aviva. Dunno if that's still true. Hubby and I are both also with NTUC. Thinking of changing to Aviva if the above is still true.

morraine, I thought the H&amp;S premiums for Matthew cost me under $300 (both CPF and cash) but I could be wrong... I'm at Prudential website now.. trying to get more info... paiseh. I bought the insurance for Matthew when he turned 28 days (min is 28 days old to enter into policy). that time, I was very busy with Matthew, and had maid probs so can't really recall how much I paid..

Krispy, Prudential website say it is flat rate from 0 to 18 years, then another rate from 18 to 30 years. then the increase is in smaller brackets of periods.

veniz, it's a lot of work just to prepare this meal. so it's once in a blue moon treat from my mum. hahaha.

all those ppl talking abt nonya food and yueniang and watever-niang are my cousins and BIL la. my BIL hates this.

yes the kids love it too. mum normally jio the entire clan of ppl to come my hse to eat when she cooks this.

no prob, mor!

Krispy, you'd notice from the table comparison that Aviva's plan 1 is more ex than Prudential's Premier until the insured reaches 75 years old! honestly, when we are 75 years old, or when Isabel is 75 years old, she'll prob downgrade to 1 bedder or even 4 bedder in govt hospital liao. no need 1 bedder in private hosp, don't you think?

Haiyoh morr. I went to your webby to see pics of your little one, and I ended up drooling over the Coach bags posted. Your older gal is very pretty.

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">i bought AIA accidental and hospitalisation.. it covers minor injury like cut finger nails flesh..</font></font>

Cactus, Thanks for the website. Will study it tonight. Hubby currently overseas, so must find things to do at night after Isabel is asleep.

You really plan very far. Seriously, the thought of Isabel being 75 has never ever crossed my mind. Maybe she'll be like me. I have a death wish to die at about 50.

<font color="0077aa">krispy

*faint* ask u to see kids pics den u urself change channel.. dun blame me hor! *lol*

yeah yeah must make sure u torture ur hubby to the max which i always remind my hubby thats the reason y i wanna wil outlive him!! WAAHAH</font>

Krispy, if you want to discuss more about H&amp;S, can continue tomorrow. I handled claims with NTUC before. surprsingly efficient.

been a super bz day for me, trying to catch up on the posts. hehe, after filtering out the "i can't be bothered to read" ones, it's not so bad after all! ;)

veniz,
*wink* eh, vivi's eys are big wat! my coll also say char lei fan v nice. but i dun like it, i think its an acquired taste.

krispy,
aiyo, scrolled down and saw ur msg. hmm, any reason why u want to die at 50?

Hahaha... I've seen too many instances of family members prolonging the life of someone they love and the pain they go thru when everything is stagnant. And the hospital bills incurred are sometimes too much to the point that everybody fights and the family r/ships sour. I wouldn't want to know that it happened because of me.

Leaving at 50 would mean I'll be more aware and work harder to have a meaningful life. And with that wish in mind, I'd be living my life to the fullest every single day from now till then. Of course, it's all up to our creator again. If he decides not to... oh well.. what can I do right? hahaha.. I can only pray and hope.

Krispy, ya lor, like alien.

Bleh, good leh, I was like 'wat are your family preparing in the photo' then when I saw the end dish, wow, that looked cool.

Oh yeah. Can't leave out the bedridden part. What's life if living means having a machine breathe for you, or an IV tube feeding you? That's just how I feel about it.

50 is just a number I chose to play it safe. Of course, if I can lead a healthy active life till 65, I'd choose to. But I'd never want to be bedridden or be a burden to my children.

Veniz, is the thunder tea dish something like the all vege dish with greenish coloured soup? They sell that somewhere near China Square rite? I ate that once... lost my appetite after the first mouth. Not my type of food.

Krispy, I think we shld focus on quality of life rather than a number. my grandma has cancer.. but is still very active. she is very mobile (takes public transport, etc), and a very happy lady. She's alsmost 78. Everyone loves her company and she is a dear.

Cactus, That's why 50 to me is just a number I chose to play it safe. If I can live longer and still be active and healthy, wouldn't mind. Anyway, let's turn our minds away from morbid thoughts.

Btw, would Mt A or TMH be considered a private hospital or restructured? Proration for private hospitals are 65% meaning 65% paid by Insurer with 35% paid by us? And what does 'Final Expense Benefit' mean?

Sorry if it seems I have lots of qns. It's ok if you don't really know the answer. I can always ask them from the insurance agent.

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">think i want to leave when the machine is spoilt and dun want to repair if the major spare part is ex.. minor one still ok if the machine can resume as normal... </font></font>

Cactus, the rider for Matthew would cost about S$200 per year? Does the rider provide for daily payouts from the insurance Co for hospitalisation?

<font color="blue">krispykreme,
try asking them not to add the tea inside..it taste much better although a bit dry..i dun like the tea also..so i take without the tea lor..</font>

Krispy, Mt A and TMH are both private. you don't need to worry about proration if you are warded in the correct class. You will need to pay more if you choose to be warded, say in 1 bedder in private when you are only covered for 1 bedder in resutrctured. final expense benefit means cash from insurer if you die.

Sorry, I thought the entire policy (cash and medisave componetn) is under $300 but it seems like it is more than that.. could be under $600 in total. It only provides for daily payouts if you are warded in a lower class. Ie, if Matthew is warded in 1 bedder in restructured instead of private hopsital, think he gets $150/day. or something like that.

hmm.... The Prudential, Aviva and NTUC plans look very promising. Will call my agent when my husband is back.

Thanks cactus!

Ok. I'll target at least B1 and above. Good thing about Sg is that even the restructured hospitals are really good. Some of the best surgeons are there.

Hey, where's everyone? Talk about insurance, and everyone disappear. Typical. :p

Tera, its only Vivi's eyes' slits are long, but her own eyes are not very big when opened.

Krispy, yes, thats the greenish thing in tea. I heard if not nice, it is because the tea is not nice or something like that.

RE: Lei Char Fan
My ex-bf whose family is Hakka cooks Lei Char Fan and I love it! But those outside one is selling Green Tea soup base lei and it's yucky to me. If u all find any Lei Char Fan outside that the soup is normal type NOT Green Tea, pls let me know. Wanna Eat!!!

MLP, what's the normal soup base?

Morr, you're back. Hahahaa...

Veniz, long eye slits are very nice. I like. Very cat-ish. Nice.

<font color="blue">hey mlp,
i think the 1 in boon lay is not the Green tea type..quite yummy..my mum they all like it..if not next time my mum make the paste i give u lor..then u can make ur own lei char fan.. hehe..</font>

Krispy,

i ate maggi mee in office tat time. yah also have to budget for food.

Tat lei chai at chinasquare have moved. cos china square foodcourt demolished liao.

i oso dun like lei chai. dun like the tea. then the rice not enuff for me, cos all vegs. hungry with 2 hrs. and not preggy tat time ored feel hungry.

Cactus, nope. Not really looking for 1 bedder private. Something which is sufficient, e.g. B1 restructured / private is good enough.

Also, will consider whether to get a rider depending on the cost of it. I don't mind paying about S$3-5k for each illness / hospitalisation if we're generally healthy and don't require hospitalisation. Also, for me, I'm covered under my Company and my husband is covered under his. So we don't really need the rider.

If the rider is approx S$300 per year, 10 years is S$3k. For Isabel, she's still young so the chances of her being hospitalised would be very low for the first 10 years. Hope you get what I mean. Very cryptic. Haha..