(2008/06) June 2008

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">babycupid.. dunno leh.. b4 preg, did once. not painful but after give birth, did it again and feel so pain..</font></font>

the most painful thing I experienced so far is the midwife and doctor trying to clear a cervical lip for me during my pushing stage.. very very painful.

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">veniz and fennie... saw u at the spree.. i got them last round, if u want can ask me for feedback.. hee... </font></font>

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">ee... cactus.. oops sound pain..btw think u cant do pap as u r pregnant liao.. nvm after giving birth lor..</font></font>

Can mummies share how to make prune puree? my boy poo only once every 3 days so thought of giving him puree.
And do you all feed the puree to baby immediately after taking it out from fridge?

feifei - Maybe should ask 2nd opinion?

cactus - (((Confused)))...LOL. Wah, your DH so pro-active and willing to join our forum. My DH...kick also will not join...ha!ha!

Re: Pap Smear
Ya, have to do it once a year. Did mine liao...so wait till the letter comes for another check-up...ha!ha! For me, Pap Smear OK lah...not painful...a little uneasy nia.

Recipe from wholesomebabyfood:

Plum Baby Food Recipes - Plum Purée

Peel and cut into chunks and steam until tender in a scant amount of water. Puree using the leftover cooking liquid OR

1. Scrub fruit clean
2. Carve an X into 1 side of the fruit
3. Place X side down in a pan with an inch of water
4. Bring water to a boil and steam until soft and tender
5. Peel skin from fruit and remove pits and/or seeds

OR:

Halve the fruit, pit and place "open" side down in a pan filled with 1 inch of water, bake at 400F until soft and tender or puckering of the skin appears.

OR

Drop whole, cleansed fruits into a pan of boiling water for 5-10 minutes, until fruits are soft
Place fruits into a bowl of cold water and slip off the skins then cut and pit the fruit

Puree as with any other fruit, adding lots of liquid if needed.

Plum Baby Food Recipes - "Dried" Prune Puree
6-8months+ or as needed for constipation

1. Soak dried prunes in warm water until they plump up or steam gently.
2. Once plump and tender, toss into food processor or blender and begin to puree.
3. Add liquid without sparing any. Prunes tend to become a pasty gluey consistency when pureed and the more water you add, the easier it is to puree to a texture your baby will tolerate.

Like apricots, prune puree will not freeze into a solid block. The skins should not pose an issue however do be certain to keep a watch for baby's adverse reaction to the possible texture. You may wish to mix the pureed prunes with a beloved food for the first try!

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">cactus.. u already left some traces for him... in fact quite obvious lor.. ha ha.. like investigator.. so fun!!</font></font>

ioio, which spree you saw me in? I bought some beanies for gal and some beauty products for ownself, finally you have seen my purchases hor, heehee.

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">cacts.. tts a lot to go through.. u hv 4992 posts.. hee...

aiya.. it's ok de lah... think u will drown him with all the words..</font></font>

JP, ioio, hahaha. yah. He just asked me for my nickname and password this morning.. said he want to join the forum. so i told him, I will create a nick for him to surf if he wanted to. then he gave me a "duh?!" look. like I don't trust him like that. haha. I was thinking more like he will confuse people with his posts.

cactus - My DH better...whenever I am online..he will plonk himself beside me...when I give him the look...he will say cannot see meh? You hiding things from me? Then, I will say...read lah...no secrets, not scared...so childish hor.

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">veniz.. i bought the p.. quite ok, can see the effect if u wear overnight, quite fitting, if u want some with better effect, can get a size smaller than what u r.. but if cannot tahan then get as per it is lor.. the arm one.. i didnt buy but some from first round commented that it leave some marks for quite long and there are some threads coming out after wearing for few times...</font></font>

ioio, isit? I am planning to wear the arm one when I am home over the weekends, and on evenings. I want to get the super guard stockings, but oos, so waiting to see anyone dropping order or not. need to slim down my water retended and fat calves legs, haiz, all these I got them after childbirths.

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">veniz.. i feel that the effect will be better if you apply slimming gel before wearing.. i feel the tummy smaller after wearing for 2 days.. the arm shaper.. the organiser did ask for feedbacks and that what i read lah.. hee...</font></font>

I tot pap smear is once every 2 years? I did mine before I preggy. I thinkdue soon.

As for the vaccine against cervical cancer, I understand from a doc friend that studies show that it is effective for those below 26 years old but not sure about the effect on those above. However, gynaes will still recommend.

ioio, okok. I just bought one slimming gel, will use both together. Thanks!

lol ladies, your posts are so engaging ! haahaa

Cactus : what is a cervical lip ?
hahaa, all these statistics are just numbers !
am happy baby is healthy and happy

cervical cancer - very sad - iheard over the weekend that a friend of a friend passed away due to cervical cancer and she was only 30 yrs old !
anyhowwwssss...

i am beginning to think i'm a baddd mummy

not started on semi solids yet, also have not activatively activated his play area - ie, exercauser, etc ...
oh well ...
no time ! that is my excuse ...

K Ong - I see that your nick appears in 2006 forums. Me too as my boy was born in July 2006. No lah, you are not a bad mummy. If cannot during weekdays, start on weekends first lah. Aiyoh, so sad about your friend.

<font color="808080"><font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma">Hoo-ray!
My baby started crawling forward &amp; not just moving backwards, my #1 was the 1st to discover &amp; told me about it 2 days ago, however, he still not able to sit up straight on his own,kept falling down</font></font>

Today whole day busy. later going for meeting.

Yest night i prepare apple puree after i go back home, ended around 11pm.

my hb doesn't even bother wat i post here, he knows i m active here. he say all women talk.

yest argue with him. he cannot understand why need 4 days test. he say where got people eat vegetables will get allergy one. he ask me why i must check on all the vegs before i let bb eat. i say just in case check better.. then he say why cannnot eat now must wait until x month.. etc etc. me sianz.. me know he dun like to research such stuff so i didn't overload him with info, i only read up myself. end up he cannot understand why i am doing all this. keep tell me to give baby jar no need to be xin ku prepare homemade ones.

Ellysia - One trick I use coz DH die-die will read his e-mails every day - I email him stuff to read. Then, when he ask, I will say "Never read my mail meh?" LOL

<font color="808080"><font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma">JP/Veniz,
thanks, i know i need to be extra careful now as my house is not child proof, as i did not have plans for this #2,thats why never take into consideration when we did renovation for this house about 6yrs ago

K Ong,
thks for the dote nursing dress link, very lovely, but also quite expensive, don't think i will get them as i am not sure when i want to wean my baby, as for MEV, i have 2 of their nursing dresses liao

sad to hear abt the young girl who passed on

ioio,
thanks for your email sharing about the pants, think i will stick with my size as I doubt i can tahan too tight ones, 不能吃苦 </font></font>

K Ong, I don't underestnad enough about a cervical lip to explain it but it's something like the dilation is not 100% becuase there is a little bit of the cervix in the way, so the thing midwives/doctors is to stretch out the "lip" during a contraction during the pushing stage... very painful for me.

hi ladies!!

bz day today! aargh. going for meeting soon.

JP,
i like to email my hubby also. partly cos for me, some things can be expressed better in writing.

fennie,
wow, that's fast! congrats!

K Ong,
hello!! *wave*

Ellysia, try not to prepare purees on weekdays lah. very tiring one leh. no joke. actually, I think it's good to give some homemade stuff once in a while - but of course, not to the extent of tiring ourselves out. I personally find making food cubes for Matthew rather therapeutic. This morning I freaked out a little when I realised he only has 1 broccoli cube and 1 potato cube left. I'll need to get busy tonight liao... mid-week duty.

RE: Pap Smear
When i did mine at the 6wks post-partum checkup, the assistant ask me to come back 1 yr later. So I asked,"will u all remind us?" be it letter or phone call. She says,"No. Perhaps you can remember to do ur Pap Smear when National Day comes." haha... that was a good one cos now it's stuck to my head when to go do it!

Fennie, hurray! Jared will be busy practising his new-found skills liao!

I set up an Obstacle course for jayden last wkend on the bed. Put him on starting point. then halfway to the left, put a teether. then towards the ending edge of the bed on right side, put another teether. Then he will chiong for the midway one then chew chew chew... then chiong towards the further one. If not, I gotta keep on pulling him back to start point. Veri tiring!

MLP, hee, good leh. Lucky my clinic will send in a reminder letter and ask me to make appointment with my gynae about it. But I won't go, coz if i top up a bit more, I can go to my kids' lady pd for a full body checkup + pap smear.

Veniz, your kids' pd quite enterprising leh! I never thought about it this way! Kid see PD, mummy also go along. very convenient!