(2008/06) June 2008

Ellysia, no I don't remove the skin. Once it is blended, you can't taste the skin at all. I always try a bit of the puree before I freeze. I also try a bit after a thaw before I feed my boy.. to make sure the quality is still there. sometimes the colour changes (ie banana) but the taste is still good. I try not to remove the skin because I believe there are nutrients too. but I wash the fruits very carefully before pureeing.

Brocoli cannot give a lot cos gassy.

last 5 days i been giving cauliflower.. these 2 days will be bringing frozen cauliflower to mil house. my boy did have more gas recently but he burp them out.

Ellysia, my boy is okay with brocoli, but yes, I've heard that it causes alot of gas. My boy takes 2 cubes of brocoli with 1 cube of potato for lunch daily. so far okay.

cactus,

Hmm.. ok.

when u freeze do u wait for the food to become room temp before u put in freezer, or u straight put the warm/hot food into freezer?

Ellysia, I put straight into freezer. I don't really care about the freezer - i heard it will cause strain to the freezer but I rather the food be cooled immediately than to stay at room temp where bacteria will multiply more quickly.

cactus,

oic.. me always give organic baby jars.. except prune bec only gerber has it. me prefer organic.. if not i will remove the skin. But i tink peach skin not easy to remove.. seems to stick there.

cactus,

ya i find tat if i put in fridge then i must rem to put in freezer when it cool.. then i must keep track or else wait put in fridge too long also no good.

ioio,
oh okok..

cactus,
hur? dun remove skin? i got remove lor.. 1 peach i can fill 2 cubes(2oz)

y all ur bbs like apple? mine dun like.. dun fancy.. got to mix wif cereal den he like..

ellysia,
the skin ok to remove ar.. i use those peeler.. bery easy de.. blend wif skin on.. like abit... hmm...

Ellysia, yah, peach skin not easy to remove. must use very sharp knife.
actually, don't mind me saying this - I think it doesn't really matter to our bbs whether organic or not. Important is we maintain hygeiene when prep the food, and always check the quality of the thawed food before serving. Also, puree in small batches frequently and freeze quickly. I think these steps may more be more important than buyig organic produce to blend. Cos I think it's not even proven that organic food can prevent cancer.. and it's no point taking organic food 70% of the time as a baby, but as a toddler, only say 10% is organic.. cos food is life long and even if organic food prevents cancer, it cannot be that organic food eaten as a baby protects against cancer - it has to be life long consumption. It may be more beneficial to give our bbs a wider variety of food now so that they will be less fussy eaters and give our bbs fresh food (not food jars or frozen food - but how many mummies can freshly prepare bb food every day for every meal?!) so that max nutrients go to our bbs. Of course, if I have a choice between organic food jars, and normal food jars, I will buy the organic version if I can afford it.

bbcupid...
mine also dun seem to like apple cos when i feed her she always close her mouth tightly...i also mix with cereal then she will eat.

veniz...
ya chinese herbs tend to be pretty heaty...hope it works!

shycloud,
hahahaha.. yeah.. he eat apple puree not as enthusiatic as rice cereal,peach or pear..
he will ai mai ai mai.. but wif rice cereal he OK! funny..

bbcupid...
ya lor weird rite?

re: semi solids
i only feed my gal alternate days of cereals and purees issit ok? cos i dun have the luxury to make for her most of the weekdays. cos i see most mummies give consistently every day...

shycloud, chinese herbs are heaty, so before and after take, have to drink lots of water. Hee, yesterday, my nanny told me my gal was crying and refused to open mouth to the HT's fruits medley, hee, she said cried untill nan-papa was like saying she so poorthing. So I told nanny, if she does not want to take, dun force her.

cactus : wow ! what's his weight ??
my girl was alwayes 97% (till this day she's still abt 90th haahaa) and was a chubby baby ...

compared to her, my boy is *only* 70th percentile heehee

He's 9.5kg. I thought I saw 9.4kg+ on the scale but the nurse recorded it as 9.5kg. He's 70cm. That was when he was 6 months 1 week old.

Shycloud, sounds like your bb has a balanced diet. I'm worried about my boy cos he doesn't like cereals and I've not introduced meats yet, so he may be low in iron now...

<font color="aa00aa">cactus,
No worry on ur boy lah since he's oredy 90% percentile on his weight! Mine is 50% only nia and so far i only give her cereal and fruits puree. Fruits puree oso only limit to pear and apple as i started solid not long ago and i follow the 4days rule, so not able to intro so many varieties.</font>

<font color="808080"><font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma">Breastfeeding Mummies,what kinda CNY clothes did you all buy?i am quite sick of nursing tops &amp; pants/skirts, and my nursing tops are stretchable T-shirt like material &amp; therefore looks casual</font></font>

Jus came home after a long meeting at work... And the moment reached home settle down, 1st thing come to forum liao.. HAahaa... Any my email said our thread got over 80 new postings loh..

Feifei: thanks for the update! oooohhh.. i know who is paul liao.. that ang moh at the police station... but did the show explain why yueniang n chen xi are not tog?

Then what happen to stupid n irritating robert n charlie zhang?

Felicia: i'm not super fan la.. but got watch on n off.. since the show got high review so interested to know the ending..

rizty: thanks for the link fo rthe lil nonya!! will watch tonight.. hahahaa...

bleh: yaya.. one small milestone at a time.. but i think so far your achievement quite good le..

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">angel...
chen xi thought yueniang died in the fire. yueniang esc but hide from chen xi as she cant be with him which will always remind her of yuzhe's tragedy caused by her.. she adopted yuzhu's son.. actually the last episode quite boring.. didnt really picture lot of things clearly .. trying to be creative ;p
</font></font>

<font color="808080"><font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma">angel_z,
charlie was shot by his son,robert, when he was struggling with alexandra on the floor with alexandra's gun, and later alexandra shoot robert, bad ppl have no good ending!</font></font>

wah i see until my eyes crossed man! so long posts....

angel, my bb not really sleeping well with patting tonite. now my hb patting him to bed.. i can still hear bb whinings.. hb wans to carry n put on our bed, i refused...

i wanna slowly read all the purees and methods and foods that u guys discussing... so interesting lor...

fennie: thanks goodness for that part.. aledi very sad that yueniang n chen xi not tog.. if charlie n robert still got away with their evildoings then i will complain to mediacorp!.. hahahaha..

Wow, so many posts....let me read slowly..hmm..

Sharon,
U try give her a chou chou lor..

Ritz,
sometimes ple make innocent comments lor, dun care ya..

ioio,
at least ur bb upgraded, my ger start drooling fmr 4mths , now still in the bohgei club..hee

angel,
Managed to see the show online? ;p..

bleh,
good move, cos once u carry to ur bed, thats it..every nite also wan to sleep there liao..just now i also struggle to hol dmy ger down, phew, she was crying n fussing..heng managed to sing song n pat her to sleep..hiaz..Duno y as they grow older, difficult to fall asleep wor..

All,
just to share hor, my fren just passed me a pkt of organic somian, ask me cook for my ger..I going to try this wkend..hehe..at least she can try diff food liao =)..next I wan to try potato chowder also..hehe...Will share the recipe with u all once I get frm my fren ya...

bleh: i think its normal of baby to whine n fuss while u training them to sleep on their own.. most imptly is that u can get him to sleep in the end..

feifei: i'm still waiting for the video to load loh.. waited since 8 plus until now still not done.. so i surf forum 1st.. can't wait to watch...

ellysia: jus to share with u.. i gave prune puree to my ger twice a day, for these 2 days n it reali helps in easing constipation..

these 2 days i put barley water on hold n feed prune puree n she actually poo once every evening after dinner... hahahaha.. so happy that prune puree works!

n i'm glad that sheryl still quite like prune puree.. heehee.. =)

thanks for the recommendation of prune puree.. so next time i will start sweeping the shelf of prune puree liao..

want to ask u how often u feed your boy prune puree? is it ok for baby to eat prune for lunch n dinner for 2 conservative days? cos once bottle opened have to finish within 48hours so must faster finish.. however i oso scare sheryl overdose..

fei and angel, i ustd but my hb doesnt leh. a bit cold war now.. over how to handle bb. pissed man. but i know i open my mouth, sure ugly. so better shut my trap.

i think he cannot stand the way bb whine and fuss for so long (almost 1 hr today)... so he's thinking of pacifying bb to slp, therefore, wanna put him in our bed. he already intruded in my 2days of training (letting bb cry n fall aslp on his own), now still ask me can carry him. aiyo, dont bother to explain at all already. do wat he wants.

my mil bot a chair for my boy.. like a bumbo but not.. its wif table top.. he very kiang now.. he only sit when mum mum.. once he sat on the chair he will open his mouth super big! wait for u to feed him.. hahaha.. after food finish he will make noise ask u carry him out.. kekeke..

angel!!!
i am using dr brown bottles! i buying the BPA free one.. kekeke.. thnx for the link!

bleh: huh? u r right. must 'ren' loh.. for the best of the baby...

but if your husband can't handle the baby then should pass to u ma.. no point letting baby whine non-stop when u can do a better job than him...

babycupid: U r welcome! I know Dr Brown bottles quite popular so some mummies sure got use so i put up the link here..

happy shopping!!

<font color="aa00aa">feifei,
Wat is organic somian?

bleh,
Can i know before this, you actually pat pat or carry your bb to sleep? For me i upgrade from carry to pat pat, then only let my girl sleep on her own. But my girl will need 2 'treasure' in order to make her sleep on her own. One is her bean sprout pillow and another is pacifier. Try it slowly, explain to your hubby nicely.</font>

Morning ladies..

bleh,
cool down ya..

babycupid,
Ur boy clever hor..

Felicia,
Its like mian xian lor...I haven try yet, will try tis wkend...My fren ask me to cook with pork,carrot,corn..

ur ger also need chouchou hor?

feifei,
No lah. Didnt get to watch in the end. Only watch that 15mins when I fold clothes lor.

JP,
Just read your post on drooling. Now, it makes me appreciate the drool, but my bb passed that stage liao. Now, I oni tempted to buy those pretty bibs on BP, but not much use liao. ;p

Cactus,
I was just about to ask how to make peach puree. Wondering if there's a need to steam. No need to steam = good, cos I lazy mummy. I 1st time making.

feifei,
My girl dun have chou chou, but I used to have. ;p My chou chou with me for over 20 years. But threw away last week cos I seldom use ever since I preggy.
I still contemplating of giving my girl chou chou leh. I scare she will ask me to wake up in the night to look for it, like how I used to disturb my mum. LOL!

zuEn,
ur ger dun drool so much now?

Hehe, cos hor, my ger need her 2 chouchou b4 seh can go sleep de..she like bite on it and then sleep with it too..of cos we change the cover often..hee..hehe..but ur ger sleepign on her own?

Anyone taking the prevention of Cervial Cancer jab? My gynae advised me to take during my last checkup..I will be taking the Jab next week..

<font color="aa00aa">feifei,
My ger likes to flip her chou chou right and left before she fall asleep. I think maybe coz of the sound when she flip it. So far after she fall asleep, she wont wake up for pacifier or chouchou, so we are quite ok with this arrangement.
I got a friend's daughter will need 3 'treasure' whenever she want to sleep. Chou chou, pacifier and handkerchief. When comes to sleep, kids really have lot of pattern.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">
PSC holds warehouse sale
Posted: 2 January 2009

Chinese New Year is around the corner so it’s time to do some shopping. PSC will be holding a warehouse sale at our premises (348 Jalan Boon Lay) from 9 to 11 January 09 at these times:

9 &amp; 10 Jan (Fri &amp; Sat) – 10.30am to 8pm
11 Jan (Sun) – 10.00am to 8.30pm

Products on sale include food items, toiletries, household items, VCDs and DVDs, paper products and Clarks shoes!

Mark these dates down on your calendar and hurry down to grab some stocks at unbeatable prices.

Please note that FREE shuttle bus service will be provided:
Sat: 10.30 am to 7.30pm
Sun: 10am to 8pm
(Every half hour interval)
Pick up point: Boon Lay MRT station (In front of taxi stand along Boon Lay Way)

Bus service: 249 (From Boon Lay interchange, alight at the third bus stop and cross the road)

Mode of payment: Cash and NETS only

For more information, please email to [email protected] or call 65869925.

Any mummies been to this sale before? How is it?</font>

Felicia,
ya lor, imagine go out also need to bring the chouchou..*faintz*

the sales looks good but duno wat can get fmr there n really cheap anot hor...