(2008/06) June 2008

feifei,
yah lor, cornelius slept till 10AM...
Refused to wake up

feifei...
meaning u give 5 scoops of FM=150ml + 3 scoops of BR but the liquid level will still remain ard 150ml or slightly more rite?

shycloud,
no, 5 scope of FM + 3scopes of BR< the level is 240ml lor..cos 8 x 30ml lor..tats wat my ger currently drinking lor..the proportion for my ger is like that lor..U hv to start ur ger with 1 scope of BR 1st ya..

feifei...
issit? i tot by by adding the BR it doesnt seem to increase tat much leh? cos im using heinz rice cereals prev.

me abit confuse. so must add how much of water leh? so every scoop of BR must add 30ml of water?

shycloud,
u mean u add heniz rice cereal to ur ger's milk and let her drink?

I just add accordingly lor..Rem I told u i got cook my BR 1st before adding to the milk? I will cook 1st, then pour the BR mixture into the milk bottle, then add 5 scope of FM + water all up until the level reaches 240ml..

25% OFF GAP.COM SALES!!!

Use code "SALE" at checkout,
valued till 29th December 2008 (About 30/12/2008, 12pm Singapore time)

Happy Shopping.

*Offer valid on Gap sale merchandise only from 12/26/2008 at 12:01 am ET through 12/29/2008 at 11:59 pm ET in the US (including Puerto Rico) online only. Not valid at Gap stores or Gap Outlet. Not valid on regularly priced merchandise. Not valid on Gap (Product) RED™, Junk Food™, Converse®, Robeez®, Medela®, or babyGap home merchandise. Discount applies to merchandise only, not value of gift cards purchased, phone orders placed in stores, packaging, applicable taxes or shipping &amp; handling charges. To redeem online enter code at checkout. Online code is limited to one time use only. No adjustments on previous purchases. Not valid for cash or cash equivalent. Gap Inc. is not responsible for lost or stolen coupons. Cannot be combined with other offers or discounts including Gap Inc. employee discount.

feifei...
haha ok...she's drinking mamil gold 150ml...but lately she struggles to finish (most of the time left quite abit)...dunno y leh. issit she dun like the FM or?

im still giving her BM 180ml and she finished it in no time!

back from lunch

shimin,

try to give puree bec juice is not as nutritional and may cause cavities.

max amt of cereal - according to the HT brown rice cereal i bot, it says 1 serving is 5 tablespoon.. so max is around 5 tablespoon bah.

lengLeng,
u ordering? ;p

shycloud,
i see..I tink not say she dun like FM, could be becos dun really wan to drink liao, she wan to TASTE food lor..That time my ger also wor, dats y i wean her slowly frm 4mths...

Orrr..u mean she can't finish FM but can finish BM?! hmm.. all along she drinks Mamil gold?

soo,

The gerber prune i tasted. its taste nice.

i tot prune give baby jar is ok. bec prune is actually preserved plums. so if u buy from supermarket and puree yourself, it still not fresh plums. unless u want to puree plum instead.

another fruit u can give is pear, for constipation. But pear can cause cough. so if yr bb has cough prob, maybe dun eat pear too. banana i am not sure.

anyway i am working mum, so dun have so much time to cook puree. my mil dunno how to homemake puree one, she only know how to cook porridge for bb. i oso lazy to buy a blender for her, i got 1 blender for my own house liao. so i only homecook puree during weekends.

feifei..
ya lor she finish the BM but not FM, somemore i reduced the FM leh still cannot finish...haizz she's been drinking MG for quite sometime liao although only 2 feeds per day...no prb previously only recently she "chu" pattern.

i was tempted to buy the carters diaper bag during her prev BP...quite nice hor...but scared its too small for me...heh the mini one even nicer!

feifei,

gap got christmas sale now.

Felicia,

i oso drop a lot of hair. me also BF.
if u worry take supplements lor. i heard tat iron is good for hair.

soo,

vegs/fruits u can try out for 6-7mths:

Apple puree
Banana puree
Pumpkin
Avocado
Apricot
Green Beans
Yam
Cabbage
Potato puree
Papaya
Blueberry
Carrots puree
Peas puree
Butternut squash/winter squash puree
Sweet Potato puree
Pear puree
Prune puree
Peach puree
Broccoli puree

i had hair loss problems initially too, but it goes away eventually. I've started cod liver oil again, so mebbe that helps with the hair loss...

ladies, i noted that quite a few of you are feeding cereal in milk bottle.
i thought it is not encouraged? cereal should be to be fed via spoon...

shycloud,
like that u hv to try giving her other cereals to try out wor..sometimes our bbs bery clever one, can differentiate BM and FM de..

Ya lor, i kept tinking for 1 wk liao, end up my frenz and soem forum ladies here said the bag is big enough so I order lor..I like e mini one also but scare too small lor, duno wat to put also..so bot the big one..

Ellysia,
i see...some quite nice lor..

<font color="aa00aa">ellysia, i have been taking GNC multivit, iron and fish oil(dha, epa etc) diligently after delivery, but still suffer hair loss problem.
Was wondering when it'll stop or decrease the dropping amt.</font>

hello hello

v long nv post here liao...

ask u all, can mix avocado into cereals? how much cereal are u giving as 1 feed? i'm giving little bleh Heinz Rice Cereal.

hi feifei... i'm back liao... haahaha

wat else can i mix into the cereals? currently i'm only giving him cereal with milk...

tried giving him steamed and mashed pumpkin, he doesnt like..

thanks cactus...

i only giving him 2 spoonsfuls of cereals mixed with 2 spoonfuls of milk. i oso dunno if this is enough for him.. other than that, i give him porridge twice a day and oso milk in the morning and before he slps.

bleh, I don't know about quantity cos I think it depends on your bb's weight, his level of activity, his appetite generally. But I think you may want to give him more variety instead of just cereal and porridge. porridge is not as good as cereal cos cereal tends to be fortified with iron and other nutritents. If you give more porridge than cereal, you may want to add more veg.

I also have hair drop problem after birth. And was so serious that i saw a hole on my head. One day drops over 200 hairs.
So hubby bring me to Yun Nam for treatment. Sign up their package and now my hair drop problem have improve so much.

Wendy,

yup not recommended to feed in bottle.
so far i only feed by spoon.

bleh,

i find tat vegs seem to mix better with cereal.

felicia,

my dropping hair rate is slower now.
dun worry.

feifei,

i ask star to help me order. maybe u email to star n ask her.

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">hair loss... me oso drop a lot from 3rd month.. now slow down and grow a lot liao.. can see bunches of hair from front... like it delibrately cut it.. so ugly.. ;( cannot comb as it's only ard a inch.. ;(</font></font>

I've not been dropping much hair.. at least, not more than what I used to drop before delivery/pregnancy. I read somewhere that pregnancy hormones cause us to grow more hair and after delivery, the hormones go away, so the hair drops? a friend of mine who had 3 kids told me that rubbing old ginger on the scalp where hair dropped off can help hair grow back quicker. not sure if it's works.

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">i want to try peas this week.. may i noe what peas to use and where to get?

so far hv tried, pear, potato, apple, sweet potato, banana, and pumpkin</font></font>

Another question for u mommies...any recommendation on how i can bring porridge out? Which container should i be using? Some kind of thermos flask thing? I've been resisting cooking porridge, but kena nagging from mil liao

cactus,

so wow so fast. then u cannot cont to bf liao?

i have a colleague who c-sect for 1st and intend to c-sect for 2nd, and both are only 1 year apart. she got preggy few mths after giving birth to 1st.

soo, I find that the porridge bb consumes is just a couple of tablespoons so putting it in a flask may not work. I don't bring porridge out but h ave brought out food before. What I do is to put it in the avent bottle with sealing disc (the 125ml - small bottle). I use my Medela coolant bag and coolant to keep it cold. Then I bring a Prince Lionheart bottle warmer (the type that you snap the metal disc and the warmer warms up) to warm up the food when I'm on the go. if I'm in a car, I use the travel warmer that plugs in to the cigarette thing in the car. If I go to someone's house, I will bring my avent food warmer. just need to have water to warm up the food.

soo,

get thermos, u can buy from any department store. i bot mine from robinsons, around $50 only. it has 3-4 small compartments. so u can store puree in 1 container, porridge in another. etc etc.

Ellysia, I'm still breastfeeding. Ya. fast. We only did it once... with rubber some more.. after I was preggie, I check the expiry date.. not expired yet leh. I still plan to continue breast feeding. checked with my doctor. he said as long as no cramping, can breast feed. I dun have cramping. he said even if cramping, no bleeding, still can breast feed cos I dun have history of miscarrying. He said if cramp and spot, then go and see him.. he will check if pregnancy is stable or not. So far I'm still expressing 3 times a day, 10 minutes each time, total volume is about 750ml. My boy is drinking about 950ml per day. So I use 1 or 2 packs of frozen milk per day to supplement.

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">cactus... congrats!... u r the 2nd june mummies to conceive..the first is...?? i forgot liao.. </font></font>

Ellysia, Soo, sorry! I sua ku! I thought Soo was talking about the regular type of thermos. I forgot there's the type with several compartments. I bought one last time... 3 compartments, from Isetan, Tiger brand. Also about $50. Promotion. But I find it doesn't retain heat well. It can't last more than 4 hours.

cactus,

wah. u got the 1% lor.

soo,

u can also pour warm water to porridge/puree if u bring it out, if u find it cold.

cactus,
u mean u use protection still gana? Is soemthing good since u hv already planned to hv a 2nd one lor =)...

ellysia,
Tks ger..

ioio,
for me, i bot the NTUC peas lor..

Ellysia, I think it is fraction of 1%. We used one with spermicide even... oh well!

Soo, I bought 2 small containers which are supposed to be insulated. Sassy's or Sassy. That's the brand name. I got it during John Little promotion. 2 for $9.90 or $12.90 or something like that. It retains heat pretty well. You may want to consider it. It comes with a spoon too but I find the spoon too hard. I just use the 2 containers. The containers fit nicely into the cup holder in my parents' car. That's a bonus.