(2008/06) June 2008

<font color="aa00aa">Veniz, kids are like tat! My #1 oso like to 'copy cat' from her frenz in childcare. Got this ger called 'Corlina', last time had long hair, then my ger said she dont want to cut her hair coz wanna like Corlina, tied her hair up. Then one day my ger came back and told my mil she wanna cut her hair short coz Corlina cut her hair. Really cham lor.</font>

Felicia, haahaaa, isit? My boy saw someone wearing watch, he also made noise and his ahgong has to get him a watch to wear to sch. When I nagged at him at home with a slightly loud voice, he doesn't like to be told off, he will tell me off by saying, 'shout shout shout, dunno anything only know how to shout' (copy my dear hb lar), haiz, giving up on him already.

<font color="aa00aa">veniz,
boys are normally more active lar. take it easy on yang 1st lor. i read before somewhere tat kids try our patience to get reaction out of us, esp kids at yang's age. so maybe if u dun react to his antics, he may jus be more guai? so when he guai, u react, it will reinforces his belief tat when he is cheeky, mummy will ignore him, if he is good, mummy will acknowledge &amp; reward him? i think when u cane him, u also heart-pain rite? txs for your compilment on e stroller.

bbcupid,
envy, envy.

zuen,
tell me abt the $$. cnf ex sia. tat's y i had been "begging" hb to buy for the longest time ever. esp when i saw tera's lil lucas enjoying it, i become more gian lor. then i consider renting too but i checked liao, renting the jumperoo per mth will cost ard $55. if rent for 3 to 6 mths will cost ard $165 to $330 which is the time when our bbs will start to walk &amp; dun wan to sit still anymore, so not worth to rent. thus, chance upon e idea to get 2nd-hand lor, at least if bb play ard 3 to 6 mths, the cost kinda of break even liao.

on the carrier, think e design my hb bought was the Ergo one. he bought it from his fren's wife who run her "shop" online.

ariesann,
if i need to push/pull bb ard in her walker, i will usually clip on her leg tray 1st to the walker. tis walker comes wif a tray for bb to rest her legs, so no harm done to bb when wheeling her ard.

tera,
hmmmm....true. my 2 nephews now seem more excited than my bb abt the jumperoo &amp; they keep hanging ard it &amp; playing wif my ger in it. then they now asking my SIL &amp; BIL y meimei ve such toys but they dun get tis when they were young. OMG!</font>

hi ariesann,
it's me looking for blender..

wat brand u bot?

<font color="blue">re: bf
i also intend to bf for as long as i can..target is @ least 6mths lah..but ss really miserable lor..

hey tera,
u got pix of the cloth book anot?? can post here??i wanna c leh..then can hv an idea how it looks like..@ least wont get the wrong thing mah.. only carrefour selling ah??any other place got sell anot??</font>

Crystal.. yalor me so heartache but he like dont feel anything n no bruises nor scratches, oso dun know how he fell, i suspect is crawl backward as till now he k only do a flip then stuck there.. but i am surprise tt he k crawl backward on sat, thanks god tt he is alright but will continue to keep a close monitoring till tonight which is 72 hours..

Zuen, i tried cereal at 4 month told by PD but he dont like.. so i only put a scoop to his last feed before zzz to thicken his milk. My PD says e easiest is give banana.. 5th k give fruits and 6th month porridge..

<font color="blue">hey sandra,
i also bought a phillip's blender..i bought it @ their warehouse sales the other time..cant remember the model liao..but i used it to prepare my apple puree..so far ok lah..</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Veniz, i find my ger start to imitate her childcare frenz. Just last week, my mil said her childcare teacher said my ger is very obedient but one thing not good is she like to snatch toy from oth kids. I was quite surprised at this, coz initial stage at childcare, we did secretly 'spot check' on her and what we saw is normally she'll pass the toy to oth kids or sit there and wait till oth kid finish playing only she go to take.

Then when i qn my ger, she said Corlina snatch from her and another boy. Then i had to explain to her she must told teacher , she cannot snatch from oth kid, but she qn me back 'why corlina can snatch?". Aiyo, really heahache!

I told my hubby good one nvr learn so quick ,but bad thing she learn so quickly.</font>

Crystal.. sometime really like to take chance but feel regretted when it really happens.. so do be careful lor.. but sometimes too tired oso makes u less cautious n alert leh..

Veniz and felicia.. mine once in a while will oso itch but at least past e hair grown period so not so bad..

<font color="ff0000">Last weekend tried to give pear puree to my gal...she just closed shut her lips....alamakkk..
think she don't like it

Veniz,
our girl is May'04 kid,
I think she's about your son's age.

For our #2, he cries a lot too,
recently I realize that he cry cause he's unable to express to us thru speech,
either we are too busy or not attentive to him.
It's easier to cool him down if I am able to look him in his eyes &amp; ask him to repeat his question.
Also he needs lots of hugs &amp; attention now,
may be due to birth of younger one.

You can try.

Felicia, yaya, imitation is one thing I dun like my son to do in sch. My son used to speak mostly in Mandarin, when he met pple who talk to him in english, he will follow suit. After he started his nursery class this yr, in early yr, I realized when we speak to him in english, he will reply in mandarin. Then, when probe him further, its actually his group, one of his peers influence him (he will always come back, bryan this and that, thus I know he is very close to this mandarin speaking Bryan). Even his form teacher told me that he will reply her english questions in mandarin. Thus, I am also teaching him to reply in proper language and manner.

Leng, do you find 04 kids mischevious? I do find my son is rather cheeky. Haiz, I will have to bear your advice, coz its not easy for me to take care of him and of younger one. Thanks for your advice, yours too, Crystal. Always forget this when I am angry with him.

<font color="aa00aa">Leng Leng/ veniz, i realised my #1 nowadays also always needs lots of hug. When i was surfing internet or read up some newspaper, she'll come to me and ask me to hug her or let her sit on my thigh.

Veniz, my ger oso likes to said 'corina this, corina tat'. Then we always told her she is unique, cannot always follow corina, she must have her own style.</font>

Veniz,
Cause they are born in the year of MONKEY!!!
hahaha...

feliciarosey,
"crying" for attention lor,
they know the little one is helpless &amp; need to be carried,
so snuggle in when the little one is off our hands.

<font color="aa00aa">ioio,
yar lor, ve to be more alert &amp; take less chances. will bear tis in mind...

veniz,
came across a saying somewhere (i forgot where liao) tat "mummies are angels in the making"....</font>

Leng/ Felica, haiz ya lar. Leng2, 'Monkey do' lar, too active liao. Felicia, I told my boy, dun get sway by his best friend, coz he has good things also, not everything has to be same as his best friend or copy him.

Crystal, I thought should be mummies are 'devils' in making? I thought nowadays we are the bad pple and daddies always the good pple?

it kinda saddens me a little when i c my hb as a playtime daddy. he hardly has time for our lil boy since he is so busy with work. but when he has time, it appears to me that he wans his own time to wind down n relax more than spending time taking care of the little one. i doubt he will ever be able to handle the bb without me around for 10 minute.

bleh
mine is half hands on.
cos he dun dare to bath my girl or wipe her poo poo. I love to see my hb's expression when he sees my girl poo poo. Like see ghost like that
kekeke

hi mummies, I'm from March 2009 MTB thread. Dropping by to share with you that Tollyjoy will be having a warehouse sale next week 21 - 23 Nov. Held at 29 Changi South St 1. 11 - 7pm.

Hi bleh...me in same situation as u..when i had my 1st boy...i did everitin myself..can u believe it..till my son is a year..he doesnt know how to make milk and don even know how many oz is he drinkg...hah..don even talk abt playin wif him..he rather watch soccer...i feel sad but as time goes by i oso sian oredi..cos talk untill saliva dry..no improvemt..

anyone have started feeding ur baby cereal. my boy now 5mths already .. thought of buying frisco rice ceral for him to try..

anyone using this. any recommendations

lengleng, u must b feeling so blessed and happy rite?! envy envy

star, my hb cleans his poo n bathes bb. but he is like rizty's hb, doesnt know how much milk to make, where his diapers are. but he will play with bb la. maybe he's too tired fm work? the thot of #2 not on mind oso partly cos of this. he seems to be - want to help/participate, but not given enough time/opportunity.

bleh,
Yup.

Give your hubby some time, more time...
Many hubbies have not handled BBs in their life,
so they are afraid of looking after them alone.
Especially when BBs cry, they do not know why...
As the BBs grow older, daddies will love to play with them more.

Bleh, my hb is half half for this #2. He will bath her if possible, clean her poo and feed her if I tell him to (very easy coz baby still on ebm. But soon, he will have to do the fm for her). Most time, he helps me settle my #1.

There was twice I went out, I arrange in the way whereby both kids were asleep when I was out. But when I got home, both woke up already. So I can only go out for a short period of time, not for long hours. If long hours, will bring 1 of the kids out with me.

crystal,
Able to share the "online" shop webby?

ioio,
Tat's wat I tot too. Other thsn banana, must be papaya liao. HB worried that bb will poo too much after all the high fiber fruits..

bleh,
My hb definitely more playmate. However, he has to take over when I express milk lah. Now that my girl is starting to recognise pple, he will pass my girl to me and say that my girl dun want him to carry/ feed/ rock her to sleep. Faint...

lengleng, maybe i'm just sour at the fact that he's always not around. by the time he got time for bb, it's only 1 pathetic sunday. n he gets too lethargic n tired by mid day that he prob just wan time for himself. i know he's trying hard at times la..

maybe there isnt a gd balance afterall.

veniz, do u feel 'trapped'? cos u cant get out for long? while the boys get to go out n not think abt a shit at home?

zuen, for me, i more worried abt him making the bb more awake when he's supposed to go to bed. if like that, even more tiring for me to put him to bed.

bleh..some men are jus too ignorant abt all tis tings la..u know at 1 time i so angry...we wantd to go out then i nd to get ready for bb..for myself..nd to pack bbs neccessties..so many tings to do..he oni get himself ready..then he scold me for being slow make our frens wait for us...wah i not octopus hv many hands mah...
wat to do hv to look at the brighter side lor...else u will feel bad and sad...
try talkin to him when he is in his best mood..maybe it helps...

<font color="aa00aa">veniz,
nah, both daddies &amp; mummies r angels lar. :p

bleh,
i think i wld consider mine as a hand-on daddy cos usually he is the one who shower bb, do nite feeds, make milk, clean her poo when i dun wan to do it sometimes &amp; play wif her too. when we go out, normally he is the one who wans to carry her, etc.

zuen,
u got PM, i cant seem to be able to post the site add here ley. keep giving me error saying the words are not allowed on tis discussion board. *puzzled*</font>

hi newdaddy..i was advice to let bb take the heinz rice cereal from 4mths onwards..cos tat one u can mix wif ur bbs milk...unless ur bb is taking friso milk..and friso cream oso taste sweet..better to let bb try the blend type..wifout taste..else next time bb will refuse the plain cereal..hope tis helps..

rizty, i voiced my concerns to him before. same like u, i machiam octopus, change for bb n myself n pack bb's bag. by the time all these done, i sweating like a pig again. it really got into me once n i flew a rage. things are better after that la. maybe i shd just get out n not work fm home anymore.

crystal is oso another blessed mummy!

lengleng, my hb doesnt come home until after 12am every nite. n he goes to work at 8am. sat oso full day work, only sunday left. ne rushing his projects now, so everyday OT.

<font color="aa00aa">Today topic is on hubby? hehe...
Mine consider as hand on daddy. Most of the things he'll do except bath and change cloths for my lil ger. He dare not do it cos he said baby is too soft, afraid accidentally 'drop' the baby. But he'll help to bath my #1 lah.
Frankly speaking i dont dare to let my hubby bath for my ger oso lor. hehe...

Actually we must one eye close and one eye open when need hubby's help on baby matters. I realised we tends to grumble or complain on how badly our hubby done, so in the end he just left it for us. Last time i used to complain on the way my hubby handle baby's thing, but now i learn to use soft approach. hehe...</font>

felicia, agree. i hv a problem abt being overly-sensitive to him. i shd learn to kan kai more... it's just kinda difficult to go thru the whole thing, technically speaking, on my own. when i was pregnant, he was also busy working. i had to go to my mum's hse so often, just in case anything shd happen and at least there are ppl ard me...

last time it was only me n me alone.. now, it's me n bb alone.... perhaps that's y i expected more fm him when he's physically at home...

HI,

i have also bot the soft book from babysoft. Looks nice and they deliver v fast, within 2 days i have received it.

My bb recent few days start to lose interest in milk. he only take 80-100ml per feed. dunno is it due to teething or bec he is ready to take solid food. at first i tot let him try when he is 6.5 mths or 7mths cos first 2 weeks i am on partial so tot need to exclusively bf for 6mths. but if he continue to lose interest maybe i have to start when he get to 6mths. he be turning 6mths end of this mth.

My hb bathe for my bb since maternity. I dare not bathe bb cos i am quite clumsy. If i alone take care of bb, i usu dun bathe him.

he also in charge to pat bb to sleep. but sometimes bb is sticky to me, want me to carry so i will take over.

my hb also sing songs to my bb, play and read books. cos we staying alone and no elders to help, so have to do everything ourselves.

bizz,
so sorry, was busy at work whole day. just managed to log in now and saw ur msg. hehe, bbcupid has posted for me.
but just in case u want an inside view...
1869129.jpg

1869130.jpg

felicia,
can try getting the jumperoo from this forum, saw a few mummies selling. helping my fren to look for one as well.

nowadays kids really very smart, esp the things they say, they really talk like an adult at times. sometimes, i hear my neice talking to lucas, really want to laugh cos sound so much like me talking to him, guess cos they like to imitate us adults.

newdaddy,
i just started my boy on heinz rice cereal yesterday. i mix it with a little bit of FM (u can also mix with water or BM) and feed him using spoon. the box will state how much to feed him gradually starting from day 1 to day 7 (eg 1 teaspoon on Day 1). hope this helps.

bleh,
can understand your frustration at feeling like u are the one taking care of bb alone. *hugz* i agree with ritzy, maybe u can have a talk with him on how u would like him to be more involved wth ur little one? maybe bathe him or something on sun? it's also good bonding for them. guess the tricky part is his work sounds very demanding at this point so kind of need to work around his schedule. since u mention it's project-based, maybe things will be better when it's non-peak period?

<font color="aa00aa">Tera, like crystal me oso very tempted to buy the jumperoo but hubby will not agreed lor. He was very concern on your flat space. This few weekend, i had been doing spring cleaning and throw most of unused thing. But hor, ended up the things i wanna throw, my mil want. *faint*
In another words, the things will be 'migrate' from singapore to malacca. haha.....
So, i was thinking maybe i'll rent, easier lor.</font>

morning gals...
me taking childsick today... going to bring my ger to the doc later... she has been coughing and having runny nose for a few days already. dunno whether can take her 5 mth jab or not. thankfully no fever.... sigh... she got it from my maid who fell sick last week. then over the weekend, i fell sick oso...

<font color="aa00aa">morning ladies!
todae is tuesday!
the sun is up,
bright &amp; shining,
it's time for work! :D

bleh,
ok lar, i think i cannot "hiam" liao. but like u, when going out time, i also machiam like octopus cos i m the oni one who do all the packing &amp; all those stuff.
agreed wif Felicia tat when hbs do things for bbs, we ve to close 1 eye lar. men strive on having their egos boosted, then they will wan to do more...LOL.

star,
wat happen? y suddenly hanhan has fever? is it due to teething?

soyabean,
oh dear, do take care.</font>