(2008/06) June 2008

Sorry mummies, back track abit. Regarding baby lotion & powder, I have been letting Athan use Gerber's Grins & Giggles Baby Lotion & Pureen Cornstarch & they work very well. Anyone using the same items??

Hi gers,
Moo mooing now. My ger woke up at 2am & refused to go back to sleep. Juz managed to coax her back to dreamlandz..

morning mummies
Wow, realised alot of mummies here dun sleep at nite and wake up early in morning

Mag, glad to hear athan is so much better now. Dun blame yourself for his fall anymore

hi zuen, wow moo-mooing so late at nite... so envious you still have ss, me stop bf totally le

Hi gers,
Good morning.. I feel like a zombie..

Roxy,
I still try to wake up once a night to express bcos I go to bed earlier. My bb tends to sleep at 8+ or 9+ and I will go to bed at about 10pm. So my last express is about 8 or 9+pm. If I dun wake up to express in the night, I think I will explode! Haha. Then can dreamfeed my ger at the same time. Actually, I think I might be stopping soon. I shiver at the tot of engorgement...
Any mummy noes how to stop huh?

janiviy,
my gal also used to reject milk. I've changed her feed pattern when i take care of her myself.. Instead of normal 3hr feed, i gave her every 4hr.. and it's great!

She finished all, with 2-3 sessions (stop for 5mins in bet), no struggle.. She happy, I happy too...

You might want to try.

thanks for all the advise on the taking care of V-area.. ya, my water intake is minimum.. too busy at work le..
will try to drink more water.

Was on child-care leave ydd, bought my girl to meet my sis (back fm Cambodnia-outstation). We'd buffet lunch at Cafebiz (Trader's Hotel).. Food, environment and service are really GOOD!! Thumbs up!

We pay using DBS cc and it's a 1-for-1 buffet, so the bill came to us is only $41.20. Really very worth it. Maybe we can have our next gathering there..

I'll be clearing my ML for the next 2 wks.. and will be gg to Bali (bb not gg) for 1 wk..

Hehe, super excited cos no need to work... Yahoo!!

good morning!

re: routine
my baby also doesn't have a routine. We tried but failed

My baby's like Cactus'. There is a sequence that we do things but no timing. for eg, after wake up will be drink milk, read book, play then sleep. but what time he sleeps again depends on what time he woke up in the 1st place. his morning nap usually starts bet 8 to 9am but sometimes he sleeps 45 min, sometimes 2 hours,

tinyfeet, Re: your bb's constipation

Matthew didn't poo for 3 days about 7 weeks ago. We were worried because it was the 4th day and he was completely breast fed but no poo. In the end, doctor gave Lactoluse (2.5ml) and 6 hours later, alot of poo - very soft poo. We were advised that breast fed bbs dun get constipated and if occassionally the poo pattern changes, it's okay. In Matthew's case, it was the one-off change in stool pattern cos his poo was very very soft.Therefore, not constipated. If your bb is breast fed, don't worry. It could be the occassional odd poo pattern. If you are worried, you can give over the counter Lactoluse (2.5ml per dose for baby). baby should poo in half a day. If yours is formula fed baby, lactoluse may help also. Lactoluse helps to soften the stool. I think it's important to differentiate change in stool pattern and constipation. I was very confused back then. Change in stool pattern if one off, is okay. No need to worry. But if constipation, then add fruit/fruit juice if giving more than milk now, or give lactoluse.

<font color="blue">morn ladies,
so long nvr come in liao..real bz.. ask u all ah..r any of u still interested in ordering pars for ur pumps?? i forgot to buy extra for my funnel the other time..thinking of getting extras now cos mine fell to the floor n crack liao.. so if u all r interested then i will organise a BP to buy online lor..</font>

morning!

warrior_angel,
wow, the buffet at cafebiz sounds good, thanks for sharing. enjoy ur Bali trip!

roxy,
One more day and u will be back, holding Isaiah! Hang in there!

mag,
glad to hear your baby's back to his usual self.
i'm also giving my boy the teething gel, seems to be pretty effective. guess cos it numbs their gums temporarily and soothe the discomfort.

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="27aafd">hi mag.. where is cheong choon ah? u got from OG chinatown? i went OG albert dun hv.. </font></font>

<font color="blue">cactus,
paisay..type wrongly..it's "parts"..hehe..

hey tera,
so long nvr c u online leh..welcome back to the forum..

bizznow,
yah lor, not really convenient to come online during work cos of my boss - change was effective after my ML. how's ur little one doing?

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="27aafd">roxy, u stay so long in Japan ah? i wonder whether i could tahan not seeing my bb for one day.. sticky mummy.. haha..

mag.. ha ha.. ur husband like mine..

janiviy, wats wrong w ur ger ger?

warrior angel, u gg to bali with BB? i also desperate for holiday ;p</font></font>

Tinyfeet, after the visit to PD on Tues, his 5days worth of poo came out. Wed no poo. yesterday poo a little. Maid say she made papaya juice and gave him a little yesterday. Will monitor if today got poo or not. I very worried lei...last time everyday poo in the morning. Thou PD says its' common for bf bb to have this kind of pattern once in awhile... unless by 8th day still nvr poo, then must go put fluid into pipi but still... I won't intro cereal till his poopoo thing is better.

Cactus, thanks for the tips on Lactoluse.

Mag, no wonder my bb abit siao siao at nite. There was once at night, he cried for milk. I latch him on the bed lying down. he suck then let go, suck then let go until I pek chey...thinking he is not hungry &amp; wants to be carried to sleep cos usually he will just latch when hungry. Carry him then he kept crying and very angry, pull hair, pull ear, hands waving wildly...until very jia lat. until i don noe what to do. Then i try to latch him sitting up, then he guai guai start to drink until full then sleep. I was thinking WTH man... 1st time he like tat. got difficulty drinking milk thru latching. Now at least I understand liao...bbies at this stage might be like this. GOSH!

I totally understand what u feel. Family members sometimes feel that bb cranky is due to some stupid reasons which are actually invalid and mostly due to their inability to observe baby's needs!

tailwhack, I like bumbo cos I can put bb in it securely and play with him opposite him. Without bumbo, I would need to carry him facing me, then I have no hands to play with him and pass him toys (when he is seated up). When I place him in baby high chair, infant car seat, bouncer which is angled very upright or the stroller, he tends to slide from side to side, or downwards. He is more secure in the bumbo. I'm not sure, however, if it helps him sit up well though.

bleh, don't worry gal. it's happened to Matthew before.important is to monitor milk intake over 7 days, take a 24 hour average. If your bb no fever, still pee alot, it's okay.

mylittleprince, yes! The pd said it's common for breastfed bb to change stool pattern. something about their guts changing in balance so they start developing their own pattern. bbs are not expected to poo every day. Last time, Matthew would poo a few times every day (little poo) - when he was a few weeks old. but now, sometimes, poo alot every day, or at most by day 4 will poo mega.

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="27aafd">tailwhack... jux to share.. cos bumbo has good support for bb situp, i was looking for it.. bb cant be lying on bed or carrying all the time, thus i m looking for a bumbo as too early to put him on walker and he doesnt really like bouncer..

mylittleprince.. totally agree on last part.. when my bb cry, she will staright away say.. looking for mummy or got "frightened".. nv think one...

bleh.. wat wrong w BB, tired of milk? did u give plain water? no worries about BB not drinking, i got a niece who since young dun drink milk.. not even soya milk. she jut drink plain water and still can survive through.. </font></font>

bb just managed to drink 80ml... gosh i'm so relieved!

ioio, i dunno leh.. i think it's cos of his teething. he looks sian sian nuah nuah today. ya i'm giving him loads of water to drink lor. just now shower for him, saw a lot of red patches on his body, like v heaty like that.

tailwhack, i think bumbo is gd. but if ur bb wuite chubby, maybe cannot fit in leh. saw the posts fm all the other mommies, who said the thigh area is always the barrier.

ioio, worst case is they will try to stimulate an already over-stimulated bb and bb will just cry louder then it's down to bb being NAUGHTY... haiz... usually i will see that then carry bb to room to calm him down.

tailwhack, you can get bumbo from Taka and Isetan Scotts. Kiddy Palance and Toys R Us doesn't have Bumbo but they have another brand, very similar to bumbo. cannot remember what the brand is called thought. Bebepods or something like that... :p I didn't buy bumbo. I rented it cos my boy's legs grew too fat for it.. haha!

kye, I bought Monet Hi-Lo chair. Monet is the name of the design. It is Britax. GOt it from Robinsons during a sale at $199. normal is $299. I love it cos it has 2 trays, one fitted over the other. Has 4 wheels which are fully rotatable. 6 levels up and down. trays can be totally removed. a place for bb to place his feet which can be folded behind and under the chair. and the chair can be reclined 4 angles backwards . It also comes with a 5 point safety harness and feels very comfortable!

sigh... it doesnt help when hb is working all day long. i haven gone home for the past 2 days. cos hb working fm 8am to 5am. wans him to get absolute rest w/o bb waking him.

so many things to say... but no time.. doesnt even see him.. and it seems like the schedule will be such for the next mth or so. i'm a married woman without a husband...

nah... my baby is quite small. she's only about 5kg now so i don't think size will be a problem.

but what happens when they outgrow it. and where can i get a bumboo?

thanks Cactus!

My baby can't sit very well yet. needs support, unsupported only few seconds. is it safe to put him in the high chair now?

tailwhack, if I remember correctly, bumbo is meant for bbs 3 months onwards to 15 or 18 months old. as long as bb has rather good neck control, can put into bumbo already. Erm, bbs tend to put on alot of fat around the legs about 4 to 8 months. when they start to crawl, they tend to lose that fat. it's this "leg fat" that mommies are complaining about.

wahh
he's in a high chair already?? he can sit up there on his own?? i see he's securely strapped in as well.

is this better than bumboo? i always thought high chair would come when they're fed with solids.

kye, I sometimes put Matthew into a high chair. He can sit quite well with support now. but I always make it a point to strap him down to the chair. for safety. He loves being in the chair cos it's high and gives him a differnet view of things.

calling for shern once.. calling for shern twice.. lol..

shern, u ordered the California Bb products for us rite? r u the one? kekeke..

Sian... I no mood to work. Just receive a call from HB saying that bb got running nose. But when I leave house at 9am she was ok. Dunno what happen. I can't take leave somemore. Got to worry till 8pm then can see her.

<font color="aa00aa">MLP, no worry on BF baby no poo. Mine oso nvr poo for 2-3days once a while. But once she poo, will be a lot. Normally is my MIL more anxious than me if no poo. Everytime i back fr office, my mil will told me ' today 2nd day no poo leh!'. Then my usual reply is ' no worry, BF baby is like tat. PD said so oso!' hehe....

Then if my baby finally poo, my mil will told me 'mei mei finally poo today liao and a lot a lot till dirtied her cloths.' Then my reply is 'oh.. then good lah, poo liao!'

Sometime i find the statement was so 'routine' lor, but my mil nvr failed worrying about bb no poo.</font>

Felicia, your MIL so cute! Yes, my parents also worry if bb never poo cos they will auto think of constipation, that bb "xin ku". But when the poo comes out all soft soft, then they know it is not constipation.. hee! And yes, they are very very happy when alot of poo comes out.

sigh i guess all parents are like that.

there's always something for them to say, and its usually the same thing over and over again, everyday.

my mum was constantly at me when the baby kept spitting up. SIGHSSSSSSS

ok i am most definitely going to get the bumboo cos Sarah is really still not sitting up on her own. she can only sit up when propped. but stil sometimes slumps to one side, and she'll cry when that happens

need to "train" her muscles and you're right. if she's sitting up, i can sit across her, and interact with her. very hard to carry her, and try to play with her, and show her things, and talk to her

<font color="blue">hey cactus and tailwhack.. kiddy palace got sell bumbo seat with the tray..i think now promo they selling @ $79 or something like dat..i saw it in century square branch on tues.. but i bought mine @ mothercare in tamp mall cos i've got a $50 voucher..they are selling it for $69.90 without the tray..if want to hv the tray need to pay $17.90.. </font>