(2008/06) June 2008

I also want to give my bb breast milk till at least 6 months (thereafter, milk + semi solids). I think if our bbs are very hungry, they will drink no matter what. We just need to be patient and just carry them when they fuss until they are prepared to drink milk. In my case, I have to coax my baby for an hour before he will drink... the problem started when he started sucking his thumbs alot.

hi shern,
thks for the details..

currently using Pigeon wide neck. As for the evenflo glass bottle.. hmm, i tot glass will retain heat better than plastic. Can enlighted when u say "milk will warm up/ cool down fast in glass bottle" Thanks Thanks..

Does it mean that all wide neck teats cannot fit those bottles u've mentioned?? hmm, I already bought several pigeon M wide neck teats..

tailwhack, to add, I brought my baby to see the pd because of refusal to drink milk. The pd said to monitor the milk intake over 24 hours, over 7 days. It should be our bb's weight multiplied by 150ml per 24 hours. Take the 7-day average. If it drops, check to see if bb's weight dropped also. If both drop, go back to see pd esp if bb is very tired, sleepy, little urine. Poo doesn't count. So far, my bb's weight has been increasing at 1kg/month despite little milk intake so I'm not that worried. he is supposed to drink 1170ml/24 hours now but he drinks 800ml+ on some days. On other days, he drinks up to 1290ml. He is just fussy generally most of the time.

tera & Fei,

i bought teethers from Pigeon (i think). but i nv put inside fridge. i just give it to him to bite on. maybe i try later. thx much!!!

seems like similac bbs all v heavy hor? i giving my boy mamil.. maybe not so gd? tho most PDs tell me most formulas are essentially the same. what's ur take?

Re: switching to stage 2 FM

My friend suggested to buy a few 400gm tins to try out first.. If bb can finish abt 5-6 tins of the 400gm, then will be alright to buy bigger tins.. means tt the stage 2 is suitable.

If bb rejects, even after 1st tin, it'll not be wasted as u can sell/exchange the balance 400gm tins of FM with other brands..

Hope this can help to save some $$

Tera,
yes, its manufacture , Holland that side prob lor..really bery terrible lor, my poor ger kept on crying for milk lor, cried 1 whle hr, sweat, scream tears...was so sad and worried lor until we tried the FM ourselves..then next day, i called friso complain til max, then they no choice came to change for me..hee

tailwhack, i can't help but laugh wen i read wat the PD nurse say...she shld be giving more concrete answers leh. like wat cactus say, food affects bm taste, some bbs dun like if mom takes spicy food. other reasons; teething, weaning (unlikely), colic, flow of milk (new teat size?), discomfort (too warm/cold)

i'm also waiting till my boy turns 6mths b4 giving solids..

warrior, yup, glass retains heat better, i meant wen i store in fridge it cools faster than those kept in plastic bottle & wen warming it up, it heats up faster as well. cos glass more conductive i guess. was using wide-neck pigeon too so had to switch all but i din buy extra teats

thanks for all the tips.

Her weight is still good, but not fantastic. About 600-800g every month. She's never hit the 1kg a month rate. Her weight now is only about 5kgs!!

bleh,
my gal on similac but not heavy ley..

gg to 5 mths on 3 Nov, weighing 7kg and 70cm.. (i think)

she's only take 150ml each time, 6 times a day (didn't finished everything though).. 1 time of Heniz cereal (1 scoop of similac spoon) in the afternoon..

dunno where all these go to...

tailwhack, the pd told me our bbs are expected to double their birthweight about 5 to 6 months. If you are concerned you can check with your bb's pd. If not, you can use the formula (volume of milk) which I posted earlier. Use it as a threshold before you go to a pd?

warrior,

i said that cos most similac bbs ard me, all chubby chubby... my boy is the only lanky skinny one. he's 4.5mths now, at 67cm, 6.5kg.

last couple of days no appetite for milk somemore. got me so worried. he's drinking only 120-140ml each time, abt 5-6 feeds. including 1 feed mixed with heinz/frisocrem cereal. my MIL oso gives him brown rice at times...

still only 6.5kg... hahaha but i will only start giving purees n solids after he turns 6mths. i see other mummies all so hardworking, making purees for their little ones liao.. i oso paiseh to make any contributions to the chat.. hahahah

warrior,

i said that cos most similac bbs ard me, all chubby chubby... my boy is the only lanky skinny one. he's 4.5mths now, at 67cm, 6.5kg.

last couple of days no appetite for milk somemore. got me so worried. he's drinking only 120-140ml each time, abt 5-6 feeds. including 1 feed mixed with heinz/frisocrem cereal. my MIL oso gives him brown rice at times...

still only 6.5kg... hahaha but i will only start giving purees n solids after he turns 6mths. i see other mummies all so hardworking, making purees for their little ones liao.. i oso paiseh to make any contributions to the chat.. hahahah

PD is not worried about her weight gain. Baby was 1.66kg when born as i had pre-eclampsia. She's more than doubled her birthweight now, technically

we use a lot of patience to feed her. takes her about an hour to finish 130ml of milk. and usually by then , she'll refuse any more even though we try to feed her 150ml.

bleh,
oh issit.. my boy on similac.. 7.5kg 66cm when close to 4mths.. now duno liao..

my boy has doubled his weight liao lor.. can sit n hold his head well.. so i tink he more or less ready for solid.. giving him a try this wkend.. kekeke..

tailwhack, I guess if your pd is not concerned, then it's okay. I understnad how you feel cos sometimes I feel like that too. My boy is very very fussy cos he is obviously hungry but refuses milk. So I just carry him or when I'm at work, the maid just carries him and pacify him until he is prepared to dirnk or until he falls asleep...of course, we constantly try to feed him milk but no force feeding.

bleh,
no prob...u try later lor...One of my fren told me can out the teething gel in the fridge too, but i haven try leh..scare too cold for my ger wor..I feel all FM e same de..it depends on bb himself/herslf lor..Also heard that bb taking NAN or S26 will put on weight bery fast de...

bleh,
u are not alone. i also paiseh, have not made any purees yet, hehe.
but i intend to give solids only at 6 mths cos pd advised me to wait.

feifei,
haha, u must have given the friso ppl a good blasting for making charlotte so hungry!

Tera,
hehe..I just demanded an answer lor, ask them is it they sell "cheong" FM..hehe..then the manager got worried..keke...so heartpain to see my ger cry leh..kelian lor..even my FIL and MIL also like got tears in their eyes..

janiviy, can use standard size pigeon teat for gerber but wen cover the bottle, the teat will be bent to 1 side cos cover short & teat too long, so far the teat still remains same shape

bleh, our boys same pattern then, mine 67cm 6.58kg hehe

tailwhack, usu gotta compare ur bb's birth weight to current weight; ie the increase in weight then more accurate. so far ur bb's weight gain quite constant

someone told me that a lot of formula milk contains palm oil so means there's a lot of transfat in the milk

so far it seems similac is the one without the transfat.

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">Kidnap!! jux happened..

my mum received a call threatened to kill the children if she don't give them money..
it starts with:
background: a child being beat up and cry..
kidnapper: your child is with me, if you dont bring money to ransom..we will kill her today.
kidnapper: how much money you have in the bank
mum: a few ks
kidnapper: how much money you have at home?
mum: few hundreds
kidnapper: do you have a handphone?
mum: no, I am a old lady
kidnapper: quickly go and get one, I will call you back in a few minutes time
mum: i walk very slow and it takes at least half an hour to get to the place where it sell handphone.
kidnapper: quickly go and get, i will call you back
my mum quickly call my sis and they call up my nieces to find up that they are safe in school and my sis rush to my mum's place and picked up the call and pretend to be my mum when the kidnapper call again..</font></font>

bleh,
think yr boy and my gal sama sama... skinny skinny.. but my hb n I big-size one leh.. haizz

i dun dare to give brown rice, cos heinz cereal already very heaty.. her poo poo is hard hard one..

the friso ppl have been calling me, wanting to send me samples also. i dunno if i wanna try. take first then see how.

is it due to teething that my boy not sleeping soundly at nite? he kept wriggling about. he used to b able to slp very well.

wah sai.. these ppl.. more n more common lor.. recently my frend's salesgirl (parttime student) her mum oso kanan con.. said her dotter with her.. and so qiao this salesgirl hp dead.. cant get her.. den her mum panic! and trfs 5ks.. haiz..

<font color="aa00aa">ioio, such 'kidnap' call have been actively happened recently. Just last week, we saw it was in news and we quickly told my mil if she rec' such call, dont panick, call either me or hubby 1st.</font>

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">make already..

luckily my mum quite alert as hear a lot of these cases..

my sis conversation with the kidnapper:
kidnapper: have you got the handphone?
sis: yes, how many hp u want?
kidnapper: x##x##! i want your hp for what... x##x##! if you don't give me the money, i will kill your children..
sis: how many children is with you?
kidnapper: one
sis: what? i am not married, where got kids?
kidnapper: silent...</font></font>

warrior, my son's poo hor, v watery one... so i give him everything. hahha

i'm petite but my hb tall. so he seems to hv a fair balance of our genes? hahaha

shern, ur boy not same as mine la.. if my boy got 7kg hor, then i'm not so concerned liao.

fei, now u make me think twice abt friso... hmmmmm better stick to mamil then.

shycloud

i just bought the BPA bottles n the girl at kiddypalace told me got sealing disc (like nuk ones)

bluff me one lah!!

i bought the BPA free ones and also glass bottles (for soaking my expressed milk in hot water to warm up purpose) all dun ve disc one!

pigeon dun ve such sealing disc thingy..only nuk

but my medela pump cap and sealing disc does fit.

and my hubby bought like 2 big packets of caps with sealing disc (dark pink in colour) from gleneagles when the lactation consultant gave me a big bag of glass bottles (with no caps) for storing milk.

i intend to use the those small bottles to freeze up expressed milk n mix to baby food next time when she goes on solid..coz then i would defrost in some amounts...

if u just need 1 or 2, i can give the caps n sealing disc for u...

if not , i hope to sell them off in tens...they all all brand new.. my kiasu hubby bought 2 big packs!!!

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">so scary.. no matter how much one hear about these cases, if received these type of calls will def panic and dun noe what to do...

the kidnapper is a china man, really wonder is singapore still safe with so many new immigrant.. i am not biase but it's like... haiz </font></font>

ok..i will try to apply online..

ironically, i hope i can change my baby passport and pay that $70 coz she dun look very chio now!!

so if change photo maybe becoz she grew to be more chio...whahahhaha

shycloud,
alot ppl say my girl very heavy/chubby then ask what i feed her. So they say NAN is very fattening. 3wks back weight her is 8.5kg. Now dunno how much. at that time she was about 4mth 2wks.

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">any mummies collecting the swimming tub and float this sat from sg mambo?

sharon.. my nephew is super heavy when he's 3 month old taking NAN.. over 10kg if i dint remember wrongly....</font></font>

shycloud.

yes, it can..but of course not the wide neck bottles lah

its the same size as the medela yellow bottles for breast pump

tailwhack,
I oso got pre-eclampsia. Bb pre-matured somemore, came out at 35 week, only 1.89kg. Ur bb full-term?

Tinyfeet,
Me too. My girl got roti prata face on her ppt photo. Haha.

ouch! kekeke.. my poor boy's last toe oso injured.. haiz.. but its becos of his own doing.. he sat on the flr and kick n rub his legs against the flring.. so abrasion and skin peeled.. he soon can sit on his own.. nw wif half supporting.. he likes to sit wif body leaning forward wif his palms on the flr..

evening ladies!

today so busy.

ioio,
the same thing also happen to me today.

my mil called my hubby in the afternoon, shivering in fear. she received a phone call from a 'kidnapper'. background still got sound shouting 'mum, help me'. my mil was stunned. then the kidnapper asked for a lot of $, but my mil say she got only $5k. and the kidnapper say will get someone to come and collect $. heng she quickly call all her sons to make sure all are ok.

now my hubby accompany her to make police report.

horrible leh. quite scary.... nearly scared the wits our of my mil....