(2008/06) June 2008

ladies, i also lower spine pain. think it becos i tend to lean abit backwards when rocking bb to sleep when carrying him in vertical position. press down will pain...after realisation, i try not to lean backwards.

Over the wkend, I realised I became SHORTER. II used to be 2cm taller than my sis. last wkend happened to walk side by side then realised I'm SHORTER than her in an obvious way! GOSH! i asked hb, he also agreed i'm shorter. anyone experiencing tis as well? don noe why become like tat...

Bleh,
I agreed with Tera lor..cos now i also put some teehters in the fridge, then evening time after applying the gel, will let my ger bite awhile..

Tera,
hee..no prob...Ya lor, hv to teach them cos they duno lor...Now i teaching my ger how to hold thsoe small plastic balls and flip pages of clothbooks..hee

gd afternoon mummies!

my head still feels sooo heavy..
wondering if i shd see another doc cos blowing/ coughing out green mucous/phlegm..

Re change of milk bottles
oohh, didnt know gotta change them every 4 mths.. better tell my hubby abt it. also noticed some minor scratches on the bottles..
mummies, any idea on the cost of bpa free avent milk bottle?

re IL issues
kye,
maybe ur hubby shd hv a talk wif his mum bah.. being the son, shd be able to better handle his own mum?..
for me, i stay with my ILs. sometimes if i find it difficult to put message across to them, i'll get my hubby to do it. then my MIL will say that i dun treat her as zi4 ji3 ren2, why must ask her son to pass message. now i'm learning to speak up loh, let them know my tots n feelings, but will remind myself to say it in a nice tone lah..

*Sigh* i lament "jia1 jia1 you2 ben3 nan2 nian4 de1 jing1" bah

lika,
u mean thermal wear? U can get frm kiddy palace..

MLP,
Shorter??hmm...how come wor..actually I din weight myself nor take my height after delivery leh...cos scare to know e truth..hee

Lika,
i just brought my gal for a swim on Sun.. Water is cold.. but have to let her get used to it..

DUN let bb in water too quickly.. Slowly, slowly scoop some water on bb's feet, tell her tt bb's now at the swimming pool. Then scoop more to upper parts of body.. have to be very very patient..

My gal is splashing water in her bathtub (warm water) but when she's at the pool, she became STONED (hahaha)... then we introduced her slowly.. then when she's much ok, we put the neck float BUT our hands are still under her armpit. Until she finally can smiled a bit, we slowly slowly released her..

She's still scared (dun think she enjoyed) but at least she didn't cry out loud or fussy..

Remember tt we're just trying to introduce new things to bb... so must be very very very patient n slow...

MLP, maybe it is your posture? I dun think we will shrink at this age... or maybe your sister's posture improved?

Sandra, one box of 3 260ml Avent milk bottles, with teat number 2 Airflex teats is selling about $28. Forget the actual price cos also forget whether I bought during a sale.

Sandra, green phlegm means have infection. Will need a few days to clear. how many days has it been? U still having fever huh?

feifei, I ONLY dare to weigh myself like 3 wks after delivery. U veri jia lat lei... still don dare to weigh? i didn't take my height. just tt my sis and hb around my height..so quite obvious lor. haiz... don noe if it's due to more hunch-backed now or lack of calcium or wat? so asking mummies here. see if i'm the onli one encountering tis.

Warrior angel, how many mths is ur bb?? i also excited to bring my little one go swimming.

<font color="aa00aa">MLP, so far i hvnt measure my height, but hor i got a frenz whom told me the same thing leh. It oso happened after she give birth. She told me she did asked her gynae and she was been told coz lack of calcium and the spine/bone area, 'something' is missing causing she too be shorter. Hope you can understand wat i'm trying to explain coz got some very 'chim' wording tat cannot remember liao. hehe...</font>

<font color="aa00aa">cactus, are you sure the Avent bottle you bought is BPA free? From Sin or oversea? Coz so far i know Singapore side hvnt import in the Avent BPA free bottle leh. My friend is working in Philips, she told me the current stock they have is still non BPA free leh.</font>

felicia, haha...kinda get it. i also suspect calcium loss... jia lat...think cos still bf somemore...lagi jia lat. later become shorter n shorter. will try to drink more more milk....

Felicia, I thought the Avent bottles I bought is BPA free. Hmm.... I actually bought them in a rush when my baby was about 2 months old cos I was desperate for a good anti-colic teat/bottle system and I was recommended Avent. So I just went ahead to buy. I'll go home to check on the box!

Sorry! Wrong info! I just called Mothercare (where I bought the Avent bottles last time). They confirmed that Avent bottles are not BPA free. Sorry for the wrong info, Shycloud. but Medela bottles are definately BPA free!

MLP,
been unwell since sat nite, then sun turn full blown.. till now loh.. but i dun hv any fever leh, just head very heavy n runny nose..
i still proceed to bf my gal leh, shd be fine rite? other than feeding time, i dun go near her, scared pass virus to her.. then if touch her already, will use wipes to clean her, epsecially her hands cos she like to lick her "drumsticks"

Felicia,
so not possible to buy bpa free avent bottles in s'pore? where to get it then or do u know when they will bring in to s'pore?

Felicia, that time I blur blur buy Avent cos very very desperate to stop my son's colic. So changed his bottles to Airflex cos mothercare told me it's the only clinically proven to reduce colic (again, not sure if true...). That time, lack of sleep, very stressed, etc.... :p

<font color="aa00aa">MLP, i'm quite worry oso loh, coz i'm not tall leh. At least u r taller than me leh.

My calcium pills finish about 2 weeks ago, but till now hvnt go to buy.</font>

feifei,

potty train - 1 year plus.

MLP,

start with cereal is good bec its plain then bb will take plain food in future. dun start with fruit puree first.

can start with cereal then veg puree, then fruit puree.

MlP,
paiseh. I forgot the price liao. But hor..any blender will do lah.

Feifei,
You changing to Stage 2 milk so fast? Tot Friso 1 is for 0-6 months???

sandra, some of the mommies are conducting overseas spree for bpa free avent, u can check with them if still have:
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/590029/1753473.html?1224560986
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/590029/1689997.html?1224768571

warrior,

bpa-free bottles my boy is using:
gerber- light &amp; plastic is quite soft ie using L pigeon teat, if i squeeze the bottle, the milk comes out in a stream (so i dun grab teh bottle tightly), for those with color tints, it make it bit difficult to read the marking if eyesight poor

evenflo plastic- plastic bit more hard then gerber, for those with color tints, it make it bit difficult to read the marking if eyesight poor

evenflo glass bottle- supposedly non-shatter proof, find it heavy but milk will warm up/ cool down fast in glass bottle

basically i will still use all 3 brands cos it's bpa free &amp; cheap to replace. avent teat cannot be used with all these cos avent is wide-neck

mlp, quick drink more milk, must maintain calcium level or next time get osteoporosis

feifei,
ya lor.. y u change frm stage 1 to 2 so fast.. for friso stage 1 is 0-6mths and stage 2 is 7mth onwards leh.. a lady frm friso called me said she will send me a sample of stage 2 in late nov.. giving them 1 more chance to try if my boy ok wif friso.. kekeke..

i haf frends experience tat their kids drink x brand in stage 1 but reject in stage 2.. nd to change brand.. so doesnt mean stage 1 ok wif x brand stage 2 will be ok..

<font color="aa00aa">ladies, copy below statement from babycenter.</font>

<font color="0077aa">#If the hair loss doesn't seem to be slowing and you're still losing lots of hair six or so months after delivery, check in with a dermatologist or your healthcare provider. It may be a sign that you're low on iron, which is not entirely uncommon for new moms.#</font>

cactus,

avent is not BPA free, at least those sold in singapore is not. only avent via cup is BPA free. But avent has started making BPA free bottles but they are currently not in singapore market yet, from wat i know.

Brands tat are BPA free include evenflow, breastfree, medela. Pigeon only the storage bottles and sippy cup is BPA free, some milk bottles are not.

ioio,

Just look at the bottle package. if says polyproylene: it means BPA free. If says polycarbonate, means got BPA (i.e. not ok).

cactus,

saw yr query to crystal. for me, after i go back to work, in the morn i will fetch bb to MIL house, then me and hb park car at MIL house and take train to work. Then after work, take train back to MIL house then drive bb back using the car. On weekends, we drive the car out with bb for short dinner.

in office i pump 3 times then pack the milk and put at MIL house when i go fetch bb.

MLP,
ya lor, cos my tummy still big..hiaz..hmm..mayb u shd try to take in more calcium...

Ellysia,
tks ger... =)..

shern,felicia,
Meaning now those Avent bottles which we are using here is not BPA free? hmm...

Janiviy,
its til 6mths lor, so means 6mths then hv to switch lor..so have to start at 5and half mth to mix and let her get used to it..

feifei,
till 6mths for friso means whole of 6 mths.. cos their stage 2 is 7mths above but for similac their stage 2 is 6mths to 12mths.. so can start the moment go into 6mths..

and oso you might wish to get sample for stage 2.. jus in case..i got sample for similac stage 2 n friso stage 2.. and nestle cereals frm 6mths onwards.. my pd gave me many...

<font color="aa00aa">feifei, yalah is not BPA free. Just now i was thinking if BPA free bottle need to change after 4 to 6mths, then non BPA Free leh? 2 to 3mths need to change????</font>
kao_confused.gif

felicia,
yah, lucas is big-size or like my parents like to say, big cc car, hehe. now carry a while, my left hand will start to ache already. :p thanks for the info on hair loss.
i'm still losing quite a bit of hair. seems like i need to up my iron intake.

btw, u know i was telling u about my memory being bad, it's really very bad leh. i actually left my wallet behind on top of a bread counter while getting bread during lunch just now.
and i only realised i din have my wallet like 30 min after that. luckily, the cafe staff found it and kept it.

babycupid,
wat formula is ur baby taking now? sorry, not sure if u mention before. i also got the call from the lady regarding receiving friso stage 2 in nov.

re changing of bottles
sorry a bit lost here, we must change the milk bottles every 3 to 4 mths is it?

tera,
my bb is taking similac now.. intially i gave him friso but constipation lor.. so change to similac.. so when the lady frm friso called ar.. i told her tat.. den she said oh issit? funny.. cos friso not so thick n heaty shldnt be.. similac is thick.. den i said duno oso.. my bb has expensive stomach.. haha.. so she said y not u try stage 2.. den i ok lor.. since sample (foc) + cheaper if my bb really ok wif it..

Re: baby passport
I apply last week and collect it yesterday. I apply via internet paying by credit card. Waited 3 days and got their reply via email but my bb photo was rejected. So can choose to resubmit photo or go down to submit and have to wait 1hr for the passport to be ready. They will mail a pink card of collection passport.

So I choose to go down take photo as don't want to wait another 3 days. So went down and waiting time is only for the photo taking and passport to be ready.

I also informed that if time pass and bb don't look like photo on passport, we have to change the whole passport. Got to pay $70 or $80 again. Child have to have their own passport. No longer be in mummies passport.

Felicia,

Yest news say BPA free bottles also need to change every 4-6mths. I guess its generally bah.

So we shd take in more iron? i also loosing hair.

babycupid,
oic.
ya, ur boy has expensive taste leh! hee. for my case, my boy has been taking friso for quite a while.

For baby cereal, can we cook ourselves?? anyone know how to prepare?

Also, wat is the difference btw organic and normal one?

babycupid,
I see...so now i hv to decide whether wan to change to similac stage 2 anot..

Wow, ur PD bery good leh...Wonder if Dr Allyson will give me samples next mth when I bring my ger for her jab..

felicia,
dats y lor..i also blur..

All,
Anyone wants to organise a spree to buy Avent BPA free bottles? Guess there will be a few ladies interested de...I nv organise before so duno how to go abt it lor..

Tera,
hi-five..my ger also been taking Friso all e while..onli that time friso FM was too bubbly and too dilute, then i complain, they change for me asap...

tera, ya lor.. wat to do.. haiz.. super ex lor.. close to 10bucks difference leh.. haiz..

feifei,
oh did u sign up for oscar? if yes, i tink we fill up some forms.. one of it is friso.. u can oso request frm ur pd.. the nurses.. the one i went they have all brands of samples de.. kekeke..

changing bottles
to change once u notice a lot of scratches usu 3-4mths

wrist pain
i oso think it's really due to bb's weight + carrying method

feifei,

some sprees selling BPA free bottles in the overseas spree topic.

I bot the tommie tipee BPA free bottle for my bb. Also got a nuby BPA free bottle 210ml for future use from robinsons.

feifei,
high-5! haha, i also have the same problem with the bubbles. very hard to see if the milk is finished already or not, right??

i am keen on getting BPA free Avent bottles! like babycupid mentioned, now i will not buy that many since need to change every 3-4 mths.

shern,
thanks for the advise on changing bottles.

Babycupid,
i did lor..rem i filled in lots of forms..hee..

Ellysia,
ya lor..but cos my ger used to avent teats leh, scare if change brand, duno if she can accept anot lot..

tera,
yes, u go home check if the manufacture date is 08/05/2008 cos this batch of FM hv problems lor..Janiviy also expereince that leh..Super dilute, my ger has to drink 210ml to be full!!! crazyrite? hb and i tried the milk, was so dilute like water, no wonder my ger kept on crying lor..

feifei,
oh, so it was some manufacture defect?? and i thought it was because of lucas blowing air into the bottle :p But i recalled that i encountered the bubbles incident in july. after that till now, the milk powder is ok. but i will still go back and check the manufacture date.

die man.. i have 2 dr brown bottles i bot when he is 1 mths + den another 1 bot when 3mth but i dunno which is which liao lor! lol..

i am a first-time mother, and baby was born 19th june. that makes her about 4 1/2 months now.

You gals have babies around that age too. Feeding solids already? Is it too soon? I am a bit afraid to start and am thinking of waiting till she's 6 months old.

ALso wanted to ask... do your babies reject the milk bottle even when they're hungry?
My girl is hungry, but cries after 2 or 3 sucks. PD clinic nurse says she's probably sick of the taste of her milk.

SHe's on total breast milk, and doesn't even get plain water.

tailwhack, my bb was born on 24 June. He rejects milk bottle sometimes even when he is hungry.... I don't think it's the taste of the milk because I'm breast feeding totally too and I understand that the taste of our breast milk changes with the changes in our diet. Also, I resorted to giving him formula too when I thought something was wrong with my milk.. but still the same thing.