(2008/06) June 2008

Sandra,

its normal ba. my bb also does tat. then i stop looking at him and afterwhile he will latch back.

Fennie,

i read tat shouldn't give water to bb before 6mths. so i dun intend to give. My MIL also initially say shd give. but later she see my boy poo poo v watery so we didn't give.

babycupid,

My bb still drinking roughly the same, but his amt will fluctuate at times.

Yest nite i recall bb smiles and laugh, make me so happy despite the indigestion
My hb carry him to kiss me goodnight and he was laughing from the act.

Janiviy, thanks so much... mucks mucks...

btw, there's a link to the food allergy and what are the food to be given first and trying out of diff fruits and veg, etc.. but i can't find it anywhere..

can someone post it again.. i wanna show my hb cos my MIL is saying can feed bb with porridge w ikan billis.. and I dunno how to tell her to wait till 6mths onwards..

So it's better to let her son do the talking..

TIA again..

HELLO Mummies!

soyabean, hihi! yup.. i stay in BP.. wa.. you go gd memory.. i stay in senja grand.. you? heehee.. ya.. can meet up.. but onli for awhile.. cos i got cranky baby.. but not many mummies stay in BP hor?

warrior angel,

wha i do to prepare puree:

1st step: chop the fruits or veg into small pieces
2nd step: boil the fruits or veg until soft
3rd step: puree the fruits or veg with a blender (good to blend with some of the water that you boil the fruits or veg in)
4th step: freeze into small amount for 1 serving (usu 1 tablespoon or 1 ice cube size)

zuen, the cot bumper is not to use now.. its used when your baby know how to crawl liao then you put the cot bumper around the cot in case your baby crawl and hit herself against the cot..

so the cot bumper is used to protect your baby de.. heehee...

sandra: same here, my baby oso easily distracted by things n people ard her.. then she will pause n sometimes stop drinking liao..

like what ellysia n zuen said, i will bring her to a quiet room n she will finishe her milk liao

babycupid: erm.. baby feeding book dun recommend thaw in hot water cos they scare not hot enough to kill bacteria, etc..

most baby books recommend using microwave or heat over steaming pot, i.e. place your puree on an inverted bowl in a pot of water..

for me: i thaw using avent warmer using level 3, the highest level.. then after 5min, i faster take the puree out to prevent overheat..

i dun like microwave cos it will cause hotspots within the puree.. and you might accidentally burnt your baby if not careful..

and i find the steaming one too troublesome.. heehee..

so i use the avent warmer.. but rem to use highest level so that its hot enough..

cactus: thanks for the moisturiser tip.. wa. you very hardworking eh..

my gal is turing 6mths this sun, she was born on 2nd May..

ooo.. your son 18 weeks huh? coming soon le.. my gal turn better ard between week 18 to 20... slowly start to change from week 18.. but its onli ard week 20 then i realise she not so colicky le..

MLP: HELLO!! long time no chit chat with you too.. heehee...

thanks for the welcome..

but you go back to work liao ma.. so its ok to shop a bit bit la.. give yourself a small reward for being such a good mummy.. hahahaha..

how is your boy boy? still rem him very well cos of his super big eyes.. so cute.. heehee..

angel,
ohhhh icic.. cos i tot its already cooked ma.. so tot jus soak in hot water gd enuff le.. kekeke.. thanks for the tips!

babycupid: apparently still got bacteria inside if doesn't heat up properly..

heehee. no problem.. glad to be of help.. ^_^

babycupid,

they can one minute cry then change to laugh very fast one. My bb always like to purposely cry for attention then when i carry him, he will smile.

angel,

cannot remember but i tink only few weeks, not consider premature. but he is quite colicy.. only until 2-3 yrs old then ok.

Do u put the container straight into the warmer or u pour the contents out to a bowl or another container and warm it?

how long did u store yr puree in fridge?

short update:

last night i went to KK A&E cos lil sheryl was vomitting like a merlion.. whatever amount of milk i give her, 1 hour later she will vomit back on me liao..

then me n hubby freak out after she vomitted for the 2nd time straight then we quickly rush her to A&E.. we waited for 1hr (janiviy, you reali waited super long eh... 3hrs) then doc said its best to admit lil sheryl into KKH and observe to see whats wrong.. sigh..

so now i'm home to take a quick bath n check emails while my mum is there taking care of lil sheryl..

lil sheryl has stopped vommiting since early this morning.. doc said if all is well then she can go home tmr.. the cause is unknown.. doc jus said it is prob some strong virus attack her stomach.. sigh.. stupid virus...

then i didn't sleep at all cos stayed overnight with her at kk.. then lil sheryl couldn't sleep well cos of her stomach upset.. i see her lie on the bed so weak n lethargic.. so heart pain.. we smile n talk to her.. she jus stare at us with small small eyes... sigh..

but the good thing is at least she is better and she didn't get UTI (urinary tract infection) and dun need to put on drip (which is going to happen if she still vomit today)... Thank God...

ok.. gtg kkh liao

will update here again!

Top 8 Allergenic Foods that account for
90% of all Food Allergies: (http://www.foodallergy.org/allergens.html)

Milk
Egg
Peanut
Tree nut (walnut, cashew, etc.)
Fish
Shellfish
Soy
Wheat (visit our Wheat page)
Children may "outgrow" food allergies to milk, eggs, soybean products and wheat.

Please note that a Wheat Allergy is different from Gluten Intolerance! Gluten Intolerance (Celiac's Disease) is never outgrown and must be managed!

Children (and Adults) rarely outgrow allergies to peanuts, tree nuts, fish and shellfish.

Angel,my boy's bday is 24 June. Your little one is older than him. Sigh. Thanks for providing light at the end of the tunnel! I just started work today. :p

Hello Angel! I also still remember bb Sheryl cos she is such a smiling darling at Veniz hse!!! That time we still saying how jia lat our babies were, don want to sleep at nite...keep crying for hours. after some time, my boy started to fall asleep at 10+, then slowly 9+, then 8+, then now 7+....

My boy is 4months+ now... quite notti. needs alot of attention man. sometimes keh keh cry to get attention. once carry onli music stop! but it's fun playing with him n see his growth each week.

Aei, post some pic of sheryl lei. =) or u got facebook bo? can add me at [email protected]

ellysia:

wa.... 2-3 years is very long eh.. *faint*.. okok.. must mentally prepare myself liao..

i use avent VIA cup to store the puree (big cup to store small amt of puree)... heehee.. cos i lazy to change containers.. i use VIA cup straightaway then when need to warm up, i jus put inside the warmer without the need to change container..

but my fren used ice cube to freeze (1 ice cube = 1 serving then slowly increase the amt).. then transfer to ziplock bag then transfer to VIA cup again.. so many steps...

i try not to store the puree for more than 2 weeks..

see angel post then rem i 4got to reply zuen's qn on cot bumper. *see my memory*haiz...

actually i feel now shld put cos they start to anyhow turn. then got bumper at least prevent them from knocking into the cot or their limbs sticking out and kena stuck...

MLP: heehee.. okok.. will post lil sheryl's smiley pic here..

i dun have facebook.. i not so IT savy leh.. heehee.. onli got friendster..

angel,

ya website article suggest use ice cube. but like not v hygienic tot is expose.

yah i am considering to use avent via cup bec' i am using them to store BM now, so can also use it next time. I wonder whether those BM bottles can be use to store food also. waste the bottle if dun use it.

ellysia: can go hardware store to buy ice cube trays with covers.. they got sell..

erm.. BM bottles openings holes like quite small leh..

Hey Angel, sorry to hear that happened to little Sheryl. I'm glad she is better now. Do remember to rest well even though you are travelling to and fro the hospital.

Btw, i need to throw around 10+ frozen milk each of 150ml, because those are make around the time when i ate crab, and i dun want to cause any more allergic reaction to my bb.

Btw for those door to door fridge type, i.e. separate freezer, how long u all store the milk? cos mine ored has 2 mths storage, running out of space becos i am using bottles. then also, i dunno shd i start taking them out in case all expire.

angel,

ya lor the bottles holes small. i got a lot of bottles, dun use is v wasteful.
nevermind maybe i use via cup. how many times u re-use yr via cup, bec i heard tat can only sterilise 5 times only.

cactus and angel,

usu bb first 3 mths is colicy n harder to manage.. then 4-6mth is slightly better.. after 6mths another problematic cos teething.. first year is the worst i tink.

cactus,

i clumsy with milk bag tats why so far never use milk bag. always use pigeon bottles. but since come back to work, haven't been storing much. now with bb increase milk intake, i only store 50ml per day.. its neither here nor there.

Btw anyone know can i thaw frozen milk from different dates (i.e. 2 bottles) and then mix them together?

check wif u ar.. we nd to wait for say 4 days to see if any allergic reaction after introducing new food.
which is rite - day 1 i started rice cereal.. den day 2,3,4(no feed at all) if ok day 5 feed broccoli wait 6,7,8,9(no feed at all)
- day 1,2,3,4 feed rice cereal den day 5,6,7,8 broccoli..
which is rite ar?

Ellysia, Yah, I think 1st year is the worst....
I think you can mix milk from different dates, but the Lanisoh packaging says we must use thawed milk within 24 hours. So the timing really depends on the time we start to thaw the milk.

BabyCupid, I think it is "day 1,2,3,4 feed rice cereal den day 5,6,7,8 broccoli.." because we are told to wait 5 days before introducing new food.

cactus,
oh okok.. i tink so too.. kekeke.. thnx!

den am i rite to say we haf to try vege by vege? ie broccoli 1 2 3 4 den carrot 1 2 3 4 etc?

tulip/zuen
dun worry about bb not flipping. Kyler only flipped on sun -5th month. but his hand still stuck n will scream for help. now that he knows how to flip, he is obsessed with it. so, i think the lesson that our bb teaching us is that there is a time and reason for everything.

arisean,
yr gal is so cute. i like her little hair band.

bleh,
my boy is very skinny. for the past 6 weeks, he only gained 500g. PD also told me that their weight will slow down after 3/4mths. he suggested that i might want to add some cereal in one of the feed in the day. he is only 6.55kg 67cm.

sandra,
my boy also drinks less. gets distracted all the time. sometimes, so angry with me when i tried to force him to drink that he will scream. guess its quite common.

crystal,
i laughed at yr post of backache cos my hubby also complain about that.

I need some advise. since 12am till now my girl only drink about 200ml. tired to force her drink but she spilt out. dunno wats wrong with her. her intake was from 1k to 800ml for 2mths already. today worst. she seems not hungry leh. I was wondering if I could give her cereal more then 1 time per day? I have heinz n fisocrem how to prepare?

<font color="aa00aa">ellysia, yes u can mix the thaw milk together. But is better for u to thaw both bottle together and mix them once it was thawed.
Basically we can mix the ebm which temperature is the same.
Just dont mix room temperature ebm (freshly expressed ebm) with refridgerated ebm.</font>

mlp,
my helper also puts kyler in sarong, then walk and feed him at the same x. i was thinking that she is spoiling the mkt. me so small size, no strength to walk and feed at the same x!!!