(2008/06) June 2008

btw mummies who latch, may i check how often u feed your bb?

as i just starting latching for abt 2wks... my boy will suck until sleep....usually betw 10-20mins, sometimes, he can sleep for very long, but yest and today, put back in the cot, after 10mins, wake up....

then my mum will ask if he drinks enough or not...

so at times i gave him the expressed milk then he still can drink alot leh then sleep

so i also not sure....whether is it becos my boy didnt drink enough or ???

Jenny,
did u burp him?

HI mummies,
Read n heard the news on the enhanced parenthood package..hope all feeling better today

me going back work on the 11th Sep.. dunno wanna take AL and start on 15th Monday instead but sure monday blur cos long week ahead if start on Monday...comments?

hi mummies at Veniz's house gathering,
Nicole din join in the matchmaking and phototaking session cos mummy late:p y din you all wait for me??? hehe....

hi Veniz,
The yellow cloth is mine

Hi Rozy,
You have tried your best. Dun take it too hard oki?

hi Jenny,
how many weeks old is your bb? Maybe he is on growth spurt? that's y drink from you stil not enuf?mus supplement with EBM? I have been doing that for Nicole and she is about 9-10 weeks (growth spurt period)

hmmm...ok thanks piyo

cos my bb is 13wks...

in the past i have always been expressing so not so sure...

now started latching...

jenny, does he cry once he wakes up? bb at 2mths + can be awake for up to 10hrs

piyo, i started work las fri, find it better as next day can rest liao, no lng week ahead

i also very sian now at work, keep thinking wat is my PIL & helper doing with bb. MIL told my helper i dun allow her to bathe bb, of cos lah, she quite old liao. even helper also worried if MIL bathe bb...

Crystal,
Pei fu you go taste frozen EBM... the smell already puts me off.. was telling anget the other day - dun try!

I read the article felicia posted on mixin EBM and FM. If you read carefully, they are more worried about wasting the EBM. Composition in nutrients would only change if you mix FM powder with EBM. If you mix EBM with water then add EBM to the FM mixture, then it's fine.

Felicia,
The 3 mths expiry still applies. I wil only freeze my EBM if it is left in the fridge and not consumed within 24hrs.

MLP,
I think you asked about storing EBM in fridge for 5-7 days ya? anyway, I think that is only if the fridge is solely for storing EBM. Otherwise, better not. We open and close the fridge so many times aday wor. I dun think can kip for that many days in that case. IMO, if worried, always taste the EBM before giving to bb lor. So long as not sour, then should be fine.

Felicia,
I dun have the chance to kip my EBM for 3 mths liao. My bb drinks > wat I can provide. But I think should b okie.

Crystal,
I think hungry bbs drink everything. Hehe. My hungry ger can suck happily at water until I got to stop her as she is still largely on EBM.

Re: FM
I changed my ger from similac to NAN but she still constipated wor. 4 days never poo poo liao. Gg to bring her to the PD tonight. Any advice on wat else to change to? Or shouldI persist and let her get accustom to NAN. She's only on 1 to 2 FM feed a day and already constipated. -.o"

Re: Reflux
any bbs suffering from reflux? My bb puke milk after every feed. Sometimes even from the nose. Burping doesnt help. She will still puked after burping. Or sometimes burp and puked together. any bbs on medication for reflux. Gg to see doc later, not sure if I should put her on medication if the doc gives.

Shern,
If I follow my ML I gotta start on Thurs. Got to work 2 days b4 weekend is here... maybe I take 1 day AL? at least go to work will feel better?

veniz,
so cute ur bb leh =D..Ya lor, hope its on a wkend so that I can go lor =D..

roxy,
dun be sad ya..u tried ur best liao k, Cheerup ger...ur boy needs u =D..

Hi Zuen,y not u change to Enfalac.I dun noe iszit gd for ur baby ornot so far my boy drink enfalac everyday poo poo once only.althogh he poo poo abit smelly .hehe

piyo, also gd idea. luckily, i dun have to face anyone now tat i'm back at work...only tomoro go back office for mthly meeting. sometimes also gd to have colleagues then can swap swap news bout ur bb then not so depressing

jesslyn, my GP was saying 5% of bb will have fever & if 1st time have subsequent jabs will have as well, some will give paracetamol prior to jab. mine had very slight 37.8 & measured fr the armpit in the middle of the night then next day ok, thru out can still sleep & drink, no extra fussy behaviour. just to share, wanted to get paoshen for my bb as well but was adviced by sinseh not to, cos bb too young but i understand quite a few mommies here gave with no problem.

Hi shern,thanxs for ur infor.my mil sae when u buy paosheng there alot of types ask the sales person to give one for baby then they will noe which types of paosheng.pray tat my baby can take it.hehe

hi shern,yup yup ...aiya i everything oso dun noe ones all my mil told mi..Like i sae smetimes must believe old ppls sae...i very stubborn types ..hehe

<font color="aa00aa">piyo/ Zuen, thanks for the ebm advice. Normally i'll frozen my ebm after pump, coz i had spare enuf fresh ebm in the fridge. I always frozen the ebm which i pump before sleep, coz lazy to do all the washing for the pump session when i wake up. So, the ebm which i pump in the early morning before off to work, will just put inside fridge for later consumption.

shern, my lil one is the 5%. When she had her 1st jab in her 7 weeks, she got fever on teh next day, but after taking the fever medicine, she's ok liao. Pao sheng does not work for her lor. Maybe the next jab, i'll give her paracetamol 1st.</font>

Thanks mummies for the consolation.. our last resort is go and see PM

Venue: AMK
Date: Wednesday 27th August 2008
Time: 7.30PM( we need to discuss the detail first before we go in)
Place: Blk 322 Ang Mo Kio Ave 3
#01-1928

1) Kate,hubby n bb
2)Clover n bb
3)Blessedmummie
4)Joyful mum
5) roxyz

Please let us know if anyone is keen to come along... thanks!

jesslyn,
ya lor, better let ur boy drink paosheng water ya...my ger taking her 2nd jab of 6in1 on fri lor...i also worry she gts fever and get cranky..me taking afew more days of my ML to take care of her lor..

nss, ohhh, no wonder didn't catch you on that day. Next time sure can intro, no problem. See whether both of them "chou mei tou" together or smile together, hehe.

Veniz, lucky my ger well-behaved at your hse that day and didn't "tear" your house down, kekeke. Luckily my helper came with me else I sure chicken hand and duck leg. Vivienne so smily

feifei, next time gathering you can see the real "she". That pic was captured by my hubby, we put her to her new rocker and maybe she don't like.

Hi Roxy, don't be disheartened. You already tried your best ! I guess in life, we gain some and we lose some, look on the bright side. Maybe there will be a miracle ...

<font color="aa00aa">piyo,
dun pei fu lar. i was jus curious then y my ger was making funi faces when drinking n cant even finish 100ml when normally she can drown down 140ml of BM or 110ml of FM mah. after tasting, then i realise y...LOL!!!</font>

Check with ur the below.
Given the new guideline to Child Care Leave to 6days. Anyone here whose company has done the adjustments?
Cos mine is 5days initially, so given the new guideline, i wonder will it become 5+6=11days.

<font color="aa00aa">star / veniz,

SNEF is holding a talk for all HR professionals in relation to this regulation next wk. my co. will oni do the adjustment &amp; implementation after this HR brief. will update u gers accordingly if u like.

star,
IMHO, yur co. will prob oni revised the existing 5 days to 6 days instead, there would not be a summation of the CCL.</font>

jenny i am on full latch for maia. sometimes she eat 10-15mins too but i chk before - cos as they grew older their suction power increase so althou they only eat 10-15 mins they may be eating a lot. as long as after each feed, they dont cry and look satisfied and u have diapers to change everyday - it shd be fine... i was worried initally too. now my greatest worry is she refused bottles..any tips??

MOgudog,
hehe..=D...

Crystal,
tks ger....Please update us lor so that we know our rights =D..

star,
wow, ur compnay so gd hor, give u all 5CC leh...my company onli 2days =(.

feifei

cos my comp is govt linked. We will get an additional leave if public holiday falls on Sat (National Day). However, I was just informed by my HR that as I was on ML then, I will not be entitled to any.
sian...........

Xris,
were you the one who feeds Maia the bottle of EBM?mrs wong at the suntec bf seminar suggest to let bb associate bf with mummy and bottle feeding with daddy or someone else, so bb would not confused.

i am so happy.. my boy has been slping thru for the past 1 wk.. kekkee..

initially is 11pm last feed to 5am.. den 11pmto 6am.. den 10pm to 630am.. den 10pm to 730am

<font color="aa00aa">feife,
sure, will update once i go thru the brief.

babycupid,
so happy for u, yur boy so guai &amp; sayang mummy. mine ger now oni manages 5hrs stretch, from 11pm to 4.30am or 12mn to 5.30am, kinda of timing depending on her last feed. so still keeping my fingers crossed tat her sleep patterns can improve further.</font>

crystal,
yes yes yes! i tink cos he made me suffered during labour.. so he compensates me wif this.. hahaha..
i am sure ur ger will slp thru soon cos my boy initially oso like tat.. u will see improvement day by day.. i still keeping my fingers crossed.. wait he siao siao again i faint.. hopefully he will bbe like this everyday..

star,
e 5 days include childsick leave rite? last time my co is also 5days but out of e 5 days 3 must produce child's mc so is = 2days child care leave plus 3 days child sick leave. if got 2 children then will be 10 days but 2 days childcare leave plus 8 days childsick leave.....
i'm also wondering how thgs will be calculated with this 6 days childcare leave......???

Jesslyn,
Just to share. I dream feed my ger, meaning, I feed my girl in her sleep at 11+pm, dun even need to burp her and she sleep till 8am today.
Followed the method by Tracy Hog, the baby whisperer.

Pris,
feed your baby on a schedule. Example,7am,10am,1pm, 4pm,7pm..then dream feed her at 10 or 11pm.
Method call "tanking up"...i can lend u the book.

janiviy,
hahaha.. can ar? my bb will cry if feed him milk while slp.. haha.. anyway he already slp thru.. god bless..

Janiviy
can dream and feed meh... my gal if dun feed her will cry like nobody biz and its machiam like someone has abused her like tat....

I dun mind trying..... Where to buy the book???

janivity, how to dream feed?? mine wakes up every 3 hour to feed... be it day or night... where can i get the book? but wat u mean dream feed ah?? meaning baby sleeping wakes her to feed??

Bought the book from Kinokuniya. Dream feed means feeding your baby in his/her sleep. Eg, her last feed is 9pm...and she falls asleep...at 11pm, feed her by putting the bottle at your baby's mouth, they will suck naturally...dun wake them, dun even need to burp...i actually dun dare to try until last night,...and it really works.