(2008/06) June 2008

Didn't manage to read the archives due to some problem at the page.

Can someone tell me again why we shouldn't feed too much water to breastfeeding baby? Because my CL and MIL keep saying must feed baby water. But I recall someone say cannot feed water, why is it?

roooller: ya, it's a little thick compared to wearbabyhugz one...but i like the padded edge leh.. :p

MIM sling lagi hot...i wore it to jurong point once, 1.5hrs later, i was sweating like a pig...

hmmm...my MIM sling is fren give de...i dunno which it is leh...but i think it's not cos of the material but rathe the many layers of cloth on the back...

rooller/juliet08

I have been using the Pupsik pouch and its getting a bit small and cramp when I place my ger in it.
Do u experience the same thing?

rooller
how is ur baby's diarrhea?

star: me only got it today! haha...only tried putting him twice for practice...still got a lot of space for him though...me till v clumsy in putting him in...

juliet08
if someone is around, I will get them to hold the baby and place the baby in. Much easier.
If no one around, I have to fumble slightly longer too.
My mum always worry that my ger will fall out of the pouch as she felt the sling does not have enough cloth to hold her. :p

star,
today went poly, his poo looks norm
then afternoon one poo can poo 4-5x.
watery n gasy type

abt the pouch, there's size leh.
i thought mine is loose but i re-measure myself was what is recommended. i'm wearing a sz 2

no matter what, i will still support bb's head be it using the pouch or sling.

Have been a silent reader in this thread. I am also a June mum, gave birth to my daugther, Reanne, on 7th June. At birth she was 3.30kg, 51cm.
Understand that many mummies here are taking Fenugreek. I have 1 bottle of GNC Fenugreek for sale at $20, PLUS you will get another opened bottle for FREE!! I've only took 10 pills from the opened bottle. Please PM me if you are interested.

Felicia,
My hb was taking care of her when she was bawling her eyes out. Haha. I read somewhere that some babies tend to be very fussy in the evening and will nurse very frequently. They will grow out of it when they are in their 3rd/ 4th month. I think that's wat my ger is gg thru. She was so cranky just now. Duno why she waas crying so badly. Even though my hb was taking care, her crying still affects me. Then hb come and seek help. Even more stressful, haha.

soyabean,
3 pills, 3x a day to see effect? I initially took 2 pills, 2x a day niah. Already up dosage wor. Hmm.. maybe I increase my dosage again tomolo and see how it goes. Other than soyabean, anybody taking 3 pills, 3x a day? Like alot wor.

RE: MIM sling
Sometimes, I see my ger like very awkward position. However, she actually managed to fall asleep inside the sling. Does it means that her position is comfortable? Any idea if it will affect her posture and development huh?

zuen
Me also still taking 3pills 3x/day till now. Already 5th day but hor sianz...
Training myself to drink more water.

roooller
My ger till now poo poo always watery. Only one time tat i manage to see harder poo poo is when i wrongly add extra FM for her hehe..

DIET FOR PREGNANT WOMEN AND NURSING MOTHERS
Cod liver oil to supply 10,000-20,000 IU vitamin A daily
2 8-ounce glasses whole milk daily, preferably raw and from pasture-fed cows
4 tablespoons butter daily, preferably from pasture-fed cows
2 or more eggs daily, preferably from pastured chickens
Additional egg yolks daily, added to smoothies, salad dressings, scrambled eggs, etc.
3-4 ounces fresh liver, once or twice per week
Fresh seafood, 2-4 times per week, particularly wild salmon, shellfish and fish eggs
Fresh beef or lamb daily, always consumed with the fat
Oily fish or lard daily, for vitamin D
2 tablespoons coconut oil daily, used in cooking or smoothies, etc.
Lacto-fermented condiments and beverages
Bone broths used in soups, stews and sauces
Soaked whole grains
Fresh vegetables and fruits

AVOID: Trans fatty acids, junk foods, commercial fried foods, sugar, white flour, soft drinks, caffeine, alcohol, cigarettes and drugs (even prescription drugs).

RE: AA & DHA
Mother's milk contains long-chain polyunsaturated fatty acids (LCP) that the baby needs for the development of its nervous system. These special fats accumulate in the brain and retina. If they are absent in the infant diet, the child is likely to suffer from learning disabilities and reduced visual acuity.10 The most important LCP's are arachidonic acid (AA) of the omega-6 family, docosahexaenoic acid (DHA) of the omega-3 family and eicosapentaenoic acid (EPA), also of the omega-3 family.

RE: DHA / AA per 100g
s26 - 56mg / 97mg
frisco - 50mg
similac - 40mg
mamil gold - 49mg
Enfalac - 90mg
nan - 55mg

samsoon,
u also just finish milking? me too....

wah, similac has so low AA/DHA ar.... shld I consider changing brands? hm.... i now give my ger one fm feed per day....

wat fm (if any) are u all giving ar?

samsoon,
My turn to milk again. Haha.
Looks like I have to increase dosage again.
Me gg back to work next mon. After I return to work, hb is to take with the 1st night feed. I duno whether he can handle or not. My bb is on full EBM now. But I think need to stock up on BM when I return to work liao. Ss dropping, dd increasing. Haiz.

zuen
Dont stress urself lor.. if really low supply then 1-2 feed subsitute wif FM is okie wan la..
Initially, i also die die must feed BM, end up got so 'pei chek' almost give up when see bb not having enough.
Now hor just do wat ever i can... btw i knw BM very low in some vitamins which can be found in FM.
Fenugreek dont work on me, my next will be goat rue & more milk plus queuing up hehe....

hi zuen
i agree with samsoon, dont feel so stress up, if not enu just substitue with fm. and u must feel relax to have more ss.

samsoon,

RE: DHA / AA per 100g
s26 - 56mg / 97mg
frisco - 50mg
similac - 40mg / 105mg
mamil gold - 49mg
Enfalac - 90mg
nan - 55mg

Morning ladies.

Rooller, roxy, Zuen, actually, what I am trying to say about my bust size is that, I am always a B cup since pre-preggie till now. Sometimes, I feel my ms in breasts leaking. It make me wonder, is it my breasts are small, cannot contain much MS thats why I can only pump out limited SS. Not sure if my breasts will grow bigger cup to contain more Milk or not if the SS kicks in. Actually, secretly, I hope to have slightly bigger bust so can look more well-endowned. :p

Samsoon, the list of food you listed there, I doubt I eat even half of it. I only drink fish bone soup, oily fish, vege, taking all vits, and drink more water. Think later got to cook hard boiled eggs liao. Since CL no longer with me, I have been eating limited food as no time to prepare and with baby, a bit mafan to go hawker centre buy. Most time when hb coming back for dinner, I will cook lor, but eat little bit of rice only.

aprilmum, the gathering is on 23rd July or 25th July? Coz if on 25th, I will not be able to make it. Please advice.

Morning, Been too buzy to log in recently. Bb seems to just finished a growth spurt, he latches on every 1-2 hourly,nite time was worse cos he seems to like to poo poo at nite. Plus with the housework, total no time for myself. Hopefully it is over today.

Veniz, when you went to New York New York, is there space for baby pram? How did you bring your baby there? Lot 1 recently had quite a few new eating place. Do 'chio' me for tea if you are free and going to Lot 1. There is a new Jap Ice Cream place on the 3/4th floor :p
MS leaking are normal regardless of small or big. Mine bust size grew after #1 and is humongous now with #2 and still leak ms when feeding baby or when SS kicks in. Wish I can be less-endowned.

anyone can advise how do we use the frozen ebm. going to work next week liao. not sure how to thaw them and give bb.... i store in milk bag and the qnty is not wat the bb is drinking now....

iamsnow
i will take the frozen ebm out from the freezer the night before and put it in the fridge to defroze it. Then pour into the bottle after it is defrozed

nss, the new york new york, you got to choose the two tables nearest to entrance (square table with 4 football armchairs). Their armchairs quite heavy and if you sit nere the lot 1 main entrance, its not sort of open concept, the aircon from aircurtain at the lot one main entrance is quite cool, so have to wear your baby warmly. One verdict I have for this NYNY outlet, service sucks, portion not big, not worth. I prefer go their Citylink outlet where service is so much better.

For the MOF (Japan dessert), I also want to go. How about we meet next Tues at 11am there? or if you want, around 1pm - 2pm timing? Let me know if you can make it, my contact is 9797 3063.

iamsnow, for frozen ebm, if I know I will need it the next day, the previous night I will transfer it from freezer to chiller. The next day, you will see most portion become liquidified but still have a little like ice. The when needed to be drank, warm it up. This is the basic and I tried it once only. Lets see anyone has better idea on your q.

<font color="aa00aa">samsoon, thks. I din see the post by roxy. hehe....
But where is the boots pharmacy

soyabean, thanks for the link.

huggy, is not advisable to let small baby take water more than 60ml a day as their system is not mature yet to help to expel out xtra water. In the end, the water will accumulate in the brain. Btw if ur lil one is on BM, then no need t feed water as BM contains 60-70% of water oredy.

ZuEn, my baby was very cranky last nite oso started from 11pm till 4am. Hubby and myself din get to sleep at all. She keep asking to be fed, thou she had oredy take more than her usual amt. </font>

Hi Felicia

hv u found ur glass bttles? i can spare u some if u wan since we leave rather near..i am using those Heinz bb fruit juice glass bottle..u interested?so u don hv to go to TMC to get..

<font color="aa00aa">Riz, thanks. I just confirmed with a mummy to buy over her milk bag. If i need it next time, shall look for you. hehe....Really appreciate your offer.
When is ur ML ended ? Now u r taking 2 kids alone? Me still had a week before out from confinement, really sien!</font>

NDgal, hee, shake hands.

Sharon, aiyo, nevermind, now you know can liao. in fact, try not to soak ebm milk in hot water leh, soak in warm water (eg, estimate max 70-80% of 100degC hot water), coz if 100% hot, it will heat away some of the nutrients in the milk. Its bit troublesome coz have to change water after 5 mins soaking as the warm water will turn cold easily. I always change the water 2-3 times, normally by the waiting time, baby already quite cranky liao, but have to train them to wait lor.

defroze and warm ebm already cannot put back to fridge rite? coz my ebm i freeze around 150ml per pack. my ger taking only 110 now.... so 40 have to keep for next feed woh.

Felicia, ok jus let me know if u nd some of the bottles..i hv quite abit cos my colls gal drinks heinz fruit juice everiday and she has stop bfd so she passed me abt 50 bttles ..hehe..now i totally latch..so don use so much..me will go back to work on 1 Sept..sian..time flies..so fast wan leh...hate to go to work..ehheh...cos my maid still slow ..i so afraid to let go..hence no choice nd to send her and bb and my boy to mum in law when i go work....last few wks so stressed by maid issue..till milk supply drop tremendously..no choice get bb to latch all te time..wah i remember u were waitg for Yu jie to arrive and now u oni left wif a wk b4 confinemt ends..rather fast leh..of cos for u it seems long ..:p sigh..moral of the story is.. MAIDS r HEADACHES..

Felicia,

Thanks for answering my doubt on feeding baby water. This morning 6am, my girl is hungry already, but I can hear that the CL is giving her water, until BB so cranky still want to force feed. I told her to give her milk instead, but she just ignore me and took bb out to the living room and continue to feed her water. But I still can hear BB crying, made me so angry! So, I just went to took out my ebm from the fridge and warm it and pass it to her and ask her to stop the water feeding.

I just can't understand why these old ladies are so obsessed with water. They just can't understand the BM already has enough water for BB!!!

Roooller,
Interested on your Ameda Flexishield Areola Stimulator. PM you already.

Jenny,
I would like to amend my order. Thanks!

1) Samsoon

Item #1
Ameda White Valve (for HygieniKit, and Manual Pump)
Url: http://www.mommysown.com/shop/search.php?mode=search&amp;page=5
Qty: 2
Price: USD2.20 x 2 = USD4.40

Item#2
Ameda Silicone Diaphragm (HygieniKit)
Url: http://www.mommysown.com/shop/search.php?mode=search&amp;page=5
Price: USD2.20 X 2 = USD4.40

Item#3
Ameda Insulated Lunch-Style Tote
URL: http://www.mommysown.com/shop/search.php?mode=search&amp;page=2
Qty: 1
Price: USD9.99

Total: USD18.79
Collection place:

2) Jenny (myself)

Item #1
Ameda Part Kit a Mommy's Own Exclusive (2 flanges, 2 valves, 2 diaphragms)
URL: http://www.mommysown.com/shop/search.php?mode=search&amp;page=3
Qty: 1
Price: USD$24.99

Total: USD$24.99

3) Huggy

Item #1
Ameda White Valve (for HygieniKit, and Manual Pump)
Url: http://www.mommysown.com/shop/Ameda-White-Valve-for-HygieniKit-and-Manual-Pump-p-16180.html
Price: USD2.20 x 2 = USD4.40

Total: USD4.40
Collection place: Postage

Hi Mums..jus wanna share ,recently jus bought a nursing bra from I want milk.com...its the amber padded bra..its real comfy...
and holds ur bust firmly...can try!!

huggy,
i also hated the idea of feeding bb water, whenever bb cranky, whoever is carrying him would suggest giving him water, no matter how many times i said breastmilk has a lot of water &amp; there's no need to give water.

MLP,
yday when i was at MIM's showroom,besides cotton sling selling at $25, their pouches also selling at $25, call them to check when the sale price is until, check their website for address n phone.

<font color="aa00aa">riz, yalor to me is very very long. So sien everyday bath the black black water and eat those confinement food till i very heaty liao. Now count down to my freedom day. haha....

Hey, can post the link of the bra you brought? I'm looking for some good bra oso.

Huggy/ Fennie, initially my mil oso wanna feed my ger with water, then i told her dont need coz bb is on BM. My mil even asked me who said dont need. My hubby told her doctor said it, then my mil din said anything liao.</font>